Honda CR-V 2.4L introduced – 190 hp, RM169,800

crv-2.4-main

Honda Malaysia has introduced the Honda CR-V 2.4L with a 2.4 litre engine. The fourth-gen SUV was launched in March with a sole 2.0 litre engine choice.

The 2.4 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine makes 190 PS at 7,000 rpm, while max torque is rated at 222 Nm at 4,400 rpm. The 2.4 is a DOHC engine (2.0 SOHC) with a 35 PS/32 Nm advantage over the 2.0, although both max figures are made at higher rpms. With the new engine, the CR-V completes the 0-100 km/h sprint in 10.6 seconds on to a 190 km/h top speed. The 2.0 manages 12.7 seconds and 183 km/h.

Kit wise, the CR-V 2.4L gets leather seats, an eight-way powered driver seat, Smart Entry System (keyless entry) with push start button and steering shift paddles for the five-speed automatic gearbox. Also included are auto wipers, 6.1-inch touch-screen audio and navigation system (with reverse camera) and Bluetooth audio with hands-free telephone system (HFT).

dashboard

On the outside, a CR-V 2.4L features auto HID projector headlamps, chrome door handles and 18-inch wheels with 225/60 tyres, one inch up from the 2.0’s 225/65 R17. Safety wise, this range topper boasts six airbags with the addition of curtain airbags. The 2.0 has four airbags, front and side.

Available in five colours – Twilight Blue Metallic, Taffeta White, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Crystal Black Pearl, Modern Steel Metallic (new) – the Honda CR-V 2.4L is priced at RM169,800 OTR with insurance, a RM21,000 premium over the RM148,800 2.0.

Read our review of both the CR-V 2.0 and 2.4 here. We also took the Comfortable Runabout Vehicle on a spin around Langkawi recently, and you can read that local test report here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seancorr on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:48 am

Much cheaper pricing compared to the initial price…kudos Honda Malaysia…now to improve on your after sales service and intervals!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 33
    • It’s interesting to see how people fall prey into this price psychology play. Cock up a super bloated price to begin with, then introduce the car at a lower but still bloated price and some people will jump with joy. Sad.

RM169 is no doubt overpriced for the specs you get. At RM10k cheaper you can get a turbocharged engine which is miles and years ahead of this lethargic and ancient Honda engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 26
      • wan83 on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:58 pm

We, Msian tends to look at power only and forget about safety. Honda make cars even safer that their Europe counterpart. Say that, you’re actually paying the premium to get you alive if you happen to be in a crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 50
        • Moores on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Safer than Europe counterpart? Can you find any 5 star Euro Ncap in a Honda here in Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
        • First time im hearing honda makes safer cars then thier euro counterparts.. the Kuga is 10k less with more airbags

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
          • theanswer on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:15 pm

people failed to realized that crv is bigger. but have to say that kuga is still the best buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
        • wan83, are you sleeping or plain naive with that statement of safety you made?

• jolly_idiot on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Malaysian are ah beng and mat rempit. Our life is cheap and crap

• Rulered on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Japanese car for Asean market are light years behind in terms of safety aspect compared to European cars period! Not many Japanese car (maybe except Mazda CX5) for our market have 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, isofix or Euro NCAP 5 stars safety all packed in one and this is still considered quite minimal, compare this to Kuga, 3008 or XC 40. This of course when we only talk on safety features alone.

• ABTguy on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:46 pm

I think we kudos to Hyundai, as it gives Honda some heacache with Santa Fe and hence more “user-friendly” pricing from Honda.

But, where is the sun roof & extra 2 kids seats ? Just incorporate that lah what’s so difficult !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:55 pm

You must be joking. The new Santa Fe only comes with 2-airbags and is priced much higher. Expect Hyundai Malaysia to get a beating this time round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Jimmy on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:57 pm

No. They always have kilangs coffee and coffee shops, no headache. Just wait and see in the next 2 to 3 years.

• underskinned on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:51 am

Eh? Cheaper than the anticipated RM190k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Tactic.
      But I still praise them for 6 airbags for a mainstream vehicles. Good.

• Tyler Durden on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:52 am

Holy cow. Expensive indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 14
  • MG250 on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:58 am

7000 rpm to achieve the max hp?? Gilakah? Honda always like to show high hp but need crazy rpm like 7000. Who on earth will ramp up to 7000?? By the way 170K for this piece of potato??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 20
    • Kinda makes me wonder why there are people buying this car with its interior looking so dull than ever..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 24
    • neemfa on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:31 pm

For this kind of vehicle, torque is more important.. the powerband for the 2.4 lump is actually good.. you’ll get close to 200Nm under normal driving condition, and 222Nm at 4,400rpm, so you don’t really need to do pedal to the metal to get it moving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
      • come on neemfa. 200Nm for this potato is under power. Max torque at 4400rpm is a laughing stock vs. competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
        • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Ur a real joker.U think people who buy SUVs are bothered at the max torque? U think SUvs are for racing ar? Most of the jokers here judge a car from their own perspective but instead fail to understand what is the main purpose of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 54
          • ^ The master joker ^

What is the main purpose of the car from you point of view then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Storm on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:20 pm

I don’t think moon’s comment is funny and when did anyone here mention about racing? For many people, yes they do bother about torque but NOT hp. CRV are already well known to be very under powered and poor fuel economy. But I think you are right on certain people who don’t bother about torque, those CRV faithful like old uncles and aunties which I saw so many driving a CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • hp: racing
            torque : everyday driveability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
          • joker on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Maserati, you are the real joker here. Torque at low rpm is what most people generally need for flexibility in driving. An SUV with low revving engine and high torque is ideal. Outright power at high rpm is suited to a racing Maserati. You should educate yourself before calling others a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • I think you are the only one who is joker. This kind of heavy SUV need good torque at low rpm. Example if u go out a junction with heavy traffic, u do not need to rev till 4000rpm compared to 2000rpm (turbo)

• Rulered on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:09 pm

SUV needs high torque to move especially big bulky ones, that’s why most of 4WDs run on diesel because they get torquey with diesel. They do not need high top speed because SUVs have higher centre gravity, top speed is meant for racing a car not SUV.

• “U think people who buy SUVs are bothered at the max torque? U think SUvs are for racing ar?”

Torque is not for high speed, thus ur comment does not make sense.
            Now who is the joker here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
        • theanswer on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:18 pm

pls understand torque curve between NA and turbo. have to agree that nowadays suv or mpv better off with turbo with early torque peak. easier to drive and give better fc. my vote will go to santa fe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • I am agree with neemfa. Actually for this kind of SUV, max torque at low-mid range of rpm is ok, as people who buy this kind of vehicle usually drive under normal condition. Besides the max hp at high rpm is acceptable because its engine is naturally-aspirated, usually max hp churned at high-end rpm, like the S2000. What’s improtant is the fact that the torque at mid range is sufficient. I’m not a fan of Honda, but big manufacturers know their targeted customer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • GT3, since when does the CRV offer max torque at low/mid rpm? 4400 rpm mind you my fren. You call that low/mid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • 4400rpm can be considered mid-range rpm la my friend. As most cars’ max rev is at about 7500rpm. How low do u expect it to be? Max torque at 2000rpm? Even the idle rpm is already around 800-1000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • kelso on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:25 am

People forget the 2.4 is a Normal aspirated engine, as such unless you’ve got a very small bore and long travel engine, you won’t get high torque at low RPMs. If you have a forced induction engine, because of the greater compression ratio, it is possible.

Same reason as to why diesel engines are long stroked and have low max rpms…

Of course, we can go on talking for days about this.

• neemfa on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:08 am

Unfortunately a lot of readers are misinformed, uninformed or have no clue at all.. they don’t understand the characteristics of K-series engine. It has decent amount of torque at late 2.8-3k’ish rpm, and this k24 torque tops out at 4.4k rpm. That’s the normal everyday driving rpm range, and the torque curve is pretty much flat.

• Nope..if ur a driving a turbocharged engine or Turbodiesel, u wont need to rev more than 2,500rpm for normal driving…u have the max torque from 1,500rpm already…sooo effortless driving & its save fuel too…at 2,500rpm, u’ll be doing 140-160kph for most turbo petrols/turbo diesels

• Potato indeed. Best ever description.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Bro MG250, max hp is usually achieve at top rev range anyway (near red line)…It is max torque at which rev range that you worry about… But having said that… there is not a lot torque in this car anyway…

• Kereta Man on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Nicely specced.. kept the price down too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
  • @bong on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:02 pm

now that is quite a better price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
  • Get Mazda CX5 better. If you do not care about emotions,passion and look at badge only, go for this lo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 23
    • neemfa on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Of course, the CX-5 is better is some way, but it is wrong to say this CR-V is emotionless.. surely it is one of the nicest suv to drive.. in fact, CX-5, CR-V and Kuga are quite close in term of driving enjoyment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
      • Well, I can only picture uncles and aunties having smiley faces on CRVs. Too much torque will blow off their wigs, hence a lethargic CRV is perfect for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
        • neemfa on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:11 am

It’s ok if you hate the CRV so bad.. or did you just got smoked by an auntie or uncle in the SUV? must be pretty bad day for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • Kinda good. More equipped than current 2.4 accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • The 2.0 needs 12.7 seconds for 0-100km, this is really sucks. No wonder its known to be under powered and high fuel consumption. Looking at CX-5, its 9.4 seconds. That’s more than 3 seconds different!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
    • Are you sure CX5 is 9.4 sec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • Yes, read few websites and many came with similar results. Remember Cx-5 is a direct injection engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • theanswer on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:20 pm

relax bro. buyers of this suv will only look for the badge. as long as it’s a honda or crv..they will buy it. they know nothing abt power to weight ratio or fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • 6.1 touch screen….. So is reverse camera included??? Or just the reverse sensors???

• SR Turbo on Jul 02, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Rather get a CX-5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
  • RM170k seems fairly price with that kind of kit and spec, at least not as strtosphiracally(my word)initial rumors of RM190k. Thou I still think Kuga or the CX-5, thou smaller, is still a better alternative.

But hey its a Honda, Haters gonna hate, lovers gonna praise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
    • Another sucker who is conned by the price psychology. Sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
      • Another Honda hater conned by concept of everything Honda = shit, sigh…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
      • RON97 on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:15 pm

this gay called ‘moon’ hold all her savings to buy a brand new Japanese vehicle this year, with budget not more thank 50 grand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • RON97, get your grammar correct. If you want to use the word gay, you need to refer as “his” not “her”.

Shame on AVH who thinks I’m a Honda hater. I drive a Honda btw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • Oh ,shame on me than, but your comment does mirror that of a stereotypical Honda hater, given no solid reason but straight on its flaws and stating this is thing is shit is actually a ‘fact’.

Why do I think the CR-V is decent at the price. Well, the competition its facing is mostly with the Kuga and CX-5. You get about the same specs in both car which leaves the factor on the engine. At 190Ps, its power is the highest of the 3, But at 7000rpm, chances are u are never going to use it, but both Ford and Mazda are at 5.7k and 6k respectively so u r not going to reach those either. So Torque; It has 20Nm advantage over the Mazda at a 400rpm higher rev line, but the Ford knocks both out with Turbo engine, kicking 10NmA MORE than the Honda at ONLY 1700rpm. Now these are all winning numbers for the Ford but knock me out on this one, but I don’t really trust the Ford’s little engine when it comes to longevity. You can laugh all you one now, but after reading a threat on Jalopnik, there was a worrying factor on how the complex Ecoboost engine in Fords will fair in 6 years time, and I know people keeping their car for longer. The Mazda still has a NA engine, but it has ridiculously high compression ratio so not knowing that factor either. Hoda VTEC are built infamous for lasting almost forever after the everything else dies in the car. Now if r u really going to argue the sprint time on these cars, when is the last time u drag race 2 family-oriented SUV.

The Honda I felt is roomier of the two with bigger windows giving an airier rooms, It also has rear air vents along with the Ford. It doesn’t share the Ford’s boot kick open, but it does have a one-pull seat folding all the better. All in all,I still believe the Honda better suited for families, where if u are still single and prefer some style, the Mazda and Fors is still a better choice. I defend the CRV because I believe the current CRV is an improvement over the predecessor. The 2.0, unnoticed with all the hate, is actually RM1k cheaper then the last gen, with better specs. So is not like Honda lagged back is more like the competition has put all its got and went ahead. The 2.4l was never in the Malaysian market b4 so, there’s no predecessor to actually compare. This gen of CRV came when Honda was in difficult financial time which produce the Disappointing. FB Civic, Why was it disappointing? it was worse than the predecessor. It was reported Honda will be putting the newer 2.0 DI EarthDream engine in future (probably FL) Civic and CRV, but that will probably in 2015, where I think could (I say could) be a year for Honda. And yes I too rAegularly drive a Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
          • Whoa! Thanks for the thesis reply! U sure do take the CRV seriously, don’t you? Good for you and I wish you many happy days driving it. Still a potato in my books.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
          • I actually regularly drive a City E, not one of Honda’s finest moments but it’s still do, did all its told and delivers. But my point on the CRV is this, its not as brilliant as the praisers says, but not as terrible as the haters(in which there are many)lambasted. It’s an improvement over the last and any car that are should be view with some light. They didn’t did what what Mazda and Ford did, but it was a constant and steady improvement over the last. cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Hahaha,dont know what price u were thinking this CRV 2.4 is gonna launch at.RM 190k? ahahah,thats because ur stupid to believe that price.

This CRV is awesome and is much nicer to drive than a KUGA.Besides the KUGA only has a 1.6 turbo which will feel strained at higher RPMs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 49
        • kereta lembu on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:21 pm

1.6 turbo will feel strained at higher RPMs? 1st of all, are you sure? 2nd of all, many people judge the engine capacity and brush if off because its smaller than the 2.4 in the CRV. Mind you, you’d be surprised at what the small humble 1.6 Turbo can do compared to the 2.4 NA engine. If performance alone is not enough, the lower road tax compared to the 2.4 would make up for any so called ‘higher RPM strains’. If you didn’t know, low RPM with higher torque is more important anyway for daily usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
          • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Hello, i have 2 turbocharged cars lah. My golf tsi 1.4 is powerful but at high speeds , more than 160kmh it feels strained. My golf gti no problems lah cuz its a 2.0.

Mind u, vw tsi engines are much more superior to whatever 1.6 turbo engine thats in that kuga. It will probably feel like. A 308 turbo. Really strained at high speeds!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
          • neemfa on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:20 am

That’s what a few reviewers have mentioned.. they compared crv/kuga/cx5/tiguan/sportage.. the kuga felt restrained at higher rpm, but that doesn’t matter because ppl who buy SUV won’t be bothered at all.. very close competition but buyers won’t get wrong picking either one.. (of course, sportage is less enjoyable to drive).

• Who buys 2 golfs? weird

• Sorry to bother you, MR/Mrs moon, may I know what car are you driving?

• I drive a Honda. :)

So for all you out there who thinks I’m a Honda hater, shame on you. I’m just spilling the facts fair and square. This CRV is a potato and that’s a fact. Shame on Honda M’sia to throw us a junk at bloated price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
          • neemfa on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:21 am

You must hate your Honda very much.. but it’s ok, we all feel for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Sad case neemfa. I see so many assumptions coming from you. You assume my harsh comments = a dislike for the CRV. You assume a dislike for CRV = a dislike for Honda. You assume my comments about uncles and aunties driving CRV = I got smoked by them. Pity. It’s assumptions like these that can destroy you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • makes much more sense than the good-looking Santa Fe in my opinion.

6 airbags and with a lot more goodies in the list. CRV is the choice if I were to get an SUV now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
  • iluvhonla on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Hmmm… honda delay launhing the 2.4 on purpose?

• foxtrot on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:26 pm

hello fuel guzzler
    the low end torque is just saaad…
    ford kuga seems like a better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Sun and moon roof, including the DRL have been taken out. What a waste.

• Uncle Honda on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:51 pm

I wanna trade in my 2011 CRV for this, but the value of trading in my old one is ridiculous, only RM100k. . .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • wan83 on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:59 pm

As always, too many people who can’t afford a Honda babbling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
  • slightly cheaper than Hyundai Santa Fe – korean brand..very interesting….!!

• seancorr on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Ur making it sound like the Koran car is more expansive than the Japanese one!

Wish this had front corner sensors though

• KennyKT on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:31 pm

nehh….i still prefer my Mazda CX5….. :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 11
    • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 119
      • 400cc difference.. WOAH HUGGGGEEEEE.

CX5 still the better car, cheaper, safer, more efficient. That’s a huge difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
        • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Yea 400 cc is so small till KIA decided to price their 1.6 cerato nearly 19 k cheaper than the 2.0 cerato!

Woaaaahhhh! So small difference!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
          • Chill la bro.. Don’t need to change topic from Mazda to KIA..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • KennyKT on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:04 pm

ehhh….i m not comparing both…i m just saying i prefer my cx5, BTW dun tell me tis 2.4 is not as same segment as cx5 ya moron….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
        • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Hello moron! If u like ur cx5, dont need to come here mention lah . Brainless betul!

If like that, everyone can say ” i prefer my bmw”
          ” i prefer my merc” . Will never end right? Moron!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 87
      • Compare the specs bro!
        Engine cc isnt’ everything
        Cx-5 0-100 takes ~9.5secs
        Crv 0-100 takes 10.6 secs
        Cx-5 2.4litre 0-100 if i remember correctly takes about 8.5seconds
        Clearly crv tech is outdated

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
      • Turboman on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:46 pm

I have seen most of your comments in the past. Wanted to reply but most of the time I told myself not to. Cause u are set in your ways and im fine with that. Freedom of speech and opinion and I respect your enthusiasm with defending the jap brands ie honda.

However u crosses the line today. Calling another forumer stupid just because he has an opposing view is simply a disgrace. If you cannot win, improve your arguement. If not, accept the fact that u do not know all and even if u think u do, a bit of humility goes a long way.

U said u have a golf tsi and gti. Thats rm360 k worth of vehicle demanding rm4k per month. That should mean u r quite well to do possesing a good level of education and social standing. U shud be ashamed of yourself.

Only a guy who is full of himself, with a godlike superiority complex would call another human being stupid. Remember, 1 finger pointing others, 3 pointing at yourself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
        • Cyndie on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:48 am

Couldnt agree more.

• He sells Honda for a living. Being rich in Msia doesn’t necessary means well educated. Chance, Connection, Corruption is all the many ways you can get rich here.

However, you’re right on that he has superiority complex. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • TIGER760LI on Jul 02, 2013 at 2:59 pm

2.4 L comes with DOHC engine and not SOHC note pls means 2.4 L got old technology DOHC engine means service intervals must be every 5K Km.
    not worthy Honda cheat again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • In Malaysia DOHC SOHC also 5k service la.. no difference.

• Texas on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:16 pm

5k km for mineral oil, 10k km for fully synthetic. Who use mineral oil nowadays?

• Rumours want to sell RM190k…It just the tester to market…with the CX5, Kuga, Santa Fe around, RM170k still can steal some undecided buyer. I have test drove for CX5 and kuga, I think all have the pro and con. The important that the driver like the feeling when driving and of course match their budget. No doubt the CRV is much more spaces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • It’s funny to see ppl say it’s better get kuga cx-5 etc. In the end please just look at the cars otr. CR-v booking tops 4k already. Ppl here in paultan mostly i think are those who can’t afford to buy one. It’s still the best value for money for me. CX-5 n kuga also not bad, just that if I were to buy suv in 170k range, this will absolutely by my choice. Now have to wait first, bought accord already at higher price :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • “best value for money for me”. You talking RV keh? It’s actually the most expensive of all the 3 option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • muaz, pls realize this. The forummers here are mostly enthusiasts. The vast majority out there are NOT enthusiasts. They are the ones who will just buy anything toyota or honda throws out in the market. Enthusiasts are more informed of their choices and they make intelligent comparisons including test drives and etc.

We all can afford a CRV mind you and I hope you don’t draw those silly conclusions that we enthusiasts are just critics who can’t afford to buy that expensive potato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
  • athlon88 on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Malaysians still Malaysians… you make complains, hates and criticizing all brands of cars… who doesn’t know conti cars are better in built quality but not many people really care that… it’s your own choice and if you think CX5 better, go and buy… honestly, I don’t see any issue for CRV selling RM169k… every brand has their supporters and don’t call people potato or idiots or something else… respect yourself and fellow Malaysians…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • nobody call each other potato. we only call the car potato.

read lah first before comment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
  • Tyler Durden on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Any idea if this has reverse sensors?

• Can someone explain ‘bad’ about this car? Except it’s slower, I can’t really complain about this car actually. Practical, safety, easy driving experience, low maintenance. Seriously, what so bad about this car? Do you expect people bought a SUV to drag race on the road? Throw around corner? Seriously, no matter how good a Honda is, people will complain it no matter what. If NSX is launched, people will complain too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Not true. i think NSX is a pretty good car. But this CRV is a potato for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
      • How potato is it? Can you briefly tell me?

• 2 main reasons : price and power train. Actually it’s mostly the price. If Honda would have priced it more competitively with CX-5, it wouldn’t get the potato award.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
        • Now tell me, is CX-5 parts availability as much as CR-V? Is Mazda after sales service better than Honda? Is Mechanic more familiar with CR-V or CX-5?
          This is the main issue people tends to go mainstream car, less hesitating and low profile.
          To me, no problem getting a CX-5, but to others, they not willing to take the risk.
          Now let me show you an example: Do you know gadget freaks hate iOS (iPhone and iPad) the most? But average people use it like heaven. They hate it like you all hate Toyota and Honda. How many f you using iOS product happily, but for me, I can point out any flaws of iOS, like you guys point out on CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Good try Sun, but not convincing.

Firstly, I’m not a Honda hater. You assumed that and shame on you. I welcome all brands but I’m disgusted when a company tries to take advantage by selling a product higher than the market value without offering any differentiating features. That is EXACTLY what the CRV is. Another example is the soon-to-be lacerated Cerato which was just launched yesterday.

You talked about people being afraid to buy a non-Toyota/Honda due to parts availability etc., but it is this fear that trapped us in this vicious cycle where RV of conti will always be low and the fear reinforces itself. We need to break away from that.

Now to iOS. iOS is different. Apple charged a premium to it but they offer very important areas of usability, reliability, convenience and overall user experience which surpassed all other brands when it was launched. They have a good reason to charge the premium and people willing to pay for it. The geeks hated it because of the specs on paper that’s lower than Androids but it doesn’t matter as long as our overall experienced was improved out of it. See the difference? It’s just like Samsung coming out with a 3.0L engine but Apple with a 2.0L engine with turbo which gives you an overall driving experience better than a 3.0L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
  • Brazbuz on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Sure in term of value of money, cx5 n kuga wins. But for long term, crv wins for aftersales n RV. Thats why uncle n 4k other people keep choosing crv. But then each people have their own opinion n perception when choosing the car. We have to accept that malaysian still focus on aftersales n RV. For me thats not a wrong decision just unsensible choice for motorhead like us. Happy motoring guys no need to use bad word here. We gathered to share some knowledge not hating each other…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • For me, CX-5 still my 1st priority. Great driving and fc lack of turbo means lower maintenance too. But problem is lack of service centre, parts might be taken too long to arrive as it needs to import from overseas and lack of third party support. If for my father and mother, definitely bought them a CR-V, less hesitating. A car sells well because after sales is good, after sales is good because a car sells well. Infinite loop isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Brazbuz on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Thats my point, many of T n H buyer just wanna hussle free car. Eventhough not that good on material n build quality, they just want peace of mind for the next 5-9 years of ownership. Whats the point having high quality n superb ride when u suddenly having an accident n have to keep the car 2-3 months in d workshop waiting for the parts.thats in older generation mind. We, the younger generation of coz want something that value for money bcoz car in msia is not that cheap. So i guess ‘tepuk dada tanya selera’ . Decision is yours…

• If you want to play safe and go mainstream, then don’t complain of lack of car choices or expensive conti cars etc. The vicious cycle is there and the choice of breaking it is in your hands. Don’t just acknowledge it. Do something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • SeanN on Sep 02, 2013 at 2:42 am

Moon, if you going to put a price for the CRV 2.4, how much you put for this potato? Let say comparing it with Kuga and CX-5?

• shawal on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:20 pm

passenger seat not electric
    rear bench don’t recline…
    no panoramic glassroof…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Predator on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:39 pm

So in order to get leather seat from Honda u need to pay high 169 k while kuga n cx5 much cheaper can offer u leather seat,,,last time for the previous model crv no leather seat soi asked salesman why no leather seat he gave lamest excuse ever saying that it will disturb the deployment of side airbags but when they wanted to clear stock they offered leather seats n jack the price 3 k,,,other competitiors can give leather seat despite higher tech n cbu but for made in Melaka vehicle 150 k no leather seats. This tells a lot about the company full of lies n cons n operated pirate style. Lucky now there’s s’more options for Malaysians to choose like kuga n cx5 n so on,,,greed leads to grave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • mooncake2 on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Exactly right Predator. That’s why I call it an expensive potato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Suntharram on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:00 pm

well said predator…..I still think kuga is the best choice for me as what I was looking at was the exterior and interior specs was good…except gps and reverse camera….but the sas part of it is , not fully leather whereby it’s only partial and the driver seat is not automatic adjustable….but one thing good about kuga is it’s a CBU unit from Spain……Still keeping fingers crossed on booking this kuga….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Cheapo Honda Malaysia didn’t include LED DRL as part of the equipment. Leaving the DRL reflector compartment empty looks really bad, same goes to the Insight!

• old dog on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:40 pm

The day CRV rules the street of small SUV has gone…

CX-5 the next ruler in this range of SUV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • elgringo on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:43 am

finally a comparable SUV to the ever popular Toyota Harrier 240G…
    Unreg recon 4 speed Harriers are still around this price

• Pongee on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:06 am

To all the critics in this forum, I wonder whether you have test drove the CRV, Kuga or CX5 before you come to your conclusions. Otherwise your views are just a figment of your imagination and don’t expect everyone to agree with you then. Time will tell whether a turbo engine is better than NA

• wan83 on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:46 am

These critics’ just plain waste of time Pongee. They’re complaining because they can’t afford one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • I have. Have you Pongee?

wan83, you keep looking down at people in this forum for not being able to buy one. Is that a psychological reflection of your true self and your financial capability?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • lolwth on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:53 pm

are you crazy buying ford in msia? heard of any crazy news like sc doesnt warranty ur parts? ya thats ford for you, buy the car and it drops value 30% atleast look at the mudah prices and used car prices.

• savemorsi on Jul 06, 2013 at 6:32 pm

my1st choice KUGA 1.6 ecoboost 180hp/240 torque
    2nd CX5…3rd crv 2.4

• Forget about the RV, too me RV it’s not reason I love CRV 2.4 version. But the huge boot room and ergonomics design CRV provided. Its meaningless, get a car because it got better performance n advantage in price but couldn’t offer what u really need from SUV can do. CRV have it all. Come on, CRV just cost addition 10% more from CX5 /kuga but she gave what i want but not paying 90% of my money for a car I dunwant…

• takeri on Aug 08, 2013 at 1:54 pm

In term of performance and tech. Cx5 is winner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Johnson Lim on Nov 09, 2013 at 8:43 am

May I know if the new CRV 2.4L engine is reliable. I prefer a vehicle with good reliability rather than breaking down all the time. With turbo charge etc… in the European make, are they reliable for the hot Malaysian weather? Hope somebody could enlighten me on this. Thanks.

• papa rock on Nov 18, 2013 at 11:21 pm

got my crv 2.4 recently.so far,so good.

• with a 2.4L engine, is it still sluggish?

• young daddy on Jun 22, 2014 at 11:55 pm

hi, i just bought this 2.4l crv.im a restaurant owner, and always on the go. usually to pick of stock and etc..basically im on the road daily about 2-3hours. previously i owned a ford fiesta, and it was full of expectation at first, but after 2years of use, too much hassle and problem. especially with the durability of the steering rack and engine. not reliable. so my opinion for crv 2.4l is it offers comfort driving, boot space is superb, easy to drive no hassle, keyless entry and push start button are too awesome, rear airvents nice! and so on. bummer on no parking sensor, sound system not up to my par, and im just 25years old, not an uncle at all. overall im pretty damn satisfied. tq