New Lexus IS launched – four variants, from RM270k

Lexus IS 25

Lexus Malaysia officially launched the all-new Lexus IS this evening at its Mutiara Damansara hub. The third-generation compact premium exec is available here in four variants, including F-Sport and Hybrid options. The full list reads IS 250, IS 250 Luxury, IS 250 F-Sport and the IS 300h.

The IS 250 variants are powered by a 2.5 litre V6 engine with 205 hp and 252 Nm of torque at 4,800 rpm. The naturally aspirated 4GR-FSE V6 comes with Dual-VVTi and D4 direct injection, and is mated to a six-speed automatic with steering paddles. 0-100 km/h is done in 8.1 seconds while top speed is 225 km/h.

By the way, the gearbox features a new “G force Artificial Intelligence” (A.I. Shift) control in Sport mode, which automatically selects the optimal gear and downshift pattern in response to G force, and maintains the selected gear through a corner.

Lexus IS 51

The IS 300h hybrid is powered by a Lexus Hybrid Drive system combining an electric motor and a new 178 hp 2AR-FSE 2.5 litre four-cylinder Atkinson cycle petrol engine. Max system output is 164 kW (220 hp), the engine makes 221 Nm from 4,200 to 5,400 rpm, and the electric motor has 300 Nm max.

Although it does the benchmark 0-100 km/h sprint in 8.5 seconds and a top speed of 200 km/h, slower than the IS 250, real world performance should be strong thanks to the electric motor’s low down push. There’s an all-electric EV mode for short distances.

The battery pack is a nickel–metal hydride (NiMH) unit containing 192 cells, with a max voltage of 650 V. The battery pack is located under the floor, so there’s no loss in boot space. Instead of a torque converter automatic, the IS 300h uses a CVT gearbox.

The rear-wheel drive IS is suspended by double wishbones up front and a multi-link setup at the back. The wishbones have been revised, giving a 20% increase in roll rigidity, while the new multi-link system is similar to that featured in the new GS. Exclusive to the IS 250 F-Sport is a Adaptive Variable Suspension System (AVS).

The current IS is very tight inside, something the new model addresses, thanks to increased width (+10 mm) and a longer wheelbase (+70 mm to 2,800 mm). Lexus says that the combination of the extended wheelbase and a thinner front seat design delivers best-in-class knee-room (+85 mm compared to the current model) and rear seat access. The new rear seats also have a 60:40 split-folding function.

The F-Sport model gets some exclusive kit as the sporty variant. From the outside, the already aggressive IS is enhanced by a unique L-mesh grille and front bumper, with more visible chrome treatment. It’s all functional too, scooping in more air to the engine. The 18-inch wheels have a unique Y-shape spoke design inspired by the LFA supercar.

Lexus IS 4

There’s more. The F-Sport’s transmission has an extra fourth mode (Sport S+) and the cabin features sportier “body hugging” front seats, aluminium pedals, scuff plates, dimpled leather gear knob and F-Sport badging. But the cabin highlight will be the eight-inch TFT LCD instrument panel, which is once again inspired by the LFA.

Moving on to the hybrid, which has its own unique features. For one, the tailpipes are hidden from view, and there’s an Energy Monitor within the Electro Multi Vision Navigation (EVNM) panel. Here, the driver can observe the energy flow in real time. The headlamps are LED units (HID xenons for the rest).

Lexus has made a name for offering high-end Mark Levinson sound systems, and the IS has this for the IS 250 F-Sport and IS 300h. We’re talking about a 15-speaker ICE system wih DVD, MP3 and WMA. The IS 250 and IS 250 Luxury “makes do” with a Lexus Premium eight-speaker system. There are two USB points and one AUX jack for both systems.

Safety wise, it’s ABS, EBD, BA, VSC, TRC, Hill Start Assist and Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management (VDIM) across the XE30 board. Also standard for all specs are eight airbags and ISOFIX child seat tethers.

The new IS is priced from RM269,900 for the IS 250, rising to RM299,900 for the IS 250 Luxury (adds on 18-inch rims, reverse camera, power rear sunshade, navi) and RM333,000 for the IS 250 F-Sport. The IS 300h is yours for RM383,000, all on-the-road without insurance.

Not that there’s alot of difference, but should you want to compare, we’ve previously featured the Detroit 2013 debutant in gallery posts from Seoul and Bangkok motor shows.

UPDATE: Scans of the official brochure added in the gallery below

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Toe To Toe on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:10 pm

I read that as ‘New Toyota IS launched’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 81
    • A4 and 3 series r boring, and this one is just too expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
      • Only in Malaysia where you can buy a car with the same price as a house..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
        • Its a TOYOTA on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Very stupid people pay BMW prices for a mere Toyota. Open every panel in the car and you see the word Toyota written on it. Only losers who have fallen for marketing gimmick think Lexus is a luxury car. Yes its selling well in the US because it is as cheap as a Toyota. Here its sold at BMW prices. See how stupid Malaysians are? Buyers in Malaysia justify it by saying US sales are good but they fail to realize, its so cheap there. Like any Japanese brand. Buyers of Lexus in Malaysia all kena con. Spend so much thinking your car sama taraf as BMW or Mercedes. Its not. Its just a Toyota. Nothing else. People laugh at Lexus buyers knowing how they have fallen for a marketing gimmick. At traffic lights, most people sniggle when they see a Lexus. You got conned. Would you pay RM300,000 for a Camry?

This is no better than Proton coming out with a luxury brand, say, calling it Lexus. Would you pay RM300,000 for this Lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 76
          • Winmac on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Obviously, you don’t know anything about car market. In US a Lexus is recognized for its quality and excellent customer service, hence people don’t mind the extra money. Plus the quality is comparable. Have you driven or been in a Lexus before? You’re blinded by brand and it is you who kena con sebab you would buy a basic car called BMW for the same price as Lexus which has good insulated cabin and excellent sound system. It’s about absolute quality and not brand. RM90k for basic Honda City and fully accessorized Inspira (we know it’s Lancer) and you still buy Honda City because of ‘prestige’?

Who kena con now?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 2
          • Toe To Toe on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:16 pm

This person speaks so much truth that he should write for M-Truth.com

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • toyota fan on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Totally agreed. It’s marketing and people in Malaysia are falling for it. Pricing it at bmw and Mercedes levels does not means it’s a bmw or Mercedes. But sadly looks like people cannot face the truth. It’s a Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
          • Reiner on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Well. I believe u are one of them too. Couldnt accept the fact a Japs car better than your Germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
          • It's a Lexus on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Seriously, I hope you are joking, comparing Proton to Toyota?

• Woah, you are really poor at judging cars. I own both a 328, C200 and an IS250, a 525 and a GS300. I’m quite certain you’ve never driven either cars enough to compare its differences. You can take it on a “test drive” and claim that you’ve driven either one, BUT you’ve never driven enough. It’s a Toyota hence it sucks? So its a BMW means it rocks? Because? What’s your basis in claiming that, in your case, am BMW is superior to a Lexus class for class, or a Merc.

Perhaps because of its engine, I find the C Class the least pleasurable drive. Apart from that, having driven these cars over many years, all these “brands” have its own merits, be it luxury, comfort, sporty or reliable.

If you just wanna own a car just to show your wealth, then neither of these cars are great for you. But your blantant, blanket claim that it’s a toyota so it sucks, is just obvious that you’re the one who’s an europhilic victim of marketing.

And just for comparison “BMW” Price for a 3 series in the USA, you can check the website, subject to your locality, and “Lexus” price for the IS250 in the USA, are very similar depending on your spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • supppose u mean ASEAN country except brunei…in south korea toyota(lexus) and bmw competing each other to gain market share

• neutral on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:42 am

i agree…as much as i like the f30 3 series…the CKD version sold here is just not good enough…meanwhile this lexus is something more special…but then…why the super high price? i thought jap imports have lower taxes??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Hector on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:27 am

BMW CKD 3 series the assemble quality is like proton…
          the door handle inside the rear door when even have sound of yik yik yik if u touch it slightly harder..
          lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • and u expect car maker to open plant here with that attitude..boleh made not good

• Go Finish Your Homework, Boy! on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Another stupid comment from a high school kid trying to masquerade as a man. You got a long way to go, kid! You study hard enough and you might be able to afford to buy a Toyota Vios when you grow up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
      • toyota fan on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Please la … Its a Toyota. Why pretend it’s something that it’s clearly not..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 69
        • can u specify which part of this IS is the same other toyotas? and why r they the same? i believe many readers here would like to learn from u..thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
        • Kimchi fan on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Oh I see, so when people buy an Audi, you say, please la, it’s a VW; people buy a Lambo, again, you will say please la, it’s again a VW, and Ferrari is a Fiat, i presume….?
          Brilliant, I must say!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
          • MrPoppyplants on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:04 am

Get your facts right. Lexus is a luxury DIVISION of Toyota.

Whereas VW Group OWNS Lamborghini and Audi, probably not even 100%.

Same goes for Ferrari, Fiat OWNS majority shares of Ferrari.

So, in the end, Lexus is in fact a Toyota albeit a luxurious one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
          • so what are you trying to say, MrPoppyplants?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Hybrid Fan on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:53 am

toyota fan …. please lah … Why pretend that you’re smart when you’re clearly not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
          • Kimchi fan on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Hahaha!
            When someone can’t afford something, the sour grape mentality will manifest.
            Very common here in Paultan, just read some of the comments and you will see.

• Even though own by Toyota doesn’t mean Japanese brand.. Lexus are US brand same goes to Lotus, RR, Bently, Lambo, Ferrari, Mini Cooper, Range Rover, MG & etc

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Lexus is Japanese brand, Scion is US brand. Lexus main market is US and now is worldwide.

• even in korea toyota using lexus to compete with bmw…are we that special?

• Toe To Toe on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Lexus Salesman detected……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Lexus Salesman on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:30 pm

All the models at the launch no power one. At least boost to push up to a bit more powerful la….

….. also the cars power should be increased.

• Raput DSG on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Audi S-Tronic is a DSG, just name it different so people thought it is different.

• YOU MUST BE A KID THAT YOU CANT DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN SCION & TOYOLTA RIGHT?

• carlies on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:12 pm

This is what we called a real car! Awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • shame_Loo on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Should put in a turbo charged engine instead of boring NA engine….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • i don’t find these engines more boring than those 2.0L diesel on the 3 series, or anywhere near Audi’s 1.8L A4.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:38 am

turbo might be powerful, efficient and fuel saving. but cant phased out those refined na engine. but of course i’d like to see toyota and honda embraced forced induction tech in their daily driven car.

• Turbo + hybrid = best of both world.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Turbo + Diesel + Hybrid = what to complain anymore?

• Despite the huge leap in diesel engine technology, diesel engines can never be as smooth, as quiet, as refined, as light and vibrate as little as petrol engines.

• brace yourselves, lexus = toyota posts are coming

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Kereta dah cantik, model orang tua. Laaa…..

• From the photo gallery i believe that the awesomely cool LFA-like digital gauge is only available in higher end IS models?

• robber liew on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm

that’s what we call a real ugly car,OMG…where they get the style cue,what’s up with the head lamp design…what are they thinking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Awsome on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Why don’t you design it? I bet you design much worse than a Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • robber liew on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:16 am

do you need a world class designer to be qualified to judge a car?

if so don’t complaint the next time you eat some shit for your dinner,why not you cook it yourself,i bet you cook worse than a shit

Preve is a beautiful car btw.i don’t need to be a designer to say that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Hybrid Fan on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:00 am

I think you need eye glasses. And maybe English classes, too?

• robber liew on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:16 pm

if you expect to see 100% homogenous opinion go live in north korea,you don’t deserve to live in free country where people respect different opinion

is your english very good?u sounds like come from third world country

• Neutral on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Sorry Robber Liew, his English better than yours. You sound like that guy selling fake DVDs in mamak shops. And your is “Robber”? Seriously?

• robber liew on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:51 pm

do we take seriously anyone’s obviously fake out nick name here?

i only did that in my kinder-garden period when kids play with others people names.

If nickname suggest anything,i can’t see how your comment reflect your nick,or maybe u just plainly dunno english(speaking of judging others english,cry out loud).

you Should put something like “i am north korean refugee” since u think everybody should think the same

• North Korean on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:03 am

Robber Liew is correct. In North Korea we all think the same. We all think Robber Liew is stupid.

• North Korean uncle on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Yes, I concur, in North Korean, we all like Lexus very much!
            We all think Preve is very ugly.
            We also agree that those people called themselves ‘robber’ are idiots.

• pretty or not is a subjective matter lah, aiyo! some like it, some don’t; that’s normal, kan?

why argue for such small matter?

*I like the IS. :P

• Ongtk on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Wow! Awesome car! Definitely a standout in a crowded field of mundane looking BMWs and Mercedes!

• kenot on Jun 26, 2013 at 10:45 pm

love it or hate it…

• The front of the F-Sport damn ganas. I like!

• Looks great but in terms of 0-100, my current car can outrun this fella. Not that it matters much. But at the given price it does actually. Certainly an eyecatcher and luxurious inside out. A strong contender for luxury sedan market if compared to the germans especially when lexus bagged international reliability awards recently. Would i buy one in the future if 0-100 is not the main concern here?? Yes should be a nice answer.

• if i had the IS, i would drive it slowly while listening to the Mark Levinson 835 watt audio and flicking through the F-sport gauge to attract all the jealous looks on the street, particularly those who say it’s a beefed-up Toyota!

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:41 am

eye catcher. but hard to compete with A4,3 series or even c class. they should revised the priced. unless they really believe in luxury niche that lexus can bring.

• Kimchi can go back to korea!

• toyota fan on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Hmm. ..interesting look but pricing is a bit high. It’s a Toyota for crying out loud.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:42 am

luxurious and powerful rwd toyota. but of course the price a bit steep.

• japanese are always eat more salt than korean eat rice in automotive industry

• Supercharger on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Car tuners are joyed! It features the 4GR-FSE and power can be easily upgraded by supercharger which available on the market for quite a long time.

• yep, much thanks to the Mark X’s popularity in Japan.

• Supercharger on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:36 am

4GR-FSE sounds brutal with a supercharger in it! Here, people will call us Ah Beng but real car enthusiast should work on their own car!

• haha, I got what you mean and i second that.

As much as I like the idea of force-induction, I keep it in the stock condition. I kiasi lah, Mr police is very hardworking u know? XD

• BMWFanboi on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Wow! The F-sport is definitely great looking! The front is so aggressive that people in half sleeping condition straight stay full alert after looking at that car.

• The F sport model 8 inch Lexus LFA LCD gauge cost more then your saga…

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:06 am

Very good car. My third favourite Lexus after LF-A and new GS. But the major problem in all Toyota Family vehicle is the engine. Although without turbo or anything, but at least create a new engine for it’s new Lexus. From IS to LS also the problem. And then I realise Toyota group is pretty bad at making engine. Their LF-A and IS-F’s engine is from Yamaha and GT86 is from Subaru. Except the engine, this car is really changed a lot and improved from previous generation. Europeans complain about Lexus is lack of diesel, which the Germans offered. With S-Class is success making a Diesel Hybrid, shouldn’t Toyota group start develop it? If Lexus start providing Diesel engine options to Europe and probably teamed with Yamaha again develop a 2 Litre 250HP N/A or Hybri, then they will successful surpassing their rival. As Akio Toyoda is a huge fan of racing and IS-F, LF-A and GT86 is receiving very positive review around the world, I have high expectation from Lexus for upcoming, IS-F, GS-F, LS-F, RX-F, CT-Fh and also LF-LC concept. With Toyota Motorsport GMBH is doing good in Le Mans, Hybrid performance car could probably be their future solution of F-Sport division.

• Toyota Motorsport GMBH is doing good in Le Mans?

Did I miss anything?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:42 am

Toyota finishing at position No.2 and No.4 in recent race. Which is a very good result as Audi is the one who dominate the whole race.

• toyota got 2nd place in the latest le mans 24 hour race

• Yes, behind the winning Audi R18 e-tron quattro.

A second place is a success for Toyota?

• just now u said ‘doing good’. Now success pulak? Haihhh

• Bolehlander on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Second place in LeMans is not good enough to you?
            Where’s bolehland punya national car in LeMan? Did I also miss something?

• Reiner on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:26 pm

It’s normal. When people wanna pick something of you. They will just pick anything.

• *buzzer buzzing furiously*

toyota basher detected!!

• Blurr on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:07 am

Sorry … point being?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:45 am

Summary:
        It’s a good car inside out, but lack of new engine is a big drawback.

• ChrisLai75 on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:39 am

engine from YAMAHA?? sure or not

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:45 am

tak tau ka? in order to create one LFA engine, they use 2 factories..first toyota, then yamaha will final tune the engine. *i watch discovery channel abt supercars*

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:24 am

But I thought the engine is built by Yamaha and then sent to Lexus factory to install it in LF-A? I watch History Channel Megafactories.

• i think he meant if Yamaha “make” the engine.

• not for me. I’ve always liked Toyota’s engines. The 2GR-FSE 3.5L V6 engine is one of the best in its class, featuring both DI and PI way back in 2006 while Audi only started using this tech in its new 1.8L turbo engine last year. More importantly, it makes 311hp in 2010 (if not mistaken), that’s awesome.

I also have to recall the Supra’s insane L6. Btw, didn’t Yamaha only tune the IS-F’s V8?

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

yamaha also tune LFA engine. make it more refined and for engine sound(because yamaha expertise in musical instrument).

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:29 am

IS-F engine maybe designed by Toyota but it built by Yamaha, or Yamaha designed it too. Too bad the good engine also age one day. The 2GR-FSE really need a replacement or at least a slight modification. A small company like Mazda can produce their own engine but world largest automaker, your engine line up is really outdated. But I hope they actually developing something incredible under their roof and run a reliability test for maybe 2 years non-stop?

• “built by Yamaha” makes more sense for me. It’s hard for me to believe that Toyota will ever need to source their engines from Yamaha when they themselves have all the expertise and money.

Perhaps Toyota is going the hybrid way and is not spending big on conventional internal combustion engine. We see new Atkinson engines (made for hybrid systems) coming out non stop but seldom see new internal-combustion-only engines being introduced. hmm~

• design wise a lot better than bmw!

• Great looking car.. obviously alot more aggressive compare to nowadays normal looking Germans car. I guess only Lexus & Audi are improving. As for BMW & Benz, nth much to shout out..

• Betul! on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:20 am

Yes laa. Merc & BMW look like so last millennium. But, I’d probably buy an R-class as a family car, though.

• Medic on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:49 am

The new Mercs A,E & S class is going to be launch soon.Damn looks good,new tech inc.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

Damn the S-Class! It’s so advance that it’s closest rival still miles behind it. 7-Series, A8 and LS compete themselves while S-Class is far more advance.

• theanswer on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:51 am

bmw n merc still following the design cue. but push more improvement in their engine department.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:26 am

Its still a toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • jinjangman on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:54 am

what with all this fuss??
    preve hatchback coming out soon!

• SixthGear Msia on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:09 am

The front look ugly from the side..
    engine sooo boring, design are lame..
    Sorry guys, this is a luxury car not a sport car.
    LFA a beauty, this one with some LFA .. Lame,
    if the interior in a sport car gonna look nice,

BOOOORING….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Old dog on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:39 am

IS price like a 5 series, GS then above 5 series?
    This car is launched for the purposes to put in show room? Lol

• DAcia on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:52 am

can buy potong pisang only

• i think the front look is over design

• azrai on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:26 am

Look like Ah beng got his touch on this Lexus.

• Abg Long on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:44 am

nice car but too expensive.

• Abg Long on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:46 am

nice car but too expensive for a toyota.. i mean lexus..

• it look like IS Hybrid in Thailand cheaper by RM30k could be due to Green Tax Incentive but Non Hybrid price higher than Malaysia.. IS250 F-sport selling at Rm422k or 3.99m bhat… here RM333k, diff almost RM100k

• Lexus is luxury car with reliability (because of Toyota). Wait for revised NAP, then might be you can get IS300h at 300k. Revised NAP will reduce taxes for hybrids, without looking at cc (even above 2.0).

• Yes, Govt should do that now and not as soon as possible coz at the same time hybrid car owner also contribute to Govt with reduce petrol subsidy…

• iluvlwxus on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:03 am

The front reminds me of the alien in Predator.

• amirad on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:04 am

OK what it’s a Toyodda. The fact that it’s a Toyodda you can enjoy luxury, performance and style all with a peace of mind. No need to worry about gearbox kaputing, wiring and electronics failure etc

• Only the brakes doesn’t work from time to time:

‘Toyota is recalling nearly a quarter of a million vehicles because of a braking problem.The Japanese automaker said Wednesday the global recall would affect 242,000 Prius and Lexus hybrid cars made between March and October 2009.’
      http://money.cnn.com/2013/06/05/news/toyota-recall/index.html

• Lexus(M) they need to work out their marketing strategy as the price is too expensive.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

No such thing as Lexus(M), only got UMW.

• Reiner on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:16 pm

There’s more than one Lexus dealer in Malaysia. Mutiara motors. Umw and now wing hin also.

• What a shame to Malaysia Govt… the lower your fuel consumption & less petrol subsidy the higher price we have to paid. We helping them/Govt to reduce petrol sudsidy & at the same time we has been penalised with higher car price…. Can not make sense leerrrr…

It very clear BN can rule the Nation anymore even this simple math they can not think at all..

• Dont compare BMW with Lexus la Bro…my 328i can smoke this car anytime anywhere…itupun sebab BMW limits the max speed at 250km/hr..

• yea yea, and after smoking the IS, people will your car smoking, literally, at the side of the road.

• Boo Hoo on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Hi guys,

wow IFM, love the big talk/trash talk hahaha…

1) before you bigtalk, i dont think your expensive/prestigious/german bmw 328i can even get near my Alfa 2.0 twin spark…b-roads? been there, highways? done that…i especially like to bait these BMW owners who thinks that everything else is obsolete, which is not…theres more to a car than going fast around corners (the only strength for BMW)

2) brand name is only brand, what is important to consumers are what is good value for the money u r paying for…in other words, paying close to rm300k for either a BMW or a Lexus is really a personal opinion… whos to say the Lexus IS is not worth rm300k? at least i know the ppl driving the Lexus got own taste and dont run with the crowd (its their money right?) compared to your BMW who i think is only suitable for people doing MLM or maybe people whos insecure about their finances, also to show-offs naturally…

So before u make silly judgments about other cars, maybe u should take a look at yourself in the mirror, do u enjoy cars or do u enjoy showing off your BMW…

I eat BMW 3 Series (not M3) model, irrespective of year manufactured using an old Alfa, its either the car sucks or the owners only knows how to buy, but dont know how to drive…

Anyway, nice alternative given by Lexus here, good overall package but yes it needs a new engine and the styling should be more mature and not too boy-racer…

currently waiting for IFM to continue his trash talk and asking for a race with his BMW :D tapau konon HAHAHA

• Johnny on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:18 am

No doubt, this is a damn nice car. LOVE the LFA inspired electronic meter. Not looking at price, I would personally get this over the 3-series or C-Class.

Sadly the price deters many interested buyers.

• mentari-o-korea on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:18 am

I still remember this front bumper sometime ago, i think it was a Waja modified bumper, lol!!!

• Maserati on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:31 am

One of the best cars money can buy at this price range. Much better than bmw f30 which is a let down

• Gorgeous!! Beautiful front design and love that gold colour!!

• Poor Guy on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:23 am

I’m driving the current model of IS250, recond, and it’s manufactured in 7 years ago (2006). And I’m driving in starts from 2011, and again I hit 100k km mileage in just 2 years.

I have few list of items which is never need to be repaired.

– I never do any aircond service like all other brand, and it still blowing good as my gf.
    – I never replace any absorbers.
    – I never replace disc brakes.
    – I never replace any electronics like all other german mades.
    – I never had any wiring problem like all other german mades.
    – I never replace my gear box like all other german mades.
    – Basically I never replace anything.

Just normal regular service, oil change, gearbox oil change, brake pads change, differential oil change.

No, nothing to change at all, and I love my choice. I don’t have problem like those Beemers and Benz gotta pulled at road side and wait for tow truck, I don’t need to judder like any DSG equipped vehicles.

Please mind that it’s already 100k km mileage and it’s done by me only, and not to mention what has been done in Japan, and not to mention the salesman had reset the mileage just to con me of buying it,

And Germans made fan boys, your car is definitely having some major equipment to be replaced, and crying to your wallet. Yaya, I’m a poor guy and can only afford a Japs car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Hybrid Fan on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I’ve driving a Lexus for the past one year. Absolutely no complains!

But …. I tend to agree that UMW is making too much profit from their Lexus division. Turun harga sikit boleh ka?

• not only lexus. Toyota n perodua also same. Why? Because ppl still buy

• nabill on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:39 am

canot compare with 3 series with a single 2.5 v6 engine…the game has moved on….3 series available with a turbo 2 litre,a diesel and a twin turbo straight six…all with massive torque….I wd love to know the 2.5 v6 in the IS originates back when???
    last two generations had the same engine if im not mistaken

• Reiner on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:03 pm

No, only the current model was using the 4GR-FSE. the previous model was same with Toyota Altezza which is one 3S-GE beams engine.

• Danny chia on Jun 27, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Danny the price isnt cheaper than estimated. Its just that these prices are exclusive of insurance.

• heybadigol on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Looks good. The engine may be down on power & torque compared to the turbo-ed Germans, but the normally aspirated v6 should be silky smooth and refined, which is a Lexus hallmark. Only problem is that its rather pricey. All in all, easily more expensive than a comparable F30. But when you consider the savings from a car that will never/rarely break down, might end up costing the same as F30 in the long run. But shall wait for the new C Class to appear and the beautiful (without being polarising) Infiniti Q50 to arrive here, then it should be REALLY interesting. Any chance of the excellent Cadillac ATS coming here??

• Reiner on Jun 27, 2013 at 1:29 pm

That’s one of the good comment I’ve seen after all. neutral enough.

• clement on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:33 pm

I must say they are trying too hard to design their front, and it turns out abit awkward looking. I just feel like the front just does not integrate with the whole body. And the interior, from the glance, it seems a bit complicated.

• Do I need to wait for 4 years for the full tax exempted? How much would that be?

Let’s turn our views to the new A Class……

• MrPoppyplants on Jun 27, 2013 at 11:42 pm

@xyz

VW owning Lamborghini and Audi does not make them a VW.

But a Lexus will always be a Toyota, but a very defined luxurious Toyota. Thus also making it very reliable among other attributes.

What I’m trying to say is that Kimchi fan’s attempt at making fun and also assumption of people saying that a Lamborghini and an Audi is a VW, is stupid.

Simply because, VW buying a company does not make that company a VW. It simply means it owns it, reaping profits from it, sharing technology across its other brands.

But a Lexus is a Toyota no matter how you look at it. It’s grown in Toyota, whereas VW bought shares of the other automobile companies. See the difference?

I’m not bashing or complimenting Lexus, I’m simply pointing out the fact that many of you misunderstand about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • not only that in fact.

VW-sister-companies share engines, interiors, gearbox, and platform etc.

The best example would be the Cayenne. Do you know that it’s basically a Touareg with a pretty metal sheet. The upcoming Cajun is based on the Tiguan too. And they have planned to make a Panamera using the Continental GT platform, which is a Phaeton.

• Kimchi's fan on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:38 pm

There’s something in this world called ‘sarcasm’……

For instances, when I say the sun will rise from the west if you can understand how VW group operates with the platform, engine, gearbox sharing strategy….

So, there’s no need to jump out and tell me to get the fact right as the sun will always rise from the east according to astronomy.

• amirad on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:06 am

If only the new Altis looks like a toned down version of this beauty, then people wouldn’t call Altis uncle’s car anymore. Make it more appealling to the young and young at heart.

• Reasonable Guy on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:06 pm

When a same class as GS250 “A6 Hybrid” is selling at RM 280k, this IS250 will stay in the showroom a quite awhile. I love grey import Lexus! (due to UMW!)

• blackbeemer on Jun 29, 2013 at 10:35 am

I am one of the 2011 BMW 535i xdrive owner that was fed up with the new dynamics of the BMW 5. After 1 year it felt bloaty, numb, wallowy, and isolating like an old men car. It was nothing like my BMW 3 coupe or other exciting BMWs I have had before. I finally traded it in for an amazing 2013 Lexus GS350 F-Sport. 1 test drive of the GS won me over and I am so happy and I feel that the GS gives me more connection to the road, has sharper steering, fluid suspension, gustier engine, and a much superior quality inside and outside. The remote touch is easy to use and can adjust the sensitivity and resistance. I can do things quicker than the BMW 5 idrive and its not rocket science. Just get use to it after few days. My Audi A8L MMI is still very good compared to the Idrive.
    Even the styling is simply edgy and sporty while retaining Lexus features. The ride strikes a perfect balance between luxury and sport with the drive mode selector yet feels more refined then the BMW 5 with those garbage runflats. I had vibration throughout my BMW 5 on the highways and had to replace defective rims from factory and go to non-runflat tires but the car became more wandering on the highways and the alignment was done 2x and the transmission would buckle and hesitate between the gears due to bad turbo lag and had to be reprogrammed. The quality of BMW is disappointing and the whole car is now a mass market soulless sedan. The GS has no wandering issues and provide more road nuances through the steering and feels much heavier than the 5 with no numbness.
    Kudos to Lexus for making the GS350 F-Sport the Ultimate Driving Machine!
    I would definitely want to try the new IS 250 F-Sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • henry on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:06 am

The best “ah beng’s” car I have seen. Will still stick to BMW/Audi for now