Nissan Serena S-Hybrid MPV set for August 2013 launch to capture pre-Raya sales

serena-shybrid-oto

Malaysian Nissan distirbutor Tan Chong will launch the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid in August 2013, brought forward from an initial plan to launch it in late November. According to a research house AmResearch, Tan Chong management decided to bring forward the launch date to capture the pre-Raya sales rush.

UPDATE: The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid is now officially launched – click here for the launch report and gallery

The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid will initially be brought in as a CBU unit to take advantage of the current duty exemptions on hybrid vehicles with engine capacities below 2,000 cc. A CBU import will also be able to take advantage of a stronger Ringgit.

However, AmResearch expects that if the hybrid MPV is a sales success, it will be localised by end 2014 as reliance on Approved Permits which are limited to less than 10% of total industry volume will limit the growth volume of the model.

We previously spotted the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid listed on sale on our classifieds website oto.my earlier this month. An ETCM sales advisor listed the hybrid MPV for RM14x,xxx, and the ad was accompanied by photos of the Serena S-Hybrid registered with the number plate WUY370. Read more about technical details of the MPV here: Nissan Serena S-Hybrid: RM14x,xxx on oto.my.

AmResearch’s report also reveals quite a few things about what Tan Chong has up its sleeves in the next few years, likely garnered from investor briefings:

• Nissan Livina facelift with potentially higher localisation (40% vs current 30%) to be launched in August 2013. Read more about the facelift here: Indonesian market Nissan Grand Livina facelift detailed.
  • A-segment car to be launched in 2014 – could this be a Nissan March or perhaps even a new Datsun?
  • New foreign OEM contract assembly announcement to happen this year – who will it be?

The foreign OEM contract assembly announcement is a rather interesting one, since it means the potential of price drops. The Subaru contract has already been announced. It could be Renault, but it wouldn’t really be a new announcement as the Kangoo had been CKD-ed here before.

Perhaps it could be Mitsubishi, as Nissan and Mitsubishi are currently collaborating on badge-engineering in Japan, and the next generation Nissan Navara and Mitsubishi Triton will be built in the same plant in Thailand. Mitsubishi signed an MoU with Proton to explore CKD production of Mitsubishi cars back in 2011, but we were told in November 2012 at the Mirage launch that while CKD plans are still on the cards, it’s local partner would not be Proton.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Legal loopholes? on Jun 23, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Why it seems like only nissan, particullary tc is the only one who managed to bring cheaper cars? Where are the others? Do they managed to grab special deal from the gomen or anything? Why are they able to bring cheap and cheap ckd cars? How is that possible?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 62
  • drMpower on Jun 23, 2013 at 8:43 pm

140K.

And mind u, thats after tax free thing. Wonder.how much this cost without the tax incentive. over 200k?

jezz. Asked the same for prius. And nobody can asnwer well.

Come onnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Littlefire on Jun 24, 2013 at 12:13 am

The actual car cost less then RM100k

The car still got Tax & AP charges.. making it around RM140~150k…

http://comparison.nissan.co.jp/RESULT/SERENA/

Highway Star S -HYBRID (grade change)
      ¥ 2,598,750 = RM 85140.25

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Leong on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:08 pm

on personal opinion,I think the price should be lower.Mazda 8 2.3 litre fully imported large MPV from japan is sold for 190k with 6 airbag,5 year warranty and free maintenance and freebies,with this hybrid MPV the excise tax saving together with the smaller engine 2.0 litre…should be priced lower .

• Looks good to me.i have been waiting for this.its time to trade in my 6years old serena to this one.i m just regular guy.not filthy rich.i am very fuel saver consciene.by the way not much wrong with serena.i enjoy driving it.cheap maintaince reliable and fuel saving.u bet this s hybrid even better.i recommend whos planning to get a mpv and has budget range of the proposed 140xx.go for this one.u will not regret it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Are you sure Yoby for the fuel saving? I ve traveled from KL to Ipoh & to JB with Serena C23 series (2.0). FC is doubled compared to Civic FD2 series 1.8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
      • comparing a sedan with an MPV..seriously man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
      • U should compare it with Toyota Inova or similar size & not with sedan car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • Well to me its fuel saving enough for mpv. One full tank can give me 470km.that eorkout roughly 11km per litre.once i travelled from golok (full tank in malaysia)to narsthiwat,pattani,songkhla,hatyai back to malaysia via bukit kayu hitam and refuel in malaysia. fuel in thailand is rm 4.50 and i manage not to refuel my serena there during my trip.my serena drove well in thai road condition during monsoon., passing the militiary checkpoint swiftly except its not bullet or explosive proof.my serena is truly highway star.by the i am not nissan salesman.if course alphard and estima are better but for spanking brand new mpv(not recond) serena is a worth buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • 11km/l only?..those Huge Starex can do 13-14km/l, and its got huge amount of torque…almost 400nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
          • Hadi75 on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:42 am

Of cos la starex got 400nm of torque…it’s a diesel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • 13-14kmplitre in real world?hyundai starex is good if u have 5 children plus can take your parents as well.i have 3 children still can take my parents on board.if i have 4-5 children i might consider starex.but i dunno bout reputation.

• Green on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:16 am

omg.. where did u get that info.

http://tsikot.com/forums/hyundai-cars-talk-83/hyundai-fuel-consumption-database-48334/index5.html

here, Starex usage.
            average = 7km/L.

• Ok Thanks for your clarification Yoby. Compared to my situation my Serena FC is worse than yours. Around 9.0 – 9.5km/l. Guess its the right time for overhaul :(

To all, my statement looks stupid right compare MPV vs sedan? Did I say I want to achieve same FC?

• Hi Yobo.. your result as full tank goes on 470km is totally on highway or city ride?

• Fukuoka on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:17 am

Fuel consumption for MPV according to Japan 10.15 Standard Cycle

Alphard ANH10 4AT 9.7 km/l
        Odyssey RB1 Absolute 5AT 11.0 km/l
        Estima ACR30 4AT 11.0 km/l
        Odyssey RB3 Absolute 5AT 11.4 km/l
        Serena C24 4AT 11.4 km/l
        Alphard ANH20 CVT 11.6 km/l
        Vellfire ANH20 CVT 11.6 km/l
        Odyssey RB1 CVT 12.2 km/l
        Mazda 8 5AT 12.2 km/l
        Estima ACR50 CVT 12.4 km/l
        Odyssey RB3 CVT 13.2 km/l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Green on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:13 am

This Serena S hybrid is C26 at 15.2km/L rated @ the latest and more tough testing JC08.

JC08 has replaced 10-15 mode.

• Hadi75 on Jun 24, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Don’t compare mpv fc with sedan fc la….different category….different tuning…

• Veneno on Jun 24, 2013 at 3:46 pm

why don’t you compared it with Perodua Kancil 660..??

• Indon already launched this and the Toyota Voxy/Noah, now we are the last in SEA. But most expensive (Sing excl).

Well TC better launch faster than Toyota, see whose the earlier bird. And with better price…. for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • u just made it up rite? don lie man not cool…serena s hybrid still not enter indonesia..if u want to talk bout serena in thai forget it..standard serena not even entered thai soil
      http://oto.detik.com/read/2013/06/24/100950/2281938/1207/nissan-serena-versi-hybrid-siap-masuk-malaysia-kapan-indonesia

• Yuzdi8 on Jun 23, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Aiyaaa. “pre-Raya sales launch” in August??? Do they know dat Raya on 8/8/13? If they launch on 1/8/13 means we have 7 days to decide. I cant c enough time to do test drive, order, trade in old car, Bank approve loan, JPJ Registration etc. They shud launch mid July. Ample time to do all those documentation. I wun take risk for pre order. C 1st the car physically is the best to decide later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • syeoh1 on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:45 am

One of TC agent confirm to the launching date is 23 July

• If this so called “Simple Hybrid” with a small 1.8KW motor is classified as hybrid car and enjoy 100% exemption on import tax & excise duty, I would say other manufecturers would follow suit.

In my opinion, the small motor does little in fuel saving

• tan sari on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:26 am

we have to pay so high price to get fuel savings?? WTF laa, burn your pocket to get fuel saved,

• frenzyaustin on Jun 24, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Am I the only one here feels this car looks like a Honda? It’s not copying any Honda but the front intake grill, like Honda’s and the lamp shared similar design with latest Accord. If we replace the Nissan with a Honda badge, seems like a legit Honda.

• ikankeli on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:00 pm

This is the price you got ,of what you had voted for in the pru13 corupt corupt corupt makes everybody fedup.

• Most nissan saleman keep mention the launching date will be in july instead of aug. Dunno which sourcd should follow.

• Jeff wong on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I got a feel they will launch c26 in July and leaf in sept…

• isuzuki on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:34 am

So it runs on RON95 as well, with the so new engine?

• isuzuki on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:35 am

Anyone put maintenance into the equation? The gearbox cost RM44K on a Sylphy, after 3rd year of usage(from some Sylphy onwer). This one? How long can it last? How much is the replacement?

• Jeff Wong on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:51 am

is the MPV power enuf with 2 liter engine ?

• pearl on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:26 am

From my experience power is quite decent with 2litre engine.can drive up genting hill smoothly even with full people on board plus lugggage.didnt felt strained or too much underpowered.even can overtake slow moving bus while climbing with overdrive.last time drove all the way up to gunung jerai tackling some hairpin loops and turns without any hassle.this mpv got enough power when u need it.i once cruised on this at 140kmh occasionally speed up to 150-160.i wuz alone by the way.the car felt stable.the main reason people buy mpv is for its space so that can carry extra people.some maybe for bussinesz.its not meant for high speed drive especially when full people on board.if u crash in one these at high speed it will be fatal and tragedy.use the power only when u need it but not for fun.

• syeoh1 on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:04 am

just my personal opinion. 2 liter enuf? It’s very much on your needs n expectations. I have been driving my 8 years old 1.3 liter avanza from go all way up genting, Cameron highland. I get there off it’s under but that’s is what i afford.

• Jeff Wong on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:10 am

c26 is opened for booking soon.
    Launching is in July.

• Customs doket price 67k. So market price not more 134k. Similar to honda CRZ doket 60k …market 120k.

• tavaseelan on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:49 pm

good.helpful for me

• http://blog.glion.edu/jd4.html on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:00 pm

was
    http://blog.glion.edu/jd4.html http://blog.glion.edu/jd4.html