Rolls-Royce Wraith launched – RM1.3 million onwards

Rolls-Royce_Wraith_launch_003

Now that didn’t take long, did it? It was only in January this year that Rolls-Royce announced it is resurrecting the Wraith name for its new coupe model – a moniker it last used in the Thirties. Come March, the Rolls-Royce Wraith debuted at the Geneva Motor Show, following a lengthy series of teasers.

Fast-forward another three months and uber-coupe is here in Malaysia. Order books are already open, and first customer cars will arrive in the final quarter of this year, no later than those in Europe. RM1.3 million (without duties, before options) is the price to pay, in between the Ghost and Ghost EWB models.

Rolls-Royce insists that the Wraith is not simply a coupe version of the Ghost, though it is clearly based on that model and they share plenty of common parts. It has a completely different character and is the company’s new interpretation of an ultra-luxury grand tourer.

Rolls-Royce_Wraith_launch_004

The front-end design is derivative of the Ghost limo’s, though not without unique elements – primarily the brand’s first deeply recessed grille. That, the fastback silhouette and wide rear tracks show off the Wraith’s dynamic intent.

624 hp and 800 Nm of torque from the Ghost’s tuned 6.6 litre twin-turbo V12 engine make it the most powerful Rolls-Royce ever. It gets from zero to 100 km/h in 4.6 seconds, and its top speed is limited to 250 km/h. The Wraith is as comfortable as it is dynamic, as explained in a cool video we featured earlier.

There’s a long list of features available on the car (most of which is shared with high-end BMWs), which we have covered extensively here. Suffice to say, it covers your every need from an automobile. If it doesn’t, there’s always the Bespoke programme at your disposal.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• yellow bean on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:33 am

holly cow! only for the riches..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Jun 18, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Wow, so affordable, just slightly beyond S-class, if it calls for RM1.3M, berbaloi for a RR.

• Jimmy on Jun 18, 2013 at 6:13 pm

The key word is ‘if’.

• nd4spd on Jun 20, 2013 at 1:51 pm

1.3 excluding tax, 100-200% duty on top of 1.3million price tag..What’s the selling price?
        Meanwhile S500 retail for rm999k with tax..S-Class is never a benchmark for RollsRoyce.

• Faridz on Jan 24, 2015 at 10:18 am

RM1.3m times 1.75 – 1.8 to get the selling price. Because import tax is oni 75% – 80% nowadays.

• Cheap Road Tax on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:40 am

A warning to the government of Malaysia. 90% of Bentley and Rolls Royce buyers in Semenanjung Malaysia use Sabah and Sarawak Road tax for big cc engines. So, for this Rolls Royce, they only pay RM4000 when they need to really pay RM20,000. All the AP Car Dealers provide this service for all big cc buyers. They got runner boys to go to Sabah and sarawak just to get the Road Tax and post it back to Malaysia to the rich but stingy Rolls Royce buyers. Go and see each Bentley on the road and see their road tax carefully. They should be paying money to our government about RM16,000, but instead, they pay RM4000. This is a legal loophole. I repeat LEGAL. Polis allow it. Why don’t we plug the loophole? The LHDN is deprived of good revenue. Oppps, I forgot, most of the Rolls Royce and Bentlery buyers are big shots who are well connected to the government as well as BN cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 20
    • longjaafar on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:48 am

It may take a while for the loophole to be plugged…for obvious reasons..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • this makes me want to plug their (the cronies) ass holes instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • sabah roadtax on Jun 18, 2013 at 9:54 am

u are right,my friend who drive fairlady350z also pay 1kplus only for roadtax…the use sabah roadtax lol….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • to begin with, paying road tax to a government which misuses the fund not for good transportation facility development is already not right….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • no offense but if i can afford to buy this car and i have the option to save RM 16k on road tax i will definitely take it. The rich people stay rich and get richer because they are CHEAP!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • Jason on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:06 am

I think you are mistaken, it is not legal to use East Malaysia road tax in Peninsula Malaysia. Please check with JPJ before making comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • They are thrifty and they know how to manage their money. it’s called wealth management and smart capital allocation.. that’s why they are rich and you are not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • tokmoh on Jun 18, 2013 at 1:00 pm

This practice is borderline towards tax evasion, which is a CRIME. It may also be related with money laundering, another even more serious crime.

To all who condone it, yeah congrats. Always bark at AP kings and cronies, yet you’re no different than them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • any info on the G1M number plates? Heard it could be used to evade or reduce import and excise duties by registering the car in Langkawi or Labuan and putting on the G1M plate to avoid detection. Lots of lambos and ferarris in KL have this no plate.

• mr taib mahmud will buy this for his wife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • *looks at car… looks at paycheck…*
    i’ll just stick with my wira…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • China riches will buy it and smash it in front of the dealer.

• TheCove on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:06 am

BN cronies and Taib Mahmud are rushing to place their cheque to book the car!!! To them, it’s so cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • pelam on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:07 am

only 2 doors? how will d rich enter backseat?

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:20 am

Where are the sexy ladies at this launch?

• vee-oh on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:54 am

how long the waiting period? if too long I will buy 2 Bentleys *ceh dreaming haha

• prefer Bentley Continental GT over Wraith…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • digir on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:11 pm

This is not chauffeur’s car.
    Paultan.org always never take pictures for rear seats

• Peter on Jun 18, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Wow ~ 18 comments at the time I wrote this. I thought 1.3M is beyond our league :)

• 1.3M is BEFORE tax and duties and options….it would b close to 3M here….ringgit, not rupiah

• Bilis on Jun 18, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Hmmm…Where are MACC officers..??? Very relevant event for them to spot big fish there…

• Eazy79 on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:23 pm

I find the “Subang Airport starry night” roof is a bit tacky.

• Gegary on Jun 18, 2013 at 3:47 pm

OK, I want this car. Time to raise toll, raise petrol, create some government project (just name it starting or ending with ‘1M’ or ‘My’, will be approved) or sign another indelible ink contract!

• “Wraith”, just wonder how they came up with such name, touch wood.

• jilbaber on Jun 19, 2013 at 6:54 am

Interior material suck, make from kayu only meh…long time will reput..

• stupidpeopleareeverywhere on Jun 24, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Congraz~you’re just too stupid to insult~ if really reput~sure your gugu will reput 1st~this RR interior gonna last like nokia 3310~

• nice car

• Why must MACC be there when this car is launched? No doubt it is to catch big fish. But if everytime whenever a luxury brand launching new product, MACC will be there. Dont you think it will actually shooing all the customers away? We r no different to communist country where ppl oni can own cheapo car. Or worst than those country actually.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 9:15 pm

will ask pelita boss on after sales service and resale value