Lexus IS: four variants for Malaysia, order books open

Lexus IS Seoul

UMW Toyota has announced that order-taking for the new Lexus IS has begun. The third-generation XE30, a Detroit debutant that we also saw in the metal in Seoul and Bangkok earlier this year, is set to be launched very soon. It will be available here in four variant forms – three IS 250 versions as well as the IS 300h hybrid.

UPDATE: The new Lexus IS is now launched in Malaysia. Click here for our launch report and pics.

The models and estimated pricing (all on-the-road, with insurance) are:

• IS 250 – RM277,190
  • IS 250 Luxury – RM307,970
  • IS 250 F-Sport – RM341,928
  • IS 300h – RM393,228

Five exterior colours abound, with Mercury Gray Mica, Sonic Titanium and Starlight Black Glass Flake available for all four IS variants. White Pearl Crystal Shine, meanwhile, can be had with the IS 250, IS 250 Luxury and IS 300h, but is not available for the IS 250 F-Sport – it gets the fifth shade, which is White Nova Glass Flake, all to itself.

Likewise with the interior trim combination – the IS 250, IS 250 Luxury and IS 300h features a light grey, black and topaz brown scheme, while the IS 250 F-Sport’s cabin is dressed up in a black, topaz brown and dark rose combination.

Powering the IS 250 is a naturally-aspirated 2.5 litre V6 – the 4GR-FSE V6, good for 204 hp, is paired to a six-speed auto. The IS 300h, meanwhile, has a Lexus Hybrid Drive system combining an electric motor and a new 2AR-FSE 2.5 litre four-cylinder Atkinson cycle petrol engine, with total system output amounting to 217 hp. We’ll have more about the car on launch day.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 20, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Its a toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 249 Thumb down 185
    • Probably the stupidest statement I’ve heard all week.

Means Audi = VW?
      Means infinity = Nissan?
      Means lotus = proton?
      Means Bugatti = VW?

Wow. Wow

Just buy a proton. It’s a lotus.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 233 Thumb down 276
      • jolly_idiot on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Its still a toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 220 Thumb down 92
        • Jimmy on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:29 am

Very stupid people pay BMW prices for a mere Toyota. Open every panel in the car and you see the word Toyota written on it. Only losers who have fallen for marketing gimmick think Lexus is a luxury car. Yes its selling well in the US because it is as cheap as a Toyota. Here its sold at BMW prices. See how stupid Malaysians are? Buyers in Malaysia justify it by saying US sales are good but they fail to realize, its so cheap there. Like any Japanese brand. Buyers of Lexus in Malaysia all kena con. Spend so much thinking your car sama taraf as BMW or Mercedes. Its not. Its just a Toyota. Nothing else. People laugh at Lexus buyers knowing how they have fallen for a marketing gimmick. At traffic lights, most people sniggle when they see a Lexus. You got conned. Would you pay RM300,000 for a Camry?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 259 Thumb down 42
          • All Lexus are priced similarly with other luxury brands like BMW and Audi. If you think the Lexus is dirt cheap as Toyota models, so are the others. And they are cheap there because of trading policies and government policies like duties and taxes, not because it’s inferior compared to the others.

Just because it is a Toyota sub-brand, that doesn’t mean it’s cheap. And I’m wondering, what’s wrong being a Toyota? It’s reliable and quality is ok.

So a Bugatti is actually a beefed up VW? A Jaguar is actually a TATA? And Ferraris are actually Fiat with a nice metal sheet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 113
          • u mean oso that thai people stupider than bolehland people coz hav to buy lexus is250 f-sport for 3.99M [email protected] the fact that thai is toyota market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
          • dugong on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:21 pm

YOu’re wrong!!! Lexus is priced higher than BMW and merc in msia.

IS 250 F-Sport – RM341,928
            BMW 328i M Sport – RM309,800

But you are right when you say: At traffic lights, most people sniggle when they see a Lexus aka overpriced Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
          • All you need to do is compare comfort, build quality and reliability. Oh yes and Sam Loo’s favourite – resale value. Where are the continentals on these? Only Lexus I see in the emergency lane are those idiots talking on the phone and the ones with a flat tyre. Go figure. Thats why you pay premium for Toyota/ Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Luqman_HKM on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:54 pm

For your info, Lexus buyers are not idiots. When people see “HIGH QUALITY LUXURY GERMAN CARS” like Mercedes or BMW, traffic people would be like “WOW A MERC, YOU MUST BE RICH!” or “LOOK AT HIM, THAT’S A BMW!” and so on which is for me, extremely annoying. If you buy a Lexus, people be like “Meh, just a Toyota” or sometimes don’t even care. Lexus is for those who is rich but doesn’t want to attract too much attention. Therefore, Lexus is a Luxury car from Toyota that doesn’t attract attentions like a BMW or Mercs.

• dugong on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:34 pm

On top of that, the Yen is almost at all time low. Down 25% fr a year ago to RM3.20. And Lexus got the cheek to increase their prices?

Better price it like Bently or RR Phantom!! I’m sure gullible fools in dreamland will buy and claim it is better than RR Phantom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • BMW 6 Series Owner on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:04 pm

it’s still a toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 61
      • turboguy on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Yes, Lexus = Luxury Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 17
      • Jimmy on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:28 pm

True, especially so many Lexus Harrier, shame to the Harrier with Lexus logo and pitiful the real RX owner, it looks shameful.
        Premium Toyota with ugly grill. BTW Toyota doesn’t have signature grill?
        Lexuses are using high-end Toyota platforms, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • namanama on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:41 am

yes it’s toyota.still a toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
      • Jimmy on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:42 am

A car that uses girls with short skirts like that is so sad. You need girls to sell your car? Disgrace. Malu. The girl also no shame to parade yourself like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 18
    • An idiot will always be an idiot, full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 46
    • Living Room on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:06 pm

ferrari is a fiat. so better buy a panda than a 458

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 34
    • So? What’s the problem with a Toyota? You judge a thing by it’s brand and not by it’s quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 53
    • Let me teach u, Lexus and Toyota r different meaning and word! L.E.X.U.S, T.O.Y.O.T.A. High End and Low Class, u know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
      • WOah… we have a badass here.. You’ve just literally insulted every Toyoda fan.. good luck bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…This car was as cool as the pretty model. NICE.

• Davincci on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:07 pm

You should rephrase:

It’s a luxury Toyota that you can’t afford

• Barrack on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:37 pm

It’s an idiot

• Megane on Jun 20, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Nice looking but priced more expensive than the German rivals . Crazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 25
    • Green on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:31 pm

the pricing is right.

a Lexus 250,
      is price within the range of a BMW 328i and Benz C-Class 250.

In Malaysia,
      BMW 328i :RM289k
      Benz C250 : RM272k – RM296k
      Lexus IS250:RM275k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 34
      • Green on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm

this pricing style, is exactly happening @ US,
        where these 3 cars are priced at range of about 36k USD.

@ US, BMW 328i, is slightly cheaper then a Lexus 250, while a Benz C250 is slightly higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • jeremy on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:24 am

Only the Lexus IS 350 could be compared with the BMW 328i, not the IS 250…the IS 250 only have 204 bhp…the 328i has a LOT more bhp than that, not to mention the torque….the IS 250 can only be compared with c200 or 320i…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • but the IS350 is ahead with much more horsepower (306hp), that’s the 335i territory.

and this reflects a problem: Lexus is short of a new entry variant and one that sits in between the IS250 and IS350!

bring the 2.0L turbo already, Lexus!

• jeremy on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:40 pm

The 328i is still comparable to the IS 350…both does the century sprint in 5.6 seconds…the 335i does it in just 5.3 seconds…when it comes to turbocharged engine, it not just about the bhp, whats equally important is the torque…

• Umw keeping the benefits of free duties for japanese cars instead giving benefit to customers. Lexus should b much cheaper compared to the german counterparts..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Just noted, the recond IS is so cheap, and if it is as reliable (No6 vs No2) as Toyota, then why not kawan-kawan sekalian consider getting it instead of the one from UMW.

Sorry, no recond among all my vehicles, and no Lexus, not up to standard, yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Actually I was looking forward on the new IS, but got to know the price it is rather disappointing. $UMW$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • what the shit the cheapest IS300h variant in Taiwan is only NT1.69 mil which you get buy 2 of those and have some leftovers for the price in Malaysia. the IS250 is also ridiculously overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
  • BlueV12 on Jun 20, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Great car, but unfortunate pricing. It’s the A4 for me then!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • At that price better get 328i, 8 speed, 0-100 6.1 Sec. This type of performance in lexus cant get below 300K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • sam looo on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:02 pm

is Toyota anyway . good RV . the lady and the car equally nice ….. bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Keris Jawa on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Kereta orang gila… Errr sorry, kaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 20, 2013 at 9:12 pm

300h don’t get a Hybrid discount?

• That one is using a 2.5 litre engine. Only those engine that did not exceed 2.0 litre will get the hybrid car tax reduction.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jun 21, 2013 at 3:37 pm

I don’t know, both the BMW ActiveHybrid3 & ActiveHybrid5 comes with 3.0l engines but still entitled to rebates.

• IS 250 F-Sport comes with the LEXUS LFA 8 inch LCD instument cluster, do you get that high tech cluster in bmw or audi ? Nope…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • qwerty on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:09 am

and the V6 produces much nicer melody compared to BMW or Audi’s L4 engines (comparing variants of similar price tags).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • dugong on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:28 pm

u think 8-inch LCD worth so much premium? come on….go to kedai abang can get for RM500. Pity u pay 50k premium for RM500 accessory while the cheaper bimmer smokes you lexus everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • are you sure what he’s talking about?? it’s not the LCD in the centre console, but the LFA-inspire odometer. i don’t think anyone can get that for rm500.

• merc fanboi on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:14 pm

You can take Lexus out of Toyota, but you can’t take Toyota out of Lexus.

It’s still a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
  • 3 series > IS > C class > A4 > Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • bmw_idiotic_car on Jun 20, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Strange but some of most stupid morons making claims that this is a Toyota. Such a moron. Have they owned/tried one b4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
  • Audi a6 hybrid a better buy IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • qwerty on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:06 am

nope, the IS is still the best in terms of engine-and-motor refinement and more importantly, it looks nicer than the A6 to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • kelso on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:42 pm

also, you won’t be able to order one

• Lexus distributor in Malaysia is not UMW but RMW. Japan-Malaysia economic pact should translated to cheaper Lexus than Teutonic counterparts.

• PauKaya on Jun 20, 2013 at 11:24 pm

whats the spec difference in terms of kit

• Who said current BMW F30 is better than A4 & C Class, I suggest go to test drive first if not capable to bought one lerrr.. After that compare with old E90..

Than they should be able to feel either F30 drive feeling like Japanese or Germany car… Mostly F30 owner (99.99%) claim feeling like Japanese car & no longer Germany feel like older E90..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Skypirate on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:00 am

Agreed, those that claim the F30 drives well obviously have not driven a BMW before. The F30 is a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • qwerty on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:00 am

and the new IS is poised to beat the BMW in its own league.

the upcoming IS-F (if it will happen) will be as good if not better than the M3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • LoL! IS-F better than M3… i really have to see this happening to believe it..

• qwerty on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:38 pm

reviewers are already telling that the new IS is better than the 3series in terms of ride and handling as well as comfort.

I don’t see why it’s impossible for the new IS-F to beat the M3.

• dugong on Jun 22, 2013 at 3:19 am

The one and only thing the IS-F can beat the M3 is the price. It will cost 30% more than M3 in bolehland.

• tishaban on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:06 am

For the past few years, every time a car is launched in Malaysia the comments on paultan has been

1. price is too expensive
    2. resale value sucks
    3. my japanese/european/korean/malaysian car is better than this one

I don’t know why I still read the comments, do you? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • YeapyEvo on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:50 am

Since BMW 335i Hybrid got tax reduction for 3L engine, Lexus should ask gov to give the same treatment for its 2.5L too. <100g CO2 is good enough to qualify as EEV

• droll on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:08 am

exactly. i was expecting the hybrid IS to be much cheaper than it is. i’m quite surprised it is so expensive. in fact, toyota should also introduce the hybrid camry in here too.

• liwyt on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:37 am

seriously .. i just dont know why alot of people are complaint about Lexus? i own a IS250 , and im still very happy with it. It dosent mean BMW or benz its not good. I drive an E90 before, what i will say BMW is fun to drive , but its a very driver centric car … they will focus on the driver excitement. But as a passenger, u will not feel very comfortable on in it (e90), i own a c class before. overall is comfort and simple, and it looks luxury ( benz still a benz). A lexus actually has the most features in its class, chair cooler / warmer, 3 way memory seats for both front passengers , 13 mark levinson speakers with 11 air bags… so what i would like to say is every brands has their own specialty… same goes to lexus… i believe if we take out the Lexus logo and put a BMW logo on a Lexus…. alot of people will said ” wow .. its a good car !”

Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 31
    • yep! exactly! I always believe that the Japs make cars as good as the Germans, at times even better.

If I were rich enough to be having a headache over which car to buy, my vote will definitely go to the Lexus, partly because I’m a fan but the fact is that it’s just as good as the others with winning edges like higher reliability (JD Powers proves that), made to suit our weather better and cheaper maintanence fee.

• which is why UMW is ripping us off… the price structure is such that you are paying for compared to a german counterpart. Cant say i like jap cars much when it comes to driving feel, but its definitely more financialy sensible than its german counterpart for daily use.

• Somehow the Lexus reminds me of the time I had nasi lemak and teh ais in a hotel. The bill came to RM30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • Kelvin on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:43 am

Bro n sis….. Stop firing pls…..
    Ppl who say worth to have are rich ppl, they buy thing follow their interest. U like it, u worth it.
    Ppl who say damn, price is so high and it’s still a Toyota are miskin ppl, they spend every cent with a calculator, fuel consumption, resell value, other fact, they buy thing by comparing, comparing and comparing.

Simple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Maserati on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:00 am

Dont know why people keep comparing this with BMW 3 series! 3 series is damn overrated and this LExus is250 is better than the 3 series in so many ways.

Just wait till u see the interior of the IS 250 then u will understand why lexus are so expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 62
    • no offense, I agree with u the interior quality is better than Beamer however it’s losing out in term technology and driving experience. Unfortunately branding is another issue considering consumers are more brand conscious nowadays.

• qwerty on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:42 pm

no offense but both the IS and 3 series are entry level models and they don’t come with much tech.

if i were to compare, the flagship models are the ones that should be compare. And the LS beats the 7 series in the areas you mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Heybadigol on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:30 am

Ridiculous pricing, the hybrid just slightly cheaper than the base GS250. No wonder BMW Malaysia decided to sell the f30 m sport with a way higher price than the f30 sport line. Thanks to Lexus Malaysia, the others are hiking up their price too. Hope the Infiniti Q50 is more sensibly priced.

• It’ll probably gonna be another flop with that sort of price tag. Another fail attempt by Lexus Malaysia to penetrate into this country luxury segment. It’s still a long way for them. Just look at Audi, it took them so long to catch up.

• LOL…tsk tsk. All the comments are so hilarious and lame. If anyone who cant appreciate the art of Lexus can just walk away. Dont complain. rang No matter what u guys are saying. There are still a huge of customers for this beauty. RMB what ppl said of GS last time? there are so many on the road now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • To stand a better chance against Mercedes and BMW, Lexus Malaysia should ditch the normal IS250 and price the IS250 Luxury at RM277,190.

• ss427 on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:34 am

hmm… was that girl trying to do the Gentleman dance?
    Hey babe, wrong car nationality la :D
    Geez I don’t know what signature dance J Pop artiste offers these days LOL

• heybadigol on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:40 am

But despite the price, it is a looker, and has improved handling over the old one (close to the f30, but not quite equal). I dont see any problems with a luxury Toyota, if it has the luxury of a Merc and bulletproof reliability of a Toyota, and im sure those who buy a Lexus want the assurance that you are not buying a car that will spend a lot of time at the service centre for all sorts of electronic problems. A reliable luxury car is sometthing the Germans need to work on, and something which Infiniti & Lexus have managed to do. Acura also makes reliable cars, but to me they are more like wannabe luxury, so they are not there yet, and also not sold here (probably for those reasons)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Julian on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:16 am

No need argue la, in Bolehland the cars are always priced extremely high. You want cheap cars, go get proton.

• Hopeless Hater on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:15 am

The mentality of our Malaysian’s Toyota hater is seriously low… A Lexus is a Toyota? Lexus is a overpriced Camry? Shit, a boring Camry vs a car that has a comparable driving dynamic with a BMW. What if I tell you precious Audi’s TFSI is actually a slightly modified Volkswagen TSI? What if I tell you S-Tronic is just a renamed DSG gearbox? I see more similarities between a VW and an Audi than Toyota and Lexus but I refused to call Audi = VW. If Toyota is so bad, Aston Martin wouldn’t consider to leather wrap a iQ to Cygnett already la. C’mon la, be sporty a bit la, why jealous when Toyota has enough technology and money to fully launched a Luxury brand to compete with the west in international market, instead, we should be proud as Lexus is the 1st asian luxury car brand that do well. And lastly, get a life la, keep bashing Toyota won’t get you successful in your life ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Totally agree.
      For those who hate Toyota and Lexus so much, can you briefly tell us what car are you driving now and have you really tested these cars before you made such comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • dugong on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Yes Lexus is soooooooooooo good that IS250 can be priced like E-class / 5 series?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:59 pm

IS250 priced like a E250 or 525i? I wish E-class and 5-series is this kind of price too.

• liwyt on Jun 21, 2013 at 6:15 pm

I totally agree v u bro ….. they just cant accept lexus as a luxury brand… guys… go to the showroom to test drive one of the model and u will know and understand y Lexus is the best selling luxury car in USA. why alot of Malaysian will buy a VW even their after sales service is bad ? because its a German and they dont even care the services, Lexus service is superb …. and u still think its an overpriced car because it a Japanese own company.I recently see alot Citron DS4 on the road, i wont say they all stupid or waste money .. its a beauty .. look at the design , not much competitors can produce it… same goes to Lexus…. spend some time on the small details… u will know why it priced at the range….

• My friends, no point complaining the car price is expensive, this is due to the tax structure of Malaysia. If you want to blame, blame those who vote BN in the past election.

As for Toyota and Lexus, please try it before you comment anything. Try to go test drive Toyota Prius and Lexus CT200h, then you come back and tell me your feeling. It is different, I test drive both before, Prius give me plastic feeling (no offend to those Prius owner), Lexus give me solid and luxury feeling. Well, you have to pay the price for premium stuff.

Lexus offer “Lexus Assist” service to all Lexus cars owner.
    You got flat tyre, just call them, they come and replace your tyre for free.
    Your car break down, call them, they come and toll your car for free.
    Your car no battery, call them, they come and do jump start or replace a temporary battery for you for free.
    You car run out of petrol, they buy petrol for you (you have to pay for the petrol) and send it to you for free.
    And many more free services.

Just tell me, is BMW, VW, Merc offered the above service FOR FREE?

This is just my personal opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
  • No need to debate wether is TOYOTA or not, worth buying or not or whatsoever. Never buy brand new, get a RECOND soon will be less 40%.

• Gavinesh on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:55 am

The lexus is ridiculously priced. Top of the range BMW 3 series, the 328i M sport which is launched next month is only 309000 but top of the range lexus is 393000. There is no wonder why nobody buys lexus cars in Malaysia. Way overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Dear all whom had test driven a Lexus, BMW, Benz or Audi before. Please test drive all these beautiful car before you fire anything blindly. Lexus IS250 indeed kinda pricy, but its more bold, aggressive and fun to drive with when it come with all these specs which previous 2nd gen do not have. For me, I will test drive these cars before I make a judgement. Just my 2 cent point.

• Hi, Paul,
    isn’t it Hybrid get tax exemption?
    why it is very much expensive than a standard IS250?!

zai

• Reiner on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:47 pm

it’s a 2.5L hybrid, which means it is not tax free, tax free applicable to engine which 2,000cc and lower.

• YeapyEvo on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Lexus CT250 = Toyota Prius with wood, this I agree
    Lexus LFA = Toyota ?? Well… this is a different beast which shows how capable is Toyota
    BMW335i Active Hybrid will be a better buy at current price

• Reiner on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:49 pm

I got a Lexus IS250, My money, I happy.
    So?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Johnny on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:57 pm

I bet 80% of you here whom are criticizing this car hasn’t even ride or driven it before. So before putting it down as “still a Toyota” go drive it first la stupid. Some will find it inferior to the 3-series and C-class, but some will find it’s better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • dreaming of maserati on Aug 30, 2014 at 2:51 am

No one wants to drive that overpriced crap. If proton made a 500k car would u want to test drive n buy? Real sohai.

• At the end of the day, branding rules it all, a proton model can have the best technology, the most luxury interior ever but it’s still a proton. Lexus for me? Maybe not….. After all, BMW and Mercedes didn’t become famous overnight, it took great effort, years of hardwork and countless of minds to nail it.

• hatelexus on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Saw one Singapore plated one on the road recently. Cannot tell the difference between it and a Camry.

The previous Lexus were distinct from a Toyota, now they are all the same.

Definitely not in my new car list.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
    • German Engineering on Jun 22, 2013 at 12:00 am

Damn, I can’t tell the difference between Jetta and A4 too…

• Seen the Lexus RX interior design, looks great. I owned a F30, to be frank it’s nice car to drive but quality is so so. But, if you ask me, I still prefer the UDM.

Tell me which car is not over priced in M’sia? Like it, buy it. Can afford, buy it. No choice, unless Government really bring down the car price.

The living standard of Msia vs our neighbour SG, you can easily see super car in any of their shopping mall car park. Our government should bring down the car price so that we can enjoy a safer, better ride quality vehicle and reduce the cost to own a much better car. Car value depreciate over the time, government should help us to improve our living quality.

• Why are we keep talking the price difference between the Merc, BMW and Lexus or even Infiniti?

Merc, BMW = CKD
    Lexus, Infiniti = CBU

Correct me if I am wrong.

• Cinema on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:29 am

Between IS and 3series , of coz many will favor the latter being the cheaper.

Lexus is Toyota, true….same group, but one must drive a Lexus to Feel and experience why both are actually different. I have sat in a GS before, the silentness and comfort level is premium….it is nothing inferior to 5series.

• Jacob on Aug 11, 2013 at 12:47 am

Interesting….while here in the Philippines, its the opposite.

BMW 320d costs around RM 250k, while the 328 goes for RM 320k
    Mercedes Benz C180 at RM 215k
    while the new Lexus IS350 (306hp) starts at 180k, F-sport version at RM 215k

• Jacob on Aug 11, 2013 at 12:48 am

So you can imagine which car is selling better “despite” being a Toyota :)

• IAMKKK on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:14 pm

For whom is driving proton cars now, please try to test drive Toyota cars (or other Japanese brand car) then he can understand what is the meaning of “quality car”. Don’t comment if you never try !!