F30 BMW 320d and 328i M Sport now in Malaysia

BMW_328i_M-Sport_1

For those who have been holding out on purchasing an F30 3 Series because you want the M Sport package, you better be prepared to bring out the cheque book as BMW Malaysia has officially announced that the F30 3 Series M Sport is now here in Malaysia.

The F30 BMW 3 Series M Sport is available in 320d M Sport as well as 328i M Sport guises, which replace the Sport Line versions of both cars. The 320d Modern and 328i Luxury will continue to be offered at RM248,800 and RM293,800 respectively, but the M Sport versions of both cars will have a higher price tag.

The BMW 320d M Sport with a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine producing 184 hp and 380 Nm of torque has an official price tag of RM268,800 which is a RM20,000 premium over the outgoing Sport Line package. It’s equipped with the M aerodynamic package, chromium exhaust pipe finishers, BMW Individual Shadow Line high gloss exterior trim and 18-inch M light alloy wheels (Style 400M) connected to the M Sport suspension which is lower by 10 mm.

f30-pricelist-june-2013

Inside, there’s an M Nappa leather steering wheel with paddle shifters, leather sports seats, aluminium hexagon design interior trim with M Sport-exclusive Estoril Blue accent strip, M-branded door sills and BMW Individual anthracite headliner. The key fob will have blue highlights too, replacing the Sport Line’s red trim.

For petrolheads who want to stretch their rev meters a bit longer, the BMW 328i M Sport powered by a 245 hp/350 Nm 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine is now priced at RM309,800, which is a RM16,000 premium over the outgoing 328i Sport Line. New equipment is similar to the 320d M Sport, however it also comes with the Adaptive M Sport suspension, which is also 10 mm lower but is adjustable between Comfort and Sport settings.

BMW Malaysia had previously offered the M Sport bodykit as a retrofit option for RM12,888, so the price premium for these two factory-fitted M Sport cars look like a bargain in comparison to the retrofit pricing, and it comes with additional equipment and trim too.

BMW_328i_M-Sport_2

We’re guessing the higher price premium for the 320d M Sport as compared to the 328i M Sport has something to do with the upsizing of the 320d Sport Line’s 17-inch wheels to the 18-inch M Sport wheels, while the 328i Sport Line already had 18-inch wheels to begin with.

The 320d M Sport and 328i M Sport are available in Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Melbourne Red, Glacier Silver, Mineral Grey or a very nice M Sport-exclusive blue shade called Estoril Blue. The 320i will continue to be available in both Sport and Luxury lines.

Read our review of the F30 3-Series here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• what an rip off

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:21 am

What is the use come out with this launch when pariah BMW Malaysia ONLY give 2 years warranty? You know why they are the ONLY car company giving a mere 2 year warranty? Its because just exactly 730 days later, most people have experienced total gearbox failure. Be prepared to fork out RM80k for a replacement. Tak cantiq when MBM gives 4 years for Mercedes and most Japanese/ Korean give 5 years warranty. BMW Malaysia have no shame at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 19
      • Jimmy on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:35 am

BMW 320d or 320i F30 2012 model registered in June 2012 now selling for RM180K. Its amazing how BMW prices can drop so much in one year. RM70k just vanishes in the air. Maybe the seat rust scandal is helping the price to drop so fast. Logically, if you buy BMW F30, buy 2nd hand. Never buy brand new in Malaysia. First year always drop like mad. Then 2nd year onwards, not that bad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 15
        • 520i RV on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:16 am

520i even worse. Can get a 2012 520i (2.0 twin turbo) for RM260k to RM270k. New one is RM360k.

RM100k depreciation in one year? Better to get a used car and still got BMW warranty left. Saw a 2012 going for RM270 only done 11,000KM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
          • Konsumer Pandai on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:55 am

Very true. I just bought a 11 month old 320d CKD for RM185k. I can use it for a few years and still sell for above 100k. Not much I lose. So I get BMW with Toyota or Honda ReSale!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
          • ttcdxdrrft on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:48 pm

520i only have one turbo…not twin turbo…twin turbo only for M5

• dugong on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:52 pm

DOn’t be a liar. Prove that a 2012 F30 is selling at RM180k.
          But i do agree with you that BMW need to increase the warranty to 4 or 5 yrs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • StupidDave on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:49 pm

These Audi salesman like to spin in every BMW post and click “like” themselves, they are really a joker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • hellhole on Jun 22, 2013 at 5:38 am

Konsumer Pandai. I will buy your car for 190K it it is really true

• BMW Gearbox Failure?? hahahahaha….. I thought only VW got this kind of problem….!! Nobodys Perfect!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • StupidDave on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:46 pm

These Audi salesmen spin also you believe, you got future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • John Holmes on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:25 pm

I have used the E90 320i for 5 years and yet to experience ANY failure. Very reliable. Obviously, the guys giving negative comments are just jealous because all they can afford is Proton WAJA. I am booking to buy 328i F30 M-Sport next week. So, carry on being jealous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
        • Hey john,

U have purchased ur M-Sport? how is it so far? all good? ride experience n all? Appreciate the feedback, bro :)

• Sick&tired on Oct 01, 2013 at 11:50 am

You must be the worlds biggest idiot to think that the gb will cost you rm80k and stupid if you are willing to fork out rm80k!

• Bayerische Motoren Werke (BMW) is a very well known automobile making company. They make the finest car in the world. People who owns them are normally professionals,I dont think they need your lousdy comment here.Look at yourself before you say BMW is pariah.Pls Dont embarrass urself ThankYou!

• Alpha on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:37 am

Yeah. RIP English.

• Jr Driver on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:30 pm

wow…
      pay extra; get rusted seat frame..
      steering rack noise..
      absorber noise..

yezza low quality and super premium price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Looks like a cockroach!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • BMW and VW, both of them r the worst German cars maybe… Mercedes is better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Ya wait till u have enzo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Mukhriz on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:17 am

I owned a E90 320d M Sport. all trims and equipment looks the same except the rims. damnnnnnn….. all at the same price i paid!!!

• Dodgy on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:29 am

Where’s the 320 M sport? Trying to keep it for later again? Took you guys 18 months for proper 3 series UDM…have to wait again because your marketing plan is to rip off more money? Disappointing :(

• CBU ZA or SKD Kulim?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:45 am

Why some website I saw the front bumper without “front fog lamp” where else M’sian spec comes with it? Feeling strange to this M-sport spec?
    http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=834772

• Johnny on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:35 am

That’s with a different body kit my friend.

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:43 pm

US spec F30 M-sport models do not come with front fog-lights. BMW NA claims extra cooling needed on US spec cars (especially on the 335i) but in reality it’s more likely just a cost-saving measure.

• Bayang Putih on Jun 21, 2013 at 4:45 am

Wow!! lot cheaper than I thought. waiting for LCI

• fourwheel on Jun 21, 2013 at 6:22 am

… santa fe r type turbo diesel more powerful than this 320d?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Audi4good on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:55 am

Yes my friend. But Santa Fe is an SUV and has slightly bigger engine than 320d. Let’s not comparing those two shall we.

• Santa Fe is a 2.2 liter while this Beemer is a 2.0 liter….smaller cc but the 380nm is quite good numbers

• Littlebear on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:04 am

Nice car… How i wish i could own a 3 series M Sport :))

• tishaban on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:27 am

M-sport without adaptive suspension? Sorry BMW Malaysia, I know you’re trying to segment the cars into different markets but adaptive suspension is much better. As if the difference in price, performance and fuel used isn’t enough to differentiate.

I guess I won’t be upgrading to the F30 from the E90 anytime soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • gavin on Jun 21, 2013 at 7:45 am

“BMW Malaysia was previously offering the M Sport bodykit as a retrofit option for RM12,888, so the price premium for these two factory-fitted M Sport cars look like a bargain in comparison to the retrofit pricing, and it comes with additional equipment and trim too.”

kinda obvious isn’t it, just goes to show how bloated the retrofit pricing is, i would rather have the Powerkit power upgrade thrown in as a proper ‘M’ in quotations , model

• ABTguy on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:05 am

Yes, from the onset it looks like a big rip-off. But we need to understand that the retrofit is always more costly because you will end up with 2 sets of front / rear bumpers and side kits. Upgrade on new purchase will save BMW some cost too.

What I felt unhappy is that, this M-sport offerings should have been there together with the launching of F30. By having this 1.5 years later it literally penalised all the early adopters !!

Not that I like Lexus brand, but BMW should follow thier way to have all variants at launch !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Anon Kneemas on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Eh BMW didn’t offer the ZMP option at launch either in the US market. What I don’t get is why the delayed availability of Estoril Blue II paint?

• Jinggo on Jun 21, 2013 at 8:22 am

Good car, bad pricing.. Overpriced, can’t afford. Preve is the best car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
    • crazy comparison…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Audi4good on Jun 21, 2013 at 9:57 am

Yep. Preve is more suited to your style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Preve…Preve…never ending……Go ahead with Preve, no body gonna stop you. Let the other go with UDM, that is our class, not yours.

• Alex Chan on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:14 am

see…the resale value is very very bad?..after 1 year want to sell oso cry,
    buy toyota..very minimum value drop..prestigious brand summore…thats why toyota car many people dream to own one..the best maa..
    choose value, that why we chinese choose toyota..even vios is more refined than this very very low value fast depreciating brand.
    Quality & prstigious? of course TOYOTA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 75
    • Aiyyaaa. You really sound like some cina bukit toyota salesman lor. Go and fly kites somewhere la apek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 30
      • Alex Chan on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:04 pm

wahh so many thumbs up!..see see what i say is correct OK..buy toyota is more clever than this lousy fast depreciating brand..2nd use car sell cheap cheap oso people dun wan..toyota is like hot cakes one..even used car oso sell very fast..everyone dreaming to won one!..choose VALUE..that why we chinese choose toyota maa…u want an affordable toyota?..vote clever ok..vote DAP..no car tax!..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 58
        • HATE JAPANESE CAR on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Dear Alex… U really big Cina Kui / Apek la. Becz ppl like u … T taking advantage. T is ppl dream car ? Are u dreaming Apek ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • hellhole on Jun 22, 2013 at 5:33 am

Dont scold him la Haha, he cannot afford it period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Audi4good on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:57 am

I’m not saying BMW is better than Toyota in terms of build quality but BMW is certainly far more prestigious and luxurious than Toyota. Toyota has Lexus for that. Girls find man in an old BMW is more attractive than the other man driving a Vios. FACT. However you can stick to your opinions though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Of course Toyota is prestigious. NOT!

Those new Camry owners are just “I-can’t-afford-Lexus-so-I-buy-this-lorr”. Its so silly to buy a Lexus when all it is is a rebadged Toyota.

• Bangala on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:48 pm

You Only Live Once, don’t die together with your VIOS in an accident.
      Cheapskate.

• kaput on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:18 am

love the m sport steering wheel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:27 am

E90 325i m sport CKD was RM306k ….a 9k increase…
    at least this comes with the lauded m sport adaptive suspension , a 900 pounds (RM4.5k) option in the UK ..
    i’ll look for 1 in mudah after 5 years lol… with much hope

• Junsan on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:39 am

The only thing i want to upgrade now is my idrive system from CIC to NBT. i wonder do they have NBT installed in these new M-sports.

• fourwheel on Jun 21, 2013 at 12:04 pm

…320d got great torque… how about the level of noise with this diesel engine in this mancho car actually?

• Arcee on Jun 23, 2013 at 2:03 am

Between a 320i & 320d, i will choose 320d anytime especially when d price gap is negligible. I understand that at idle, it might sound like a taxi from d outside. Once inside, its a different story. Upon picking up speed, all d diesel clatter wont matter anymore. In fact, I feel it runs quieter than a 320i & with d added torque, its definately a more fun car to have. Despite d “performance”, i still save fuel & barely refuel less than 7 days between intervals. In fact my fueling intervals are now about 10 days for city driving. Once drove to penang & spend 3 days on d island with start stop traffic. Came back KL then my 1st low fuel warning sign appreared signalling i have 100km left. Return journey to penang on 1 full tank of diesel. Wanna see a petrol car beat that.

Also if u also think a diesel car will incur higher maintenance, from my previous experience upgrading from a 318i, i honestly don’t see any difference.

* sorry topic had to tangent a little because I find it disturbing that d general public still can’t accept a diesel car can come with performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • cockpit is very noisy when cruising at highway..avoid CKD buy CBU

• Arcee on Jun 23, 2013 at 2:09 am

Perhaps d noise u are hearing comes from d tires. They are runflats & ride can be jarring because of d harder sidewalls. Change them to non-runflats. U will “hear” a significant difference but u still get some wind noise from d windows at high speed. That is something bmw gotta work on without d need for us to upgrade to a 5 series.

• not sure abt the f30 the f10 doesnt come with any space tyre nor the space for it so run-flats is a must

• Arcee on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:44 pm

I have a repair kit in my car (sealant & pump). Good for a quick patch & sufficient for you to get to a tire shop. However, if the tire is damaged, the only option is a tow truck

• jinjangman on Jun 21, 2013 at 4:07 pm

drive proton better..lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • still got no comfort access?

• Arcee on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:49 pm

The 320d will literally “smoke” any VW, Merc & Preve for d matter but once u chip d car, torque can boost to 450-480nm & yet still return 1000 km for a full tank of 56L diesel (with moderate driving on the highway)

• Innovators on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:50 pm

No, a 320d won’t beat a hot hatch GTI from Volkswagen. You have to be dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Arcee on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I didnt say beat. I said “Smoke” & in my case diesel fumes. Anyhow, a 320d gotta pick its situation to beat a GTI, has to be chipped & would also depend who has the bigger gonad. Done that many times on a windy road & that is why I prefer a RWD or AWD vs FWD anytime

• PauKaya on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:36 pm

actually i’ve seen plenty of 320d’s racing with Golf GTI’s. On paper it wont win but real life is just different.

• Arcee on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:07 am

Cant beat them on straights. 320d have weight disadvantage but when it comes to bends, lovely. I am willing to bet that there and more bends than straight roads in Malaysia. If not we can do an endurance race…don’t need to refuel for d whole race…lol!!!

• adrian on Jun 21, 2013 at 11:52 pm

why is only 320d m sport and 328i m sport?

how bout 320i m sport? are they coming soon or will not?

• Simon Hoh on Jun 22, 2013 at 10:05 am

The M Sport front bumper design looks a bit old. It’s been used for so many applications now. Why don’t they change it? I prefer the standard front of the F30, it’s fresher. Don’t mind the lower ride height for better handling as long as it doesn’t hurt my butt in sports mode.

• Dodgy on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:13 am

A week after this 30k additional for an M-sport, you get all the BMW competitor’s exciting annoucements:

1) Audi A4 1.8 TFSI giving 16k worth of free stuff (B&O sound, rims and etc).
    2) new Merc A200 and A250
    3) new Lexus IS250

U may argue that all this is as good as a UDM but the real point here is that the F30 M-Sport annoucement at a cost of additional 20k is not appealing at all. :-) BMW Malaysia, i hope you are reading this !

• henry on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:36 am

BMW is still the most prestigious brand for young successful professionals. Lexus is for successful ah bengs. Merc is for successful tasteless professionals. Toyota is for middle class/conservative peoples. Preve is for ……….?

• BMW Fanatic on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:35 pm

eh! what the hell is BMW up to…the 3281 sport line was perfect on it’s own right…now the M package looks like a stupid street races car with the front apron and fenders…..BMW should be wise and have both the normal sport line the real Beemer drivers and the M package for the phatetic posers! And a RM16K bill for that..come on!!! what a rip off!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • GTI owner on Jul 29, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Well, this morning I have just raced a 328 F30. I believe both of us are stock (at lease mine is stock GTi mk6). The outcome: They are on Par. Only certain RPM one car is better than another, vice versa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • PauKaya on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:42 pm

very funny. the gti cant even cope with a 320d.

• JimGTI on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Lol, why bashed Gti, if my memory serves me well, I don’t recall any 320d was able to keep up with my stock car in highway or mountain roads, I tested 320d before, no way it can keep up with gti at corners, you guys are just too naive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • MrPoppyplants on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:49 pm

And you are just too proud of your cheap ass GTI which is sold at exorbitant prices in Malaysia.

Go on, keep telling yourself your car is on par with BMW’s, if it makes you feel good.

• Shiraj on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:29 pm

GTI your ass la… if you have the money.. u think u wont buy a 320d? That’s just an excuse for ppl who cant afford beemer

• yournearlytooignoranforanyeffort on Dec 28, 2013 at 1:53 am

I personally drive the GTI, A250 sports and the 328 m sport. The driving experience for the GTI and 328 m sport is satisfying, but on straights the 328 is slightly faster. the 320 d has initial acceleration but loses the century run and its not meant for the track anyways. The A250 sports has disappointing drive quality compared to both cars….BUT why are we even comparing the FW hatchback to a RW sedan????? Its a different class altogether…!

• surendran on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:21 pm

ijust test drive bmw f30, it really fantastic with twin power turbo charged engine!! I am planned to getting one soon :)

• Hi..I m planing to buy a new bmw f30 but I can’t decide whether to go for 320d 320i sportline. Heard a lot of complaints regarding wind noise at high speed. Apprecite someone could offer me kind of honest advice. Tq.