Mercedes-Benz A-Class launched – A 200, A 250 Sport

A-Class-4

After months of spyshots and teasing from as early on in March, and nearly a year after the international media drive for it in Slovenia, the much-anticipated third-generation Mercedes-Benz A-Class has finally been introduced in Malaysia.

The easy-on-the-eye W176 was officially launched earlier today at the Renoma Café Gallery in KL, and makes its debut here in A 200 BlueEfficiency and A 250 Sport forms. The range-topping A 45 AMG isn’t quite here yet, expected to arrive only in a few months time.

Powering the A 200 BE is a Camtronic-equipped 1.6 litre M 270 DE 16 AL BlueDirect petrol unit, here in its 154 hp at 5,000 rpm and 250 Nm at 1,250 to 4,000 rpm output tune, mated to a seven-speed 7-DCT transmission. Performance specs for the 1,395 kg offering include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds and a 224 km/h top speed.

A-Class-2

Camtronic, a first in a turbocharged direct-injection engine, is a load management system with an earlier intake cut-off and intake valve lift adjustment. It reduces throttle losses under partial load, and helps to lower fuel consumption by up to 10% in compared to the M 270 without Camtronic.

As for the A 250 Sport, it’s equipped with the 2.0 litre M 270 DE 20, with output figures being 208 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,200-4,000 rpm, also paired to a 7-DCT dual-clutch transmission. Performance-wise, the 1,445 kg A 250 Sport manages a 0-100 km/h time of 6.6 seconds and a 240 km/h top speed.

Aside from the unique dress-up bits that differentiate its Sport leanings, which include double five-spoke AMG alloys wrapped with 235/40 tyres, the A 250 Sport gets an AMG sports suspension featuring a specific front axle and modified ESP characteristics.

In terms of kit, the A 200 BlueEfficiency gets what’s called the Urban equipment line, which includes a two-pipe exhaust system and a front grille with the double fins finished in silver/chrome. An exterior dress up bundle called Night package gets slapped on too, most easily identifiable by the black wing mirror caps, with a high-gloss waistline trim strip also in the mix.

Interior-wise, the seats are clad in an Artico man-made leather/Larochette cloth combination, with diamond pattern trim and contrast stitching. Two A 200 examples were on display at the event, a Mountain Grey unit with a crystal grey/black-based interior and a South Sea Blue unit with a full black interior.

The three-spoke multi-function steering wheel gets perforated Nappa leather in the grip area. Elsewhere, both front seats are electrically-adjustable, with memory functions. For Malaysia, the A 200 BE is equipped with a Comfort suspension and twin five-spoke 18-inch alloys with 225/40 run-flat rubbers.

A-Class-details-7

As for the A 250 Sport, the AMG Sport package adds on bodystyling elements such as the distinct front/rear bumpers and a rather impressive diamond radiator grille. Red trim can be found on the front and rear apron, and the headlights rings are also done in red.

The black interior includes an Artico/Microfiber Dinamica upholstery combination, carbon-look interior trim, stainless steel pedals and plenty of red contrast elements – the seats, the armrests on the door and centre console, floor mats and steering wheel feature red stitching, and the air-condition vents also get red marker rings.

Common equipment to both variants includes a Light & Sight package, Eco start/stop function, a six-speaker Audio 20 system with a 14.7 cm TFT colour display and reverse camera, and standard safety kit includes Pre-Safe, Collision Prevention Assist and Adaptive Brake Assist as well as Attention Assist.

Also on, hill start assist and active parking assist, and seven airbags as standard (front, front sides and windows as well as a driver’s knee airbag). The A 250 Sport also features adaptive high beam assist, which is not found on the A 200.

Six colours are available for the A-Class in our market, these being Cirrus White, Jupiter Red, Mountain Grey, Polar Silver, Cosmic Black Metallic and South Sea Blue. All six are available for the A 200, while the A 250 Sport makes do with four, Jupiter Red and South Sea Blue not available for it.

Finally, pricing, and the A 200 rolls in at RM198,888, while the A 250 Sport goes for RM238,888, on-the-road without insurance.

Read our test-drive report on the W176 A-Class here.

[scribd id=150781164 key=key-26hrczawpvmd4o561o41 mode=scroll]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gavin on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Man this year is really year of the car launches

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
    • RON97 on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 329
      • I saw some gays r driving the F30 omg! This car is beautiful anyway~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 21
      • straightguyftw on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Sighted a bunch of freaking gay dude,group bang in a red f30.Nah,just joking.Why compare this car with your self fantasy f30 which exist in another dimension?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • protonsucks on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:22 pm

your mother must be very proud of your style then, by the way drive a F30 but brag like a dog, please la many paultan readers drives even better then yours and they r not a dog

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 11
      • qwerty on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:58 am

Stylish guys drive stylish IS250 F-sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 56
      • sepuct9a on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:28 am

Real man drive stick lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
      • Eyess on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:56 am

I drives a F10 528i and im just 25 yo. =) f30? nah.. mayb next car might go for 335i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 93
        • Your father cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
          • Eyess on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:54 am

huh? why when i can drive at young age must be father cars? i wish it were so i need not fork out so much money. My dad is driving f10 too. but M5. Sometimes im wondering why Malaysian are so negative, can young adult drive nice car? must it be at least 45 oni can afford their 1st luxury? I admit i mayb lucky but there are alot ppl owning a sport sedan(entry level like A4, f30 and IS etc) when they are late 20s to early 30s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 103
        • BMW driver on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:13 pm

dont bluff lah Eyess…show us the proof? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Eyess on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:57 am

Im driving a F10 and im just 25. +_+”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 101
        • Jyaguar on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Eyes o eyes. You just don’t get it, do you?

People here are slagging you not because u manage to drive a F10 at 25 yrs old, it’s because of your stinking pompous attitude. Now go and cry, son

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
        • Eyess…Next time you talk big I’m gonna slap your wrist and don’t go crying to mama…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • IamNoNo on Jan 16, 2014 at 10:26 am

and if its not your father’s car. I am sure your father or your parents help paying for your car.

Tell me you make money without help and you bought the car by yourself.

• your bro on Jun 29, 2013 at 10:03 am

F30 is for rich mum or milf la. real man drives F10. Im driving one and im just 25.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 51
      • Nanda Kumar on Jun 29, 2013 at 10:33 am

Bluff!!! F30?
        I bet you drive a proton.
        No lady car men car…even men drive kancil…then what you say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • venom on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:51 pm

I drive a 5-Series GT, go fly kite mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • a class=A on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:56 pm

First… Well priced for a german brand … well done MBM…just below 200k…golf vs a class

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
    • Kereta Man on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Agreed! At this price and you get a 4 years warranty. Much better package than a BMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
    • Ayecaramba! on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:00 am

This makes the Audi A1 entirely redundant with its crazy price tag. Also, that makes the A3 almost impossible to reach our shores.

But forget my rant, goooood price for a Merc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • seancorr on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:21 am

I bet soon we will see the A1 with many more added more features for the same price just to keep sales moving.

About the A3, interesting to see how they will price the A3 hatch & sedan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • A250 sport Rm 138K @$28k pound in UK..while new grads earn 2k pounds/month… seems like to buy saga sv in malaysia and still not sportier.. make me cry..oh mother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Alpha on Jun 27, 2013 at 2:59 pm

RIP Golf GTi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 7
  • Kereta Man on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Great looking car! Good price too for a Mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Nice…it’s the cheapest Benz that comes with a reverse camera! But looking at the spec…I think it’s xenon lights are not of the intelligent ones found on the rest of the Benz models?

Guess we will be seeing a lot more of these on the road now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • jinjangman on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:18 pm

wow! look nice..price nice..still prefer preve…lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 54
    • wow! look nice..price nice..still prefer preve…lol..

Ha ha so funny… boring joke~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
      • altiz on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:15 pm

yeah yer right man, anything bout preve is BORING n LAME. ppl please dun mention bout PREVE BETTER, PREVE BETTER again. especially in mercedes comment threads TQ.

• Brazbuz on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:21 pm

If CKD reduced 15-20k sure selling like hot cake. But i believe it already selling fast in CBU form….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • kahseo on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:21 pm

Anthony, in your pictures there are no visible memory seat/electrical adjustment controls on the doors where they would usually be found on almost all local Mercedes models. Does the A-class come with them? Just wanted to point this out because the Mercedes Malaysia website says yes, but the pictures here show otherwise. Marketing department mistake?

• seancorr on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Furthermore does this car have the option to install the Mercedes Drive Kit Plus pointed out in your previous drive overseas?

More info can be found at http://drive-kit-plus.com/en/#s/start

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:31 pm

sean, by now, the Audio 20 system should be able to take on the add-on Drive Kit Plus for the iPhone, but I don’t know if the accessory will be sold here, and whether there are plans to do so.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:23 pm

kahseo, as I replied to another comment, yes, I mentioned in the story that both front seats are electrically-adjustable, with memory function (even for the A 200). I am told that while the display examples do not have them, the vehicles delivered to customers will.

• Crazy Merc Babe on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:11 pm

A200 definitely with memory seats 3settings, elec adjust ctrls on doors as all the other Merc’s. Just can’t confirm the A250 coz its not in the showrooms yet. I’m waiting for the A250 Sport!!

• German on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Great hatch with not bad pricing, but the major complain is the screen, looks so after thought and ugly, not sure who decide to use a nexus 7 and just stick it on the dash. Same applies to Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Matchy on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Hmm… where is the shift stick? o_o

• It’s behind d steering wheel, at usual signal stick position.

• Crazy Merc Babe on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:15 pm

The common name is stick shift. Not wrong. The placement is no more on the floor. It’s located on the right of the steering, behind the steering, n is called gear lever. Handsomely placed!

• kaput on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:37 pm

aiya, no rear air cond vent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Performance hot hatch don’t carry ppl behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Leonon on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Nonsense.. they might well delete the rear 2 doors. Rear vents are an option overseas. MBM obvously didn’t tick that option for our market when it should be, considering our hot climate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
        • Medic on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Come bro,it’s a small car ,an A class.Still wanna fuss about no blower behind?Get a life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 21
          • Leonon on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 220
          • No rear aircond vents = rip off car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 38
        • BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Obviously your response was hostile and bias towards your own request. If you like the rear vents so much you could specify it when you place an order for your new a class. Since it is cbu, u can indent any spec if u had money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • Medic on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:26 am

Wah Leonon,shall i call you sis instead?Last time i checked,A250 is a HOT Hatch,competitors are Golf Gti bla bla.I’m using a Mk 6 Golf,its rear air con practically useless,as the blower is rather weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • lolzzzz on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:55 pm

even the nissan gtr racing car can carry 2 more behind la (i know it got nothing to do here in this benz thread but im just letting this Zach dude know)

• kaput on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:32 pm

oversea’s ada la. No doubt a good car with good pricing, but as a luxury brand rear air vent a must esp in our hot climax, what so competitor like Golf offered it.
        Dont be a blind supporter!!! (or Benz’s salesman perhaps?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
  • samloobitch on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Nice. Good job, Mercedes.

I must say this is better buy then lexus ct200h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • BMW Fanboi on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:13 pm

But CT200h is much cheaper than A200.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Really? Is it really much cheaper?

• BMW Fanboi on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:38 pm

170K vs a 200K, 30K is a huge difference ok. Or 30K meant nothing for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • samloobitch on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:36 am

Ayo, i am comparing the high spec lexus ct200h which is rm200k. Why am i bother to compare the low spec lexus which buyer should be better off with prius ?

For rm200k, the A200 looks better, drive better, handles better and resale value is way much better than hybrid.

The problem with hybrid car, it’s not only the battery but the electric motor. When that konk, god bless you. That’s why, hybrid resale value is always bad.

Moreover, lexus is just an overpriced Toyota. Yeah, Mercedes still have better snob value than toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • BMW Fanboi on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Who told you to get full spec CT200h as they 2 are quite the same but just some exterior upgrade or slight handling improvement. Yeah, for full spec CT200h, A200 make more sense but we can’t deny CT200h FC is very good unless you looks for great performance. Except that, CT200h is a very comfortable and low running cost little car. Overpriced Toyota? Although features same engine as a Prius, but the experience is extremely difference between they 2. And is it wrong for Toyota to come up with a expensive good car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
          • BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2013 at 6:50 pm

I will not pay for something that has a twin which has a much higher spec and cost 30k less with more back space…….Toyota Prius anybody?

The A-class has no comparison and it is loaded with much higher spec than the lexus, if u want to compare an apple to an apple make sure both are the same size, or else forget it.

• valjean on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Errr… sorry to say but Lexus Ct200h LUXURY interior is way better than A Class in my humble opinion in bothspec wise and design wise. CT200h Luxury has a musch better audio system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
      • brianXYZ on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:28 pm

IMHO, A Class is much more better in terms of luxury fittings than the CT200.

• BeemerFreak on Jun 29, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Havent seen the car then want to give so much comment……..

• roadrunner on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:43 pm

from side view macam C-Hatch!!

• Joe Radzif on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Hensem boi…

• Abg Long on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:54 pm

wow! the price! bye bye la other brand hehehe..

• Cairell Marwan on Jun 27, 2013 at 3:56 pm

nice rims! nice price! nice hatchback! will buy this over new Golf MK7..

• 200k for this car? better buy 3 vios for that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 76
    • protonsucks on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:26 pm

go buy la, u mother must be very proud of your decision, your resale value and your 4 speed gearbox and your

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • Must well you say buy 6 Saga SV lagi best…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Crazy Merc Babe on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:24 pm

OMG… How cud u possibly compare a Merc to a Toyota?! Wah Lau eh… Then u can easily buy many more Viva’s la, like that! I think u just embarrassed urself.. If u can’t afford, no one will blame u to dream of owning the car. But knowing u can’t afford, why bother posting such atrocious comment?! I nearly pengsan-ed reading UR comment..

• kelso on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:04 pm

ok, things i miss from the golf mk7 are
    1. electric/ memory seats
    2. Slightly larger wheels

Otherwise, i breathed a sigh of relief looking at MB’s pricing.

Lovely car, the A- class just think the CLA is a more usable one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • neemfa on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Very nice. Those who are frustrated with DSG’s problematico, may switch to this.. even the vanilla A200 has respectable performance. A250 is decent.. performance hatch with premiumness.. what’s not to like? VWM should be worried.

In a few years time, this could be one of grey-importers favorite to sell.

• blacktop 6 speed on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:22 pm

the car that make me orgasm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • cosmothegod on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Excellent car all round. Adequate power even on the lower A200. 1.6l 154hp and massive torque. Better than Preve. Everything nice, even the pricing. Well, except for the touchscreen lah..

• longjaafar on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:37 pm

If this is the price of the A, then they’ll have a problem in pricing the CLA should they decide to bring them in, or better still, to assemble. Since the A 250 is already way above RM200k, then can they price the CLA at RM235k? I don’t think so..

• seancorr on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Unless they bring in the CLA200 but that’s unlikely as it’ll cheapen the CLA image…most likely MBM will only bring in the CLA250 at a higher price with more features comparing to the A250.

This is because the A Class that does not have memory electric seats nor does it state to have the adaptive xenon lights which makes this car incomplete when compared to its other siblings like the B and C class. I would have expected a car selling @ 200k to have at least electric seats especially on the A250 but I guess the price would have been much more higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:18 pm

sean, as mentioned in the story, both front seats – even on the A 200 – are specified as electrically-adjustable, with memory functions. The customer cars will have this feature.

• silver on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Even though i really want the CLA to be available to our shores. I don’t think it will ever happen. This generation at least. As its design for the left hand drive market like USA , China. So no worries about pricing.

• I was hoping for this model to be priced at 180k so that it can pull the vw golf buyer and have pricing gap for the CLA which is slightly higher at 195k. Or is the CLA will be cheaper instead? or wont even reach malaysia? if not ayam so sad..

• andrewk on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:19 am

I can confirm the A200 has the memory seat function. Just sat in one this morning.

• im guessing the CLA would be around 280 range

• nighttrain on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Why would I want to buy a 2.0 Audi A6h for RM280k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • MackyMac on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:11 pm

because its a much larger car… doink!

• seancorr on Jun 30, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Not for the boot…the A4 has a larger boot than the A6 hybrid.

Now Audi is selling the A4 1.8 TFSI at 4% off its retail price so….add RM25k from the A200 and u get a full fledged sedan…just my 2 cents if ur looking for a family car but I can’t comment about Audi’s after sales service in Malaysia.

• lauyiachia on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:47 pm

My pre-retirement car to get in 3 to 5 years…

• konestan on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:48 pm

see the comments, malaysians are so rich.
    price released, straight away wanna buy. so rich.

i still can’t afford this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • cosmothegod on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Ahem, bro, it seems that the govt we put in charge few months back ain’t gonna be helping us with automotive prices. Well, not immediately. So, for under RM200k, a nice lil A-class would be the rave right now. What to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Ridwin Ganesh Candiah on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Waaaaahhhhh… this A Class is solidlah deii… I must get one.

• Hj. Irlan Norris bin Dato' Hj. Ishak Mohd. Yusof on Jun 27, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Such a superb looking car. I am selling of my Datsun 130Y to buy this car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Ranker on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Hj, don’t laaa, datsun 130y is a vintage car. Better keep it for sentimental values hehe

• Albert on Jun 27, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Why is the screen look smaller compare to other country version? it look cheaper also?

• my peugeot 308 t performance is not far from this A200, and price only at 122k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • so u xpect a “mercedes” to be priced around 122k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Medic on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:19 am

My soup up Wira Evolution is more powerful then your 308,your only 40k,mau ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Crazy Merc Babe on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:33 pm

*slap forehead* Have u been into the Merc’s showroom to ‘feel’ the car?! UR 398 Pug sure gives similar performance. But I also know UR Pug is the best lah, 6speed, if not 2gens ago, 4speed. Then I also know UR Pug need to ‘pump’ seat. Then UR Pug also as a teeny screen normally orange color that shows u minimal things. If a Merc sells at RM122k, trust me, u wudnt hv owned UR 308 Pug! Duuuh!!

• excellent….finally the GTI and 320i got some real competition from Mercedes.

if it was between a GTI and the A250, i would get the A250, better ownership experience, better looking car, less boyracerish

• wOW…A200 can make a century dash in 8.3sec? wat a huge improvement from previous A class model

• Slow Slow on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Still pretty slow for this 1.6…

Even 1.4 Golf MK6 hit 100 in 8 sec and the new MK7 hit in 8.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Don’t compare with a170,180 and a200 w169. Compare with a200 turbo w169 less than 8secs but it’s a 2litre engine at least a fair comparison both turbo charged and both badged a200. So the old one are indeed faster.

• Awesome… A250 for me man…. Well done MB!! Are the rest units available now??

Will you guys do a test review of our local A-class soon?

BTW, will there be a “comparison” soon for the hot hatches also. I.e- megane, Rocco, golf gti, and new a250??

• Mohaimad Abdola on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:07 pm

I will sell my proton satria to get this.I have 6 kid to raise,but after I get this car,I still have money for my wife to buy luxury,I have 3 wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
  • Macam Kia Rio baru je….doesnt look like a Conti at all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 54
  • Tumbi on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Mk7 gti also die…

• gooleng on Jun 27, 2013 at 8:58 pm

Very tempting term of style and performance ‘overall’. Pricing wise too as on a premium category. Personally I love the overall package of it although some say driving experience ‘might’ not be as engaging compare to some counterpart. By far I see it’s the winner period.

• shawal on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Fastest selling merc in the company’s history … the badge , the looks …
    Really2 desirable

• PauKaya on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:32 pm

after reading less than acceptable reviews from europe. i really need to try this car outmyself if its a bit overhyped.

• James Ooi on Jun 27, 2013 at 9:56 pm

Looking forward to the awesome beast A45 AMG !

• Jimmy on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:17 pm

A250 is the best buy overall, more than enough for people who like speed but won’t go racing.

• Frank Furt on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Wow! really looks amazing, curious to see how it drives. Can’t wait to read your test drive review! Or maybe a comparison between golf n A200, golf gti mk7 and A250 soon. GTI is launching in September and heard mk6 gti are going for around rm190k. Guess vwm are trying to flog off whatever old stock they have.

Would be interesting to see if vwm relook into their new gti pricing. Am going to view the A250 nx week.

• One more hot hatch joining the party now eh? Based on looks alone, the A250 is the clear winner. Drive? We’ll have to wait n see. Anyone knows if merc after sales service and reliability are any good, compared to a Very certain German car maker vw? Wonder what delivery time would be too

• Ernst on Jun 27, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Service n after sales depends on which distributor. Hap seng is not bad. Cycle n carriage or NZ wheels not sure. But either ones should offer better after sales than VWM. No dsg problems with merc though :)

• foxtrot on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:44 pm

because so far only SLS AMG is running dual clutch gearbox,
        now A200 & A250 is also running DCT

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Wet or dry?
          Mercedes = VW?
          Most importantly, Mercedes buyers won’t care. I just want the brand + safety. Lexus uses conventional gearbox but I don’t want to buy.

• lolzzzz on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:10 pm

NZ wheels service is not bad. people are polite. plus there’s a really cute girl at the counter ;)

• Crazy Merc Babe on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Cycle & Carriage has complete after sales to offer cust’s. Any happenings to UR Merc wud be done in-house. The ppl in C&C has very hospitable. I enjoy my svcs there.

• Furqan on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:19 am

Dear BMW its time for you to bring the new 1 series here and Audi to bring the A3 here too

• yoolang on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:29 am

Parking assis mean it park can for itself or is just camera marking line ah?

• Crazy Merc Babe on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Means can park on its own, but still need UR help to activate. Camera marking line also got in this car. Don’t worry. This is Mercedes-Benz le

• Gan9494 on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:39 am

Pretty darn good option vs the other hot hatches in our current market……probably suits the buyer who wants a little more luxury, a little less speed but still maintain the fun factor…
    Only gripe I have, what in the world is goin on with that monitor? Plug and Play add on device? Looks like a serious after thought……

• motorhead on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:59 am

Good. Price not bad. Anyone has money, grab it now. VW can tapau.

• Just squint your eyes and you’ll see an Audi, a Kia, a VW a Mazda or even a Subaru, in this Merc’s the exterior design. Why? Because it’s copy of a copy of a copy. A derivatives. And for the aesthetically-challenge auto-consumers; they’ll get easily tricked and could not see beyond the 3 star emblem. And the only capability they have is making silly comparison & pollute on otherwise a good auto blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
  • Eyess on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:03 am

Well, to sound out. sorry if i offended anyone here. But those who bashing alot here can u guys really buy this car? No doubt there are many Malaysian can actually buy this baby but how bout readers here? personally this car is to be competed with Goft GTI. while A45 Amg will compete will Golf R.

• stealth on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:51 pm

if u have 3k “at least” to burn every month u can afford. earning 10k nowdays also hard to afford unless u have no commitment and bad financial planning. I know a 25 year old kid who just bought a F30. He probably earn 7k, but hey he is from a rich family, who cares about commitment ? :-)

• ChongJunJie on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:17 am

Wow it look gorgeous,just like my wife.I wonder will my wife allow me to get this?I am driving a proton saga right no.Anyway I will try my best to dig gold for this.

• Edmont on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:33 pm

so long “Das Auto” :p

• 308 T and A200 are sell at similar price oversea, but in malaysia, it is 80k diff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • foxtrot on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:41 pm

both A200 & A250 is also using Dual Clutch Transmission gearbox,
    no one knows about its durability yet

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Wet or dry?
      Mercedes = VW?
      Most importantly, Mercedes buyers won’t care. I just want the brand + safety. Lexus uses conventional gearbox but I don’t want to buy.

• drchan on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:07 pm

may I know if the panoramic moon roof included in C250 spec?

• Toffeeman on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:44 pm

I just test driven the A200 today. The 18 inch rim is not at all suitable for the A200. A200 is meant for comfort and the suspension setup and low profile rims are making the harsh ride on an otherwise comfort car. I would agree with such setup if its tha A250.

I thought its a wrong strategy to tune in a sporty set up on an average performance engine.

• blackbox on Jul 08, 2013 at 10:35 am

The problem is if you want comfort, you should choose B200. A200 are meant to be sporty.

• Pulut Kuningg on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Those run flats tyres probably the major contributor to the ride quality.

• Sam Loo on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:53 pm

buy Lexus CT200H better relibility coz its a toyota. probable better resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
  • Except for the TFT display, overall it looks nice.

• yoolang on Jun 30, 2013 at 3:24 am

today i was ask the sells person if the park assis parking is make by park for itself or else to have only line. he got say is no self park. so disappoint.

• seancorr on Jun 30, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Went to check out the car at Paradigm Mall yesterday and I have to agree its very sporty even if its the A200 but noted this car is only good for small size people. Noticed an old lady having difficulty getting in and out of the car too hehe.

All features on this entry level model are found on the other Merc models except for the adaptive xenon lights.

• Eyess on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:51 am

A200 is good but u guys who wants performance can go for A250. to those who have more spare cash can actually opt for A45 AMG.

• Eyess on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Really Malaysian.. when ppl talk about driving nice car. just accept the fact and work hard. I nvr jealous ppl driving nice car because i believe i can. when i cant, its ok for me to admire. those who bash when ppl driving nice car will never own one themselves coz they like to bash instead of learn how other work. and those who only dream to own one will surely can ‘dream’ to own one while others have worked hard to excel.

• kambinganas on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Ah sudahlah, I bawak kete mewah pun tak kerek macam ko. Konon, ayah dia ngan dia bawak F10. Typical lansi bugger. Farmer also work hard but that does not mean he can buy an F10, save your stupid advice for your family.

Only in Malaysia lah orang bawak setakat 5er nak heboh satu Internet. Entahlah, kalo bawak lambo mungkin dah buat pengumuman kat TV.

• Eyess

Thats fair comment, you need not justify to others if you have earned your just rewards. Being a successful person, i presume you also own a property of equivalent stature . Remember , cars depreciate while properties appreciate in value over time.

• john_doe on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:59 pm

I am 10 and I drive a Ferrari. Bought by stealing others people money.

• Aclassy on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:58 pm

https://www.facebook.com/SwissChiptech

can rechipped
    A200 from 156bhp up to 193bhp and up to 308nm

cool

• hidayat on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:59 pm

damn cheap in langkawi…only 115K, so jealous to Langkawirian

• Blaster on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Gave it a good look today, styling wise, a HUGE improvement over the previous model. Frontage view is right on but back very Korean like. Looks wise, choose your color wisely as it would have a big impact visually…overall, not a bad effort from Merc. Which says a lot as I am not really their target market (Gti’s, R56, Audi S4 are my stable diet). Interior, on the A200 is decent but nothing to show about….esp the DVD like display in the centre, a bit cheapo. Space is a major constraint, much smaller than a mk6 Esp the back…heard that the A250 has much nicer carbon fibre trims and dash? This car would benefit from a sun/moon roof to give a feeling of spaciousness, it feels really compact and closed in…direct competitors GTI, 1 Series, Others ford focus RS, Peugeot GTI, Renault R250. A bit further down the road….F30 and the A4 esp the A4 at 238k – Cbu, superb build quality and improving service levels….

• Dodgy on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:43 pm

I saw the A200 yesterday was impressed. Today i saw the A250 sports and i was again impressed. Jnterior and exterior styling is amazing, don’t expect this from Merc.

Can’t test drive it but the salesman say he could start the engine for me to see the interior lighting and the screen. The LCD screen was a big letdown. I already know the screen is small but when you turn it on…the resolution is worse then the first iPhone and software is like running on Symbian ! I know i’m should be buying the car and not the screen, but how could you design a car SO well and put such a horrible LCD screen standout middle of the dashboard. Merc Malaysia…what are you thinking ? Someone need to be shot for this ! No option at the moment (drive kit plus for iPhone? or 7″ which is available at other countries). Can i buy the car without the “screen” ? Can i pay to remove it since there’s no option to upgrade it ???!!!

• Haree on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Very disappointing to see a rubbish display in a premium car. The A200 do not have built in GPS. So, to use GPS, buy a GPS Navigator and put another screen in the car. Who thought its a good idea to bring in Mercedes with a display but no GPS. Terrible. I’m not sure bout the A250 though. And the ride was quite firm even on the comfort suspension for A200.

• Tanah Merah on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Anthony,
    Is the mountain grey metallic colour option on MB Malaysia website same as Designo Mountain Grey Magno that you mention on test drive article ? or it’s different finishing i.e satin, matte pearl etc, thanks.

• Paul Tan on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:20 pm

It’s different. Mountain Grey metallic is a shade with a normal metallic finish while the Designo Magno version is the same colour but with a satin kind of finish that looks a bit matte.

• James Wong on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:05 pm

I saw this car today! BADASS looking car. Love it!

• Jansen on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Would anyone know if the A250 Sport will have the central silencer removed? And 15mm lower suspension with Direct Steer System? Both tweaked by AMG, from what I read. Appreciate the info.

• bpman on Jul 07, 2013 at 5:03 pm

May i know where to test drive the A250?

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 09, 2013 at 12:07 pm

You can check at Hap Seng Jalan P Ramlee / Raja Chulan. Last weekend I saw Black A250 test driven around the area. I am sure C&C also have test drive unit as well.

• Peter How on Jul 07, 2013 at 10:55 pm

I feel the car looks greqt…

• Abu Khalid on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:27 pm

booked an a 250 for my wife today, cycle & carriage told us to expect delivery only on February next year!! Selling like pisang goreng! Have to admit such a beauty!

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:45 am

Congratulations.. Which color? Let me guess.. white???

I was told the same thing. Book now, only get car next year!!.. pisang goreng also not this laku…

• Oh dear, was told three months wait two weeks ago by Loewe Motors. Really looking forward to it. I am still keeping my fingers crossed.

• kyoshiro on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Went to showroom for a250, ripped off specs detected. Thanks MBM..

1. no panaromic sunroof
    2. no auto park/assist only
    3. no digital climate control aircond
    4. to be confirm – no adaptive headlight control
    5. to be confirm – no distronic plus speed control
    6. to be confirm – no navigation control

hopefully, someone can confirm the item 4-6. it really make me frustrated seeing this specs ripped off. Estimated, rm50k can be saved for this specs, and yet we still paying rm238k. not just we pay a lot of tax for this, now kene kencing pulak. thanks MBM!!

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 12, 2013 at 8:04 am

I got an email from C&C with the car spec and pricing. This is what is written on the spec sheet. I am listing the items related to your questions

Code 235 – Active Parking guidance (whatever that means)

Code 252 – Collision Prevention Assist

Code 440 – Cruise Control with SPEEDTRONIC Speed Limiter

Code 538 – Attention assist

Code 608 – Automatic High Beam Control

Code 621 – Bi-Xenon Headlamps with Intelligent Light System

The same thing is mentioned on the pricing sheet, that listed equipments that are included with the pricing.

Nothing mentioned about the navigation. So, I don’t think its included.

Aren’t all the ‘luxury’ car items ripped for Malaysian market, and not unique to MB only?

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:02 am

According to the SA, who just came back from training for the A250

There is auto park, and also auto getting out of parking

Confirm no Distronic Plus.

There is also no Lane Assist thingy

• kyoshiro on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:14 pm

oh man..you shall watch the video about distronic plus. it can maintain distance with car ahead of you during auto cruising. this is new era of driving style that we need. removing this is such a major let down..same goes for lane assist…

• Kent Sam on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:27 pm

My only comments are :

1. You should ask for at least 5 years warranty.Nowadays, cars have too much electronic parts and can go haywire. Heard from my friend on his S class. His ECU konked out after 3 years, be prepared to spend over RM20k for it. The oxygen sensors at the exhaust cost RM2k each and his also konked out just after 3 years warranty period. His airmatic suspension also konked out after 3 years and costs about RM14,000 each. The steering console has a rubber cover and it became sticky after 2 years and MBM said they know but yet did nothing about it. I forgot about other problems but he sweared he wont buy any Merc anymore as his complaints fall on deaf ears and MBM just avoid the quality issues and push everything to German HQ.
    2. Better check out how much your run flat tyres cost each. Your tyres can last about 2 years plus.But be prepared to pay few thousand for one.

Good luck to those who has booked, better read the fine lines.

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 12, 2013 at 8:10 am

This car come with 4 years warranty.

I am not trying to defend MB and I can’t afford one, but…

When I hear this story about ‘a friend of mine’, I always tell myself, the story might not be representative as the story trying to make out.

It could be an isolated issue, which we should not generalize to all MB cars or their line up.. or any brand for that matter. Is the issue a trend for that model?

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:03 am

A250 doesn’t come with run flat. Those are only on A200

• Kent Sam on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:55 am

Pulut Kuning,

If you have friends in Hap Seng Puchong service centre, you can verify with them.Friend of mine happened to be my partner in business.

I am not running down MBM as I am driving a Merc too and has been driving BMW for ages too. My previous E Class has a petrol tank leaking after few years and I have to fight hard with MBM to get a new one free even though the warranty was over.I told them even Proton don’t have this problem. The sticky steering console cover is real for my Merc too. When MBM tried to replace too many parts for CKD, quality is badly affected.
    Thats why I suggest one should push for 5 years warranty from MBM as I don’t want buyers to go thru what I and my friends have gone through.It is stressful.

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Kent Sam

Thank you for sharing the experience. I have heard talks about quality of merc, but thought that was history. Looks like it is still an issue. Thanks for the advise as well.

As said, I don’t own a merc, but this merc hatch is something that interest me.

• Kent Sam on Jul 13, 2013 at 11:36 am

S Class’s story made it to the Star today (13 July 13).Read the stress the owner has to go through. Lets push for minimum 5 years warranty for all cars as some manufacturers have started implementing that.

• Grey Khoo on Jul 14, 2013 at 1:20 am

Is the A250 sport is no sunroof? Cuz, i saw 250 sport euro ver do have sunroof.

• Pulut Kuning on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:16 pm

No sunroof. MBM not bringing in the sunroof model in. At least for now.

The claim ‘Malaysia is hot weather’, doesn’t hold water, when the other/higher class/model come with it.

• Babyboy368 on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:09 am

Besides all what you think of this car is amazing, power and sporty but if you want performance get a Mercedes A45 AMG then.. It will blow your minds away easily.

• Babyboy368 on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:10 am

Whatever it is, this car is sporty and elegant.

• Eyess and Jyaguar
    It is quite true that there are lots of young people driving expensive cars probably committing a very large percentage of their pay towards a 9 year loan while sponging off their parents on day to day living. It is a matter of personal priority . Looking from the perpective from a 50 year old family man, if you are paying more than 30% of your net income towards repaying your car loan, that is a sure road to financial ruins -the fun you get now including the babes will just be a distant memory the day you have problem paying your loan and by which time, the resale value of your supercar will not be enough to pay the outstanding loan.
    Anyway, i admire your ability if you own the car through your own effort