Volvo V40 and V40 Cross Country spotted at JPJ

Volvo-V40-JPJ-14

We know for sure that the Volvo V40 is coming, thanks to teaser roadshows that Federal Auto have been running in shopping malls. What Federal Auto’s roadshows were teasing was the Volvo V40 Cross Country, and we’ve even seen the V40 Cross Country on test in Shah Alam. 2013 must be the year of the hatchback – the Volvo V40 will be joining a party that already includes the Golf Mk7 and the A-Class.

But what we didn’t know is that there’s a possibility that the regular Volvo V40 without the raised suspension and bodykit that gives it pseudo offroader looks may also join the Cross Country in the showrooms. Our usual JPJ Putrajaya sleuth Anol Alias snapped not just one V40 but three of them at JPJ Putrajaya.

The white car you see in the gallery below is the Volvo V40 T4, which is powered by a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine. The grey car is the Volvo V40 T5, powered by a more powerful 2.0 litre turbocharged engine. The T4 and T5 engine options are similiar what’s available in the S60 and V60.

And then of course there’s the black Volvo V40 Cross Country, which we already know is coming. This particular V40 Cross Country is also a T5, which means a 2.0 litre turbo engine. We wonder if it will be front wheel drive or all wheel drive.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Info from ford, launch around october this year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 28, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 130
      • neutral on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:38 pm

as long as the quality is there….i don’t mind paying for it. not everything made in china is supposed to be bad. they promised that it will be 100% swedish developed, not made. even jaguars and land rovers are now made in india. audis, mercs, bmws and a host of other luxury makes being manufactured in china. would u buy a well made product with “made in china” on it or a product with obvious inferiority with “made in sweden” on it? use brain lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • You cannot compare phone with car. What example of car full of inferiority here? Even proton has turbocharged engine when Japs has nothing to compete with here (archaic SOHC engine and bloody torsion beam). Maybe you should say Japs cheapo cars like almeera and vios.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:34 am

The quality isn’t bad. It’s up to the typical European standard. Even the CKDs are built with high quality. Plus, Volvo isn’t like MG Rover, MG Rover is somehow improving though.
        Not sure how shallow can you be.

• naughty 60s on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Are you sure what are you talking about? Which sr do u visit? As far as I know only the quarter window are made in china. Apart from that the other partd are made in sweden, germany, belgium and hungary. Im not sure if you are sane with your comments or are you from china??? Please clarify .

• Wolwo on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:34 am

this is truly the year of car launches and hatchback launches… good to see the manufacturers have notch up the competition mode…

in b4 someone say Preve hatchback is better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • yuppy on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:39 am

Preve hatchback is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
      • Preve = poor man attempt at hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • Naice on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:26 am

Preve, kononnya Global standard.

Interior Quality is sub par.

Just a Kotak Besar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
          • but not as worse as japs hard platicky interior lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • theanswer on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:51 am

agree with you. but same as vios too…even global car almera looks cheap.

• neemfa on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Prevet dahsboard will vibrate while accelerating.. very the global. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • fresk on Jun 29, 2013 at 10:14 am

only some, that’s much better than you lose 20,000 in a year due to low RV or vomit blood when you change the parts

• cheap price on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:51 am

tho many new car launch but i would like to see those cars come in basic variant with enough safety features at a cheaper price tag…not bundled with all the bell n whistle (where not all of r necessary) n put premium price tag…we need to know that consumers can demand to add those accesories as “option”…not spoon feed us with just auto tranny n limited choices of variants to choose from…

• kadajawi on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:47 pm

I’m not entirely sure manufacturers are to blame here. Miti may say a B segment car can start at 80k. The specs don’t matter, it has to cost at least that much. Just look at the Vios or Almera, they are very empty. A Fiesta will be full of features. Similar price though. Overseas the Vios costs a similar amount as the Fiesta, at similar spec levels. So even if manufacturers wanted to bring in entry level cars, they couldn’t charge less for them.

• Gavin on Jun 28, 2013 at 7:41 am

Volvo is so underrated, good cars nice long warranties

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • _xXx_ on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:01 pm

…but RV sux wor…
      ’09 nearly rm300k S80 used car dealer gip 80+k onli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • tokmoh on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Volvo owners don’t buy Volvo as an investment. They’re usually people who’ve done enough research to know Volvo is the best car in the market that gives such a comprehensive package. Assuming everything’s normal, it doesn’t make sense to trade it frequently like stocks, derivatives, etc investment tool.

Anyway, it’s good the rv is low. Makes owning a safe car much cheaper. Consider it a social responsibility by the first owner.

• neemfa on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:02 am

Good! VWM should be very worried now.. coz their Golf got so many competition.. heheheh

• sonyman on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:29 am

bro FA wagen is also Federal Auto volkswagen lah, they are from same tau keh. Why should VW be worried. its a totally different ball game. Different kind of customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • alihms on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:08 am

Note to the photographer. Next time invest on a polarizing filter. It will substantially cut down the window glass reflections for your interior shots.

A good effort nevertheless.

• sonyman on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:31 am

very very nice. Unfortunately the T4 always suffer from low specs rather than standard equipment.

Looks like it none of the cars has adaptive cruise control. BTW the cars here are probably for registration for the new CKD which they have been doing lately.

Launch is in August. Pricing about 169K to about 198K. Depending on specs. But hopefully it should be cheaper.

• chizzu on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Sigh, if only it is fully equipped with adaptive cruise control and auto brake for T5 (or the AWD V40 CC)….

• underskinned on Jun 28, 2013 at 9:25 am

Does people hang around at JPJ Putrajaya looking for new cars and snap their pictures? LOL

V40 is a nice looking car by the way.

• So, the V40 Cross Country is in which class? An suv, crossover or just a jacked up car?

• VWenthusiast on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:10 am

No way this car can beat my golf r.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • abcde on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:11 pm

dumb fellow wont drive golf r
      ppl who drive golf r is not dumb

• the white one has no fog lamp? so the car comes with no fog lamp but as added accessories?

• sutheshkumar on Jun 28, 2013 at 11:35 am

Volvos have already omitted fog lamps when the XC60 2.0T came to Malaysia, and subsequent models after that does without them. Looks good in metal but I think the price might stop potential buyers but then again, I wont be surprised if it sells well here too.

• Jules on Jun 30, 2013 at 9:42 am

Maybe it’s there. The fog light are just a strip (led). Maybe cannot be seen clearly from the pics

• Err… Am i the only person here who think that the front looks more or less like the A class and the new mazda 3? Coz i seriously think that the carmakers nowadays should not try to imitate one another. Same goes with the aston like new mondeo. A bit more variation would be useful thank you

• nabill on Jun 28, 2013 at 12:38 pm

the front looks like the new mazda 6 !
    Volvo always have stupid pricing that doesn not reflect the class they r in….its not wonder u hardly see them

• kadajawi on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Volvo is in the same class as BMW, Audi and Merc. Maybe a bit lower, but clearly above VW.

Also this car has a bloody pedestrian airbag!

• Henry T on Jun 28, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Why do we need Government approval for new car prices? Let market forces decide lah. This way the consumers get a better deal.

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:13 pm

XC90 with 16 airbags:
    1. frontal, knee, side for 1st row
    2. frontal, side for 2nd row
    3. frontal, side for 3rd row
    4. all-round curtain airbags
    and, active headrest for all.
    Volvo is famous for safety, keep it outstanding.

• Tae-hyun on Jun 28, 2013 at 1:17 pm

First golf. Then A-Class. Then this. What next? BMW 1 series? This is a good year for the European premium hatch segment

• gOOsh on Jun 28, 2013 at 3:36 pm

volvo is nice car… admired the s40 & v50 before…

• anyone see anaconda face there?

• CKD or CBU?

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:36 am

Looking forward to the launch of this car in around September/October. Hopefully they’ll price cheaper than S40 since the V40 is actually a proper hatchback now.

• Crossing my fingers that the price is competitive, gonna trade in for this sexy beast!

• Price Leak:
    t4 1.6 : RM173,888
    T5 2.0; RM 188,888
    CC T5 2.0: RM198,888