2014 Honda Jazz: first look via leaked brochure scans

2014-honda-jazz-spyshots-0004

The current generation Honda Jazz has been around since October 2007 and it’s about time for it to be replaced, and this blue car might just be the next generation, which is expected to debut in Q4 this year.

These are supposed to be scans of leaked brochure shots of the JDM version of the car where it is called the Fit. The new Honda Jazz takes more than just a few cues from the Honda Jade MPV that debuted at Auto Shanghai 2013.

The front end is similiar, as is the profile of the side windows, but the Jade is a longer MPV while this Jazz is a shorter five-seater version. So it looks like the Jade isn’t really a new Stream as we thought, instead it’s more of a new Honda Airwave.

There’s also a cropped shot of the instrument cluster, which shows a gear indicator that’s consistent with that of a CVT gearbox, as well as a power/charge metre instead of an RPM metre which indicates that particular shot is from a hybrid version.

Do you prefer the looks of the current Jazz, or this one?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam Loo on Jun 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Honda Insight hatchback?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • abuya123 on Jun 30, 2013 at 6:57 am

Apasal roda belakang bengkok ke dalam? Camber lari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • PauKaya on Jun 30, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Hella-flush…pernah dengar tak? jgn jadi katak bawah tempurung masuk tokyo macam rusa keluar hutan

• Jimmy on Jun 30, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Your Camry was stolen. Now your Camry’s key is inside my pocket with my thumb print.
      You cannot prove that I am the thief of your car because your Camry is burnt outside my house and there is thumb print of another person on the key.
      So I will be accused of burning your Camry, which I know already that there are a lot of doubts about it (the crime of burning). Abusing experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Visitor on Jun 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm

The design in the leaked brochure is, should I say..more masculine? when compared with current generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but for me I’d rather stick with the current generation. This one looks awfully, awfully ugly. The most annoying parts are the front grille and the rear tall taillight besides the window (looks so ah beng-ish if I must say).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 42
  • Visitor 2 on Jun 29, 2013 at 3:28 pm

I wonder if it’s just the quality of the scan.. but that’s seriously ugly colours on the car. Besides that, the rest of the car visually is an improvement though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • protonkia on Jun 29, 2013 at 4:15 pm

front look like insight!!

• meng meng on Jun 29, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Current look nicer.
    Now alot car maker doing samething is all design all look similar.
    Is it cheaper coz or wat…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Carl Wong on Jun 29, 2013 at 4:53 pm

For me is NICE in Blue, even more futuristic compared to current version……

• Hmmm…still the first generation jazz vtec is the best…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • What happen to Honda?? is that the best they can do?? Just way way behind Korean Design, i think no way they can catch up if they still hiring these design moron!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 49
    • Storm on Jun 29, 2013 at 11:13 pm

So they should hire you? Since you know better than the Japanese?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • siazshuakme on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Damn, ugly ass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
  • 中山郎 on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Beautiful modern compact car deska!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Pororo on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Honda City Hatchback?? lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Alpha on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Technically the City (Fit Aria) is the sedan version of the Jazz (Fit).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Disappointing design! More n more folks shifted thier interest to hyundai & kia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • Not shifted, it’s because they can’t afford the Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • Shame_Loo on Jun 30, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Wrong, more and more go to Conti. VW Polo tsi, gti, golf tsi, passat, jetta, UDM F30, c class….Jap car is just a backup or 2nd, 3rd car for many people now….

• DuaDuaNgok on Jun 30, 2013 at 5:03 pm

sad to say it’s true. but why do people keep saying that cars are expensive? everyone in the office drives a conti now haish

• Kelvin on Jun 30, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Korean nice to look, expensive to maintain.

• frenzyaustin on Jun 29, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Is the designer design Gundam or what? But looks kinda cool, something not on the market looks like this before.

• Norman on Jun 29, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Design is good but how bout power plant?1.3,1.4,1.5?

• Polo Saga on Jun 29, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Mini Honda Insight?

• nazreen kanaruddin on Jun 30, 2013 at 2:58 am

Front side, can be consider ok. But, rear side. Damn ugly. Mcm Myvi Extreme – lg power lg best.

• The new looks on the paper is disapointing…its almost imitating swift body shape..lets wait for the actual product..maybe it looks better in actual

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:27 am

Looks a bit like a combination of Euro Civic (but less sharp) and Insight.

• Le Dentist on Jun 30, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Gundam or God damn? From my point of view, the brochure scan make the car looks pretty ugly. And I am not fan of the eye-soring hella-flush design…

I’ve saw the new vios, 3rd gen vios, which were on their way to taxi hub around Jakarta, and damn, they are ugly too.

I never doubt Honda’s and Toyota’s quality, but some of their current design doesn’t suit my taste. Dislike my comment all you want, but I still stick to my stand that this Jazz is sucks for now. I will wait for the proper image to come out, and I hope it looks better.

• benzs8787 on Jun 30, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Jazz looks very nice but Jazz price that make this car not so nice. Of coz we cant compare with myvi bcoz local made n import is huge different. Own a Jazz can own any local made which consist same cc twice the car. I wonder why ppl will buy as price at overseas is cheaper. Due to high taxation in our country we have to think whether is worth it or not.

• megatron on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:21 pm

I don’t care…I love it!

• honda always ugly.. cannot beat sexy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • v-power on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:44 pm

You can’t please everyone…maybe they can design better…:) But for me, this 3rd gen Jazz is a great successor to Honda’s successful sub-compact hatch…

I think Honda did brilliantly; they kept true to the Jazz’s trademark silhouette & compact design that was well-loved by many. Yet they incorporated the new headlight-&-grill combo, in line with the new ‘face’ of Honda, similar to Kia’s ‘tiger nose grill’.

Also, the rear lights design are also sharper & more funky…so I feel they injected more youthful appeal with the latest Jazz, making it fresh, while keeping the iconic shape intact. I say kudos to the designers’…

All in all, the car will please loyal fans of the car…for non-fans/bashers, you’re entitled to your opinion – there’s choices aplenty in the market to shop for your ideal & stylish sub-compact hatch, so everyone wins…(just don’t forget to cross out Honda Jazz off your list lah, senang kan…?)

• ya everyone had his/her opinion, but this thing really very ugly. even proton design is better than it. only ugly people will drive ugly car. if honda lack of idea, don’t mind to copy exactly Toyota design, at least will guarantee your sales figure.

• v-power on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:42 pm

“Only ugly people drive ugly cars…” this statement doesn’t even make sense & is quite offensive to many people I might add! And “…even proton design better than this…” Seriously dude?(Proton fanboy I presume)!?…You’re bashing for the sake of bashing …

• Hang tuah on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Dude, if proton better design than proton should be sold out many in foreign country. I’m not offend ur opinion, it is bcoz majority thinks Honda better than proton design. So be a minority opinion should not be represent majority. Btw, proton preve design can say ‘okay’. The proton saga really suck in exterior, interior, performance, n securities…….

• Just coz that guy is driving a potong so he think his car is pretty! seriously Potong design looks cheap and awful! and this thing looks ok but the in thr pic looks weird~

• noname on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:37 am

Kebanyakan mOdel terbaru dari Jepun semuanya semakin tak cantik, dah habis idea ka apa orang Jepun nie???

• modifikasi motor Byson on Apr 05, 2014 at 1:12 pm

These are supposed to be scans of leaked brochure shots of the JDM version of the car where it is called the Fit. The new Honda Jazz takes more than just a few cues from the Honda Jade MPV that debuted at Auto Shanghai 2013.