2013 Kia Cerato en route to outlets, launch tomorrow

kia-cerato-k3-spyshots-0005

This is probably the last piece we’ll be writing on the Kia Cerato before the official launch report tomorrow. As you can see from these shots that we snapped today en route to the office, the cars are already on the way to showrooms and it’s possible that if you ask an SA very nicely today with the intention to buy, you might be able to sneak a peek of the car in the storage area.

UPDATE: The Kia Cerato is now officially launched – click here for our launch report

Based on the Kia Cerato leaked brochures that we published last week, the only way you’ll be able to tell the difference between the 1.6 and 2.0 litre variants of the Kia Cerato from the exterior is the rear spoiler and the sunroof. Otherwise other specs such as the alloy wheel design look to be the same.

While we wait for the launch report tomorrow, in the meanwhile you can read our Kia Cerato review, from the drive event we attended in Dubai. A quick check for listings of the Kia Cerato on oto.my revealed some sales advisors listing the car for a ‘confirmed price’ of RM 99,888 for the 1.6 and RM 118,888 for the 2.0.

My favorite colour is the grey one at the rear of the top deck of the trailer, what’s yours?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Blackgenius007 on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:34 pm

This is the first time KIA Malaysia ahead Singapore to launch the K3, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
    • calvin on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:17 pm

er..its only the rio that is not in SG. The k3 was launch about1 or 2 weeks ago…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • And Brunei got it since April 19 2013. PS, Kia Carens just launched in Brunei yesterday, 30 June 2013. :D

• kia.ca on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:38 pm

What is k3??
          What I know is Forte or Cerato outside North America.

• Wayank on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:06 am

At jakarta it’s for taxi since 25/04/2013
            http://oto.detik.com/read/2013/04/25/141846/2230339/1207/kia-cerato-jadi-taksi-transcab

• Singapore will launch cerato k3 in july oso but using forte k3 instead of cerato k3

• Petrolhead on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:46 pm

White one, the colour looks decent in almost every car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Forte Group on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Mmm… I guess i will stick with the current model at the meantime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 58
  • ben yap on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:43 pm

my fave colour is pink but they don’t have. else it look like hello kitty car. hahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
  • 2.0 for RM118,888 on the road. Kick ass!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • unforgiven on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:58 pm

How come we are using the real Kia badge now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Johnny on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Be prepared…for the biggest disappointment tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
  • Mahathir on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Preve better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 63
  • K3 trailer driver on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:14 pm

another piece of article on KIA, another 100+ comments page bashing Korean car makers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • razakoss on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:40 pm

kia cerato/forte is no longer an affordable car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • At 99k for 1.6 and 118k for 2.0 not sure how many of us are willing to fork out this amount for a Korean made. Honestly I wish they price it in the of 80 to 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • i dun think they will price d same as Forte but i dun expect them price more expensive than d elentra. they shd hav done so in order to stay competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • shawal on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:48 pm

izzit CKD-ed or imported?

• James on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Will the Cerato 1.6 be a CBU or CKD? Heard from the sales centre that only the first 500 will be CBU. Can anyone confirm on this please? Cheers.

• CBU korea or CKD Gurun?

• indomee on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:59 pm

This price range, i can get mazda 3 liao!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • civicEK on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:27 pm

better wait for mazda 3 or preve hatchback!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • kia.ca on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Mazda3 just launch in NY for North American market.Wait for new Sentra/Sylphy and 2014 Corolla and compare with Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • namanama on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:32 pm

since when Ford collaborate with Kia? wtf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • helmi on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:33 pm

The pricing does not attract me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • batman on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:34 pm

mazda 3 FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Fancheng on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Mazda 3 gonna kill this car.

• SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:23 am

MAZDA 3 ROCK EXTERIOR but
        the ENGINE SUCKs for a 2litre
        **2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine produces 120 PS and 210 Nm of torque , damn slow ..

unless MAZDA 3 comes with the LOOPPPP engine 165hp
        then its a bargain,

• Ong chin aun on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Disappointment. Y ?? . price of Car not down ,but Up, Up, Up. . Not going to down instead.Not prepare to buy it .

• totti on Jul 01, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Another Elantra coming.

Nothing to look forward if priced at Elantra range.

Expected another failure if they follow the elantra brother footstep.

The only way to sustain is to price the car below RM 80K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • autodriver on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:02 pm

you expect a fully import Cerato price lower than CKD Forte? Did you seen this thing ever happen to any car in Malaysia?

I am driving Forte now and feel Cerato price is a bit high. But this new Cerato is FULLY IMPORT and using KIA badge, unlike Forte is rebadged as NAZA and enjoy lower tax. If Forte is not rebadged as NAZA, the price will be around RM100k anytime.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:08 pm

To all the people whining about the price. Lets wait for the final price list and specs. The pre-launch ads tend to be higher than the actual launch price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • mr jem on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:10 pm

perhaps i shud wait for another year. buying a 2nd hand maaa. depreciated to RM80k… hahaha…

• NOKIA on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:38 pm

RM 119K for 2.0, I’ll wait for the new Mazda 3.
    RM 100k for 1.6, I’ll wait for the new Vios or City.

Naza and your Cerato please prepare to be failed.
    All early buyers please prepare for a huge drop in RV for the first 2-4 years. No offence just based on majority views only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • Easy maa.. just posted a price in oto, then quoted by the blogger, everybody said expensive. Tomorrow lunch, give price 1.6 rm 89,888 and 2.0 rm 108,888. The SA can say very cheap already, 89k for car worth 99k, 108k for car worth 118k… then ppl will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Samlok on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:13 pm

That type of pricing is a no no to me

• shamsul on Jul 01, 2013 at 6:18 pm

good looking car! but the price little bit unlogic. i say spend extra 10k to get corolla might be worth it because 5 years from now that extra 10k will be double or triple compare to kia. if u know what i mean…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Abg Long on Jul 01, 2013 at 7:28 pm

too expensive for a kia..

• Kia Cerato?? selling at 60k saya pun tak mau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • gHOST on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:30 pm

60K?? you want pun tak ada!!!
      in Bolehland 60K what can you buy??
      still dreaming!

• not a Japanese car seller on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:01 pm

With price tag not too far from other Japanese competitors in the market, I doubt it will enjoy good sales as it is nowadays. ….. what a pity in losing high volume sales which could help to boost service centre number……

• townboy on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:15 pm

I rather buy korean car nowdays as its better in technology compare with proton preve jaguh kampong boy, still using old ugly engine with alot of problem.

• Fancheng on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:21 pm

No thanks, Mazda 3 lebih gempak !!!

• old dog on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:45 pm

sorry mate…Mazda 3 my choice..

• Kia Drebar on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:09 pm

RM100K for a 1.6 Korean car? WTF! That’s freaking expensive!! I “might” buy after 3 years with the usual RM20K depreciation per year for Korean cars :P

• Kia Drebar on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Add another 10% of RM99,888 and you can get a Toyota Altis!

• Chow 1 on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:15 pm

This pricing will surely fail. Look at not many Elantra on the road as proof.

• autodriver on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Be honest, the price is a bit high but it is still attractive compare to Japanese rivals. Why?

1. Cerato is “FULLY IMPORT” from Korea. Civic is CKD in Malaysia and Altis is CBU from Thailand. Only Lancer is CBU from Japan.

2. In term of technology, Cerato offer more gadgets than its rivals. Some said it is useless, then why Japanese rivals such as Civic follow Kia by offering push start, reverse camera, keyless etc.

3. Resales value, no doubt Cerato RV is not as good as Civic. But please go and check the RV of Altis, Madza 3 and Sylphy, they are not having high resales value like 8th Gen Civic either.

I support competition among Japanese and Korean car, because they will pressure each other by offering their best. The beneficiary will be consumers at the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Kalun on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:11 am

You forgot the new mazda 3 in your list.

• HateWar on Jul 06, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Why you all compare mazda 3, their RV is also not good and part expensive. Will you all still support Japan product if you look at history of Japanese war against our country and kill so many people during the war. Said whatever you want, I forever support country never go into war with us. No wonder Japan so rich because of your support.

• Comparing cerato and almera side by side is just like
    beauty and the beast.

• Alan.L on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Re-sale value is depends on market demand. Juz see your samsung mobile compare with Nokia 5 yrs before and after.