SPIED: Ford Focus third-gen facelift on road trials

Ford Focus facelift 02

It might be relatively new to this market, but the third-generation Ford Focus has been around since 2010, and a mid-life facelift is just about due. In any case, the Automedia spy folk caught this example out on the road, sans disguise except for a taped-up front end – does it hide an Aston Martin-esque front grille in the same vein as the current Focus ST?

If it’s the FL we’re looking at, then not many exterior changes – the front fog lamps are also new, again styled along Focus ST lines, and no revisions to the rear. Then again, it could also be simply be a current-based development mule with a new nose job doing load testing; aside from the storage trailer, the rear of the right-hand drive example looks pretty much loaded up.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gilbert on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:18 am

Mazda3 MPS > Ford Focus > Honda Civic. Enough said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
  • RV King on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:19 am

Again Malaysians are cheated. Same like the Honda Civic. Globally got facelift done long ago but our facelift coming next year. All Ford owners now cry. Once facelift comes, your RV drops a lot. Already Ford is the King of RV Depreciation, now with this news, lagi jatuh. Soon you can buy 2012 Ford Focus for RM50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 31
    • Vader on Jun 21, 2013 at 2:10 pm

shame loo change another name and keep bullshxting!!??
      Soon will get RM50k second hand 2012 focus?
      If have such offer, please do inform, it will sell like hot cake and majority willing to pay you high commission!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • RM 50 K? when? i nak 1 hatchback

• namanama on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:10 pm

50k?I will sell my fd and buy one!

• Is it wrong to say that I’am disappointed it’s getting Ford’s Aston grill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Somebody on Jun 22, 2013 at 2:11 am

Just so you know, it is because of Ford that Aston Martin brand is still alive till this day. With what Ford has done to Aston, I don’t think it is a big deal to show a little bit of Aston in Ford’s design.

• Please ECOBOOST 1.6 for Msia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Siam Babi on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:35 am

By the time this FL model gets here, the ALL NEW model will be launched in Europe.

Thanks to the competent local dealer – SIME DARBY,

Great products ruined by lousy dealerships.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • gerald on Aug 07, 2013 at 12:03 am

agreed

• what do you expect from cronyism. In Malaysia ‘boleh’ land or 1Malaysia land it’s alive and kicking. As long as Ford linked companies or some private companies don’t get involved in Ford franchise distribution, SIME DARBY the master crony will keep bullshitting the Malaysian public.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:58 am

Please don’t facelift the Focus please, current is better looking than AM wannabe grill. Please Ford, just, please.
    I think after facelift, it looks like the EV version.
    https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSP6fz4STAfMQK3dGmrtovHl-Z73BCU2FxGd56sMMVt0zJrTpCS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Nigel Yap on Jun 21, 2013 at 1:55 pm

I believe its a stone guard and not any facelift…

• namanama on Jun 21, 2013 at 5:15 pm

seriously those aston martin grilles…?? sportiness feeling have been taken away.

• ebcraze on Jun 21, 2013 at 10:04 pm

How many times to say, bring in the ecoboost engines!

• Where is the Kuga Titanieum. We are being taken for a ride here in Malaysia.