New Proton compact car confirmed for 2014 – ‘Nama Siapa Hebat’ naming contest launched

proton nama siapa hebat-2

A new Proton compact car will debut in the first half of 2014. Not to be confused with the upcoming C-segment Preve Hatchback, the new compact model, known in some circles as the Global Small Car, will be a smaller hatch. Expect a B-segment five-door hatchback, the final result of the Proton EMAS Concept shown at Geneva 2010, although it’s not likely to retain the Giugiaro proposal’s looks in full.

We know this because Proton launched a naming contest for the upcoming small car this afternoon at its haze shrouded COE. Called Nama Siapa Hebat (Whose name is better?), the contest invites Malaysians to contribute to the naming process of the new compact car.

The contest begins today, goes on for a month and will end on July 25. The Grand Prize winner will walk away with the Premium variant of the car he or she helped named, so there’s plenty of motivation to try your luck. The second prize is a holiday package to Langkawi plus cash, and there are other gadget prizes to be won.

“We are the national automotive car company, so it is only right this is shared together with the rest of the country and all Malaysians. It is only right that the Malaysian public share our pride and play a significant part in naming the new Proton car,” said Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil, executive chairman of Proton.

proton nama siapa hebat-1

“This new compact car is extremely stylish and is targeted to those from all walks of life who love an active lifestyle, from the young to the old, to even those wishing to upgrade from a smaller vehicle,” the DRB-Hicom boss added. The last part of his statement is a hint that the new Proton compact will be bigger than Perodua’s kei-car sized Kancil and Kelisa, the smallest compacts on the road.

All Malaysians from the age of 12 are eligible to participate. Proposed names for the new car must be in Bahasa Malaysia and contain no more than six letters. The name can be a combination of alphabets and numbers (ABC123), but cannot be all numeric (123). Also, the name must not have any association with the animal kingdom, so don’t think along the lines of Kancil, Kelisa and Rusa! Of course, your entry must be supported with a rationale.

One can submit as many entries as possible, either via snail mail (contest forms are available at Proton service centres) or online at namasiapahebat.proton.com. Full terms and conditions can be found on the contest website.

Click here for a recap on the Proton EMAS idea, and here for a live gallery from Geneva 2010. Below are Theophilus Chin’s renderings of a “productionised EMAS” from three years ago. Recently, a reader spotted a mysterious “giant Savvy” on test – could it be a test mule wearing Savvy skin as decoy?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ben yap on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:11 pm

I’ll call it Rosmah, Proton Rosmah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 67
    • ayamxxx on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:10 pm

later for facelift, Proton Rosmah give LV bag as freegift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 36
    • PROTON LGE sound better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 104
      • kzm.. i prefer proton popokitciang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
        • how about PROTON D-SAI or PROTON TUN or PROTON DSN or PROTON NIK or PROTON UMNO or PROTON PR or PROTON KAP..it is sound better PROTON ROSMAH..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
      • Keng Yap on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Bro kzm.. I think the say way maah..
        but..
        I thought better to make it global named – Proton Tokong.. Tokong named can persuade those anti-Rosmah and Siang & Eng Devotees blindly buy this car.. agree or not? globall maaahh..

• Keng Yap on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm

I choose Proton TOKONG! Sure hot sale like goreng pisang maa.. ask penangnite.. they mus crazy buying it, don worry under new Proton Tokong will cover those FREE service maaah.. lifetime warranty. Launching DRB could ask Mr Tokong to come..hahaha

• Ah Beng on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:58 pm

since it’s like savvy, name it Proton Sawi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 20
    • Hey, what about Potong tak hebat? suite the badge :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
    • Our country alot s3x news. And also very love to do that news to show to the world.
      Can consider copy ideal of toyota-toyota ae86.
      We can name it proton sv69.
      (Super value 69)
      Proton saifu ass.
      Proton MCA-CD….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • _xXx_ on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Proton IXNK. Cool rite…hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Ah Beng on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:23 am

Potong Duit Rakyat 1 Malaysia

Rationale: Con people’s money, need anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • meng meng on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:27 am

Proton gardinia.
      Proton bernas
      Proton syabas
      Proton dan lain lain……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
      • Me suggest:
        Proton, LaaProton
        Proton, Chubby2
        Proton, Alam Perwira (like comic i.e juara n wira)
        Proton, Gen-Tree
        Proton, YCZ (your complain is not our problemz)
        Proton, BSE (best service ever)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Potong Mahathir

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 50
    • flat_tire on Jun 26, 2013 at 2:17 am

Proton Altantuya.. with limited C4 Edition.. (sorry no R3 arr)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 96
    • ben yap @ ASKAR KACANG MERAH, Stop drag about politic into this page. We are tired already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Gegary on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:10 am

Nama. Apa Nama. Proton Apa Nama. In honor of the racist, cronyfiable, dictat.. I mean, statesman, Dr. M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
      • Segari on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:29 am

Proton Lim, Proton Kit or Proton Siang in the spirit of ‘put anywhere also can win maaa’ barulah Global Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
        • Keng Yap on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Bro Segari.. those want the spirit of Mr Tokong.. please laa Proton..name it Proton Tokong.. 100% those macai will put their soul into this car.. hot sale maa.. Proton has tun run production 24 hours after launching..

• @ben yap: Remember, the name must not have any association with the animal kingdom.

• keturunan biadap……….
      mak bapak tak ajar adab…

• mamai on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:59 am

ramainya red bean army kat sini..

• Keng Yap on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:48 pm

I thought better to make it global named – Proton Tokong.. Tokong named can persuade those anti-Rosmah and Siang & Eng Devotees blindly buy this car.. agree or not? globall maaahh..

• better call it kulum yap

• adiwira on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Too bad they are not allowing any name associated with the animal kingdom. After kancil, kelisa and rusa from Perodua proved to be a success, Proton should consider kambing, lembu or cipan…lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 24
  • Bobo marley on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:25 pm

The cekodok panaz type c

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Proton staff on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:27 pm

The NFE engine will be mated with CVT and for the first time will be utilizing EPS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Hasan on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Yeah im good at this. I hope the ludy luck smiles on my side! Goood luck peepole!

• koozold on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Proton Haze !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • Protonn on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Recycled savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • uzair on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Still dont understand why wouldn’t they stick to Savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Another 2 more Proton staffs with same intelligent as you, Proton will doomed faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • And I don’t understand why Proton needs to know our current car in the form. Is our current car will affect our winning chance/possibility?

• pirlo on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:41 pm

still dont understand why public don’t know what mule stage is.

• ahlian on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:48 pm

ahbeng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • azrai on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:55 pm

It’s bigger than Kancil & Kelisa so the name will be Proton Keliru.

I guess the new platform will be the next gen SAGA platform after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Proton on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Proton Paria . If its a hybrid, Proton Paria-h.

P – Proton
    A – Advanced
    R – Road
    I – Intelligent
    A – Assist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 117
  • kereta_lembu on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:58 pm

How about Proton Bungkus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
  • azrai on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:06 pm

OPEL: Old People Enjoying Life
    KIA: Kills In Accidents
    PORSCHE: Proof Of Rich Spoiled Children Having Everything.
    VOLVO: Very Odd Looking Vehicular Object.
    TOYOTA : The One You Only Trust, Always
    FORD: For Only Romantic Drivers
    FIAT: Failure in Italian Automotive Technology.
    LEXUS: Luxury EXports to United States .
    BMW: Brings Me Women.
    HYUNDAI: Hope You Understand Nothing’s Drivable And Inexpensive.
    PROTON: Powerwindow Rosak Oooh Tidaaaakkkk Ohhhh Noooooo!

Taken from the cyberspace. Just for fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 126
    • FORD: Fix or repair daily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • gdntsk on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:28 pm

FORD (backwards): Driver Returns On Foot
      TOYOTA: Too Many Yankees Overprice This Automobile (very obvious case in M’sia)/ The One You Ought To Avoid (happens in US)
      VOLKSWAGEN: Vehicle Obsolete Leaving Kraut Showroom With A Ghastly Engine (k)Nock
      VW: Virtually Worthless/Very Weird/Very Wonderful
      FIAT: Fix It Again Tony
      HYUNDAI :How Your Usual Nerd Drives An Import/(my own attempt) Hope You’ll Understand our New Design And Ingenuity
      HONDA: Had One, Never Did Again/Happy Owners Never Drive Another
      BMW: Bought My Wife/Bled My Wallet
      AUDI: Accelerating Under Demonic Influence
      MAZDA: Mostly Always Zipping Dangerously Along
      MERCEDES: May Eat Real Cash, Ever Dreading Evil Salesmen
      The rest of the jokes apart from my own attempt at HYUNDAI are from the Net. Enjoy :D

• Another naming contest?
    With all the no-animal naming rule, later they will announce Proton Bangau as winner and give the prizes to their own people like what happened to Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 101
    • peyno on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:44 pm

desperate perodua salesman.. soon become USED car Salesman

prrrrtfhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • somebody on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:24 am

sory amoi,
      the winner of exora compitition naming name is a cikgu (male cikgu). i just happen to know him since i live near his place. and he indeed didnt even related with any proton people. it is his luck. if you know him. u will stop saying like this.

god is very fair.his right hand is disfunctional (penyakit otot x berfungsi). and he already married so long, but still god dindt give them children.from what i know from him, he name the car as proton exora is from ixora (a flower name). he also just try his luck in compition. it is his gift from god. how do expect. will getting a car right..cheer.

that so many years back. last year, i meet him again. he got 1 son now. in 15 years marriage duration.

i hate proton too. so many corruption in ther.
      but for exora case. since i know the people who won. i just want to share with u.

• alphawolf on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm

This one should be named Savvy, IMHO.
    Proton should just stick to the names they had established, rather than renaming them every generation. Otherwise Proton’s model names would sound more and more ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Proton Dude on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Proton Paria . If its a hybrid, Proton Paria-h.

P – Proton
    A – Advanced
    R – Road
    I – Intelligent
    A – Assist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
  • Proton die-hard fan on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Proton GT, short for Gulung Tikar. Please vote. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 36
  • Bobo marley on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Proton cepuk gx
    Because u complaint u kene cepuk dengan repairman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Proton can produce compact car. Then why Perodua is not allowed to produce any sedan car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • In Japan, Daihatsu rebadge Toyota Altis…

Anyway it shows how insecure Proton can be if Perodua sedan offered here…

• Eyesore on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:29 am

who said BerukDua not allowed to produce sedan? They dun have sedan cuz toyota/daihatsu don’t want offer sedan for them to rebadge… But i think they are in the process of rebadging a sedan (announced in one of their PC recently)prolly based on vios… they were allowed to produced MPV as well right?

• peyno on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:51 am

perodua not allowed to produce sedan??? weii perodua just copy n past from daihatsu.. if daihatsu got no sedan model .. then how to produce.. even VT n new engine oso daihatsu not allow perodua to use it hehe

• Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Proton BN / Proton Sakit / Proton Penat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • Hate Japanese CAR on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Proton BN / Proton Sakit / Proton Tenat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 94
  • vwowner on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:30 pm

PROTON YAKINBOLEH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Last time they not allow any name associate with plant name, and wallah, a flower name chosen for Exora. Which is literally a flower name with fancy spelling.

• satrianeo on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:45 pm

If that is correct theprediction here then is we must come up with an animalnamebut afancy spelling! Example: ican (ikan), KerZhing(kucing), CUmming (kambing)

• ican may work. I Can? BTW, when will they announce the winner?

• satrianeo on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:48 pm

If that is correct the prediction here then is we must come up with an animal name but afancy spelling! Example: ican (ikan), KerZhing(kucing), CUmming (kambing)

• Jayson on Jun 26, 2013 at 3:44 am

For those of you either too young or too old to remember this, Iswara was chosen from such similar naming contest with such similar rules i.e no name of animals. It seems that a butterfly is not considered as an animal. So many ppl protest the result back then

• Proton Keranda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • KakLoo on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Proton Mongolia C4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
  • Ahbeng on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Proton HamkahChan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Potong on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Nobody cares. Keep on compacting yours cars until disappeared. Good moves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Eyesore on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:30 am

if nobody cares especially you.. why r u here and even bother commenting? confused aren’t ya?

• Potong on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:02 pm

owh.. that comment above hurt your little feelings? must be driving ur eyesore proton junk arent ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • SteveJobsDrKubur on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Proton C4,Proton Scorpe,Proton Capati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 104
  • Give them a chance to try. So far we have not seen any exciting things from new management in proton. Many good people left proton and I heard there are hardly any international team left in proton. Lets hope for the best. Learn from Tesla passion and dedication made them successful in 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Come on.. Shut up if you have nothing good to say..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Pokkai on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Proton Pokai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • downsys on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Danny,
    I’m a bit intrigued by the new name they plan to choose. As part of the rules, it must be in Bahasa Malaysia. But their current line up includes non-BM names – Prevé, Savvy, Exora, Neo…

Why the change of heart?

• driver on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Different management, different taste.. that’s why Proton’s DNA is rojak. They should stop this. Stick to the strategic plan until the end. Then come out with a new flavour for the next term.

• superman on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:35 am

they should learn from Kia. they hired a professional German designer and a bunch of new european team and they turned the company around in 3 years from a boring ugly car to one of the coolest cars in the world. they let the german guy to do what he wants and did nto force him to do anything. look at the results. this is what proton must do to be successful. we want to see mroe famous european names in proton again like before.

• pirlo on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:12 am

when proton hire foreigners in the company, some will said proton are not patriotic enough for not hiring locals. When proton ask local talents to do the work, some will said proton are not international enough.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:23 pm

New management with new ideas, perhaps

• superman on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:31 am

new ideas?? we have been waitin for these new ideas since last year when they took over proton. i dont think they have any idea how to run the company.

• Proton Heat

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 160
  • azrai on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Proton Perkasa
    Proton Perkuda
    Proton Murah-ni (Instead of Murano)
    Proton Kontot
    Proton Kekura
    Proton Masala (Instead of masalah)
    Proton Tudia (Penang slang)
    Proton Memanda (Chedet?)
    Proton Detona (Chedet & Daytona)
    Proton Puaka
    Proton Lagi?
    Proton Erdogan
    Proton Poking
    Proton Penanggal
    Proton Langsuir
    Proton Doom
    Proton Belang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • Gary Yap on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Since it’ll be based on a Honda, Proton Jazz :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • apanama on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:15 pm

20 plus years in business and still too lazy to name an upcoming model in-house?

“We are the national automotive car company, so it is only right this is shared together with the rest of the country and all Malaysians. It is only right that the Malaysian public share our pride and play a significant part in naming the new Proton car,” – yup, that’s right all Malaysians. The company wants you to share the pride and play a significant part in naming ONLY but NOT otherwise in terms of giving Malaysians the highest quality, specs and reasonably priced cars.

Malaysians, ini kalilah, berubah to other (non-national) makes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
  • potong pisang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Gokul on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Proton Peeeerrgghhhh…

• start on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:32 pm

As long no Renault/Citroen engine should be fine. Really had bad-bad-bad experienced with Savvy and I swear I will never ever touch Renault/Citroen anymore..

• LOGYC MIND on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:37 pm

condemn all the thing proton did..but still soem of you will buy it at the end…so annoying. be rational, if you hate proton, i guess you don’t own one right? so all of you either driving Bimmer, Merc, Audi, or perhaps a Lambor, Ferrari, Maser, or eben better maybe RR or Bentley. So why still bash like hell?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • tikus` on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:06 pm

We rakyat have no choice…That is the cheapest car in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • poton jizz

• Noname Takadanama on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Bahasa Malaysia…no association with the animal kingdom…and no more than 6 letters…umm…

Proton Arimao
    Proton Arimau
    Proton Arimaw

• TiuLoo on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Proton Ayoyo
      Proton SatuC4
      Proton iProton
      Proton SamSuu
      Proton iHalal
      Proton xHalal
      Proton Kaboom
      Proton Sorhai
      Proton iBodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • meng meng on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:44 pm

I think Hicom will like Proton SV.
    Means all proton “SUPER VALUE”
    Cth= sv saga, sv preve , sv exora , sv kaniniah

• potong banana

• satrianeomegatron on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:51 pm

One thing I dun get it. Since all the buggers in proton cant do a good job cant they hire better, hotter looking people that can’t do a good job anyhow? At least eye-candy when doing press-release w photos ma.

• sawee on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:53 pm

potong stim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Farmer on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Proton Sawi???

• hate proton on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Proton TiuNiaSeng

• Taw lah jerebu kt luar sana, tp wahai rakyat2 Malaysia sume yg comment kt dlm blog ni, xpyh tunjuk yg kepala otak, akal korang berjerebu sekali.. bg lah comment yg supportive… katenye lawak, sarcasm, nome of them aq rse kan lawak.. sume comment yg x membina..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • proton akula
    proton engkau
    proton lajula
    proton tujuh
    proton lapan
    proton-proton
    proton ayah
    proton mak
    proton paultan
    proton adaberan?
    proton cucuk
    proton pandan
    proton masaklemakciliapi

• mountain on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Protonku protonmu jua
      Proton Barisan
      Proton Pembangkang
      Proton Zumba
      Proton Poco Poco
      Proton Walinung Layang Sari
      Proton Siti Nurhaliza
      Proton Akupunnak
      Proton Manaboleh
      Proton niakupunyaje
      Proton Protein
      Proton Diabetes
      Proton Jerebu
      Proton KlinikKesihatanSalakTinggi
      Proton Yuna-Lelakitakguuuunaaa….

• tikus` on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Proton Ahjib
    Proton Rosjib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Segari on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:38 am

Proton AnuWar – 6 letter not associate with flower but bodypart maybe hehehe

• jeremy clarkson on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:09 pm

proton, a company without mission!!

• proton on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm

who say no mission? mission is to make money mah. thus i propose:

Proton Ringgit

• yakul on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:16 pm

proton najizz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Tumbi on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Proton copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Rubbish!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • God Proton…. Just stick with one name for your product!

b-segment hatchback = Savvy
    b-segment sedan = Saga
    c-segment sedan/hatchback = Preve
    c-segment MPV = Exora

I know rojak is delicious but rojak product lineup doesn’t!!!

• Absolute Rider on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:54 pm

If you want to go global, you must use at least English.

The contest is very interesting with nice prizes too. However, naming in Malay, sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • peyno on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

then we name it
      Proton GLOBAL

prrrtfhhhh

• Sejak bila pula kizashi, passat, aventador, cerato, elantra jadi bahasa inggeris.. banyak kereta global lain guna bahasa selain inggeris… ingat semua negara agungkan sangat ke bahasa inggeris…global la sangat…kebanyakan negara eropah pun tak guna sangat BI..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Absolute Rider on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:34 pm

The thing is that they already well known around the world and the name use in the those market. If use Malay, here call A other countries call B or even C in others…

• Absolute Rider on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

One more thing, I said at least English. This is the way to let Proton to be better known in the market. Once you really well known, you can name your car different name in different market

• Proton Chinky then..chinky is an English word mind you

• Slide with style on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Savvy 2

Since numeric is legal for naming it

• peyno on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Nak design n buat keta sendiri x mampu… Daihatsu pon macam dah nak mo bagi model baru kat perodua.. Mereka ;ebih minat pasang Kat indonesia … Last2 perodua hanya mampu jadi tukang jual keta 2nd hand… Dah nampak dahhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
  • Johnny on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:49 pm

Should name it Proton Bang-La.
    Reason, small and compact like how they all packed into the buses.

• Hadi75 on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

We public only have the right to share the naming of the car not the right to have the best product and service at the best price possible from a national car maker….

• Tok Kok on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Proton Tokoh ..

Dun tok kok lah!!!

• Proton “Boring”

• Proton iMiskin
    Proton PapaKedana
    Proton LainkaliLah
    Proton Kunola
    Proton SPRTipu
    Proton AhJibGor
    Proton PRU13

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Louis Cho on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Proton Agogo is the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Oakley on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm

How about…
    PROTON BRIM? Since oF the BR1M faze recently? Or PROTON 1M?

• Proton Save wey!

• samala on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:17 pm

With due respect to Proton I don’t think its justifiable for a 25+ years old manufacturer to turn to the public to choose its model name – again. The comments above just show how negative is the perception towards Proton’s contest, and probably just the tip of the iceberg. If I were Proton, its my prerogative to name my car! Enough with Saga and Exora, time to move ahead. C’mon, is that so difficult to think Proton???

• Name King on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Proton RM1
    That’s what it’s worth

• jugah on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:44 pm

proton pandalela

• thedarkside on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:51 pm

proton 50% (diskaun)

• macamyestapibukan on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Surprise? Even the huge MRT project logo also turn to the public as a contest. Turns out they chose the ugly one whereas there were so many good and meaningful ones. Dont be shocked to see this compact with a hideous name like “Preve”

• Robot boy on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Use Latin words
    hope. sky. star. moon. freedom. (Latin)
    spero. caeli. stella. luna. libero. ( English)

These r good

• Proton Katak
    Proton OLS

• proton najib? or proton rosmah :P

• “We have no choice, proton is the cheapest here”, poor man language.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Ah Beng on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:27 am

Proton Sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • After Saga, sure Proton Sago.

• Visitor on Jun 26, 2013 at 7:21 am

Naming it in Bahasa Malaysia only? Probably some of us here will be more excited to suggest creative names that have nothing to do with any language sense at all, but be careful, what we propose will not be acceptable to others. Take Honda Fit/Jazz for example, those folks at Japan originally want to name the then new car model as Fitta, but they realised it meant something else (note – coarse language) in a Scandinavian country.

• 1world on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:11 pm

How is the pricing of this model going to be, in light of the latest price cut of the (soon outdated, but a good deal anyway) Honda Jazz?

• imran on Jun 26, 2013 at 7:51 am

i want to give the name proton REMPIT!!

Small hot hatch pocket rocket will be use by young malaysian to rempit from house to school or office. kejar punch card maa..dah lewat ke kuliah @ ofis..

But then again i thought proton wont allow the name. :-|

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • opereteryell on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:04 am

Proton Namabarulagi
    Proton Taktaunamaapa
    Proton Malasfikir
    Proton Buangmasa

• azrai on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:04 pm

In respect to the founder, Proton ApaNama..

• opereteryell on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:01 am

Proton Apanama will not be considered as it is reserved by you-know-who.

Please try again, LOL!

• nazreen kanaruddin on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:11 am

one more thing…. bak kata pepatah… “lepas ludah jangan jilat balik”. so perhaps all the great sifu kondem jangan masuk la this contest… if menang buat malu je…

• HC1.7 on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:30 am

All these negative comments about Proton’ upcoming compact car ! If you don’t like what Malaysia is making, then get out of the country !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Segari on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:41 am

This is democracy…if me don’t like than me can guling-guling on the tarmac to show my displeasure!

• opereteryell on Jun 26, 2013 at 6:49 pm

All these negative comments about Proton’ upcoming compact car ! If Proton don’t like to see or get negative comments, then stop wasting the rakyat’s time and name the car sendiri lah!!!

• mamai on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:55 am

ultra kiasu memang benci proton …dulu,kini selamanya..

• ProtonBangau on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

Since nissan name their car like sex disease….eg Nissan syphilis, Nissan latio aka lanciao

Proton can name it Proton Lampar or Proton TuahKi or Proton Kanina

• evardo woo on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:20 am

Proton Ubi

• 173cm on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:42 am

Proton Style, gaya mesti ada ma

• 173cm on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:54 am

I just think that naming a Proton will be a sensitive issue due to the brand name reputation.
      Even with nice name like Cosmic, Break, Style, Peak, Sleek, Nautilus, Titan etc will be useless.
      Tho mostly like to name it in Malay too, catchy name will be most difficult to think of.
      *Proton Jaguh, Karisma, Comel etc (Used in motorbike)

• Norman on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:48 am

Compact car again,Didn’t they learn their lesson previously?They need new 1.8 mpv,Mid size 2.0 sedan/SUV and of course luxury limo 2.5 especially for VIPs..They need a good reliable turbo diesel cars/Vans for domestic and intl market.Built a turbo diesel 2.0 Cars and export to India and uk I’m sure they sold well

• Ah Gib Kor 2.0 on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:59 am

I’m always listening to you, my people. I shall personally submit an entry. I’ll call it Proton Bersih. Being a small efficient compact car, it’s definitely good for the environment, apa lagi with all the haze now. And when they have newer versions later, it’d be nice to call it Proton Bersih 2.0, 3.0, etc.

• skodeng on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:19 pm

How about Proton Skodeng

• Proton Banglasia SV (SuperVeloce)!

Proton Pervert (inspired by Preve)

Proton Sawi (inspired by Savvy)

Proton Esoklah (inspired by Exora)

• Kuryakin on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Proton Sampah

• Lpost on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:05 pm

ProAhtong Sek sii
    ProAhtong Jue pa
    ProAhtong Sawt dei
    ProAhtong Baak gwai
    ProAhtong Figh cai

• Sharu on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Proton Eco or Aqua

• lore_zone on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:08 pm

we should name it as proton dsai…
    or proton chinese aliens or proton pendatang cina tak sedar diri…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Ah Beng on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:11 pm

I got it. I got it. Nama terhebat is…

Proton Kroni Recon(Not car recon but rakyat kena con lagi)

or

Proton TP (Tutup Pintu)

or

Proton TG(Tak Guna)

or

Proton OAT(Otak Ada Tak)

or the best…

Proton K2(KURA – KURA)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • Proton Tokong

• nazreen kanaruddin on Jun 26, 2013 at 4:13 pm

proton LAIN KALI LA TUKAR? hahahaha

• Honda got Jazz. Proton Dangdut?

• h780lp on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:45 pm

proton susu_sucker

• 890op on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:53 pm

proton cblah

• 890op on Jun 26, 2013 at 5:56 pm

proton apong malik

potong songsong

potong leng cai

• 7552525 on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:25 am

Power window problem until now cannot fix, piiirahh, Proton Ahkua/ Proton Bolanhut…

• Mahathir Monimonki on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Proton 1M
    Proton BMS (Buy Me Suckers)
    Patriotic my *ss.. Can’t figure even the name for people’s car. and don’t forget to export cheaper but higher quality to foreigners. and make expensive but lowest quality for us.. and up the price 50% more for ‘expensive’ car lovers. We can always opt for foreign car then because they are more reasonably priced (really? want to laugh for this fact).

• just a nobody on Jun 30, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Seriously, am I the only who comes here for all the damn funny comments? Man, all of you folks that leaved comments here really made my day.

• freaky dude on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Proton Tirunankaikal
    Proton Kanasai SV
    Proton Pondan SV-C (SuperValue Compact)
    Nice to drive go shopping one.. Not too expensive please Proton!

• freak on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:08 pm

how about proton PWR? (POWER WINDOWS ROSAK)

• baharuzzi on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:57 pm

proton SYUKUR

• Peter on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Proton Px2

Preve Pendik edition

• LGE Brayokmok on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Sad, all bad comments here but still drive a proton. This is all tought by The Tokong. Slowly leave this blog if too many asshole here….

• Malay'sian on Jul 18, 2013 at 7:57 am

Banyaknyer REDBEAN

• POLISI YG BERUBAH-UBAH. KERETA KOMPAK ASALNYA ADALAH SEGMEN UNTUK PERODUA SHJ ….. ANYWAY , YG BANYAK KOMEN/KUTUK TU LA YG BANYAK HANTAR NAMA ..

• 11.35PM 24 July, the site was down. cannot submit the entry

• hantu on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:57 am

typical malaysian, everything u want to politicize it..what a loser…bodoh x diajar…

• panpin on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:58 am

Elok bagi nama proton Kiasu Ultra DAP @ Proton Cina Malaysia @ Proton Robert Kouk @ Proton Massimo ..baru puak2 ni puas hati..

• akrims on Jul 29, 2013 at 9:01 am

Tukang2 komen kat atas tu sah 2,3 orang je tapi banyak email akaun…mungkin red bean army…patut lu pi duduk negara taiwan ja…

• ibn hadramy on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:40 am

Proton Proma
    Proton Proiscom
    Proton Whitebirth
    Proton Vargho
    Proton Ilumia
    Proton Yeltig

• Proton Rimau

• neddy on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:25 pm

how about “Proton Bell-a-can”
    insted of “belacan”

• Skygun on Aug 03, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Most of you look like hate proton so badly.why not you guys apply to work with proton.maybe you can give the best opinion or idea to proton.be thankful you still can drive your car with your family.some others people dont have you know.

• zakaria husain on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:33 pm

proton claudia

• Proton Altantuya

• Can anyone justify with evidence from where they came up with this rule: “Also, the name must not have any association with the animal kingdom, so don’t think along the lines of Kancil, Kelisa and Rusa!” When I read the terms and condition nothing as such written there

• Call Me Maybe on Aug 20, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Proton Sapphire

• marlinah on Sep 30, 2013 at 4:03 pm

better name it proton TL (temberang lebih). I regret bought my savvy. very high maintainance.hu..hu..hu..

• geninfo on Sep 30, 2013 at 4:05 pm

name it proton ini kalilah. hahahaha..

• rogon on Sep 30, 2013 at 6:47 pm

hm..new model but most probably with recycle part from savvy (poor sale). I own a savvy and regret it very much. problem occurred mostly after 5 years of use. spare part is killing me. even at outside workshop still expensive. nightmare..

• Huzaifah on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:14 pm

When the result will be announced?

• Naim KV1688L on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Proton Ambiga

• zedyll on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Proton Suprima C! proton suprima cheap!

• tittle on Dec 12, 2013 at 5:49 pm

proton savvy 2, proton mini, proton DAP

• samd jain on Feb 09, 2014 at 11:35 am

Proton, you could name any great names to your car. Call it super super super Proton if you want.

But if the car is hopeless and sucks at the end, then what is the purpose ONLY having a good name??
    A good name can and wont help AT ALL, if the car sucks…

• Dynn Chalice on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:59 pm

im xtreme like p.savvy bcoz it xtreme ‘speed n sparkz’ on 1.2cc class; names 2014 is p.savvy’SS’ ‘speed n sparkz'[p.savvySS] :)

• Whynot on May 21, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I like the mystical Malaysia worrier. Hang Zipat-8! Hang Tah-1! or Hang Kasduri-W? Which one sounded nice?