Tan Chong launches the Nissan Sunny in Vietnam

nissan-sunny-vietnam

Tan Chong, via its wholly owned subsidiary TCIE Vietnam Pte Ltd, recently launched the Nissan Sunny in Vietnam along with its 12th dealership there, Nissan Giai Phong. Located in Hanoi, the new dealership is set to make a significant contribution as the region accounts for 42% of Vietnam auto sales.

The Nissan Sunny, known to Malaysians as the Nissan Almera, was first unveiled to dealers in April. The global sedan (worldwide sales exceeding 800,000 units to-date) is assembled at TCIE Vietnam’s new plant in Da Nang, which practices the Nissan Production Way to produce vehicles that meet Nissan’s global standards.

The plant began operations earlier this month, on June 11. It is the first factory established outside Malaysia by the Tan Chong Group, which has two automobile plants in Malaysia in Segambut and Serendah. The current assembly rate is about three cars a day and comes up to around 1,000 units a year, with production currently only for the domestic market.

The Nissan Almera was launched here in October 2012. At the recent Super GT race, Tan Chong showed the Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package Concept, which as its name suggests, is an Almera kitted out by Nissan’s performance and race arm Nismo.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ben yap on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:23 pm

30 years ago the Nissan Sunny 1.3 Extra with those big bumpers are super solid. I remembered those days the car’s bumper can really take a good beating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Is that the same CEO who called for high car taxes and high car prices to remain in Malaysia? Just to benefit 2nd hand car dealers, 30 million people must suffer. This was the strong argument the CEO gave to the Malaysian public.

Now see, Tan Chong, instead of investing more in Malaysia and building a 3rd plant, they decide to pump money elsewhere. So much for patriotism. that is Tan Chong. This is who Tan Chong owner has become one of the top 100 billionaires in Forbes list. Please Tan Chong, give back to the country that made you big. Also, ask your CEO to publicly apologise for calling for high car prices and taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • Dik Low on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:25 pm

My dad still driving it..lol…engine smoother than my 6 years proton…

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Sunny, the Sun, such a nice name.
      Almera??

• azrai on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Wow. Our NAP reeally works for Vietnam.

• naice on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Sad for Malaysia. Tan Chong Seek to build new factory at vietnam. .

it’s not cbu export tough…

• Neh…boleh made car no good quality..lol

• Look at BMW boleh plant…make car proton quality…no need to open assembly plant here…lol..lol

• good barter trade

exchange car = cotton

bring back become Tan Chong Cotton..huhu

• Johnny on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:43 pm

We need a big bumper! :P

• Robot boy on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:21 am

I bet TCM used all the ex proton engineers who have resigned from proton and were employed by TCM since last year to do this. Why let them leave at first place?

• passerby on Jun 29, 2013 at 8:19 am

neigh … u bunch of 4umers are a joke … one quarter always complain that this car is fugly if i may call it crudely and now condemn TC being less patriotic by moving the fugly production to Vietnam. if u bunch of sickos are so high-taste and wouldn’t buy it in the first place; what stopping TC to build the car overseas where there is demand? the fugly car is actually sold more than any of the so-called pretty models here in malaysia anyway.

• benzs8787 on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:14 pm

This car is actually focus more on round shape. Mayb is bcoz Nissan though they should do something different. Look at the meter cluster, door panel inside n dashboard. All look round shape. But this car if u tell ppl is ugly, for me is still acceptable. Different ppl have different opinion. Whether u like it or not, this car will be in the market for at least 5 to 7 yrs before replacement. So y should we bother since we have to face it for many yrs again. Should wait for FL the front and it will become more interesting car. Wish to hear good news from Nissan Malaysia.