GALLERY: Kia Cerato at the showroom with brochure

Our launch report of the Kia Cerato 1.6 and 2.0 will be up sometime during the work day today, but for those who are still up now in the wee hours of the morning, we have photos and brochure scans for you from a Kia Malaysia showroom thanks to reader Deric.

UPDATE: The Kia Cerato is now officially launched – click here for our launch report

The brochure snapshots are very details so you can see exactly what the new features of the car are, including specs and dimensions. The car in these photos look like the 1.6 litre model as it has cloth seats and doesn’t have the Supervision meter panel with colour multi-info display.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ben yap on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:06 am

the car’s stance is not fierce enough compare to forte. probably because it doesn’t have a bodykit.

with bodykit, it’ll look better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • The interior is no better also..really dull. My, compare this from what I saw in youtube on the new Mazda 3 interior, its like heaven and hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • carlies on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Will only consider this if ranging RM50K OR BELOW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
      • Don’t wanna compare a Mazda and a Kia. Even the name is like heaven and hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • Analyzer on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:25 am

Looks good and very well equipped. Only sad thing is the price point.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…last time the cheaper 1 called NAZA Kia Forte (got NAZA logo), but now this 1 more expensive bcos got Kia logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Wisdom on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:52 am

I think the best price point for this car is RM88K for 1.6 and RM105K for 2.0. For sure they will revamp the car market here. At the same time Toyota and Honda will take it easy with their profit margin.

We all know the true bloodsucker in car prices is the manufacturers/ traders themselves. Will you still support them if the price remain high?

High car prices; our choice.
      We have the power to bring it down.
      *Hint: Keep your current ride slightly longer.. later you can have your dream car cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • Insomniguy on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:36 am

How much is the price? No matter, will go for test drive tomorrow & wait for overtrade & discounts in months to come before purchasing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • north-korean spy on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:48 am

sadly no test drive unit until next week, the 2.0 only 5 units/8 units available now according to SA

• meng meng on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:12 am

Small lcd touch screen display + dont have build in GPS… =.=
    Price 118k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • Aaaaaaaaand suddenly, an overpriced piece of junk coming from Kia. Just when I thought they’ve learnt something…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 16
    • Gnaee on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:46 am

Except the Best Uncle Dashboard Design Award for RM100k car.

Worse then Slyphy, Altis, Civic, Elantra and Focus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 21
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 127
  • The Korean duo pricing totally out of mind considering the obvious increase in prices compared to the predecessors.

This situation is nowhere near the concept of price decrease promised made during the GE13.

Look at the Hyundai Avante 2.0 vs New Hyundai Inokom Elantra 1.6-1.8 & old Inokom Santa Fe 2.2 vs new OR Kia Cerr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Protonwiraku on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:17 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 155
      • jolly_idiot on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:17 am

Sounds like you do like price and bn too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
      • Good job, continue with your “migrate to other country” comments. I’m sure someday all competent ppl will finally listen to you and migrate. At that time, you probably can’t even afford kapchai because the economy has crumbled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
      • Johnny on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:26 am

You sound like the BN cronies. Reminded me of:

“Chinese don’t like it here can leave the country”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • james on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:34 am

surely this guy is a wum

• anonymous on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:36 am

saga sv? migrate to other country? what a dumbass statement. im sure ur brain must be brainwashed by bn. hahaha. keep on driving your wira then. when the time is come to change ur car, just buy saga sv. or saga super sv (201x). or saga super duper sv (202x). haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • namanama on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:53 pm

sakai.

• 92K and 113K would have been a better price, at the current range it’s not gonna fly.

guys would rather top-up for the K5, girls still look better in a Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Kelvin on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:23 am

Cannot buy never mind, Buy second hand KIA K3 after 2 years, it will be a LOT more cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • north korean spy on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:51 am

i’ll wait until they offer samsung led tv, bodykit, galaxy s4 and others korean maker as a free gift. very ho ho liao

• Preve 1.6 has much more value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 57
    • Peter on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:25 am

This’s what the gov want you to feel like … and that’s what we always dislike abt NAP & Proton management. If they failed in quality, they compete with value. It’s still reasonable for a start-up company but for a brand which almost 30 yrs old, how’ll you feel if their top range product still compete with ‘value’ and the best selling range is the (best value) 35k Saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Proton staff on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:52 pm

This is what ACTUALLY the government want people to feel like. They shift hatred towards Proton. The NAP and FTA currently does not favor PROTON. It is more favorable to CKD companies and CBU cars originated from FTA countries.

Yang untung ialah Government, big car companies and cronies. Government does not care about Proton at all. They only care about the excise tax.

• OMG…THE ENGINE SOUND LIKE HELL…

• MoFaz on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:22 am

just wait for Mazda 3 Sedan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • Kelvin on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:17 am

Why not wait for Mazda 3 2018 better? Like it buy it, so simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
  • Kia Malaysia- why commit suicide?Don’t you know the all new vios coming, and your sales will will be easily swept away?Wake up.Price your product right.You think we Malaysians blind, to pay RM 90+ for a 1.6 Korean CBU?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 16
    • nasi lemak on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:38 am

dear sam,
      dont u know toyota was built in tom yam land,meanwhile honda coming out from alor gajah melaka for some specific model. at least this piece of junk was flying all de way from Korea. at least n for sure the quality is better!

jz my 2 cent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
      • I thought most of the toyora is CKD (include Camry and Altis). So no more toyota in toym yam land. All is Bolehand.

• hybrid CBU japan on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:28 pm

woit guys….im fully CBU owner from japan…no need to pay more tax coz that the special immunities for hybrid ….enough for me with LHDN salary deduction….hehe

• torres on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:20 am

sam
      please understand vios is only b segment car whereas kia k3 is c segment car. Please dont simply give comment if you still dont know the basic theory of car’s category . what a shame would be if your comment put into international forum……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Torres, this car was advertised, as the replacement for outgoing Forte( Forte is a B segment car).Now they have 2 variants, 1.6 and 2.0.So now 1.6 is clcearly the B segment car ( the 2.0 is the C segment), and what you talking about car theory…If you drive a Kimchi, feel sorry for you ler…you feel shy and shameful?lolz….

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Err,since when Forte n Cerato is a B-segment car??segment is determine by its size and dimension,not engine capacity..so u need to check your facts right bro

• dugong on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:43 am

The problem with T&H fan, they like milo tin. Light and easier to goto heaven. Safety is secondary.

Here, everyone complain the price is expensive for cerato but honda city at rm90k++ or Dugong Vios sport at rm90k++ is value for money.

When compare spec to spec, are you saying cerato with euroncap 5 ratings, 6 airbags, all the techno stability system, keyless, sunroof, cornering lights, very good NVH (Vios, city, even honda civic or altis NVH is crap) is expensive or not value buy ?

I guess like the proton tagline says, smart people will buy what’s good. Only the fool and blind will still buy milo tin crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • i agreed with dugong.
        malaysians only believed in “heavenly nice” T & H despite its selling prices at RM 90k++ also.(high spec of Vios n City)

come on! admit it lar! we are now comparing vios city with cerato, unfair right? T&H need to improve their products also, still at 4speed trans? still 2 airbags?how many of here go to see the cerato in flesh? look at the vios dashboard! really better than cerato? i m a vios owner and i knw it.

• Since the korean believe they comparable with the japs n other conti maker, it’s make sense for them to price their car at that price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 56
  • penguna K5 on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:41 am

ciri-ciri keselamatan yang tinggi, 6 air bags etc.. with a price still lower compare to other in the same class.. i think this is a good buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 25
    • seancorr on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:46 am

I think so too, it has a few class leading features that even luxury vehicles don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • This car is cool. It give you more than what Camry or Accord does. It’s really a new benchmark for the Malaysia Japanese brand to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
  • gOOsh on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:12 am

have to admit that… this is a nice looking car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • neemfa on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:19 am

I’m baffled why did kia not design the interior better.. it seems like it still stuck in the pre-Schreyer era.. K5 interior is nice so I expect the K3 is better since it is newer. So old-fashioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Izzit price confirmed already? Kia SA told me 1.6 $82888, 2.0 $102888 is it true??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Eyesight as good as queen elizabeth on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:18 am

in your dreams… price has been confirmed by many SAs.. close to 99k for 1.6 and close to 119k for 2.0 …

• iluvkimchi on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:48 am

Later will drop 10k to fufill the janji mah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • With that price, I rather go for something else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • old dog on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:05 am

Just ask Protong think they can sell their Inspira over RM70K, Kia position over RM100K will failed miserable…

• SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:09 am

Exterior looks good but the interior are boring,
    just look at the speaker grill,a bit off.
    The interior remembers the old model, especially the gear knob :)
    Uncle Ben gonna need bigger glasses to change the radio station..
    The engine are not bad for 2.0 161hp, but still not sure can fight against Lancer GT and Civic as its dpend on the auto-box as the old Forte 155hp+6speed 0-100kmh takes 10.5 scnds..
    The steering wheel are ugly with lots of buttons.
    Early conclusion, price point need to be under 100k to fight with the japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • MrPoppyplants on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:39 pm

They have been winning awards for exterior design, none for interior design and it clearly shows why lol.

They have Schreyer for the exterior, now they need someone good for the interior designs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:20 am

Should wait for the new mazda 3 instead. Sushi vs kimchi. Still sushi more preferable.

• I don’t understand.
    Some called it junk, some said it’s f%^#*@G ugly.
    What, you think you can do better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • RakyatMalaysia7 on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:53 am

Wow,a lot of butthurts peeps here..what’s the fuss anyway?? perceptions of people are different from one another..on my part,i want to see the results in a few months whether Kia making a wise decision on the pricing..understandable coz its a CBU instead of CKD forte

• Abg Long on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:53 am

for me, not worth it. too expensive for a kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Thanks hyundai for giving easier decision to me. Ok, gonna buy new mazda3 soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • “POWER TO SURPRISE” ..dream on Kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • As a current proud owner of forte 1.6, i doest feel weird their priced it at 99k-110k+ for CBU unit, lols..
    Is a C Segment car.. in this price and all this gadget, is still cheaper then civic and altis.

• Johnny on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:27 am

And the Award for Ugliest Interior Design of the Century goes to…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • neymar on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:31 am

dear sam,

for your information,vios is just a b segment car which is only famous in asean land whereas k3 is a international c segment car . Is different category.
    please dont simply give comment if still not sure what the car’s category/segment is. What a shame would be if you put these kind of comment into international forum……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • Calvin on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:33 am

Will the ckd version be cheaper? Usually by how much?
    Nice car but it is too costly.

• neymar on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:42 am

dear sam,

for your information,vios is b segment car only which is only famous in asean land whereas Kia k3 is c segment international car. please dont simply comment others brand or car if you still dont know the basic theory of car category is. what a shame would be if you put these kind of comments into international forum…..

• magnificolo on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:09 am

This is a C-segment car right? (correct me if I’m wrong).. Why there are ppl compare this with vios??
    Just compare it with civic, altis, M3, Elantra.. And worst, why are ppl compare with preve when the level of playing ground is unfair..
    More than 10k cheaper than jap on 2.0, with more features.. Errr, what to expect huh?? Just a matter of the design and handling to your liken.. Pls leave alone the RV (i think the RV for kimchi cars has improved for those new models eg, k5, i45 etc)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
  • STAN KIA on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:14 am

Overpriced!! Wont consider even the car looks fancy than forte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • some Malaysian still think KIA is like KIA 10 years ago… that’s the problem…
    Fact is, KIA has really improved a lot, specially in design wise..
    KIA gets positive comments from car reviewer all over the world.. and its has best value for money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
  • Can anybody name me a car in Malaysia which sits in C-segment sedan, have 10-way electric leather seat with memory, auto-chromic rear view mirror, air-conditioned seat, rear air-cond vents, auto-leveling xenon headlamps with DRL and sunroof? Oh yeah, not to mention the standard 17″ wheels, 6 airbags, tcs/ha/abs/etc, ambient lights all around the car….all of these for under RM120k. Can you name 1 car in Malaysia that can even come close in terms of pricing and spec wise?? And this is CBU. No CKD thingy here. At least not yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 77
    • Zend3r on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Preve :)

and yes i m just trolling u

• Hi proG,
      Korean car, too much electronics not easy to maintain and once it got haywire you would feel the pain.Most of Japanese manufacturer dont care about all the additional goodies offered to the customers, what most important is the good quality and reliable for long term. It is a matter of preference, either good design with extra goodies or reliable and joy of ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • 4G63T DSM on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:17 pm

I suppose most japanese here and local manufacturers don’t care about safety gear since there are more components to fail.

• RakyatMalaysia7 on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:43 pm

I see,so doesn’t this mean that Japanese doesn’t want to adapt to change (using electronics in a car)which is inevitable, n not willing to learn and improve from the problems when have electronic parts in car?? This is a way of me saying,”Japanese car manufacturers have their own reason of why they don’t do what we think they should do”..and certainly their reasons are not as yours,crybaby..Japs have the technologies and capabilities to rectify problems,maybe its not the time yet..idiot brainwashers mentality like u makes me sad as a malaysian

• I don’t care if you call me idiot brainwasher but you still didn’t get my point. We as a consumer has our own right either want to be a “lab rat” for the try end error effort from manufacturer rectify the problem or choose good and reliable cars which has been proven globally.
          I myself drove Mazda 3, and also got an electronic function but not as fancy and complicated as Korean made cars, and I’m satisfied with it. I also got a friend used Forte, and he always in and out from the Service center” due to electronic issues and others problem.
          I’m not condemning a Korean car, as long as the purpose are met a person preference it should be ok. Some prefer using an analogue watch, and some prefer a digital watch..but which one will sustain longer?? You can figure out yourself.

• Yoong on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:22 pm

the pricing mistake will kill the sales of Kia Cerato. Good luck Kimchi

• Abg Long on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:51 pm

value for my money, i vote preve. quality wise i prefer japs. design wise, yes this cerato is the winner. so if i wanna buy a car now, i’ll still go for preve :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Zend3r on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:27 pm

after looking at the price i got only this to say

no way in hell this ulgy kimchi car will sell good in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • i think the price is reasonable comparing jap cars.

it is still cheaper than the japs with the same or lower specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Guys, plz dont argue abt pricing anymore. if kia selling their 1.6 CBU below 90K, T & H 1.5 have to bungkus already, i don’t think they can sell their 1.5 car to other countries other than m’sia.

• Sparcov on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Saw this car in Doha, Not very impressive.
    Preferable the hyundai elantra design over this.

Well, this is my own view.

• neymar on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Let me correct some of anti korea fans here. After i went to review the Cerato in showroom just now. This car is really features with a lot of advance and safety features. PLEASE ACCEPT THE FACT or else the japanese fans here just doesn’t understand what the car’s technology and features is. probaby japanese fan here just only know what is honda and toyota and nothing else . so poor…please open your eyes and look at the features 6 airbag , auto mirror,rear aircond, steering sport mode….can japan provide you this feature??
    look at korea SAMSUNG , can anyone would expect the result they have today?? for those who so anti korea , please remember after 1o years from today if korea still make a bad car then you can continue critic them today…. AT LAST BE FAIR AND PLEASE APPREACIATE KOREAN ENGINEER EFFORT, THEY TRY SO HARD TO PROVIDE SUCH A LOT FEATURES TO THE CONSUMERS IN THE MARKET.GIVE A THUMB TO THEM instead of keep on critic korean car. IF YOU REALLY A CAR LOVER WE SHOULD ENCOURAGE THEM REGARDLESS KOREAN,JAPANESE,FRENCH,GERMAN,US. GIVE THEM A COMPETITIVE MARKET THEN THEY WILL IMPROVE A BETTER CAR WHICH WILL PARK INTO YOUR HOME CAR PORCH.COMPETITIVE MAKE BETTER PRODUCT . DONT just LET ONE JAPANESE CAR conquer the world ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • neymar on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Let me correct some of anti korea fans here. After i went to review the Cerato in showroom just now. This car is really features with a lot of advance and safety features. PLEASE ACCEPT THE FACT or else the japanese fans here just doesn’t understand what the car’s technology and features is. probaby japanese fan here just only know what is honda and toyota and nothing else . so poor…please open your eyes and look at the features 6 airbag , auto mirror,rear aircond, steering sport mode….can japan provide you this feature??
    look at korea SAMSUNG , can anyone would expect the result they have today?? for those who so anti korea , please remember after 1o years from today if korea still make a bad car then you can continue critic them today…. AT LAST BE FAIR AND PLEASE APPREACIATE KOREAN ENGINEER EFFORT, THEY TRY SO HARD TO PROVIDE SUCH A LOT FEATURES TO THE CONSUMERS IN THE MARKET.GIVE A THUMB TO THEM instead on keep on critic korean car. IF YOU REALLY A CAR LOVER WE SHOULD ENCOURAGE THEM REGARDLESS KOREAN,JAPANESE,FRENCH,GERMAN,US. GIVE THEM A COMPETITIVE MARKET THEN THEY WILL IMPROVE A BETTER CAR WHICH WILL PARK INTO YOUR HOME CAR PORCH.COMPETITIVE MAKE BETTER PRODUCT . DONT just LET ONE JAPANESE CAR conquer the world ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Yoong on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Ya,cant agree with u more. they were among the first automaker to give 5 years warranty to the customers in Bolehland n this forced others to follow as well. their innovations will continue to put pressure on other carmakers. Consumers will be the biggest beneficiary from the competition.

• klubing on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:14 pm

hmm..only different 40K++ from brunei kia cerato (28kbnd)(if convert)..monthly in brunei between b290-330 for 7 year (700++ – 800++ myr) per month. how much it will cost for per month in m’sia for full loan? 1K++ – 2K++ probably..i think prefer 4wd such hilux toyota..

• Comes this Friday, Ron 95 is gone and they introduce RON 91. Padan muka those who buy this car becoz this car can only go Ron 95 above.

• nighttrain on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:39 pm

The pricing part is not KIA’s job but NAZA Group, and MiTI(although they say they’re not involved). I propose NAZA tekan cukup-cukup their super luxury customers(not even an eyelash bat).

Price this Cerato lower lah, you can charge RM5m for an Aventador, they still buy. Charge RM200k for 1.8l Harley, they still buy. No need to hantam us middle income earners lah..

• Good! Price should be even higher, so no ppl buy. I willing to buy this if not much ppl driving it. esp Ah Beng Ah Lian please don;t buy. Thank you

• Let the car manufacturers fight… we all get benefits…. look at T Camry… 1st launch 2.0G no push start…. few months later.. come out push start. 2.5L even change to dual VVTI… Now a day Jap cars tought we are stupid. Just out some cars with low spec. After few months found out that cant sell, then upgrade. H Civic is another example. In US, current version already facelift. Its become 1st H car facelift within a year. Why… you all know the answer.

• fatin on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Kia model will decrease almost 40% after 2-3 years..aiyoo…2nd value car?think again guys..