SPIED: Mercedes-Benz A250 Sport fully uncovered!

a-class-naked-01

On my way to Perodua’s press conference yesterday evening, I saw a trailer carrying several Mercedes-Benz B-Class cars exiting the Rawang PLUS toll booth on the opposite direction. Thought nothing of it, but as I went past the toll gate, a second truck was spotted with some yet to be launched cargo. Hazards on, Nikon ready, here are the results.

UPDATE: The Mercedes-Benz A-Class has been officially launched in Malaysia. Read our launch report and view the pics here.

It should be of no surprise to readers of this site that the W176 Mercedes-Benz A-Class is coming soon, thanks to previous rounds of spyshots and an official teaser by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. We hear that it will debut by the end of this month, but these fully uncovered shots reveal how the Malaysian-spec A, specifically the top dog A 250 Sport, will look like.

Compared to the A 200 (naked spyshots from last month here) and even a base A 250, the A 250 Sport wears a more aggressive rear bumper with vertical slats at the extreme ends that emphasise width. There’s a red accent strip within the rear diffuser, above the twin pipes, that match a similar line on the front lip. We don’t have a front-end shot, but the grille of the A250 Sport should be the dazzling, studded “3D” diamond-style grille with a single slat.

a-class-naked-02

The cars we see here (grey, white and black) wear delicious looking 18-inch star-spoke alloys that shield red-painted brake calipers at both ends. Sport badges adorn the front wings. Expect a black interior with carbon-style trim and red accents in the cabin, like this.

An AMG Sport pack can actually dress up the A 200 to look like this, with front/rear bumpers and side skirts bringing the look closer to the A 250 Sport, but the A 200 (at point of launch, at least) is unlikely to feature this. Its interior should be an Urban equipment line, with a crystal grey/black-based interior.

It’s unfortunate and somewhat inevitable that those who do what we do, our team at least, tend to look at new metal as “just another new car” (we look at cars 18 hours in a day!) but the A-Class doesn’t fall into that category, for me. Colleagues Anthony and Hafriz like the small Benz, and I can’t wait to try it!

Read our review of the A-Class here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nasi ayam on Jun 19, 2013 at 1:31 pm

v40 or this one?
    price! price!

• ABTguy on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Don’t get Volvo even if a V40 is 20% cheaper ! All you save cannot cover the high depreciation when you sell your V40 in future.

Volvo resale value “lau sai”, too expensive to maintain !! My company bought S40 & S60 in 2007, both closed to RM200k, when we sold it in 2012, both get less than 70k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Preve on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:01 am

That’s why the tagline “Volvo For Life”.

No resale value. Can bring to grave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • am thinking. between Golf GTI and A250 sport, which would you choose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • staticx on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:03 pm

i will choose A250 ALL DA WAY!!!!! Tired of Mechatronic problem already.. my car 2 years old already kena 2 time liao.. and its MERC.. what is Volks compare to MERC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
      • u got that right in terms of quality. i’m deciding on practicality. but unsure by those gear problems claims.

• Toe To Toe on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Yalah. Obvious choice. A car with working transmission or a car with (manufacturer admitted) transmission problem. DSG – Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Take A250 sport bro.. Its a Merc. and i bet it has better built wuality, ambience environment, classy and elegant. it also show u r successful young executive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • agree with u, man. we malaysian have to remember – VW in europe is like toyota in japan and proton in malaysia. Merc is MERC in everywhere on earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • frenzyaustin on Jun 19, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Mercedes, BMW, Audi, Porsche, is the brand that make what German Cars today. Volkswagen? Yeah, the company that owned Audi and Porsche, but Volkswagen brand? Meh, just an alternative to Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda, Peugeot, Kia, Hyundai and Ford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • flat_tire on Jun 20, 2013 at 3:01 am

so if one would pick a Golf GTI that person is a less successful young exec then..?

• based on my own opinion, Merc is for yung exec with class. and Golf GTI is for young exec with style. I bet if u can owned a car above Rm200k and u r just 29-35. U would be going for 3-er or Golf Gti. Prove me wrong if u can.

• Jeremy Clarkson on Jun 20, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Brand aside, have any of you read about the technology under the GTI compared to the Merc?

When you are buying a car of performance, I believe its TECHNOLOGY FIRST and BRAND 2nd!!

• A250 of cause! if u ask us to choose btw Golf GTI and Myvi Extreme of coz i choose the GTI coz it’s a VW!

• take Gti mark 7 – better all rounder if you are not into badging, another good choice is the ford Focus ST cheaper but manual gear only

• SteveJobsDrKubur on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:00 pm

woot woot! i saw my new car there !:D LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Horny goat on Jun 19, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Saya mau project A tamau project C

• Norman on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Hopes its not another 1.6/1.8 turbocharging unit with high maintenance.Ive had enough trouble with my daughter’s BMW 316i 1.6 Turbo with its periodic maintenance and its dyno tuning..The cost is like having a 2.2 litre car also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • chpro on Jun 19, 2013 at 4:58 pm

I thought preve hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Abg Long on Jun 19, 2013 at 5:20 pm

apa harga ini kereta? itu harga yang penting.

• Toffeeman on Jun 19, 2013 at 5:46 pm

A200 – RM200K

A250 – RM240K

A45AMG – RM340K

Apparently all A45 AMGs but 2 left are sold. Next supply is April 2014 !

Malaysians are sure rich le !!!!!!

• Malaysian are actually rich. just too stingy. but modern Malaysian are getting more open minded in terms of purchasing cars. Those who keep talking bout reselling value will never have the chance to enjoy nice cars beside uniformity cars like E class and bimmer.

• Tumbi on Jun 19, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Gti and scirocco 2.0 is ready to cry

• Shold be Golf R and Sci R. Both cheaper than A45. But oni at RM340k can own an AMG!!! previously it was only a dream as cheapest AMG starts at RM760K.

• ernest on Jun 22, 2013 at 9:10 am

but MB takes too long time to launch a-class in malaysia, this w176 model launched since July’12. hk/tw/sg all launched during xmas’12. :(

• Quad088 on Jul 06, 2013 at 8:25 am

the MK7 VW GTI has released. The golf is full of electronics , pusg soft, hard eco and so on. the merc is raw and powerful even thought it is only 01 sec slower than VW

• take A 250 maaa…

• davin on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:38 pm

hi paul tan is Mercedes-Benz A250 got paddle shift in malaysia