Aston Martin Rapide S introduced – from RM1.9 mil

Aston-Martin-Rapide-S 1

Aston Martin Kuala Lumpur has introduced the Aston Martin Rapide S in Malaysia. Pricing for the four-door, four-seater begins from RM1,898,888, after tax but without insurance, with customisation options taking the figure higher.

The replacement for the Rapide wears the new AM11 naturally-aspirated 6.0 litre V12, which boasts race car technology developed directly from AM Racing’s WEC GT campaign. Derived items include fully CNC machined combustion chambers and lighter, hollow cam shafts.

The mill offers 558 PS at 6,750 rpm and 620 Nm at 5,000 rpm, an increase of 81 PS and 20 Nm from previously. The numbers also mean improved acceleration times – the Rapide S does the 0-100 km/h in 4.9 seconds, down three tenths from the old car’s 5.2 seconds. The top speed remains at 306 km/h.

The Rapide S also gets the fourth-generation version of AM’s Adaptive Damping System (ADS), which now offers three distinct settings: Normal, Sport and Track. Damper settings are determined by an ECU that takes readings from the car’s systems, including throttle position, brake position, steering wheel rotation and vehicle speed.

Inside the cabin, there’s a new piano black trim, a darker surround in the instrument binnacle and steering wheel with black horn-push surround. A touch of a button folds down the individual back seats to increase the car’s load space, if needed.

Optional equipment includes a reverse camera and twin-screen rear seat entertainment system with wireless headphones, remote control and six-disc DVD changer. Also on the options list, a new Carbon Exterior Pack, which dresses the front splitter, rear diffuser, mirror caps and rear lamp infills with a CF look.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• That grille is a big one…

• Ugly as hxll! the mouth is like a shark whale! RM1.9 million?! less than 190k u can get a Ford with a same mouth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Veneno on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:53 pm

so, you buy a car based on its grille..?? if kereta sorong ada grille cantik, u mau la..??

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:35 pm

This car will be ordered by many BN officials. Most of them merely working as kerani in government offices but because they are in charge of approvals, they make more money than most Bursa listed company CEOs.

If you want to own this car, simple, just join the government service and go to a sector where either you are enforcement or in charge of approvals. You will then be able to buy this car easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • AliBaba on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Pity u for coming up with that kind of assumption n accusation..

Hopefully hatred in you will disappear n grudges inside faded away n longing for happiness. sad but it is true..pity u in this life…

May God Bless u my fren with love, forgiveness and happiness.. Chill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • the “rapide s” emblem font looks cheapo…

• vwowner on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Please….hopefully nobody will compare this car with preve even if it is meant for joking only….Btw gonna check my account to see if i can afford this car….hmmm

• vwowner,
      People who can afford this car no need to check their bank account one, because there are just too many zeros in their account. So this car is not meant for you.

No, I don’t need to check my bank account as I already know.

• ben yap on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm

i would rather go buy a house with that money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • armandd on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Then you absolutely can’t afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • akula on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:05 pm

….and no need to comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • ben yap on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:05 pm

So can you afford? or you are happy with your 660cc beat up kancil?

• Jimmy on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:29 pm

If a comment is too short, most of the time we cannot predict, from the way he/she writes, the likely background of a person. Long comment, possible.
          BTW, Panamera/Range Rover is probably the uppest limit that most of the pretty wellofs are willing to pay for per vehicle.
          Ferrari/Lambo/AM these are once-in-a-lifetime vehicles.
          We love Rolls Royce but we cannot buy it even if we have money, because we are not Sultans, Menteris or Orang Besar Kenamaan; not even an ordinary Datuk should possess it, just look/feel odd.

• No? RR can be possessed by anyone as long as they are rich. Y only Sultans? Sultans are also same like us. they are human. they do not possess any privilege that are extraordinary like.

• Chiang on Aug 07, 2013 at 6:25 pm

@Jack

Sultans are normal human beings, we all know that.

the thing is with Sultans, is that they are very very rich. Kelantan Sultanate has Koenigsegg CCXR, a 4 million dollar car, with a production line of only 6 in a lifetime. Johor has countless automobiles. 2 Aventadors, and total, they have more than 100. Perak, Selangor, Pahang Royal Family also very rich one.

They are simple different. The level of wealth of a member of royal family is different compared to a CEO/Dato’s wealth. I’m sorry but it is just true and is widely accepted. This is not to say you won’t be rich like a sultan, but how ever rich you are, a Sultan or a member of royal family is in a totally different bracket.

And btw, they do possess privilege that are extraordinary.

They can give Datukship, Tan Sriship, Tunship. They can go to anywhere in the world, and there will be a fleet of CEOs on standby ready to talk to them and greet them.

They can go to a restaurant and the boss of restaurant will undoubtedly make his meal special.

They go through diplomatic tunnel at airports (where they don’t need to waste time queuing for the immigration officer to cop their passports).

They are born with privilege and let’s just move on with that fact…

• Aaron on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:57 pm

And this car is for people with too many houses

• I am sure you don’t have that kind of money…even for a house.

• ben yap on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:09 pm

houses over a million ringgit, many have it la. by the way, even a house in BU or corner lot in Subang cost over a million. so yeah, that’s a better one.

For your record (not trying to show off) i got 2 landed properties under my name and one is generating positive income and another for own stay. :)

• aljabbar on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:39 pm

clearly from the way u think you are not there yet sport ;)

trust me those who are saying they rather buy a house with certain amount of money they are in a whole different level.

to those who can afford this type of cars they certainly look at it as a mere “toy”

• West end boys on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Panamera’s arch rival

• R u kidding me? Even Panamera Turbo will looked like a toy beside this beast.

• Avid Collector on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Fantastics, i heading to showroom later, gonna book one to complete my car collection.. At least my Aventador got his match in the garage.. Ho ho ho

P/s: is the toy shop at sg wang got these model already?

Damn…

• This car is not meant for collection. 4 doors…targeting rich people as family car.

Porsche Panamera selling well because this was the ONLY luxury sports family car available, good for those who have the money and want to be different.

Aston Martin Rapide S is targeting at the same group of buyers, and those who got fedup with Porsche will now have another option.

• aljabbar on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:42 pm

just to add , its a family car for those who prefer to drive themselves

• RickyWong on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Beautiful car. planning to sell my kapcai to buy this fantastic some day. maybe need more accessories + New replacement ECU and Ratio gear box adjustment.

• jimny on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Rm1.91M still need to fork out extra money for reverse camera, haha.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Ford Rapide S, sorry, I mean Aston Martin…. 1.9 million, how many airbags in it?

• umbrella should be close to driver or passenger not in the boot maa..

• hmmm… this or bentley flying spur???

• Image ID – 182576 <— i wonder if that means "pull to pop lid and run away if abducted and threw in trunk"? =P

they even give u a peeking mirror to check if the coast is clear!!! xD

• Chris Ong on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Did I not seeing it ? Where is the Aston Martin signature pen on the central console ?

• Johnny on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:01 pm

To whomever who is buying this car. Remember, your purchase just went to a company that probably didn’t spend so much to produce this car. And at the same time, you took away the chance to help feed 15 families living in poverty in Africa EVERYDAY for 10 years.

• aljabbar on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:36 pm

fine car for gentlemen. too bad my girlfriend doesnt like aston or else i would have bought it

• JackChaiV.C on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:38 pm

I think I will get this instead of bmw z5,since I will engage soon.

• jinjangman on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:17 am

can buy how many preve with that kind of money??

• GT-Rider on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Mine is still faster

• Vios-er on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:10 am

Went for a test drive earlier today for this Aston at the showroom.

The dynamic was superb, handling is effortless, and sprinting from complete stationary to 300kmph was as smooth as butter.

But fc was damn too high, and resale value was too far out of the box, so I booked a Vios instead..

• Jagroop Sandhu on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:55 am

Great post! This car looks amazing, the new look on the Rapide with that big grill just makes it more noticeable. The new features seem very cool to with automatic rear seat folding. Aston Martin once again has that unforgettable look with that great technology. Awesome article and great information. Keep up the good work!

• hoooooo on Mar 23, 2014 at 1:53 am

dont take this to compare ferrari and lambo is different category this is GT car the close compare is Bentley …