Kia Cerato K3 specs revealed by scanned brochure

CERATO-BROCHURE-1

The Kia Cerato K3 is coming very soon – Kia Malaysia announced last week that the car is open for booking and would be in showrooms on July 2nd 2013. We also saw the Cerato microsite on Kia Malaysia’s website tease a few features that would be available with the car, such as ventilated seats.

But you can’t book a car without having an idea of how many variants there are and what the specs would most likely be, so it’s inevitable that officially brochures often make their way to sales advisors before the official launch. And then they end up in hands of paultan.org readers like YK who graciously decided to send a scanned copy in – thanks YK!

You can click on the thumbnails above for the full picture – but the gist of it is that there are two models – a 1.6 litre and a 2.0 litre, which curiously doesn’t mirror that of the Elantra which comes with a 1.8 litre for the larger engine option instead of 2.0 litre.

The 2.0 litre model will have all the goodies including the teased ventilated seats, and it will even have a sunroof. That’s not to say that the 1.6 litre’s specs will be shabby either – 6 airbags are standard on the Cerato K3 as are ISOFIX child seat mount points, ABS and ESP stability control. Even the alloy wheel size is the same between the two cars – 17 inch wrapped with 215/45R17 tyres.

Now all that remains to be known is the price – a quick check on Kia Cerato K3 for sale on oto.my lists the 1.6 litre version for RM97k, but there’s no prices so far for the 2.0 litre.

We drove both the 1.6 litre and 2.0 litre versions of the Kia Cerato recently in Dubai – read our Kia Cerato Review to find out how the car is like.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aureola on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:30 pm

deep blue exterior color option like rio please!

• Hameed Koyakutty on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:35 pm

What leak???

Last week Naza organised a media test drive…..all auto-bloggers were invited…..

I believe this is just pre-launch gimmick….

Go fly kite better maaaa…….

• aureola on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:32 pm

oh i mean the signature Electronic Blue!

• Carragher on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Rm10k increase in price..Speechless ? hmm..

• MycarMylife on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:23 am

Ya agreed ,just another K pop car that’s all , seen it running around in Hanoi late last year !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • drMpower on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Ive been quoted 118k for the premium 2 litre variant. so yes, the price of the 2.0 litre swelled almost 20k if this number is correct.

so how again this car managed to jumped 20k more than the last gen?

• sutheshkumar on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:00 am

With more specs as standard plus a better safety kit than the Civic, Altis 2.0 and Focus, I think its worth the money.

For RM20k we are getting the sunroof, ventilated front seats, electric seats + memory. Some of these is not even feature in any of the cars above and still way cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
      • Is a Kia and it has to be cheap. Let’s face it, without all these extras who in the right mind will buy this car if its selling at the same price as Civic, Altis, Mazda 3? It’s the extras that the Korean have to throw in to attract buyers. You think they will still do the same if one day Kia outsold Toyota and Honda?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
        • True, It’s a scam by naza. Look at all oversea pricing, when they moved from Kia Forte 6 speed to K3, the price remain same range and for them, they have more features like the UVO and we get less specs and price jump 20k. So if there already profit in usa, europe market, Naza is taking BIG profit by just changing the name to Cerato as if it’s a new car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • rajaGlobal on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:23 pm

profit margin must be big to upkeep all the supercars that no yet sold…

• sutheshkumar on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:46 pm

I am sorry but since when a brand has to be cheap just because it once produced cars which was by any automotive standards,was cheap because of what they have produced earlier? If Toyota, Honda,Mazda throw in the same amount of stuffs do you think it is going to be any cheaper? Take a look at the Camry we are getting. I dont see any improvement from the XV50 over the XV40 and yet, the price ballooned to RM10k for the top line V version. I dont think it is a marketting gimmick for the Kia; I see them as a brand who want to hold itself strong in the market among its competitors. And btw as St below here mentioned, UVO is at the moment, is only available in Korea and US.

• I agreed with Pitt that Kia must be cheaper. Quality wide, japanese cars still heading. You got lot of stuff but if they are not reliable, what point to have them? Sunroof? come on… here is Malaysia! we dont need that..better cut it off and discount by RM5K. Another point, does Kia give u a feeling of ‘prestige’? I feel prouder when i sit in a toyota altis than a kia forte/cerato !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
          • Sam Looser on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:12 am

agree. and some people still assume korean cars are not reliable, where as the quality statistics shows that they are among top 10 brand in quality. those think they are prouder in altis than in forte/cerato just typical malaysian that syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • namanama on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:45 pm

ahh..crap,you think current forte owner want to buy if their price same as the competitor?KIA should be value for money.not this kind of price tag.

• PauKaya on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:41 pm

im just glad it isnt a 2 airbag disaster like the santa fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • oilyghost on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:46 pm

20K more than the last gen because need to pay BN cronies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 23
    • unforgiven on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:15 am

Majority are not stupid and do not wish to feed the cronies if based on the favorite votes, unfortunately the majority lost to the bad guys! Who wanna give free money or free money in the pocket AP system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
      • franchise AP is free..hold by manufacturer n official distributor…..open AP(grey importer/recond car) that u need to pay to those AP king

• armandd on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:42 am

Upon hearing RM20k price increase, you instantaneously said it’s because of BN cronies. It never come across your simple mind that it may also (very possible) because of Kia/Naza increasing profit margin.

It’s a wonder that you didn’t blame BN cronies for the hazy weather in our country right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 50
      • wakakaka on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:43 am

His toilet not clean also because of BN CHRONY.. STUPID

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
      • hadihamzah on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:48 am

Nazakia is not bn’s crony meh?i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:32 am

Fu*kin NazaKia, sold us overpriced 2nd hand car to rakyat and dominate AP so that rakyat can’t import car of their choice from overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • K3 is new in the market. Have been receiving rave reviews from all over the world latest by New York Times. So where does this 2nd hand car come in? If Naza continues to rebadge and sell the old version of Karen as Citra or Picanto as Suria or or old Forte then this is correct coz these models have been discontinued by Kia.

• tokmoh on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:08 pm

@zanm: You think they only sell Kia ah?!

You know… there is… like… a term… called… “recond car”? Know… or dunno?

• Behind those cronies..mostly ch***** businessman who want more profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
      • Yes indeed for the haze we can blame BN. They are in position after cheating and yet stay so quiet advising we all stay home and wear mask drink more water only, when the Foreign Affair could have made stern standing on our non-welcoming of Indonesian haze through public statement to Indonesia government. For all we know, the cronies might have already sent their comfort letter to console Indonesian of the haze instead of doing what is right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Ole ole on Jun 30, 2013 at 10:48 am

Honestly it’s a well known stuff that all imported cars in msia are expensive bcoz of AP, Proton, etc. so yes we’ll blame it on BN cronies.

• This has nothing to do with politics. Hyundai and Kia have moved upmarket in the last 5 years and for good reason. The price of a new Cerato has increased globally, not just in Malaysia. Korean cars are not ‘cheap and cheerful’ anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
      • May I know what is your source?
        http://www.edmunds.com/car-news/2014-kia-forte-sedan-gets-price-increase.html

$525 reflect into RM20k?

• get your facts corrected… if you check the price in usa, europe, the price didn’t increased at all.. plus they get better engine, GDI, while we get MPI engine..

Look at other countries,
        http://www.motortrend.com/cars/2012/kia/forte/
        http://www.autoguide.com/manufacturer/kia/2011-kia-forte-ex-review-1541.html
        Kia Forte 6 speed price is USD 16,000 and K3 still around USD 16,000. http://www.kia.com/#/forte

so don’t mislead people by stating the wrong facts.. it’s just easy profit by naza..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Johnny on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:44 pm

If you read the article xbox posted thoroughly. The price increase is indeed at $525. But also take note on the additions:

A $2,300 Technology package adds navigation with HD Radio technology, a new instrument cluster, HID headlights, dual-zone automatic climate control and LED taillights.

A $2,600 Premium package adds a power sunroof, leather seat trim, 10-way power adjustable driver seat, ventilated driver seat, heated front seats, heated steering wheel and other items.

FULL SPEC = $5,425 extra

Looks like Naza have “packaged” it rather than leaving it optional..thus the RM20K price hike.

• azhar on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:13 pm

and yet they manage only 525 increment after all those additional features thrown in..525 certainly not worth 20k rite??

• Crazee on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:47 am

Bro the other 2 are optional packages not inclusive of the $525 price package. Read between the line not between your “knee” brain cells.

• last gen Forte starting from $16k. Follow their sales strategy, I believe the technology or premium package is still separate order for last gen as well.
          You can’t compare last gen starting price with 2014’s base price + all the packages.

• GTgear on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Well, if the price for the 1.6 litre is 97k, then that is just sad, it may look good, but for that price tag i doubt it will sell good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Price shown in OTO website: RM97K for 1.6L model.

Pretty attractive~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • Obama on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:56 am

After 2 years, you will beg me to buy from you with $60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Gegary on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Obama US$60K? OK, accept. Please sign a contract with me.

• namanama on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:47 pm

take a look at OTO lah pal..25k mileage only 60k.this is value for money..hah!

• RightChoice on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:10 pm

It ll be very interesting if the 2.0l is priced at RM115,888 which is exactly same price with Ford Fous Titanium.

• sideliner on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:13 pm

The price makes this car ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:14 pm

The 1.6 covers all the bases already , 2.0 is for those who wants a lil bit more

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Great CAR. T&H please please learn from KIA. Well done !!1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
    • What is so great about this car and what’s there to learn frm the Japanese? Trust me, by this design it will dated in less than a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
      • sam loo on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:20 am

better than ugly boring toyota..just on road already feel boring and disappointed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
      • Still don’t see?
        Does civic has sunroof?
        Does altis has ventilated seats?
        And the list goes on…

Are you a blind T,N&H supporters? Even proton can offer turbocharged engines like those in contis, sigh. So why not Japs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • theanswer on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:22 am

been driving both twin scroll turbo n na..i dont expect all manufacturer will follow turbo route. na is good as long as they use modern tech like skyactive or direct injection. use cvt instead of ancient 4 speed.

• not really, with less displacement and more power (turbo), it’s better than more displacement but more FC (n/a). For example, 1.4 turbo is better than 2.0n/a. Lagging can be reduced by reprogramming the ECU.

• ahmad loy on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:35 am

..every one should know this kind of basic auto technology rather than interior/exterior design or gadgets.

• excek on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:49 am

skyactive and GDI performance are still cannot beat the turbos, ’nuff said. some need higher standard of fuel standard to run, which is a no no here

• namanama on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:16 am

if you like to know about civic tech i can list down here,but its useless coz u wouldn’t read it anyway.

toyota came with turbo engine since 80’s i will list a few models here toyota starlet,celica,supra and honda which famous with high revving N/A engine will break their tradition with turbo type R,for low consumption they already there with hybrid cars.

i will explain a bit about turbocharge car,why they invent it….turbo is used for low displacement vehicle to achieve same output as large displacement cars example 2.0 150hp = 1.4t 150hp.European cars manufacturer use turbo for low displacement cars to achieve more power and low carbon emission.While japs overcome CO2 issues by inventing hybrid cars.

so the conclusion is Korean cars still behind the Japs.they offer nice looking design and some small feature to attract buyers not more than that.so learn more about cars before you shout!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:56 am

Japs inventing Hybrid is like Apple invening smartphone, it’s too arrogance. Japs and Apple is 1st to brought Hybrid and smartphone to mass market, not inventing it. Korean is lacking behind Japs technology, I kinda agree. Korean is doing good by offering gadgets from higher class car. But when come to “real” technology, really lacking. Latest engine from them is just slightly better than the Japs offering us which is an old technology. I believe if Japs is really came out new things, another light year ahead of Korean. And another is about the diesel engine in the new Santa Fe. It has a very good torque but on the other hand, it’s turbo lag is massive. It’s easy to upgrade the power of the engine as long as the turbo is big enough. A 2 Litre VTEC can achieve 500HP easily with a Turbo. But the real challenge is to make a Turbo as smooth and reliable as a N/A engine, this is the real challenge. Korean car looks good on paper but the experience they provide is still steps backward than the Japs and Conti.

• ahmad loy on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:47 am

..the word “challenging” is totally not right..it is fact that the turbo cannot as smooth as na..or other word is..the turbo is not reliable compared to na..but giving you very dynamic driving..which is more expensive to maintain..which one you choose?

• korell on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:51 am

CFE for instance is cheaper to maintain , saves money for petrol rather than bigger displacement n/a engine

• Sunroof for what… in Malaysia juz for sun burn… what we know is fuel consumption, practical and driving experience…..Kia juz provided useless spec for showing off… ppl think u are juz poor guy ,.if u like to play car or juz rich …buy BMW or merc…

• Compare with civic, so many features it doesn’t have. Traction control, hill-assist control, 10 vs 8 power driver seat, 6 airbags, active head restrain…haiz please read it completely. Japs cars are stripper!

• WillGoForIt on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Not much different between the 1.6 & 2.0.
    for me, the meaningful differences : 400c.c, leather seat and sunroof.
    btw, the paddle shifter is included for both variants? any idea?

• blacktop 6 speed on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:28 pm

good

• CeratoForSure on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:33 pm

It ll be very interesting if the 2.0l is priced at RM115,888 which is exactly same price with Ford Focus Titanium.

But still hoping that 2.0l’s price lower than FoFo.

• Harris on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:40 pm

So the the winning slogan for the Project C is here huh? Either ‘The new benchmark in its class’ or ‘This, is innovation’?

• gmorque on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:44 pm

97k for a 1.6? Are u kidding?.. previous version can get 2.0.. dont they learn from veloster pricing?

• FluidicSculpture on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:33 am

Veloster is Hyundai, not KIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • rigid on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:05 am

then you must be ‘katak di bawah tempurung’. as automakers, they should learn others failure. thats the point-not because they are from different automakers.

• mustafa on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:48 pm

now you know why they use cerato instead of the forte name…maybe the forte will carry on for a little longer…

• ahmad loy on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:52 am

..the other word is..the 2nd.forte with rebadge “cerato” with RM20K more!

• Maserati on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Rubbish car at a rubbish price.

These Koreans think that their car worth so much? High specs? Haha, u probably already paid for it in the price increase. 97k for a KIA? Gotta be kidding me.

Can’t wait to see KIA sink

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 33
    • Pointblank on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:56 am

So u think increase the spec & lower the price that is the way of doin business right? Ong kiao kiao -_-“

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Maserati on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:42 am

Give better specs but maintain price lah.

Ur brand not strong in malaysia and u smart genius go increase price thinking ppl will still buy ur junk. U think ur honda or Toyota ar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • crazy sky on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:08 am

unlike Forte it is “CKD” and re-badged as Naza which allow Forte enjoy lower tax rate. Cerato is “CBU and fully import from Korea” and yet sell at 97k and 115k respectively. If there are a Japanese car similar to Cerato and “direct import from Japan”, do you think it will sell below 110k for the 1.6 version? If yes please give us the sample.

Look at those CKD or CBU (from Thailand, enjoy low ASEAN tax benefit) like Civic and Altis, they are selling at 100k above and much lower spec. So is it smart to buy a lower spec car yet selling at high price CKD or Thailand made Japanese car?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

Honda Insight. Problem?. Wait, Swift Sport, 1.6.

• namanama on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:34 am

this is what Kia do since beginning…lower price from their rivals and put extra tech to it.This is how they steal the market from Japs.Apart from that it’s not a better build from Japs neither handling.People buying Korean cars for cheaper price that’s it.I asked my friend who bought Kia and main reason is the price.So we see how it goes with this cerato.for me,for that kind of price of course i’ll go for Focus.better safety feature,sharp handling.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Really Malaysia lar wei, things suppose to be cheaper in the end become more expensive, like Lexus, main reason is sells well in US because it offered something German offers and priced lower, but here.. Another is GT86. Really Malaysian businessman mentality…

• sam loo on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:21 am

Then go buy toyota car la…high price less features…lower spec…maybe this for you is value car..you smart enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Krasher on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:36 am

97k for a Kia? Pftttt!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • hyu jong ngang on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:37 am

wuhuuu…i’ll be driving a cerato next week….and for the whole life because of no resale value…but i’m fine with it, so vios reTaRDed and city E- can make way for cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • with a tag price like that, it should be more appropriate to compare cerato with its own segments..
      forte yes u can compete with vios n city cause u can get a c-sgment car for a price of b-sgment..
      as for cerato, it should be against altis, civic, focus, etc

• neemfa on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:14 am

I guess that’s why they don’t want to keep the name Forte.. because Cerato is like a different segment already.. now they aiming directly to Civic/Altis/Mazda3/Focus market. It’s going to be a tough one.

so KIA fansi.. with the big price increase, is the Cerato still ‘value-for-money’?

• namanama on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:37 am

not anymore…for that kind of price i’ll go for 1.Focus 2.civic 3.mazda3

• neemfa on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:58 pm

I thought so too.. Focus seems better value.. good handling..

unlike Kia, handling is average.. no more value-for-money..

• FluidicSculpture on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:55 am

Here we see, 2013’s car of a year award receiver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • meng meng on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:36 am

Planning to buy the 2.0cc before launch.
    But the price diffrent 20k between 1.6cc and the spec diffrent no much.
    20k to get higher cc, air ven seat, sun roof ,auto llight leveling….a bit too expansive,Maybe change my mind to get 1.6cc. Arrrhhhh!!!!
    Hope the 2.0cc can sell the price 100k-108k.

• Buy Japs, if you buy koreans you have no esteem. People who buy korean cars are those who cannot afford Japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • crazy sky on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:15 am

Hope you never had a single Korean product in the past and in future as well. Otherwise you are one of the people have without self-esteem.

• I have contis only, thanks. Before you ask, it’s new ok?

• AntiKorean? on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:54 pm

let’s see if you are using a Samsung Galaxy S4 or a Samsung Smart TV. If you are you change it to Sony Experia and Sony Bravia TV.

• OkaMan on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:52 am

I hv to reconsider also as i booked the 2.0l cerato too.
      really not much different.. haizz…but a 20k gap.
      most probably take 1.6l in the end.

• jesse on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:43 am

For 73k you can get preve turbo, powerful enough to smoke cerato 1.6, on par with 2.0. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • axel_stig on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:33 am

2.0cc and 1.6cc… u really know alot about cars and stuff

• abcde on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:04 am

to me, Kia isnt good in RV nor Ford.
      But to choose between these 2, i would pick focus because i like fast driving and i am more confident in the focus. Focus spec is actually good too

• oldCar on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:22 am

Price over 100k will make this car less desirable.
    Honda civic is over priced with the tech and spec
    Toyota vios coming out soon, different bikini but same size of boobs, how much will it cost

• Margaret on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:52 am

Overpriced piece of junk.

• Nice to see Kia offering 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, TC, ESC and BA standard, dua tangan thumbs up for that ! Idk what ‘HAC’ is, but it’s warmly welcomed too. :]

Kia cares about the well-being and safety of their customers (and not just profits), unlike Toyota, Honda and Nissan who still give us 2 or 4 airbags without ESC and TC standard. Even the Camry 2.5 didn’t get HALF what the Cerato has, not until a few months ago anyway after Malaysians voiced their disapproval…. oh and the so-called ‘Camry Precision’ ? It’s still sh*t.

• Aero Pembodek on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:31 pm

You think Preve specs similar to Cerato, let’s see how both sales in Australia open market competition…He He He

• rigid on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:54 pm

automakers do think about safety. but SOME of us really not. dont bother ABS,EBD, BA, TC or 8 airbags even, if driver speeding like hell, no seatbelt on, NO SIGNAL etc2..its just useless.
      But its nice to have those equipment when needed.

• i don’t know you guys, but i think the design looks really boring.

• Volvo supporter on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:16 am

Paul, how come its called 5 door sedan? Does the boot counts as a door?

• akula on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:39 am

errrr….last time I read 2.0 got 171hp and 208nm torque. Am I wrong?

• meng meng on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Ya. But that is the GDI engine, but malaysia they give 2.0 Nu. Honestly i really disapointed.

• Peace on Jun 29, 2013 at 6:34 am

I think worldwide they are using the same engines. Check this site: http://new-cerato.kia.com/low/gallery/performance.html

And this one: http://m.kia.com/worldwide/MODELS/Cars/CeratoForte/models_view.html

• sepul on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:02 am

Well, 97k for CBU car is very affordable compared to Elantra at the same price yet is locally assembled with lesser equipment and the hideous ‘I’ badge.

The 2.0 I guess may be around 113-120k. The sunroof may be the most expensive add-on so the price is justified.

• Quite disappointing with the audio panel that is still without touch screen & GPS navigation even though this car has most of the “latest technology”. i mean they should put this in the 2.0 CERATO at least.

• crazy sky on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:20 am

The small little screen on the audio panel is touch screen, but it is sad because it was not come with GPS function and size was small as well.

• akupung on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:39 am

great specs for 1.6….the price is a bit high but still the best in that price segment….giving wat all they offer

• Japanese car and korean car is different things. hard to compare them. For Korean car like KIA and Hyundai, resale value teruk, even though expected will be better while Forte is launched last time, but until the end still the same. But Japanese car is different. Even ugly vios, altis or even camry, but you can get a better RV. Korean are using their extra accessories to fight with Japanese, but Japanese just fight back with a better quality of car. Till the end, choose the car according to your needs, performance, quality, comfort or extra accessories. You like you buy, you dont like you dont buy. That’s it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:44 am

The problem is, why still people consider Vios actually? I can understand Camry as it’s most comfortable car compare to it’s rival, and just not good looking, but Vios is a bad car. Overpriced, ride and handling is junk, looks is awfully terrible, comfort is very bad but top seller. Honda City is a much better choice, looks better, drive better, rides better but it can’t sell better than Vios. I find nothing good except reliability and parts availability which is slightly better than City, but City makes more sense.

• They choose vios because of blind believing of ABP = Asal Bukan Proton. In reality, it eats preve smokes everyday.

• Honda city service interval every 5K and on the other hands vios service interval is every 10K. That’s why people favor to choose vios with cheaper and reliable maintenance cost.

• Peace on Jun 29, 2013 at 6:41 am

ASEAN CAP 5 star for City too. I was impressed. The one with touchscreen makes interior better. Should compare that with this Cerato 1.6.

• KS my a$$ on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:18 pm

KS, pls do some homework 1st. Dun be KiaSu idiot!
      2009 kia forte sx trade in price RM48K
      2010 Vios e facelifted trade in price RM53K, if add another yeae on this, also drop till 48-49K.

Toyota good RV? With current toyota crazy offer, they are killing themself. Another example, pls check the trade in price for honda accord, as new accord giving huge discount also!

KiaSu boy, pls learn, dun speak like grandpa and tell outdated story.

• Juz Ugly

• frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:41 am

Good car, but benchmark in it’s class is too arrogance actually. A Golf MK7 done better everything than Cerato (K3 is better name though) and they belongs to the same class. If they say benchmark of it’s price, then it’s acceptable, in it’s class… meh, Golf and a Focus is much better car.

• Korea K3 with expensive price…1.6 may under power with so big rim…if choose 2.0,although specs great,but the price near japan civic or may be new altis.if like that….i will wait and see and wont buy this k3 1st. last time Forte offer many things after a year…free upgrade bodykits,camera… Kia, not worth if too high price,we have to thing about after sales service, spare parts, resale value, technology ( electronic in korea car not so advance), oil consumption…. i not really believe the korean car that said very save oil, coz almost korean car user complain it not so save oil like thay mention.

• vee-oh on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:16 pm

T & H fanboys, your master sell vios TRD at 92K & City E+ at 94K with very low spec is OK with u guys…but this one only 97K with 10times better spec & looks, u guys kepoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • If the sales for 2014 Naza Cerato is still very well.
      I can’t find the reason not to increase the 10k+ again with future gen of forte/cerato.

Are you in the view of businessman or consumer?

• Cronies on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:24 pm

as a member of crony, i would like to extend my thanks to all of you stupid + powerless people out there. without your continuously feeding, we got no interest to bring in any high profit to our cronies party car for you guy. your safety to us is just a nonsense. your money give to us is much more important. again thanks to you stupid people and special thanks to those support japanese car all the while.

• civicEK on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:21 pm

it shud be price 90k for 1.6L and 99k for 2.0L then many people will buy!

• Sam Loo's long lost twin brother on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:42 pm

What about resale value? Hahahahahahaha KIA… Get Toyota better, even a Toyota with no airbags is miles better than this KIA piece of shit… In Malaysia resale value adds value to the sales value..

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Who tought you RV is more important thn Air Bags ? U never been to School ahh ? Please dont talk like small boy. Its shows T sales need training.
      Any training provider her ?

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Who tought you RV is more important thn Air Bags ? U never been to School ahh ? Please dont talk like small boy. Its shows T sales guys need training.
      Any training provider here ?

• Consumer on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:47 am

You think vios without airbags is still better? Hopefully you are still alive to sell it.

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Who tought you RV is more important thn Air Bags ? U never been to School ahh ? Please dont talk like small boy. Its shows T sales guy need training.
    Any training provider here ?

• cdweng on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:37 pm

I owned a Forte, quality is lousy, sound/vibration everywhere. Dont know this model having the same issue

• aureola taste like honey on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:52 pm

at least it is not made in Malacca like that H brand though

• totti on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:26 pm

With this pricing, naza can stock up the car in their yard.

Want to buy Naza, wait for 6 months and 5 figure big discount will be offered when sale is bad.

They have high profit margin to give discount. No need to rush to buy the junk.

• Just to give an idea the pricing in Saudi. 1.6 mid option which is similar to what Naza is offering is SAR64k. No tax in Saudi so RM price is RM53k. Remember excise duty and sales tax are dependent on what the car manufacturers are declaring to MITI. So imagine if Naza is pricing this at 90k they must have declared higher base price.

No 2.0 in Saudi and Kia/Hyundai always have this marketing strategy in Saudi where Kia will sell 1.6 Cerato and Hyundai 1.8 Elantra. Basic price for Elantra 1.8 is SAR62k.

What would be interesting is to see when Hyundai will bring new Accent to Malaysia. They still sell the outdated model at RM55k! Here Accent 1.4 is selling for SAR48k.

• Aaron Wong on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

The difference between C-segment cars between Jap & Korean is that the Korean manufacturers are using torsion beam for its rear suspension setup and the Jap’s are using multi-link setup. So, the pricing of this Cerato is just too expensive like Elantra MD. The Korean manufacturers do these to confuse the buyers into thinking they are paying lower price C-segment cars compared to Jap cars by introducing additional safety features which doesn’t cost much.

• sledf on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Adding another 4 airbags doesn’t cost much? Lol you are kidding. If it’s cheap why japs don’t throw it in?

• Peace on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:23 am

Thanks for comparing the suspension. It could be a deal breaker for Cerato 2.0. What a shame..it’s all other specs are very good. But the Cerato 1.6 may still be attractive competing with City and Vios.

• Kuinosan on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:36 pm

I used to own Japanese, Italian, Swedish and German make cars, and am now a believer in Korean makes as I currently have two Korean cars sitting in my garage. Some might call it a downgrade in terms of branding, but I can personally say that I am enjoying myself with these Korean cars with its high specifications and moderate ownership cost.
    To be honest, the Koreans do need to brush up on areas such as driving dynamics and refinement, but they are not deal breakers and you will only notice these shortcomings if you are a speed demon which likes to drive at high speeds at all times. As a mode of transport, these Korean cars are actually pretty reliable and go about doing what it is suppose to do withou much fuss and with their latest stylish designs, you are being ferried around in style too. What is there not to like about these Korean cars as they are showing the Japs that they are a force to be reckon with and if they don’t buck up, their market share will be under serious treat.
    Consumers should thank these Korean makes as they were the ones who started the offering of longer warranty periods and better specifications. No one can deny that with this new and daring offering trend, it has pressured other car makes from (Japs, Conti, Local, etc) to follow suit, thus giving local consumers a better deal.
    As an open minded and smart consumer, credit must be given where credit is due and vise versa. Brand loyalty is sometimes an unhealthy thing as they could be the victims of being short changed by brands that past on the cost of their lavish advertising campaign to their customers withou improving their product line.
    All they are interested in is dominance via mass and extensive advertising campaigns, but they continue to use old and aged running gears to run their newly repackaged cars which they dare call ‘New Models’!
    At the end of the day, one must come to terms that if you go with these brands, you are encouraging their unethical practice. So it is good to be a wise consumer that only buys what Is good value for money products. And currently as far as the cars are concerned, the Korean makes are making better sense and I hope that they don’t lose their head over what they have achieved thus far and start going the same route as their Jap counterparts. Sounds cliche, but less is now the new more!( price tag wise in the current economy).Just my honest 2 cents on the topic. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • NOKIA on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Buyer and Kia or Cerato lover expectation
    1.6 – RM 88k to RM 90k
    2.0 – RM 100k to RM 105k

Only this pricing will see this car success like Forte else it will end up like Elantra and sales will drop drastically after 1 year or so. Not to mention new Vios coming later this year and new City, Mazda 3 (SkyActive) coming into the picture next year. With the high price, this car success and sales number will be limited.

• Don’t play play. Vios is the coming king of cars. Ah Beng’s no.1 choice.

• To all of those who are complaining : wahlao just wait for the ‘cerato’ to be CKD lah , by then the price confirm can fight back with city and vios. No point complaining anyway right , nothing will change . Peace .

• Claire on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Korean car maker are now become more cocky.

We should give them a lesson by boycott their car. For this price I rather buy Mazda3,, Inspira, Suzuki Swift Sport, Honda Civic or Peugeot 308.

What a joke by korean maker.

• Clairato on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:31 am

its not korean maker’s fault to develop a nice car but it’s NASA’s fault for the pricing.

boycott korean maker?what a joke.

• setscrew on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Wow! even the 1.6 is quite loaded. Absolute win oven most of the c-segment and some d-segment in Bolehland automobile market nowadays.

• wait 3 years can buy at half price…smart guys do it!!

• if i buy this cerato, i will change the sport rims to pink coloured like some vioses seen on the road nowdays. I think contrast colour suits well with the body design.

• Thomas on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:26 am

My sis got one in Brunei for B$29K nia. Not my cup of tea but one thing I admire is the LED Bar rear lamp.

• TurboSpool on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:13 am

Buying a car is more than just a list of gadgets on the car. The basic’s of Engine , Chassis, Gbox, running characteristics, suspension will the be the foundation pillars of a car.

Its just like buying a Kancil and putting in ABS, EBD, Bluetooth, blue Ray, sunroof , LED daylight running lights, leather seats , XBox, PS3 , Navi System, 10 air bags, Xenon Headlamps , PushStart Button….at the end of the day, its Still a Kancil. ( Not saying a Cerato is still a Kancil)

So, slapping on a list of goodies and gadgets will not instantly make the car much ” Better “.

Let’s Make things easy , Let’s say I buy a so called overpriced, lousy, boring , Honda Civic 2.0. And you buy a K3 with OMG WOW so many goodies !!! with such an awesome styling and Solid Korean build quality and handling.

And we both decide to sell it in 5 years time. You’ll get a headache trying to sell the car and get People to buy ur K3 2.0 with the OMG SO MANY GOODIES at a higher price than my Civic 2.0

It’s just my 2 Cents. Btw don’t drive neither a Kia or a Honda or a Toyota. Just trying to stand on a very neutral ground.

• crazy sky on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Civic 8th gen no doubt is having the best c-segment resale value, but do you “guarantee” the 9th gen going to have strong resale value like 8th gen?

http://www.einsuran.com/vmv.html

Based on the einsurance market value from the link above, Forte 1.6SX 6 speed (year 2011) is RM 67,000.00 (new car RM86k). City S (low spec) 2011 market price is RM 66,000.00 (new car RM85k). Both had dropped RM19k.

It takes time to build the resales value.

• MyVi lovers on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Yeah right. You drive a MyVi, right? Hi 5!!!

• Priced at 120k for 2.0, u better go for Peugeot 408 2.0 at 110k with more stable,reputational,cheaper car. Dont mention about FC here because when u drive a 2.0 car it is not about petrol anymore.

• TurboSpool on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Peugeot 408 = Peugeot 308 Engine and Gearbox

Good Luck with the gearbox, good luck with the engine and good luck with the after sales service.

Don’t stereotype all 2.0 is a fuel guzzling car too. That was 20 years ago.

• Samlok on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Surprisingly hike up of price, where is the janji ditepati?

• RM97k is simply over price for 1.6L, I would agree the price if it was equip with 1.8L. This price make the car less attractive.

• guys and gals… dont so rush to buy a naza over price car…if this car sales less,naza always give us free this and that…hehe! Naza, i think is also a type of Malaysian car like proton and perodua…have to more cheaper than honda or toyota…. Wait wait wait!

• apam2009 on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:45 pm

That is the problem with all the commentors here which put their brains at their knees!

Forte is re-badge as Naza while Cerato at the moment is CBU unit from Korea. As far I knew, they are not to re-badge as Naza. Thus make Cerato’s price is higher compare to Forte.

• palehotak on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:43 pm

cerato 1.6 = 97k
    cerato 2.0 = 114k

• demio121 on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:04 pm

booking RM1k refundable.

indicative price:
    2.0 = RM117k to RM121K

can’t remember 1.6 indicative price. I think its quite a jump from the current Forte’s 98k. Loaded with toys though.

• jiran kia SA on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:52 am

and the prices are confirm

1.6 = rm99,888
    2.0 = rm118,888

i dare to cut my p**is if those are wrong..seriously

• jiran kia SA's fallen d/ck on Jun 29, 2013 at 8:32 am

see u in 5 days

• Ole ole on Jun 30, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Crazy pricing. Omg

• UserW7 on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Hello folks, will you get the 2.0 spec or the Polo considering both prices are about the same? Confused..

• apam2009 on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Well i guess, those that are anti-Korean cars is either:

1. T or H salesman
    2. People that drive Malaysian car
    3. People that envy with the success of Korean…Samsung, K-POP…Korean rules the world!
    4. People that cant afford to buy a Korean Car! Sad!

• SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:40 am

Exterior looks good but the interior are boring,
    just look at the speaker grill,a bit off.
    The interior remembers the old model, especially the gear knob :)
    Uncle Ben gonna need bigger glasses to change the radio station..
    The engine are not bad for 2.0 161hp, but still not sure can fight against Lancer GT and Civic as its dpend on the auto-box as the old Forte 155hp+6speed 0-100kmh takes 10.5 scnds..
    The steering wheel are ugly with lots of buttons.
    Early conclusion, price point need to be under 100k to fight with the japanese car.

• Price war on Sep 16, 2013 at 3:14 am

We should thanks to Kia for bring in the price war especially targetted Japanese car manufacturers.

I’m a performance oriented buyer:

Performance:
    The points here is to compare Cerato 2.0 directly with civic 2.0 or altis 2.0…Better specs and higher performance. 160HP, 194Torque. Technically, the datas provided is better than civic and altis. I will appreciate if anyone can provide the real test data of acceleration from 0-100kmh?

In term of specs, Cerato attracted me with 6 airbags (safety reason), vent seat, sun roof etc…….

2.0 Second hand value
    Some ppl still having the ideas of low RV for KIA until the emergence of Forte. Easy saying, KIA is improving to gain higher market shares. Hope this can be continued in Cerato. But demand for 2.0L model always not the mass market contribution. RV definitely be affected.

3.0 Car Handling
    Apart of Japanese and Korean’s war, please widen your choice to Europe countries or US.
    Another model of same range competitors could be Ford Focus 2.0 with 170HP, 200 Torque, 4WD, Dual clutch,multi-link suspension,turbocharged.
    Can anyone provide acceleration comparison with Cerato?

Different ppl have different needs. Priotise the needs and choose the best for our own. No such car can fufil everyone’s need.

Again, we should welcome Cerato with opened heart as those who will be benefited are END USERS.
    Welcome the price war episode 2 (after Forte)….