Chery Eastar XT – new variant joins lineup, RM94k

Chery Automobile Malaysia has introduced another Eastar MPV variant, this one being known as the XT. Its arrival brings to three the number of seven-seater Eastar versions in the country, the others being the regular ES and upkitted ST, which was introduced a year ago.

No mechanical changes to the running gear – the Eastar continues with the 2.0 ACTECO unit, good for 134 hp at 5,750 rpm and 180 Nm at 4,400 rpm, mated to a four-speed auto transmission.

What’s new on the Eastar XT? Well, new design headlamps, for one, and there are interior upgrades such as leather seats, a six-speaker DVD player/navigation system and LED display screens for rear occupants, these being located behind the driver and passenger seat headrests. Oh, and there’s a reverse camera as well. Safety kit includes ABS, EBD and dual airbags.

The Eastar XT is priced at RM94,040, on-the-road with insurance, which makes it cheaper that the ST when that first arrived (RM96,888 when launched last year). Available exterior colours are Sunbeam Silver, Mystic Black, Brown Silver, Chili Red, Sapphire Silver and Snow White.

At the launch, the company also introduced a five-year or 150,000 km warranty programme, which accompanies any new Eastar purchase.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• XT now ? XXT future ? common , is that difficult to add the active safety feature ? please check the Dacia MCV , they don’t have fancy fancy stuff , but they have all models come with isofix , ESP , ABS+EBD, TC … what the problem with local car manufacturer ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Petrolhead on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:57 am

Note that this car is not even selling in China anymore and the price in China range from RMB100,400-RMB159,000 which is around RM50,000 – RM80,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 97
      • Wisdom on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:05 pm

China or german or japan, if they cant properly mould the golvebox or properly assemble the glovebox (see from the full dashboard picture), how can i trust the engineering part?

Selling at 94k? Thats too expensive. I thought everybody is trying to introduce new models with value added feature & reduced price. Not the other way round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Cewek cantik on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Hi Abang Abang sekalian. Sebenarnya then retail price of this car is 94k for kastam declaration purpose but we are giving big big discount for 2012 car. 8,888 discount and 20k cashback. It’s so much cheaper than livina or avanza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
      • OMG…still can survive here… Balik kampung tanam chery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • got some laaa bro… ESP, ABS+EBD… better check each photos before you just comment…hahaha

• Ahmad Albab on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Wow; no star NCAP also people buy?
      Hurm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Kalun on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Now, i can declare that Proton has better quality than Chery. Look at the panel gap man!

Even my rattling old hyundai is better.

• Wow your eye is so sharp even can spot the gap from far away inside the picture!

Are you the alien just like Kal-El from Krypton planet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • How came Toyota cant make something like this mpv? Innova is damn yuck!

• RON97 on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:16 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 124
    • wat bout true family man with big family?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Bryan on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:00 am

WoW RON97….You are Sooooo MAN…. So what car do you drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:00 am

True man drive a MPV or SUV and driving the whole family on vacation every weekend. Oh wait… you are not a man, your tool is malfunctioned.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • littlechery on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:10 am

A real man get married & have a bunch of kids. You need an MPV for that..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • RON99 on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:45 am

Opkosla Bro!
      Bcoz ko dah kawin nanti anak 10 orang still nak pakai kancil ko tu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • ben yap on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:33 pm

yay! join the flame frenzy!!!

true man don’t drive MPV than drive what? Bus ar?

• stinj on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:20 pm

So I guess you will be forever alone. Are you…..?

• Yeah.. Seriously you never drove a 240hp MPV that could out accelerate most small hatch out there while the whole family inside seating in pure comfort.. real man..

• Veneno on Jun 22, 2013 at 12:25 am

so, if you have many kids, u will put them in your sedan’s boot..??

• Alpha on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:19 am

This car was all the rage when it used the old Mitsu engine few years back. Now I hardly see any on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • taboogen on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:32 am

got lah… see on your right –> got a lot advert for 2nd hand.. hahahaah
      like my friends used to tell me.. you will only see new chery but the old model will be at used car shop.

• suziela on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:24 am

woooowww..interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • gynaecologist on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:22 am

wahh.. 5 years warranty for made in china product.
    toyota, its a wake up call!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:27 pm

in this 5-years warranty, the car will break down every 5 months, and to repair takes time 1 month. this is malaysia mah we work very slow.
      then after 5 years what u gonna do? if car break down, need import parts from China? walao

• sparcov on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:57 am

Exora with 205 Nm DFE and 138 hp @ 1600 cc..

Oh…is only less than 70k for a CFE bold basic..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Poor build quality, a lot problem with Easter. Go to chery facebook page to see customer complaint. Not to mention high fuel consumption. Regret buying this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • gOOsh on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:15 pm

agak2 PROTON goyang tak..???
    … nnaahhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • neemfa on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Wow! look at that gap and alignment.. engineering masterpiece! lol

• for chery alado,
    if u want survive,

1)please introduce new and better spec and look model produced by Chery. Maybe facelift Chery Tiggo 1.6 supercharger and D segment Chery Riich G5 with better price. For D segment sedan please put the price below RM 105, 000. For the future, make sure good concept car such as C segment sedan Chery Alpha 7 and new look Chery Tiggo will launch in Malaysia before 2014 with competitive price. Sure it will be sell like hot cake.

2)make sure your service centre keep update problem on your product especially Chery Eastar MPV. better recall problem car to build good image.

3)upgrade the interior especially the material used and improve its cabin silence. sure your car will get more buyer.

• Tupai on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:22 pm

I’ve bought Chery Eastar in 2010 but i sell it off in 2011 due to many many issues, my advise is dont get cheated with Chery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • ben yap on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:34 pm

how much money you lost? i think more than 50% for a year old car?

• Tupai on Jun 23, 2013 at 12:00 am

I lost around 10k, 1 mechanic bought it and he was ok with the car condition beside the mileage was only 17k after 1 year and 3 months. but now with toyota family for more than a year ready, no issue at all.

• I know someone also did the same, sold it a year later. Never ask whats wrong with it but when he used to have it ,every time he drives by, the exhaust sounds broken(like those big Exhaust modded Proton), the brake squeak(like an old lorry….or like my mom’s Alza)and the engines rattles.

• Chery is junk la, possible death trap…never understood people who buy it

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:40 pm

You bought real car or just a model?

• voDevil on Jun 21, 2013 at 3:00 pm

halamak…

what’s with the Audi single frame grille design & the LED daytime-running lights?

• alphawolf on Jun 21, 2013 at 3:10 pm

This car is so so out-of-date…and horrible build quality too. It’s not even cheap, so only mad people or Chinese extreme nationalists will buy it.

The local distributor will die soon if they kept on persisting with this model…

• hoho….one more generation and they will have overtaken our national car!

• alphawolf on Jun 21, 2013 at 3:49 pm

it’s true, check out their facebook page. tons of complaints.

• Expatriate VN on Jun 21, 2013 at 4:01 pm

I never consider Chery MPV despite I despise Jaguh Kampung No. 2!!1

• you guys are right, besides of Toyota, all cars are junk. thank you to admit other cars are junk.

• unker on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Hey, you all don’t want Audiish headlamp with DRL? It’s very trendy. Even Innova, livina, exora, stream and wish don’t have it factory installed.

• wajaowner on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:42 am

i viewed this car at their showroom in pj..the moment i step in the car it was like a big no no with huge gap between the dash and low class super cheap plastic that can easily broke.

Salesman as usual giving discount here and there and kept saying you get what you pay bla bla bla
    On the road this car looks ok but stay away..people

• Mohd Reza on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:33 pm

wahh…some negative comments.i guess all are angels.PERFECT TEN.i wonder commenter are driving at least a ferrari.though i dislike the gap but does the gap itself cause accidents or malfunctions.
    one last thing,before we want to comment on chery service center,look at yourself deeply.try to speak calmly to the service center with polite in mind.normally if you expect they to be polite to you,you should start first being polite.try learning how people judge you first before you judge others.

• tupai on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:04 pm

hahaha…easy for u to say, i already went through all this but sadly they took advantage but pity to those owners. I tell you what, spend some time like 3 hours in their centre and see then u know the exact story.

• There is a good and bad comment all over here …. hmmmm maybe bad more then good …. and some event say china product balik kampung …. but do you think of Malaysia product?? Produce in malaysia and selling like import car price …. plus the quality of the product getting more even worst. May be your mind just think that china product is the lousy product but do you think that all the car is not fully imported and is all assembly in local. Other way round that you are complaining your own country people not doing job well. Honda, Toyota, KIA and etc all also having a same problem and maybe is not happen to you and you feel that the car is good … You have your right to say about the car but don’t have a right to say why people choosing it and drive it.

• carlover on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:56 am

I agree with tom. different people, diff needs and budgets. better give a positive comments to improve further . I believe the related parties will take consideration.

• mag71 on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Alamak…. I just getting interested with one 2.4 make year 2009. Because of budget and long distance travel most the time. Test drive it…. felt good but puzzle me the mileage only 35k. So decided to browse for review, now I have second thought, is it really that bad ??