Proton Saga SV – bookings surpass 6,000 units

Proton_Saga_SV_013

More than 6,000 bookings have been recorded for the Proton Saga SV within two weeks of its launch, according to a Bernama report.

“At this early stage, we expect to sell at least 2,000 units of the Saga SV monthly,” the national news agency quoted Proton Edar CEO Hisham Othman as saying. “We can deliver, at present, at least 3,000 units monthly to buyers.”

Although sales were slow in the run-up to the May general elections compared to last year, Hisham said the entry-level Saga variant would give the national carmaker a boost and help it achieve its goal of capturing a 30% share of the domestic market.

Bernama reported in an earlier story that due to the demand, Proton may up production of the Saga SV from the current 2,000 units per month. “Currently, our production is enough to fulfil the number of bookings that we received, and we assure customers who make their bookings now that they can expect to get the car before Hari Raya,” Hisham said.

He added that 65% of the total pre-orders (4,000 at time of reporting) were for the CVT-equipped version. We reported back in April that Proton Edar expects a 20% jump in total sales this year from the 141,000 units sold in 2012.

Click here for full details and pictures of the Proton Saga SV.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• bongeks on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:16 am

Sell dis at 23K n u will get 20K bookings.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 12
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Its good news. Hope the price will go down further

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 3
      • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Though it is good news and hope the price go down further, I feel sorry for Malaysians to be “forced” to buy a 1 star safety rating car. This car, unfortunately, is a time bomb. Nice to drive but when you meet with an accident, you either die on the spot or become vegetable. Pity pity Malaysians

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 162 Thumb down 142
        • hey freaky Abuya, don’t you know that saga SV is 3-star safety rating with 2 front airbag and many others improvement on the chasis?? do some research before talking.. what a shame on you fella.. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 97
        • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Person above. Please use other nick name. This is mine, registered company name circa 1987

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 80
        • driver on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:16 pm

… nonetheless, it still is safer than overpriced viva with 3-star rating.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • meng meng on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Sell 23k get 20k booking. And patrol station get 1mil income increase spare part shop get 1 mil increase also. Good good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • Wuhh everyone can enjoy the new cars already! Viva and Myvi crying :'(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • kenot on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:30 am

wow!like goreng pisang panas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
  • BOYRACER on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:41 am

Car for the masses.Basic transportation without the frills.Not everyone needs a fully kitted-out or filled to the brim cars.Most of the equipment installed are useless except concerning safety e.g ABS,EBD,Airbags,VSC and so on.Furthermore the kits doesn’t come cheap.

In the end it’s all about choices.I wont condemn you on what car you choose.Its our right to choose anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 20
    • flat_tire on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:03 am

if only we are given more choices within the same price range.. and not just 2-3 choices at best..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Cheng on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:43 am

Good Job Proton!!!We are so proud for the good respond from Malaysian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 88
  • Kudos P1… :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 84
  • _xXx_ on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:56 am

w….ow

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
  • Allen on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:03 pm

This should be how Proton should have sold their vehicles.

A vehicle for mass market. Certainly worth every penny over other competitors in the similar price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 70
  • ckd master on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:12 pm

sure after 3 year all this junkyard will stay long in second hand shop with no buyers…till end no second hand buyer want to buy this junkyard expect sayur & baja seller…..

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 151 Thumb down 126
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Really? You talk with full confident. Are you time traveler?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 65
      • myvi lovers on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:34 am

he is a failed second hand car dealer maa.. so he knows.. ahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 65
    • Pororo on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Don’t worry lah, Pak Arab study here sure will buy it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 53
  • pushing factor for others to sell cheaper cars !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 62
  • Absolute Rider on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:29 pm

So far so good. Good job and keep it up with new models and facelifted models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 64
  • MycarMylife on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Reduce price by all means and capture the market , but Dont compromise on Safety features ! Pls.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • driver on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm

that’s exactly what they’re showing in this model. perhaps your message suits better the another brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
  • Potong saga on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Don’t be surprise 80% of the sales are taxi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 119
    • Pororo on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:29 pm

aiyoo, nonsense lah.. saga taxi diorang guna enjin 1.6 lah, mne ade guna 1.3.. Proton dah specialize kan saga utk taxi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Veneno on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:16 pm

not surprise at all.. since when the Saga taxi uses 1.3..?? are u live under the rock for all these years..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Anand on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:43 pm

You are still in dreamland. Those saga taxis are 1.6. Haven’t you seen one on the road. Maybe you’re new to Paultan

• Johnny on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Don’t underestimate Taxi Saga FLX from Genting! They can overtake you up and down at genting! Blow you away!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:21 pm

there’s a regulation in Malaysia that taxis have to be at least 1500 cc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • kucing merah on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:57 pm

if it’s dont have a good resale value then let it be…coz it’s cheap already…of coz P2 have better re-sale value compare to P1…but we’re talking about ppl who have the capacity to own a better car at a cheap price at a right time..they never bother about next 3 years…u got ur money u shut up..at least they’re more jujur than P2…if they can share some parts contractor and based component soon, it’ll be god for them soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • P2 has a good reslae value than P1?? are u kidding me??

• driver on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Perception drives it – people see what they want to see. it’s called top-down in psychology. Bottom line, don’t underestimate the power of perception.

• Taxi 1.5 cc minimum …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • 1.5cc… emmmmmm… hahahahahahhahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahhahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • cotai strip on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Halo…. 1.5cc what? Teksi kucing??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Math FAILED on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:55 am

woww.. so full of confident..

and i guess this arie fella don’t even know what cc unit stands for..

• ramli on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Proton has proved that they can produce people’s car and still Jaguh Kampung. As for global market, Proton is still far behind other competitors in terms of quality and technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 120
  • Production goes up, what about quality? Will it be sacrifice in order to meet the huge demand???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
  • valjean on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Congratulation Proton. Good Job!!! Keep it up.

Proton has indeed able to staand alone now.

So lets reduce the tax now. I want my BMW F30 at Rm120k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 22
  • Gokul on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:37 pm

AirAsia – Now everyone can fly.
    Proton – Now everyone can drive.

I suppose Proton should adapt the slogan above.. and hope to see other brands should follow suit to compete.. Enough of ripping Malaysians apart already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
  • larence on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:36 pm

My 1 1/2 year saga flx MT FC is RM50=260KM normal driving.1st and reverse gear hard to engage, complain to SC 1ST time not enough gear oil,2nd time change gear oil and still same.PROTON ENGINEER AND HEAD OF PROTON please explain why? THE MORE U SELL THE MORE THE BUYER SUFFER!so why sell many.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 10
  • phantom on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:38 pm

“Although sales were slow in the run-up to the May general elections compared to last year, Hisham said the entry-level Saga variant would give the national carmaker a boost and help it achieve its goal of capturing a 30% share of the domestic market.”

why only domestic market? how long want to be champion in domestic market? go for global la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • cotai strip on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:45 pm

They want domestic first,then ASEAN, then Asia, then global.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • gOOsh on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:39 pm

value for money… can have a comfort drive balik kampung summore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
  • Tengokaje.. on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:56 pm

P1 already surpass the target..please don’t compromise on the quality of your product P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Abg Long on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:23 pm

good job proton. so now i’m waiting for other brands to reduce their price especially conti cars :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Calvin on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Look at the booking, amazing right.

So, BN government, do consider take away all taxes on cars whether local made or fully import as it won’t going to kill local car manufacturers.

By cutting all taxes, local cars will become cheaper & many people will aftortable to own at least one unit for their family rather than motorcycle.

In terms of safety, I would says that cars are always better compared to motorcycles.

Restructuring the overall cash flow, good cash management, do away all middleman transactions; open tender; eliminate all corruptions & etc, I’m pretty sure that the money save would able covers all taxes shortfall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Budu & Cencaluk on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:30 pm

No corruption means BN will die and your mother is still a virgin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 76
      • tyres and rims on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Budu & Cencaluk, please elaborate summore on your statement… you’ll also won’t be on this world if there’s no corruption, based on your statement, right? haha…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
      • Dru-Zod on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:54 pm

very well said dude. I can’t stop laughing at the irony as I type this.

• Mr Mac on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm

until kiamat la proton can only sell cheap cars…hahaha….comfy wth that status i presume

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • myvi lovers on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Bila Proton sells Expensive car, bising menyalak2 tak puas hati mahal pulak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • larence on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Proton sell more cars, petroleum company make more profit cause saga FC llike 1.8-2.0LITRE ENGINE? if u buy sure regret later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • flmir on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:01 pm

when you buy 2.0l car you say FC like 2.4l car, sounds familar? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • My oldest sister’s 2 year FLX and second sister’s 5 year BLM has never fail a bit. Truly a people’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 33
  • alan_zz on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:27 pm

rm33k? not bad la,just add another rm2k to change the rims n radio and it will make me a happy man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
  • Mengapa on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm

This car already exceed it’s 5 years life cycle, when are they going to replace it ? Can somebody answer me please ? Another 5 years ? Plzzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Alson P on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Each model(Proton) will be replaced every 10 years if not mistaken…

• retard on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:30 pm

good news woo…reduce some more price..even better…waiting for preve sv , exora sv with both car price less than 50k and it will also sell like char kuey tiaw panass woo…or.. roti canai…berbungkus-bungkus….or..buying toilet roll one trolley full..or..purchase as many cooking oil…many bagful of sugar..sapu habis.

• seilo on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:20 am

sesat sesat, lagi 6000 mat rempit kereta on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Taksi on Jun 29, 2013 at 8:13 am

If excluse those taxi orders, how much actually individual sales booking???

Jgn marah tanya saja OK

• suash hati on Jun 29, 2013 at 11:10 am

I own a saga flx MT my complain to proton is.high FC, gear hard to engage,engine sometime hard to start like no comprision,s,time nver even click. Complain to SC many times also same. It’s stress to drive this car.want to sell now price by rm5k. How? My nissan 130y about 30yrs can do better FC,with no feul injection,IAFM,direct ignition and dohc 16v. PROTON PLEASE WAKE UPPPPPPPP??PROTON SELL MORE SAGAS RAKYATS SUFFER MORE!SO WHY MORE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Copy-paste comment? I smell something fishy on why is it here. Supposed to complain directly to SC lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • flying car on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:28 pm

So many unfamiliar name here supporting proton..not sure they are really paultan’s readers or marketing guys from proton just want to boost the speculation…peace..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • say who? on Jun 29, 2013 at 2:50 pm

they are silent fan… if good they praise…if bad… they silent… not like hentam keromo basher! haha :P

• cute hamster on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:29 pm

We bash and bash until they can come up with good car at good price so everyone can be happy. Don’t worry, bashers will not harm your pocket, you see why proton come up with Saga SV?? No??

• last time when Preve launching, they boasted got 4,000 bokings, now hardly see any on the rod

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • I like the CVT gear box of FLX from punchpower train who I read supply to VW too and the manual from gatrag I read supply to BMW?

• benzs8776 on Jun 30, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Good price for Saga SV. View the car recently in miri, those car just arrive as sarawak will be late compare to KL. Since its shiped, so I wont bother. Overall the price is good for these variant. Quality I can see is average since the price match it. No matter how ppl complaint proton, I can see there are some improvement compare proton in 90’s. If ppl wish to buy better car compare to Proton they can choose as owner of Proton will not be having heavy monthly commitment. Service at showroom is not very good. There are 5 salesman but 4 did not stand up when I reach there for bout 15 minutes. They were sitting n talk around. There is one malay salesman serving a couple ask me bout my interest n he is very friendly. Proton should set up a team to train there salesline. This really uncomfortable when no one is bother me at showroom. Is like being insult. Hey, they did get salary n commission if customer buy car from them. Come on proton, local made must ensure good service to boost up sales. As we are local they should be proud if we buy Proton. This mean we are Malaysian. Wake up Proton for this matter.

• Haiya Bob, I see Preve everyday, many with KL plates all over Malaysia. My mum has one, and since then 4 of her colleges have bought one, while 4 also from my dad’s work place has bought one also. Preve is such a good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • alahai on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:29 am

reduce tax utk kereta import la,baru semua happy.
    Tak semua suka kereta model proton.

• cute hamster on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:18 pm

yay.. in the near future we should have 6000+ more proton bashers!! hip hip hoo rayyy!!!

• Alson P on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:37 pm

NEXT…. Preve/Persona SV & Ezora SV will be great…. increasing safety element but reduce the price (even-thought preve already 5-star Aussie NCAP)

• Citizen on Jul 20, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Abolish Proton and perodua so people can have better, safer cars at cheaper prices…

• ramli on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:04 pm

saga sv main purpose is to arrest proton sales decline. among others are maximise profit, reduce risk of unsold cars, etc etc and lastly to provide affordable car for targeted low income malaysian

• Look the whole forest not at one tree on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Since the car get cheaper and cheaper…more people will buy it….more time spend on the road cause by overflooding car…gov should focus reducing the price of house which is worrysome…i saw a person own a camry but living at low end apartment…weird thou