Honda Malaysia recall for 2008 City and 2003 Jazz – power window master switch replacement

city-2008

Honda Malaysia has announced a product update a.k.a. recall for the Honda City and Jazz to improve and rectify the countermeasure that was implemented in 2010 due to the possible failure of the power window master switch. Cars involved are the second generation Honda City model year 2008 and first generation Jazz 1.4 litre model year 2003.

12,935 units of the 2008 City are involved, 7,713 units VTEC and 5,222 units i-DSI. As for 2003 Jazz, there are 3,090 units of the 1.4 litre Japan made hatchback in Malaysia.

Honda has been monitoring the issue after the initial product update in 2010. Then, thermal humidity and thermal shock tests revealed no trace of sheet peeling. But after a certain period of time, tests have shown that tension occurred around the sheet, forming a gap at the corner of the switch base which may result in liquid entering the switch area.

honda-jazz-2003

As a countermeasure for this new campaign, Honda will be replacing the affected part with a new power window master switch that comes with an acrylic seal. The usage of the acrylic seal with shape-following ability will ensure that all switches would be completely sealed against all possible moisture intrusion.

Once the replacement parts are ready, mailed notification will be sent to affected customers. Customers are encouraged to send their vehicle to an authorised dealer to replace the master switch as soon as they receive the notification. All parts and labour charges will be borne by Honda Malaysia.

As of today, there have been no faulty cases reported in Malaysia, and all current models are not affected by this issue. For more info and assistance, call Honda toll free at 1800-88-2020.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Joe Radzif on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:32 am

Er…
    Proton should call?
    Or Waja should laugh?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
    • abuya123 on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Cepat betul cybertroopers Honda nih. Terus post pasal Proton. Nak alih perhatian orang supaya tak bash Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 48
      • Joe Radzif on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:44 pm

sori bang…
        saya masih setia dengan Proton.
        dulu GTi skang V6…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • lol…nampaknya proton fanboy. Terus assume orang lain ialah Honda cybertrooper. Lebih baik diam sikit dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • unforgiven on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Don’t, you will never know who is the one paying for it at the end of the day

• Honda is responsible at least… do not expect too much of potong, u get what u pay for1 u should know b4 u buy this cheap brand…

• untung la owner honda..tak rosak pn dpt tukar free. waja aku rosak byk kali pun tak pnh dpt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
    • unhappy civic owner on Oct 01, 2013 at 12:34 pm

untung honda owner ?
      semalam baru tukar rear wheel bearing civic aku..belah kiri..kene RM647. Owner civic ramai yg ada problem ni..tapi honda tak kasi free replacement pun..korang ingat honda bagus sgt ke ?? puihhh !!! no more honda after this..

• wjaja on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:38 am

Old model….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Old model got recall for replacement of power window switch. Imagine our beloved Proton to recall all old Proton models for fixing power windows problem, how many hundred thousands of Proton Saga,Wira and Waja?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Dru-Zod on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Doesn’t Honda Malaysia and Proton have the same parent company? Why the different treatment? Anyway, well done Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • thanks paultan team. good topic to start a week. it’ll be fun reading incoming comments.

my suggestion: every monday and friday please post a topic related to proton or goverment. perodua or toyota also can

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • honda got many problems.. vios is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 93
  • Power window fault? I though only proton have this problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
  • Hahahonda on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:49 am

…and then they said only Proton comes free with power window problem. Haha Honda proved you wrong, even they can give that too for free!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
  • Norman on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Good move by Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • rizan on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:30 pm

xpayah la nak libatkan proton kat sini…wahahaha…dah problem tu terima jak la hakikat…kereta luar pun sama jg….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Flawlessproton on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Pity honda owner,should have stick with proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 37
    • Rashuk Khan2 on Nov 23, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Normally honda owner keep their car problem within theirselves and service center. They feel shy to share with friends. Coz high class car must free from defect. Only Proton owner like to tell the world the problem happen on their car…even the defect cause by not mantain service at authorised service center…

• kamal on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:59 pm

honda power of dreams….the best car ever…. toyota suck…. resale value out….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
    • Joe Radzif on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:46 pm

ko cakap sedap mulut atau buat research?
      cuba ko surf skit kat Mudah tengok harga kereta…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 43
      • BadBET on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:25 pm

why butt hurt? It not like you the owner of honda!Honda got nothing to do with you…

• Joe Radzif on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:43 am

Kih kih kih…
          don’t see the thread only for Honda Cybertroopers…

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Is it all second-generation City models or just those from 2008 onwards? What’s the difference between the years?

• gOOsh on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:06 pm

i think it’s honda marketing gimmick to grap potential cuetomers attention… as many new model in their pipeling right now…
    kira, kasi gula-gula larr…

• pity to honda owner owned the lousy and ugly car. better scrap your think junk and change to Toyota. don’t always become the pity worm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 61
    • abcde on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:05 pm

why u care so much? not your money to decide and buy car..
      unless u want to pay a toyota for me then i’ll give thumb up..otherwise, i give u one nice thumb somewhere in the center..=)

• susah hati on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Proton when you want to recall saga flx MT, cause my saga FC is high and gear is hard to engage, complain to SC many times and not solve.

• start on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:36 pm

If this is the case then Proton should recall all Gen2’s from year 2004 to 2008. Gen2 also suffer the same issue of this. Myself have to replace the switch 3 times due to faulty switch due to liquid intrusion. The glass holder located very near to power window switch. Even a few drops of cokes will enter into the switch.

• Hudson Lee on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Honda Honda I like your business etiquette,but I think alot of valuable time wasted here

• carlies on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:52 pm

No more Honda please. I’m totally fed up with this junk.

• mamamia on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:20 pm

also have problem ka?also have power window problem ka?..not all import cars are good, not all national cars are sucks my fellow friends

• old dog on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:22 pm

I want my Waja power windows replacement!!!!

• jolly_idiot on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:39 pm

You may consider replacing your waja rather than dream proton will replace your switch.

• say who? on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:23 am

how old your waja 10years? if under 10years got free la..

• caprico on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Change yourself la.. Or DIY, cheaper. Come on, i did mine. Watched youtube.

• Carl Wong on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:14 am

What happened for the last recall again? Didn’t solve the problem? Get it replaced (for free?) once and for all!!

• hatehonda on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Honda cars is no good, very expensive spare parts, poor service, body sound a lot and inconsistent service level. Toyota is the same, the best I think is NISSAN