Kia Cerato launched – 1.6 RM99,888, 2.0 RM118,888

Kia Cerato launch-4

The Kia Cerato has been officially launched in Malaysia – the successor to the successful Forte is available here in 1.6 and 2.0 litre variants.

The dual-CVVT 1.6 litre Gamma II MPI unit develops 130 PS and 157 Nm of torque, and can return a quoted 6.8 litres per 100 km on a combined cycle.

New to the Cerato, the 2.0 litre Nu MPI produces 161 PS and 194 Nm of twist, with fuel consumption quoted at 7.0 litres per 100 km. Both engines are coupled to a six-speed auto gearbox.

Kia Cerato launch-21

Penned by Kia’s American Design Centre in California, the Kia Cerato sports a prominent, honeycombed and chrome-surrounded ‘Tiger Nose‘ grille, swept-back headlamps with LED DRL eyebrows, a striking kick-up lower body crease and wrap-around LED rear lamps.

Being longer, lower and wider than the car it replaces, with a wheelbase stretched by 50 mm to 2,700 mm, the C-segment sedan promises more cabin room throughout, as well as a six-litre jump in boot volume to 421 litres.

A new dashboard layout holds a centre stack angled towards the driver and a new three-spoke steering wheel with audio, cruise control and Bluetooth hands-free controls. The driver’s seat is 10-way electrically adjustable, with two memory settings.

Kia Cerato launch-29

The motor-driven power steering (essentially EPS) gets FlexSteer, which offers Comfort, Normal and Sport settings. Suspension is handled by MacPherson struts up front and a coupled torsion beam out back, and those 17-inch five-spoke alloys are wrapped in 215/45 series tyres.

The list of standard-across-the-range features is long, including door mirror-mounted welcome lamps, fog lamps, reverse camera, keyless entry and start, park assist, dual-zone climate control with rear air vents and cluster ioniser, auto demister and 60:40 split folding back seats.

On the safety front, there are six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), VSM, ESC, TCS, Brake Assist, ISOFIX, speed-sensing auto door lock and impact-sensing auto door unlock. The Kia Cerato has a five-star NHTSA and Australian NCAP safety rating.

What the 2.0 gains over the 1.6 are self-levelling HID projector headlamps (halogen for 1.6), a rear spoiler, sunroof, supervision cluster (dot matrix LCD for 1.6) and leather seats with air ventilation for the driver (fabric, no ventilation for 1.6).

Locally assembled in Gurun, Kedah, the Kia Cerato can be had in Clear White, Glittering Metal, Bright Silver, Temptation Red and Golden Beat exterior colours. Kia Malaysia targets sales of 600 units monthly.

Kia Cerato launch-23

Also at the launch event in Pavilion KL, the winner of the Project C contest, Adam Ng, was presented with the keys to a Cerato 1.6. A total of 3,227 entries were received and the top 50 shortlisted finalists had to submit a tagline for the Cerato to win the grand prize.

On-the-road prices including insurance are RM99,888 for the 1.6 and RM118,888 for the 2.0. Included is a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage. Read our test drive report on both 1.6 and 2.0 variants here.

Besides live pics from the launch event below, we have another big set of images from the showroom here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• namanama on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:53 pm

overrated ordinary overpriced car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 574 Thumb down 54
    • Kalimaca Chan on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Alangkah susah…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 9
      • Wasting money.. better buy toyota or honda…. RM100,000 for korea car… puihhh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 308 Thumb down 172
        • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Exterior looks good but the interior are boring,
          just look at the speaker grill,a bit off.
          The interior remembers the old model, especially the gear knob :)
          Uncle Ben gonna need bigger glasses to change the radio station..
          The engine are not bad for 2.0 161hp, but still not sure can fight against Lancer GT and Civic as its dpend on the auto-box as the old Forte 155hp+6speed 0-100kmh takes 10.5 scnds..
          The steering wheel are ugly with lots of buttons.
          Early conclusion, price point need to be under 100k to fight with the japanese car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 31
          • carlies on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Naza and Sime Darby always shiok sendiri. Place the price close to Japanese car?

Seems like they don’t care much about the sales of these Korean car which only a minimum contribution to their core business.

Who is going to buy these junk? More choices instead of this Korean product since you have this budget.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 26
          • great features and specifications..
            however, it’s still korean.
            and korean’s car never should be priced like this..not yet

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 17
          • Wisdom on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:42 am

They are completely wrong on the pricing. RM15K price jump for 1.6 and RM20K for 2.0, for a basically new forte. Yes they’ve change the name to cerato but everybody knows its a forte. This wont boom like the last forte.

They say Japanese car lack of feature. But features like paddle shift or dual zone aircond or welcome light are unnecessary extra. Rear cam can be fix in accessory shop less than 1k. Electric seat, ventilated seat, are item we can do without. Airbags? Last forte 2.0 full of airbags but can be sold at 98k?

As i mentioned last time, the logical price point is around 88K for 1.6 and 108k the most for 2.0. We know these price already comes with fat margin. Now they are pushing even further?

Now we have to take thing in our hands. Please dont support high car prices like this. Please boicot this car until they lowered the prices. Please my fellow malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 10
        • Janji Dicapati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Nice, the price is more expensive that the outgoing model. There goes the promise of lower car prices by the government…

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 168 Thumb down 159
          • Wisdom on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:53 am

Politic aside, the high price is the dealer call.
            Nothing to do with the G. Any G we elect, same thing will happen if these bloodsucking company kept fed by you, the consumer.
            Yes, to bring down the car prices, we have to be smart and patient. Dont support high car prices by NOT BUYING them..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 40
        • Jimmy on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:45 pm

A bit more successful, already become bongkak; current 1.6 = previous 2.0 but increase in price with decrease in engine size. Now priced in Altis range. Better buy Altis with better resale value.
          And, the 3rd to 5th year warranty is covered by insurance company. And you and I know lah how easy it is to claim from insurance company; you wait for a century for a simple thing, and banyak helah-helah.
          Do you think we do not have friends or relatives who own Kia’s vehicles? So you know how famous your warranty is.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 20
          • carlies on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Definitely go for Altis la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 22
        • ThePolygon on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Win in terms of features, lose in terms of price. End of the day it’s $$$ that counts :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 6
        • 2.0 = RM118,888? If that is the case, like other readers here, I’ll buy a Japanese car. Or else, I may consider a Ford Focus Titanium+.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 11
          • I agree with you. imho , if i was buying a car, I will choose the focus. that focus looks somewhat more elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • OMG…This car with so many features yet still cheaper than the current kosong altis 1.6… puihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • paul lim on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:40 am

typical korean car hater..pui…

• ZJohnKing on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:53 pm

If you know korean and their culture, you will not buy Korean product. The behaviour of their nation reflect their personality in building a car. It has a lot under carpet, they copied, they lie and they can do anything just to get the work done. After they have your trust, now they increase the price despite it is still a lousy technology that is totally not reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • They thought the’ve tame the Malaysian market with their previous cars, hence now start to increase the price like hell. What a piece of garbage thinking (and car too).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 281 Thumb down 17
      • unforgiven on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:25 am

Price, Naza service, brand name will do a lot of talking for this car.

It’s not easy to go into US market unless they offer super good deal, like 10 years warranty for Hyundai on power train.

• Jimmy on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:33 pm

The target market is lower income group. Don’t put S-class specs in Waja and sell it at Camry’s price, exception being 7 airbags and ESP. Doing this just showed your greed, paksa beli dingdingdongdong bersama sekaligus.

• OMG…Nice car except the price…better adding a bit to get Japanese car loh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 11
      • car lies on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:33 pm

This is typical Korean style. The interior is too “Kia-ish” same the Hyundai or Kia car 15 years ago. Malaysian, don’t get cheated purely on the outlook. As a car buyer, much more things to be considered. This is totally OUT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
    • seancorr on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Well KIA deserves some praise for having memory electric seat for the driver as this is usually reserved for luxury models and so is the air ventilated seat…last I saw was on a Merc S Class!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 15
      • Yes totally understood. But it’s just add it to the cost and pass it to the consumer only. They get the pride for all the so called features given and we’ll be the sucker if we ever support in buying this. Off all the features I will only give credit on the 6 airbags provided. We don’t have choice cos in this model don’t come in different version for us to choose on a same cc capacity. Previously they have done justice in the Forte pricing and when the products move now, they become greedy. You should built the confidence of their potential customer in ahead by selling in a reasonable price and yet with sufficient safety features rather in ripping them apart on a extreme hike on the price. It’s a total rip of for that price, on a brand yet to be proof in durability and the consistency of the resale value.

• Not expensive at all if u compared to Polo Sedan, Civic, Mazda 3 and Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 141
      • Ah Beng on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:39 am

Have u actually driven the previous forte 1.6?
        Compared to Altis 1.8, forte 1.6 is like half the power Altis 1.8 can give u. Go test drive it and feel the underpowered engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
    • Which gong kia will order this gong car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 10
    • Ah Beng on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:37 am

Kia claim this cerato is C-segment, but give B-segment engine. Summore Kia’s 1.6 engine is already underpowered compared to jap’s 1.6.
      Indeed overpriced. The design not that nice also.
      Stupid Kia, stupid Naza, stupid buyer.
      If buy this car want show off also cannot, ppl straight away think you stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 42
      • japunderpowered on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:26 am

Not only 1.6l, even Jap 2.0l engine is underpowered : skyactiv-G 2.0 standard 6AT 0-100km/h sprint takes 10.4sec. THat’s really suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Hang on… this is a dual CVVT.. so there is improvement over older engine. Anyway Im not supporting the ridiculous pricing still

• Hello AH Beng, PLEASE don’t say about stupid buyer, most people including me (mid level income) will survey and think before buying a car. Buying a car is not an easy task because you need to pay monthly payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Nice…agree!! sohai

• Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:29 am

Stupid people do say the darnest things don’t they??? Grow up and learn to use your brain before you start condemning others of their freedom of choice. Real MORON!

• John Sham on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:02 pm

When Japanese cars entered malaysian market, lots of people was commenting that Japanese car is like Milo tin, but now the perception of those are not valid.

Same when samsung first produce their TV & phone. My grandpa said don’t buy korean product because its lausy. But now its look much different.

My personal advise is buy a car which you love/like, you will feel happy when driving.

Anyway, I need to test drive Civic or City before decide for this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • car lies on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Honda? It’s too bad and all the current model are OUT! Better think twice. Of course this Kia is totally out too!

• John Sham on Jul 07, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Yesterday I surveyed few cars within my budget:

1) Civic 2.0 : Didn’t like the cockpit. I am not sure why the Japs wanted to display such a big RPM meter for a automatic family car. The ride was OK but still miss something

2) Preve 1.6 Turbo : Needs lots of improvement. Their semi auto key less is a waste and 1.6 with turbo charged with only 130 power is nothing to should about.

3) City : Same lie Preve but bit better.

4) Peugeot 407 Turbo : Nice handling, the speed pedal/ accelerator is not well placed. Look like some design issues. check it out

5) Elentra 1.8 : Nice car with many features but missing few safety factors like with just 2 airbags. It won’t even pass NCAP testing with 2 airbags since to get 5 needed 6 airbags now.

6) Cerato : Somehow love this car, nice cockpit with good handling. 2.0 is really powerful. The only thing missing is bigger touch screen with GPS. Most probably will go for this car.

Note:
          I did some resale value check and found out Forte is in good demand and the resale value is good.

My conclusin for resale value is :

High demand car have good resale value.
          Check out Honda Freed … Hhehehehe.
          Wira vs Juara (same make different model)

Regards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • hatehonda on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Commit suicide pricing, Honda, Toyota, Nissan … will laugh all the way

• Rm119K minus 8 way electronic and ventilated driver sit (RM3K) and minus 2 side airbag (RM6K) = RM110K

Without these Cerato will cost RM110K . Is it cheap now and can we able to compare with Japanese cars? Aiyahhhh.

Tips of the day.
      Many people have acknowledge changes and they have learn to accept changes.

The one who still believe that Koreans are still backward.. Keep believing it and no one is stopping you. The fact is : Koreans are doing great now.

• RM99,888 for a CKD korean car…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 423 Thumb down 15
    • ceratorian on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 203
    • the between-lower-middle-income people on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:17 pm

actually semi knock down (skd)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Now, it they changed the 1.6l to a 1.8l instead with the current price point, then we will shut up and KIA can take our money. Since they assume their car to be a C-segment car, then please start at 1.8l.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 1
  • LSVII on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Mak Aihhh..1.6 Dkt RM100..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 5
    • Mozilla Chrome on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Yes, greedy Naza..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
    • OnPar on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Altis 1.6E more than 100k… so what… people still buying it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
      • carlies on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:56 pm

No choice. What to do. Coz it’s Toyota. People will buy but not to Kia, sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
    • Reeza on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Ha`ah ye la kete ni mahal sikit. Tapi nak beli kete Jepun terpaksa fikir 2 kali. Yg ni boleh la. Sekarang banyak peminat KIA & HYUNDAI ada kat Eropah.

• Chin Doo Weng on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:56 pm

New Mazda3, I am buying….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 5
    • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 170
      • It’s tuned to achieved good torque at low rpm without using force induction technology.

Rubbish engine? Dunno how you would call T&H or K&H engine then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
      • where did u read that the skyactiv 2.0 produces only 120hp? U were reading rubbish article, i guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
      • Francis on Oct 20, 2015 at 12:24 pm

120ps? I think u r dumb

• kure ure on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:57 pm

nice car..terrible price..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 5
  • powerpondei on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:58 pm

why must have too many names?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Atas Pagar on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Simply because if its forte then public will thought that the car price has increased after GE13.

When pro-pembangkang said that the car price has increased after GE13 then all these pro-gov people will say, “hey it’s different car loh”

Only stupid people will fall for that. haih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
      • Seriously on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:20 pm

because najib himself asked naza to increase price right? when’s the next election can’t wait to vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
  • Peter How on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Peter How on Jul 02, 2013 at 3:59 pm

not tat cheap actually

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 2
  • That price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • tan sari on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:00 pm

locally assembled? I thought it is CBU now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • James on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Locally assembled having such a high price tag??? That’s a true shame…
    With a price tag like that for the 1.6, you would have thought they (at least) throw in the rear spoiler and supervision cluster…geez…this will tank for sure.
    Looks like I’ll be getting the City E+ after all…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 26
    • NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:17 pm

dear james

Let me correct you, please go check car dictionary ,
      city is only b segment in asean land whereas kia cerato is same category with civic altis elantra , please dont simply give comment if not sure the car category is , then why dont compare mercedes s class with bmw 3 series???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 41
      • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:38 pm

that guy has budget less than 100k i think,
        not depend on the car category..
        Its his WALLET DICTIONARY , :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 7
      • toyo-nda on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:49 pm

people who buy a car below 100k doesnt care about the segment,its more about cheaper but reliable, and good fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • overpriced kimchi on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:07 am

Majority malaysians own <100k car anyway.

A lot of buyers who consider forte also have city or vios in consideration due to the price proximity.

The kia maybe slightly bigger or has more flashy gadgets but honda city rides better, shift gears better, more composed at high speed, has smoother engine, fuel economy, and will definitely last longer than this kia.

There's no reason to jump and start lecturing about segment or car dictionary. Face the fact in this country car price IS THE SEGMENT if you get what i mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
        • So if I get you right, the Forte (yes, the previous one) with it’s 1.6 and 2.0 pricing was targeted at 2 segments? B and C?

• Preve is much better in handling, Japs cannot beat proton, kekekeke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 31
  • Reiner on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:01 pm

They are prepared for the upcoming “discount” from the govt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
  • This is an overpriced car. 1.6L Korean car for almost RM100k? Nonsense. Better wait for Mazda3.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 12
    • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:38 pm

MAZDA 3 ? rubbish engine ..
      2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine produces 120 PS and 210 Nm of torque.. Preve had more hp, bad market for malaysian..
      UNLESS, MAZDA 3 equipped with i_ELOOP 165PS ..
      MAZDA 3 exterior is astonishing indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 100
      • As mention in the report, in US, 2.0 SkyActiv-G is detuned for better fuel consumption, as they has the SkyActiv-D twin turbo that is much more powerful. Yet, since SkyActiv-D is burning diesel, I believe the FC is not that bad either. I believe Malaysia won’t market Mazda3 in this way as our Diesel quality is very bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • james on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:32 am

Yes, better fuel consumption with the expense of pick up. It takes 10.4 sec to make 0-100km/h sprint. Preve takes only 9.7 sec.

• UseBrainPls on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Then go get your stupid Preve lah. Who the f compares a Mazda w the local made & says the local made is better? Read my name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 23
        • bro UBP, obviously u have no brain or may be u ate to much meggi! do some research b4 u think that our local product is leak behind other… dont dare to think like that la, u come from bagladesh ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 88
          • UseBrainPls on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:12 am

Research? Well let me tell you this. I used to drive a 2004 Iswara. Got it highest spec @ 39k if I’m not wrong. A week after receiving the car, they launched a cheaper version of it for only 27k. That’s 10k difference. Best part is, after using the car for a few years, the reverse light & brake lights weren’t working. Went to get it check at my own trusted technician, and guess what, the wire actually MELTED. It is THAT bad. The old saga is the best. But not now. It just keeps getting worse in terms of quality. Need I say more? Read my name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
  • Ensco 105 on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:01 pm

We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3 We want new Mazda 3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Looser on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:01 pm

then mazda3 1.6 comes with price 120k..all go senyap2 at corner LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 16
      • frenzyaustin on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:31 pm

But it’s a Mazda, not Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
        • exilim on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:34 am

DSG sucks, skyaciv AT is slow lol. 2.0l engine can do 10.4s. That’s underpowered.

• SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:39 pm

MAZDA 3 ? rubbish engine ..
      2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine produces 120 PS and 210 Nm of torque.. Preve had more hp, bad market for malaysian..
      UNLESS, MAZDA 3 equipped with i_ELOOP 165PS ..
      MAZDA 3 exterior is astonishing indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 89
      • U r repeating yr comments u’ve made earlier boy. Go n fly kites

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • _xXx_ on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Bermaz is no saint too. New Mazda3 rm160k per piece due to overwhelming response….lol

• Not funny. The Mazda 6 price starts at that price point. There is no way Mazda 3 is going to be that expensive. I think they will price it near the Cerato.

• along on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:02 pm

Hmmm still expensive and normal rakyat will still need 7-9 years loan to buy this…

So my verdict: will ignore this car and any new car so some time and continue using my car.

If we do this together, price will drop…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 287 Thumb down 4
    • Akula on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:49 pm

I hope you can give this idea to Rafizi. Pakatan Rakyat should do a campaign to stop buying new car until car prices drop. Pakatan Rakyat just talk only,but, no action about this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 16
      • Man of Steel on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Do you know why Pakatan doesn’t want to do a campaign like that? Because, most of the car seller are Chinese or DAP supporter. Do you understand what I mean?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 15
        • Akula on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Hmmmmm…like that susah laaa…
          both BN or Pakatan just talk only, no action about this. just to win GE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
    • sengkek malay on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:48 pm

i wish all average malaysians think like u do along..but,hummmm..

• RM100k !! Better get the Altis or Civic !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 25
    • efdec on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:35 am

Yes, please get the torsion beamed altis or sohc-engined civic! both are stoneage era cars. Really proud to drive it around. LOL

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • WTF? …i really thought it would be around 75k – 90k range…but…good luck Kia..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 172 Thumb down 6
  • kimchishit on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:07 pm

One model looks so gay, the other models look like dracula or someone died with their lampar face.

Why la, the car so ugly till models also so ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 46
  • NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 252
    • Alpha on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Why so butthurt, brother? Normal la got critics here and there. Any cars also got critics. Accept it if you’re a true fan.

Now,now. Stop crying and go play with the others,ok?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 29
    • Kalun on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:24 pm

You idiot. Korean fan, you forget the killer of all Korean car. You say that Japanese car doesn’t have any car tech?
      I think Mazda3 has more features than this Kia Cerato.
      Please find me an alternative of iEloop from any Korean cars.
      Mazda3 is still a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 44
    • neutral on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:43 pm

here, have my LIKE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 65
    • Anti K-Pop Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Boo … Korean fenbui pls go away … we don’t need your so called intelligent comments …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 44
    • namanama on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:45 pm

why butthurt so much Kia Salesman…it’s just overpriced………………………………for a Korean cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 16
    • Korean people also buying Germans and Japs cars..no big deal..it’s just you who crying like a baby.let the haters hate.let them be..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • i_swear on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:00 pm

You miss a lot of people point here, a lot of people gripe is that the price been spike a whooping 20K as the old FORTE and new FORTE price around the same at other country, please ignore the tax argument on this part first.

Using the same price bracket stated in other country, we do not know whether the Company want higher profit margin or higher in tax by government as we have no way how much it is taxed by our government to become this ridiculous pricing. So who’s the culprit? Want more profit margin or more tax?

Then why change the name to Cerato instead of using the same old Forte? Someone have comment in previous post that they change the name may due to want to treat us like ignorant fools to think it is different car instead the same car to increase pricing. So why suddenly change to a name to Cerato (Sei lan tou) and I freaking don’t like the name.

For spec wise and etc it always win the Japanese car that provided in the Malaysia market and but due to these kind of pricing almost same with Japanese car, you think normal Malaysian will stick to Korean car? Try to think again as no matter how good the spec is they can’t break the illusion of T, N, H brand that been cast in Malaysians’ mind.

You know buying a car is not cheap in Malaysia, so Naza is basically shooting itself to the leg to have these kind of pricing.

P.S> Nice car but the pricing damn freaking ridiculous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 1
      • Gangnam Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Greedy Naza, condemn Cerato until they managed to bring down the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • MYANMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Let me correct some of anti bolehland fans here. After i went to review the Preve in showroom just now. This car is really features with a lot of advance and safety features. PLEASE ACCEPT THE FACT or else the japanese fans here just doesn’t understand what the car’s technology and features is. probaby japanese fan here just only know what is honda and toyota and nothing else . so poor…please open your eyes and look at the features 4 airbag , auto mirror,rear aircond (newspaper kipas) , steering sport mode….can japan provide you this feature??
      look at Pontian,Johor KAREX Industies , can anyone would expect the result they have today (World’s biggest condom maker)?? for those who so anti bolehland, please remember after 1o years from today if proton still make a bad car then you can continue critic them today…. AT LAST BE FAIR AND PLEASE APPREACIATE BOLEHLAND ENGINEER EFFORT, THEY TERRAII SO HARD TO PROVIDE SUCH A LOT FEATURES TO THE CONSUMERS IN THE MARKET.GIVE A THUMB TO THEM instead on keep on critic bolehland car. IF YOU REALLY A CAR LOVER WE SHOULD ENCOURAGE THEM REGARDLESS BOLEHLAND, KOREAN, JAPANESE, FRENCH, GERMAN, US. GIVE THEM A COMPETITIVE MARKET THEN THEY WILL IMPROVE A BETTER CAR WHICH WILL PARK INTO YOUR HOME CAR PORCH (Any affordable home in bolehland?).COMPETITIVE MAKE BETTER PRODUCT . DONT just LET ONE JAPANESE CAR conquer the world ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 80
      • Flying Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:28 pm

biarlah org nk cakap ape…jgn paksa org nk terima pendapat anda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • REGARDLESS KOREAN,JAPANESE,FRENCH,GERMAN,US.. why dont u say MALAYSIA..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Yeah got LOTS of equipment like SUNROOF,
      broke down LOTS too .

Its a fact now as there are lots of proof,
      not anti-korean, but trust the japs reliability ..

I still see the old nissan sunny on the road~~~
      I still see the old Datsun on the road~~~

How about old K-POP’s car ? in the workshop ?
      in the used car dealer – hard to sell ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • Gangnam Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:39 pm

I drive before a Atos. Terrible is the word to describe that car. Power is bad, stability is bad, quality is bad, fc is bad… but compare to new K-Car, they improved a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • quasimodo on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:15 am

i’m a hyundai elantra owner…please don’t hate us…but if u ask me yes cerato really looks ugly, interior even uglier, gadget yes it has improved but the price? its too much!!!!!its not cheap…if want to fight with japanese only way is to let the price cheaper..with that price better get other cars that is even better looking and better interior to look at…its sad NAZA is looking for money….bloodsuckers….shame to you malaysia…like hyundai, the design dept is more user friendly to our eyes…all in all lets not buy this car as it is indeed not worth it!!!!!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:48 pm

bro your KIA showroom still got stock Forte? PM me a good deal pls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • rickyll on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:19 pm

First of all , my must clarify that I am a Kia fan, Having bought a CBU Kia Forte SX in 2009 for RM81K. I still drive and love the car though the pickup is a bit sluggish. A year later, Naza introduced the Forte facelift with a few more gadgets like six airbags, six speed automatic gearbox, reverse camera, paddle shifter and others. It’s really value for money at RM 85K. I am looking eagerly for the new Forte which I hope would come with a more advanced powertrain and more safety features and most importantly, a reasonable price. But sad to say, I am deeply disappointed with the quoted prices. It’s nothing to do with Kia Korea rather it’s the greedy and unscrupulous manoeuvres of Naza Malaysia. Why is it, we Malaysian are always at receiving end with all these unfair treatments. I for one will kiss Kia for good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 5
    • Flying Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:24 pm

You sounds like Cerato punya salesman..u really are?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Donohue on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Surely the car is great. Comparable or even better than the same class Japs. But the issue was never about the car, it was the price.

• I agree with you bro. If for once the Cerato 1.6 is priced at around 85k. I bet all T, H, & N brand buyers will stfu for good.

• are you a korean?

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:14 pm

the side profile do looks like a proton gen 2 with that kind of rims

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 12
    • Lame Duck on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Better take a look at the new Vios. Sold in Singapore
      right now. Similar side profile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Rubbish car at rubbish price!

Never ever buy korean, they drive like crap

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 69
    • yellowtofu on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:19 pm

U go drive your lanjiow italian shit. Always breakdown and sui kwan. Sam loo see your shitty maserati also won’t want to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 21
      • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Hahaha, and u got 6 likes? Awww, such a pity! Grow up ahbeng kiddo.

I have a golf tsi and golf gti btw. Planning to get a 2nd hand gtr r35 soon.

Its german or japs for me dude.

Never in my life will i buy a korean car. They are probably the worst ripoffs u can ever buy! Think jap cars are exp? What ppl here r not seeing is the driving pleasure of a car. Malaysians tend to see surface things only. They will judge a car based on its specs only and not by how it drives!

People who buy korean cars probably know nothing about cars! They are being conned by hyundai and kia which rubbish like this!

Avoid Korean cars like a plague!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 128
        • GANNIII on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:32 pm

what???golf gt??golf gti???those german cheapo??????and 2nd GTR??what?????only SECONHAND?????hahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
        • Bryan on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:33 pm

WoW, maserati….. 2 VWs and GTR coming soon….

Your life is soooooo great. You are so great, because you do not own Korean Vehicles. No Korean will ever be better than you.. blah blah blah……. You da man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Is this the same bastard who claimed his parents bought lots of value-appreciable properties so now he can sell them all and plough whatever he’s gained on liabilities like Gocks and Mahai-rotis…?

AHAHAHAHA…!!! What a son of a bitch your mom has…!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Haha, better than u lah bro. All u can do is copy other ppls nick. Cant even use ur own brain to think of a new one. No wonder malaysia will never be a developed nation.

With ppl like u, its gonna be tough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 74
          • dugong on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:40 am

Actually he is only driving second hand dugong la. His so called dream car is maserati for cover only. Actual dream car is Toyota Hailax.

I remember this guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:37 am

This anti Korean tech moron most probably owns a dated B segment Japanese car and couldn’t afford a new generation Korean car and boy, isn’t he sore about it! Never stops bashing Korean cars and technology. Must be one of those guys who lives in a cave…

• NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:46 pm

dear maserati

if you are driving mesarati now, then i agree with u . if you can design out one k3 car by ur own effort then i agree with u

if not please respect engineer effort. STOP RACIST. only low humanity people will racist, thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 19
      • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:47 pm

i agree with maserati,
        the car just feel inconfident..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
      • Toyota sales kena threaten now because this car’s launch. That’s why he started commenting again.

But back to topic, regardless of the spec, the asking price is a bit tad too high. This might somehow make the T&H jack up the price as well. In the end, all bad for the buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
        • SixthGear Msia on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:57 pm

wait till the new Altis n Vios..
          there is no threat there I think ,

• akupung on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:17 pm

100k mazda3 has the most basic specs…dont expect lcd or 17inch rim etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 19
    • Most basic current mazda3(2012/2013) got LCD with GPS navigation systems.
      The upcoming all new mazda3 got a build in LCD monitor with wireless communication enable.(watch promo video on u tube)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • namanama on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:59 pm

win!

• wendy on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:06 pm

not in Malaysia for sure, Honda City and Toyota Vios in other country got better spec and selling almost the same price like Forte, but not in Malaysia, they pull off all airbags and any other spec that they can and put a premium price tag..Thanks Honda and Toyota and Nissan and Mazda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
        • Vios or city in bolehland usually spec higher than thai or philip or indo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
          • i smell bullshit here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
          • bull or not…u dont believe please check spec by spec of the lowest spec..rather than believed other people said…mirage oso same thing happen…

• akupung on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:38 pm

really dude..100k malaysian market mazda 3 got LCD navi GPS,,,wat r u smoking

• I rather ditch off sunroof, keyless entry, large rims, premium sound, electric seat, reverse camera, cruise control and other stuff for a more reliable, fun and cheaper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • drlow on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:59 am

Then wait for all new vios. Pay 100k for an empty kosong spec overpriced car!!

• Sorry, I’m not so stupid enough to overpaid an old car in new shell.

• iluvkimchi on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Can i still order forte?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 2
  • Abg Long on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:18 pm

overpriced, overpriced and overpriced for a kia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 1
  • totti on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Well, glad to know the pricing at RM 100K for 1.6.

You can get a Toyota Altis or mazda3 at this price.

NAZA, keep it up with your branded price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • detech on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:39 am

Mazda3 2.0 – skyactiv’s AT makes it underpowered
      Altis – C segmenter with torsion beam for year 2013/4, so funny

Both sucks

• Kuryakin on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:20 pm

The 3 models looked like they rather be somewhere else……

• kia4ever on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:25 pm

the new kia sonata looks good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • mentari-o-korea on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:27 pm

The look less aggressive than current Forte, but contra back with lot of other extras and if they can maintain the same reliability like ex-Forte, this is a bargain!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Gokul on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Even with that hefty price tag, people are still buying this car. Saw 700+ bookings for this car. Malaysians are damn rich actually.. IMHO, should’ve been less than 105k since its CKD.. Bad move by KIA.. sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • anti japan on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:55 pm

R u sure?
      I guess they are those place deposit rm500 before launching.. without knowing the price yet…

Now, many will pull brake on this..

Anyway good luck..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:53 pm

700 bookings only? In the end translate to 50 sales only cuz the 650 cancelled their bookings ..

99% of this cerato buyers will sell off their car within the first year! Who wants to bet?

Just look at that interior! Looks like it was taken from a 1950s car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
      • indomee on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:49 pm

dear maserati, the 50’s car got btr looking interior as they are classic n retro design. I think this k3 interior look like early 90s.

• Cerato…a bit high price… if around 90k,happy laa. But…the1.6 specs really great,got -smart welcome lighting system,10 power driver memory seat,touch screen reverse camera,push start smart key,6 airbags,rear air vent,front and rear parking assists,which cant get from others brand.Civic 1.8,specs sucks! 2.0 will around 135k++…for toyota,dont have any new fresh car…wish kia will offer something laa….i will get it home!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 238 Thumb down 3
    • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:52 pm

bro… wait for the upcoming new Altis, around this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Oblesse on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:36 am

It’s equipped with swaying torsion beam right? Very suitable for Malaysian bad road -ndition.

-sarcasm-

• will test drive it tomorrow….wanna see it got under power or not…. K3 got 5 years warranty,dont so worry about rosak laaa…

• For now, vios- really boring with it,altis-is a looser for this model,civic-yeah! if wanna get high spec,2.0cc cost around 130k! Nissan- no car for me to choose. hyundai Elantra can consider, but launching quite a time…mazda 3 waiting new model and i never think of ford,peogeot,suzuki,Chevrolet…. i will test drive it tomorrow….wanna see it got under power or not…. sumore K3 got 5 years warranty,dont so worry about rosak laaa…

• cvert on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:40 am

You are conned by the exterior. In the engine bay it’s only archaic SOHC engine! lol

• If want cheap still under KIA, Rio is a best option. Test drove my friend’s high spec version. Not bad at all since for RM79K+ can get cool continental car tech features.

• mr jem on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:37 pm

There u goes. A 1.6 korean car locally assembled in gurun price at RM100k. Welcome to bolehland bebeh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • Lawrence Ng on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:37 pm

The perception of people about Korean cars are that they are cheap & good. Well, cheap can only go so far. So it has to be good. 2.0 for rm119k is still consider cheap as they have more values compared to Japanese cars. Come on people, look at the value, not just the price. If KIA America is doing so well surely the cars are good right? After all America is one of the most competitive markets!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
    • NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Lawrece Ng,

bro you are right :) for those anti korean they still live in 80s and 90s generation.. they only know how to racist…actually they just envy cos thier car doesn’t have such advanced features as korean car have haha some of them they still use key to start engine oops..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:54 pm

haha wait till u got lock-up outside.. :)
        plus, push to start button is not that good for the car as it doesnt have pre-ingnition phase.. bad for the engine.

sometimes, there is something need to stay old skool
        :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Gokul on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Yes, it’s competitive market and that’s why KIA US priced their Cerato around $19k, which is around RM64k.. Cars are cheaper there bro. Here, locally assembled 1.6 car sold at RM100K??.. They’ve must be out of their mind..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Biggest pile of BS i ever heard!

Kia America doing well? Hahahahaha. Hello friend, whats the population of america? 300M ppl? Say 1% of Americans buy Kia , that would mean 3,000,000 buyers!

Wow , looks like a lot! But wait, u throw in any tom dick harry brand into USA or China, they will do well cuz they have a huge population!

Even a tiny percentage buy a your car will translate into a huge number.

In fact its not doing well! Its just selling normally!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • You are right bro. Majority of Malaysians lack the wisdom in knowing the difference between how much it costs and how much it’s worth. Sad case really :(

• Aaron on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:43 pm

I wonder why people can still complained that Cerato is expensive. Do not tell me that in your pocket or on ur palm you do not hold a Samsung or korean made device ? Please keep all those bullsh*t comments. Proton selling at 80k, you guys say its the best and no complains. Cerato selling at below 100k and offer more technology which u can only find in D-Segment car.

Lets just be honest, Korea is much more technologically advance than Malaysia by a margin. Those still living under a nutshell, please crawl out of it.

This car is definitely worth paying extra 14k increment with redesigned body with advance features embedded in the car. I dare you bashers. Bring out any C-Segment car and compare it head-on. Bring honda city along. It’s alright for those bashers to compare a B-Segment car to a C-Segment car. Google sudah tak tau guna, apalagi nak cakap B-Segment ka.. C-Segment ka.. Aduhaii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 99
    • anti japan on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Yes I do own samsung phone, samsung phone is clear market leader for android..

BuT, do you seriously think this kia is market leader which taken no 1 among other car makers? I guess no..

So how can naza hike the price up so easily? 10 percent is reasonable, 25 percent is disaster .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • Aaron on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Of course the price hike is disastrous. But what can you do..? Complain as long as a report would not change the price of this car.

But to compare the best featured car with a reasonable price point is what we consumer are looking for.

Just as simple as that. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:08 pm

kia is not no 1 . but they are improving..
        last time samsung also not no. 1 . that time people only admire SONY . but now SAMSUNG, KIA , HYUNDAI , they are different now . if u can make sure KIA wont be make good car anymore in future then yes i will admit i am wrong now ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Volksporsche on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:25 pm

After using a Samsung Galaxy SII, sorry, new Sony is much more appealing than the new S4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • Aaron on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Problem with you guys is that. Everyone is just a keyboard warrior. What i’m trying to justified is that. Naza placed the price hike. Ok. Even if it’s me honestly speaking, i would say the price point is ridiculous.

What i’m stressing about is that, everything with a price hike must come with better features. Price hike with same feature which i can get nearly in a 10 year old car is not improvement.

You guys keep saying Toyota is better, Honda is better. Ok fine. What about the specs and feature..? Is it worth the amount of money you pay..? In this case i’d rather get a Preve than a Vios or City. Reason why ? 4 airbags is better than 2.
          Whether you guys are studying Engineering or not, manufacturing electronics and everything and embed them into a car costing less than 100k price point is ridiculous. In fact, the price point should be around 130k. Even if its placed under high spec Honda Civic, the specs itself has already been justified.

Whether or not which car gives u better resale value, the most important is to enjoy the car you buy and drive. And hence, i would clearly 100% support a car with more features. I’d say it Bang for Buck.
          Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
          • You all keep saying features and gadgets, what about after sales, what about ownership experience. You buy a car to play with gadget or to drive? What happend if the electronic broke down, like keyless entry, how ou going to enter your vehicle? Yeah, more features is good, but maintenance is quite high for people buying this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • bystander on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:30 pm

but I really don’t agree that higher spec means higher price, the price should be reflected in the product quality, RnD, overall performance and package, Rio is okay, but this car, it just feels cheap,looks cheap, overpriced crazy….i10 is a great car by the way, but still, the platform, engine and transmission is superb, but still things like electronics keep failing, and that is where Korean need to enhance on their cars,just like u cannot compare the leather seat in a the last gen civic with the ones in elantra, the touch and feel are just different. Personally, I hate all Cerato, current civic, and coming Altis, Mazda 3 is the only one that make sense to me…

• car lies on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:18 pm

You gonna see wider rather than the one appears in front of your eye, I meant other than than specs, the availability of the service centre, quality of servicing, service cost, history of the model, reliability and resale value. Also the most important is you gonna make sure the all “good specs” can function. It’ll become a big joke if this Korean car equipped with 10 air bags and can’t work when accident happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • reader on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:42 am

mzada3 2.0 is underpowered la, unless you buy with i-ELOOP one

• You rather get Preve? But most people rather ger Vios or City. That’s explained why Preve sales figure is so lowwww.

• Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:33 pm

The difference between japs and koreans is that jap brands last a legacy.

Korean brands are like a hype, its popular for a short while and will slowly die off. Look at samsung now! Who the hell buys samsung phones anymore? Who buys samsungs leds tvs now? They are probably one of the most unreliable TVs i ever owned!

The korean wave will hit us hard but will slowly fade and die! It has already started!

Korean cars look nice, feel nice, but u try drive them at high speed and the car feels like it wants to break apart!

Thats y jap cars & german cars are still produce the best cars ever! Cuz their cars dont feel like breaking apart at high speeds! > 160kmh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 42
      • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:56 pm

korean car feels inconfident..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:15 pm

which means maserati critics all the people in bolehland who pay installment currently for korean cars are stupid???if you think all those korean cars owner now in bolehland now making the
        wrong choice then probably u are the god of car..
        and make sure you slap your own face if KIA and Hyundai still alive with high reputation after 50 years in bolehland.. simple story turtle will win the race with the arrogant rabbits… haha please go back and read the story please oopss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Quoting you Maserati, “who the hell buys samsung phones anymore and who buys samsung led tvs now?”

Excuse me?

Care to validate your statement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Volksporsche on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:52 pm

I used to love my Galaxy S2, but after years I used it, the after sales is bad. New firmware makes my phone complately terrible. Quality is bad too, no more Samsung for me now, sorry. This applies to Korean car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Go lah to tv shop. Nobody is looking at samsungs anymore. Crap quality. Looks nice when new but after less than a year break downs. All sorts of probs. same goes with samsung galaxy phones. Looks awesome in the shop display. Bring home , install a few apps and run it for a few weeks and the phone lags worst than my iphone 3gs!

Korean stuff are known to be not reliable! How come still got so many ppl falling for these korean cons?

Dont u realise the koreans are great at making stuff beautiful but without substance? The same goes for their women! All plastic surgery. All look beautiful from outside. But when u know them further, they are all rotten inside.

Unfortunately Msians still fooled ! Too bad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
          • Korean stuff beautiful without substance? Proton stuff ugly and empty drum. Makes lots noises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • amoi_suck on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Japs stuff old archaic stoneaged specs, feel like driving 90’s cars

• Carson on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:36 pm

Hello my fren, please let me know who is the major market shareholder of mobile phone today?

• car lies on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:21 pm

This is Kia, not Samsung. Samsung-Renault is not in Malaysia yet. This is terrible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Baldwin on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Maserati,
        though I quite agree on the hype and your bad experience with a Samsung LED tv.. well, u do know that we’re talking about CARS here.

I doubt u’ve even owned or driven a Kia…say, a K5. That itself disqualifies and make your comment totally invalid

• Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:28 am

I definately nvr owned a Kia b4 and i wouldnt want to. Give me free oso i dont want!

I did however have a forte 1.6 for 3 days to drive to ipoh from kl. and can tell u its one of the worst experience ever!

The forte 1.6 performs worst than a jap b segment car! I couldnt wait to get out of the car and return it bck to my fren. Probably one of the worst cars i have driven in my lifetime. Even a 1995 honda civic drives way better !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
          • Penang playboy on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:15 am

Just another BS statement from this dude. People, stop feeding this troll, he just want attention. He has been appearing in every single korean car thread in Paultan and his sole purpose is just to bash. Maserati, if you don’t like Korean car and in fact hate it, why bother to go to their threads? Isn’t it waste of your time? Grow up and get a life.

• If that is worst, wait till you drive a Proton.

• jensi on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:48 pm

@amoi
            You suggest Lotus ride and handling is bad? Funny

• rickyll on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:41 pm

With all due respects, I beg to disagree with you. Forte is by far the most sucessful story of Kia. I have been driving the Forte for the last three and a half year and I must say that I loved every second of it. To be honest, the 4 speed auto I bought is out dated but the riding comfort is still okay. The 17 inch low profil tyres brought a lot of noise into the cabin which is my only complaint. Over all, Forte is value for money, after clocking nearly 100k km, it didn’t give me any serious trouble, so far, beside the periodical services,I had just changed the brake pedal sensor which coordinate with keyless start stop button and a new battery for one of the keyless s/s devices, that cost me RM65 and RM8 respectively.

• Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:49 am

By reading all your critical comments on Korean cars and your never ending bashing of their technology and design. I am really curious why you even took the trouble to ‘Rent’ ..opps lend a Kia Forte for 3 days for your trip. You must be really sore that you are unable to afford a new generation Korean car and still have to drive your redundant Japanese old B Segment car everyday imagining it was a Maserati. Sad ..sad indeed. Come on man, face reality and live with the times. Stop living in a cave!!!

• OMG..I AGREED. This car had more advance features and yet still cheaper than the current altis 1.6 kosong or civic 1.8.

• Reeza on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:00 pm

I agree with you, Aaron. Kia made some improvements day by day. I think it`s still valuable for price, spec and performance compare with another Japanese and Germany Mid Size sedan car. A lot of people criticizing about this car. You can compare this car with Ford Focus, Lancer, Altis, Civic, Elantra, Mazda3. Honestly Cerato is more comfortable than Focus, more fuel efficiency than Civic & Altis, more powerful performance than Lancer. I made test drive for all this car. Most of all, Lancer is very bad for me. TQ

• Datuk Jack. on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Neymar Jr.

i agreed with most of the fact that you type down, there’s fact for those you claim..

Malaysian minded or can say Asian minded is like that, so hard for them to accept new brand even how good it is compare to well known brand. u can compare it to European/American people whereby more understood for what their paying/buying. here they only trust on brand not spec.

time is changing, but not that fast. as you can see more people are buying proton preve now days compare to old technology 4th gear toyota vios, yet still some who never change. if you compare toyota vios/honda city and proton preve on paper or reality proton preve is winner ahead (spec wise, safety features, price tagging).

but for this new cerato i hope kia malaysia should consider some price evaluation, they cant simply jump to up 20% to 30% price increased when comparing to sales amount for earlier forte, for me spec is there but price are make them unfavorable.

lets time give the figure how many it will be sold on that price tagging..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 7
    • car lies on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:23 pm

I don’t think Forte sales well. All Kia is …………Speechless rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • taboogen on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:54 pm

damnnn… have to cross from my wish list…

• Korean Brand with Japanese Brand price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • smokey on Jul 02, 2013 at 4:59 pm

greedy Nazakia!
    simply change the model name from forte to cerato and increase 10k++!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Abg Long on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:00 pm

thumbs down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • RM99 for CKD? man..this is killing the market share already! for the same spec 1.6 (no 2.0 in ME)it can be had for RM53 only! and this is CBU..Naza is ding it the wrong way if it want to achieve higher market share on C segment. Pity because K3 is highly reviewed worldwide.

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Double thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
  • which is a better buy … kia cerato 1.6 or hyundai elantra 1.6 Hi-Spec

• Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Both rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
      • NEYMAR J.R on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:21 pm

PLEASE LEAVE THIS FORUM, IF YOU NOT EVEN CARE ABOUT KOREAN CAR WHY COME THIS PAGE AND VIEW THE CERATO INFORMATION AND KAKA CAO CAO ANTI KOREAN??
        SUCH A PAT PO WOMAN BISING IN PASAR haha..
        REMEMBER THIS IS CERATO PAGE NOT HONDA PAGE
        really funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
        • GANNIII on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:37 pm

let him be like that and show his stupidity…in fact he is the one sore loser who don’t even own the Maserati yet really proud owning those german cheapo and future owner of SECONDHAND GTR..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • John Player Special on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Newmar,
          Asking people to leave a public forum is really immature la. Grow up, boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • neymar on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:52 pm

hi john ,

i like to be a boy , uncle john. forever young is good haha,
            uncle john so funny want to be a old old man.

• Flying Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Neymar, if im human…does that mean I cannot care about monkey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Peter on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:15 pm

I don see any Japanese car offer that kind of value at that price range. If you jap car fans argue jap car has better quality it’s still acceptable but Kia also not bad nowadays. What I don understand is how a Toyota Altis or Honda Civic better than this? Be fair, compare 2.0 to 2.0 with their price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • Maserati on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:26 pm

It goes to show u havent driven a korean car hard enough! A good car like civic can be driven at high speeds >160kmh and still like a joy to drive.

U bring a korean car to 120kmh and it feels like all the pushstart buttons and autowipers all falling apart!

Thats the difference btwn koreans and japs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 79
      • lol..any modern car can do >160 with ease…u still driving kancil ka?..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Lol.. now selling Honda d a bro? Don’t need to be afraid la, KIA priced this a bit too high, won’t affect your sales one. Chill chill…

• Masaroti on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Hi bro, may i know do you try this car before? and i don’t feel my friend optima k5 while speeding at 120kmh are shaking, if you hate just leave, you comment are totally useless. Go home play Tamiya better, ya it from Japan.

• GANNIII on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:43 pm

so onli those cheapo gt & gti la so comfy when cruising at 160kph…??moron..most of the cars in modern day easily cruise at 160kph with so comfy bro…

bro masaroti..not onli k5…even the new rio dont feel any shaking when cruising at 140-160…

anyway..im not kia fan..but why should we create a bullshit story if its not true???

• sonyman on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Probably the one you driving is the previous generation Elantra 1.8, I think that one suits what you are describing

• sonyman on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:13 pm

i think ford fiesta is much better in high speed compare to civic. Though most of the time a lot civic drivers assume their Civic is better than other cars. That’s because they haven’t tried others.

Even The Preve is better at high speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • masakroti on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Maserati boy boy,

If you claim korean car will fall apart driving above 120kmh, do you dare to wage with me of driving the Kia Rio at 160kmh and if it doesnt fall apart, can I take your golf gti as the prize? If the Rio fall apart, you can keep the Rio.

So, ada berani ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • swell on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:39 am

Conti/proton are the best handling cars. Both kimchi and sushi are so-so. Try it yourself.

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:49 am

Pls la maserati dun tell jokes here. Go back to your toyota shoroom la. Even my 10 yr old getz 1.6 can go 180kmh easily n still so stable…i always tapau vios and city. Are you the vios that always got smoked by me? no wonder you are so butthurt! kakakaka!!!

• fendy on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:30 am

Bro, my Picanto can go up to 140kmh…. xroboh pon….

• SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Altis n Civic more reliable,more fun,more efficient to drive than the Korean.

The Japs did more hours RnD than keep changing designs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
      • Sonyman on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:43 pm

No no, ford focus is better than Altis and civic, even fiesta has better handling and noise insulation than Altis and civic, go try? Mondeo after you drive one round, your brain sure Siau liau. You will think Camry and accord is shit,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • xcvbt on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:41 am

You will vomit blood to change its broken parts. The maintenance is at high side

• Lan Chiao Man on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:29 am

Hey Sonyman, Ford cars got so many problems also, not only the poor resale value. The cars also feel good only for the first year, after that they are just as bad as any Korean car. Who you are trying to bullshit? I sold my Focus, because cant tell apart it from a Hyundai!!

• dreaming of maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:53 am

so answer me what RnD did toyota do for vios for the past 10 yrs? latest stone age 4 speeder?
        or super duper vvvvti 1.5 engine?

use your brain to think and not your a**.

• civicEK on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:19 pm

aiyooo so expensive..

• SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Exterior looks good but the interior are boring,
    just look at the speaker grill,a bit off.
    The interior remembers the old model, especially the gear knob :)
    Uncle Ben gonna need bigger glasses to change the radio station..
    The engine are not bad for 2.0 161hp, but still not sure can fight against Lancer GT and Civic as its dpend on the auto-box as the old Forte 155hp+6speed 0-100kmh takes 10.5 scnds..
    The steering wheel are ugly with lots of buttons.
    Early conclusion, price point need to be under 100k to fight with the japanese car.

• autodriver on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:09 pm

I got the info the Forte 2.0 6 speed 0-100km/h is 9.2sec or 9.8sec, instead of 10.5sec.

0-100km/h – 9.2sec

0-100km/h – 9.8sec

I am driving Forte 1.6SX, but my friends’ cousin got a 2.0SX and I did a test drive for 2.0. It is certainly powerful and surely outperform Lancer, Sylphy and Mazda 3 2.0. For the new Cerato 2.0, I have not tested the performance yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • engner on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:43 am

Preve can do 9.7 sec, wait for the hothatch variant, prolly faster.

• Azmi Helmi on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:40 pm

WTF? Bro… even it is nice, even its can fly with Korea-ass tech, it is still a KIA. Even the spec is better than BMW… its a KIA. When u want to sell your car the used car owner depreciate a lot and say “its a KIA”…. Forte is a good car, Rio also. But 100k+ for this shit.. no way…. people will think twice. Better they put up some money and buy new civic. or 2hd vw will be better than this Cirit-To…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • A Ford Focus is 100x better than this gong kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • SixthGear Msia on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:01 pm

yeah bro , for this price hike …
      KIA will be K.I.A ,
      but still have to wait a year or two for the real world reviews..

• sorry but i dont own a kia…but i have to say…its a KIA so what?…it’s selling like hotcakes around the world..only typical malaysian mindset cannot accept that, the depreciation value of this car is only bad in MALAYSIA…when u mentioned civic..i laugh my ass off..did u even know that other countries are criticizing the new civic like shiat?..only typical malaysian still think civic is a god like car..lol…and regarding VW..did you even know about their infamous gearbox problem??..so obvious that u know nothing bout the car industry..go drive ur saga sv la..kakachaochao..lol

the only thing bad is just the pricing given by local farkup company managed by idiots..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • frenzyaustin on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Really Malaysian business man, a car sells well previously, change the name and hikes the price so people thought it’s a new segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • autodriver on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:50 pm

I am Forte 1.6SX owner and I went to showroom to see the new Cerato this afternoon. No test drive available at this moment.

1. Overall the build quality is better than Forte, e.g. the gap between dashboard and the door is very minimal compared to Forte.

2. The features are a lot but I particularly like the Flex Steer with 3 modes available.

3. Cerato come with 10-ways memory driver seats which is very impressive. The steering is very comfortable and nice to grab compare to Forte as well.

4. Rear air vent outperform most of its rivals, including its sibling Elantra.

Dislike
    1. Fabric seat, the seat material is not provide optimum level of comfort.

2. Leg length from the back seats seems shorter than Forte despite having 2700mm wheelbase.

3. The dashboard design is a bit boring.

4. Pricing for 1.6 and 2.0 are RM 99,888 & 118,888 respectively. When Forte launched with the price, I yelling “Wow, it is very affordable”. But the pricing of this new Cerato, even though it is still impressive (consider it is FULLY IMPORT), but it is nothing excited about.

Overall the car is satisfied with lots of features, but I doubt it will hot sell like Forte because the price is not cheap. If I were giving opportunity to choose between Forte and Cerato, I will go for Forte. Features slightly less but it is RM14k cheaper than Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Atas Pagar on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:41 pm

I like your statement, “Features slightly less but it is RM14k cheaper than Cerato”.

This is truly the true problem for this new “Forte”. Its price.

• Enthu on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:43 am

Read again. its built in Kedah.

• In Hokkien, we call Gong Kia which means stupid or crazy child, and this aptly refers to Kia in M’sia. Bloated with ego from the great sales of their previous Forte, they now carry on with a bloated price for their next generation so called Cerato. We should all teach them a lesson these useless Naza folks. One thing for sure, their Cerato will be lacerated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • akupung on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:52 pm

compare this with the air con knobs of Honda City E+ or Mazda 3, since it has comparable price

• NicholaS on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Naza based on their previous launches have been quite greedy dy, but what can you do when so many fan boy buy? The k5 I think is overpriced but got 3 months waiting list, the sportge also priced higher and yet a lot in the road. So for the k3 seriously I think it’s mispriced but what can we do if it sells well?

Agree with Maserati though, it’s a German or an American car for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Ce No More on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:04 pm

The K5 and Sportage is CBU lah. For a CBU, the pricing is acceptable, in fact the price is at par with other makes which is CKD, example Sonata, Tuscon and lower than Japan make CKD like Camry and Accord. But with Cerato which is a CKD, it is higher than a Elantra CKD and only slightly lower than a CKD Japanese made car.

• citran on Jul 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

compare to its rival of the same class Cerato features quite impressive

CERATO 1.6L STANDARD SPECIFICATION – OTR RM99,888
    1) 6-Speed Automatic Transmission with Paddle Shifter
    2) Projector Headlamps with Halogen Bulb
    3) Smart Welcoming System
    4) Intergrated LED Side Turn Signal
    5) Front Fog Lamp
    6) Intergrated Audio System with Rear View Camera Display
    7) Dual Zone Full-Auto Air Conditioner with Cluster Ionizer,
    Auto Defogger & Rear Air Vent
    8) 10-Way Power Driver Seat with Memory
    9) Motor Driven Power Steering (MDPS) with Flex Steer
    10) Steering Audio Control with Bluetooth & Auto Cruise
    11) Smart Key with Keyless Entry & Push Start
    12) Auto Pinching Safety Windows & Powered Windows
    13) 6 Airbags System
    14) ISOFIX Child Anchor
    15) Front & Rear Parking Assist System
    16) 17″ Alloy Rims
    17) Electronic Chromic Mirror (ECM)
    18) Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) with Electronic Stability
    Control (ESC), Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS), Brake Assist
    System (BAS), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill-Start Assist
    Control (HAC), Downhill Brake Control (DBC), Emergency
    Stop Signal (ESS),

CERATO 2.0L STANDARD SPECIFICATION-OTR RM118,713.73
    1) 6-Speed Automatic Transmission with Paddle Shifter
    2) HID Xenon Projector Headlamp with Auto Levelling
    3) Smart Welcoming System
    4) Intergrated LED Side Turn Signal
    5) Front Fog Lamp
    6) Intergrated Audio System with Rear View Camera Display
    7) Dual Zone Full-Auto Air Conditioner with Cluster Ionizer,
    Auto Defogger & Rear Air Vent
    8) 10-Way Power Driver Seat with Memory
    9) Motor Driven Power Steering (MDPS) with Flex Steer
    10) Steering Audio Control with Bluetooth & Auto Cruise
    11) Smart Key with Keyless Entry & Push Start Button
    12) Auto Pinching Safety Windows & Powered Windows
    13) 6 Airbags System
    14) ISOFIX Child Anchor
    15) Front & Rear Parking Assist System
    16) 17″ Alloy Rims
    17) Air Ventilated Driver Seat
    18) 4.2″ TFT LCD Full-Colour Supervision Cluster
    19) Rear Spoiler
    20) Sunroof
    21) Leather Seat
    22) Electronic Chromic Mirror (ECM)
    23) Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) with Electronic Stability
    Control (ESC), Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS), Brake Assist
    System (BAS), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill-Start Assist
    Control (HAC), Downhill Brake Control (DBC), Emergency
    Stop Signal (ESS),

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
  • Beetle Nut on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:00 pm

The Cerato grille is as flat as the model’s chest, the interior looks as drab as her boring face. For once, a car company picks a model that reflects the car, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • thedarkside on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:08 pm

looking at the KIA pricing trend…can i say the new price for KIA caren mpv when it does arrive here will touch around 120K? thats near to T.wish territory wehh…

• C-Seg on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:11 pm

SUPER DUPER high price! BUT i won’t blame on KIA. THANKS to gomen & his fellow frends!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Johnson Ano on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Overrated? I’m not sure about it. But definitely overprice!!!

• Thumbs down to Kia Cerato on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Kat Arab Saudi, Brunei only at range RM44K – RM50K, kat Malaysia 2 kali ganda… Wehh Naza, xpyh buat kete ni nmpk mewah sangat kat Malaysia… most of the country, kete Korea ni mcm ala2 Proton kat Malaysia je.. sepatutnya xsemahal kete Jepun… Kete ni, kat Arab Saudi, hanyalah taxi semata2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Well, I see everybody is trying to make a point here. Noted. ironically, the Americans trust KIA more than we do and for such a developed country, there must be something about KIA. Unfortunately, we Malaysians think otherwise – I’d say its a pity.
    You can spit your opinions here but I see one thing and a very clear thing – that the Koreans/ KIA is progressing and progressing fast. The effort is in front of you right now. Only the blind is denying it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 60
    • anonymous on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:27 pm

americans trust KIA more?? show your proof sir!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • jeremy on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:56 pm

I’m currently studying in Ohio, US…all I can say, I see A LOT more new facelifted Civic 2013 rather than the new Forte 2014…could be because the Forte just got released, but even then really hard to find the old Forte around here…but you can find a lot of Optima K5 here though, but mostly without DRL’s…unfortunately, poor man’s luxury car in the US…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • car lies on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Things very different in US and here and it’s more to a country’s policy. The car price there is relatively cheap and affordable and lots of cars to be scrapped in just few years. For those middle class people will choose those car model which “Facelifted” frequently like Korean car with cheap price. Reliability and durability won’t be as much considered as in Malaysia which still lots of people own their car for 15-20 years!

The high income nation like American can just get their car changed easily unlike our car price here is relatively sky rocketting high. Of course we can’t afford to change car easily and frequently unless you are rich! The history, durability and quality will be the priority here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • You simply salah tembak, look at the picture clearly. Our local Naza is NO American Kia’s dealer.

• Pitt, not ‘salah tembak’.
        There’s some truth. We Malaysians are sometime biased!

• Gavin on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Cannot see why to choose this over the focus or mazda 3. The latter aee model revolution while this is just an evolution. Plus the interior is more boring than watching paint dry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • c segment car wannabe…

• Nicholas on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:38 pm

What I can see now is all the car manufacturer increase the price of their new car later only give price cut when government announce the price drop. As I see at one website quoted for new vios version G at 92000.
    So car manufacturer also know how to play trick before government implement the price cut.

• bystander on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:43 pm

After viewing the real thing in showroom, all can be summer up in one word: CHEAPSKATE! The car is smaller than forte, the interior design sucks and the seats and quality of materials are on par with those in a Perodua’s….I’ll choose a RIO or JAZZ Hybrid over this, even a PREVE, in fact, I will not considering buying this astronomically overpriced piece of plastic at all!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
    • jeremy on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Preve Hatchback? Coming in two months time….80k for full spec, loads of features (real DRL, CCFL back lights, ABS, ESC, 6 airbags, HHA, ICE, GPS Navi, DVD player, leather seats) and even option for manual CFE…sounds good to you?

• Hukaka on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:50 pm

getting expensive but the resale value will it maintain?

• encik boss on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Banyak komen pulak korang ni..mahal la.x berbaloi la.
    Sapa suruh undi BN dulu? Lepas ni ada GST lagi naik harga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
  • Comes this Friday, Ron 95 is gone and they introduce RON 91. Padan muka those who buy this car becoz this car can only go Ron 95 above

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Please share where you got this info from? So far the talk about changing from RON95 to RON91 is unconfirmed and there are no timelines given even if it is ever going to happen.

• Ce No More on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:57 pm

No doubt the features are quite impressive but we have to remember, the maintenance cost and spare parts for KIA has always been on the high side. Previously, it is still acceptable because the price of the car is affordably priced like in the example of the Forte, so the high maintenance cost is somewhat offset against the lower car price. But with Cerato, this is no longer the case – high car price with high maintenance cost and low resale value. Tahniah Naza!

• Sharu on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Anne ” Kasi 1 capati”
    Hoping that govt will start to implement the reduction scheme after GE13. “Wah kena babe siul”

And as for KIA, the Koreans gave a “gangnam” with the previous Forte but with K3 price “takregam”. But there will Malaysian splashing money on this model.

K3 was launch in Oman Q1 2013. Full spec 1.8L@OMR6,500.000 approx MYR52,000.000 and with 130% tax (duty+excise+sales) = MYR 119,600.000..
    So ppl should go for 2.0 as it is value buy compare to 1.6L…

• Mercedesfanszzz on Jul 02, 2013 at 6:59 pm

First glance from the side view, mistakenly think it’s a Elantra. HAHA
    Nice car btw !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Dr Cooper on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Somehow I don’t like that the bias to driver side center console,prefer symmetrical type…

the spec is generous but the price is high

• I really don’t see why everyone is complaining about the price. I said it before is only logical they’ve increase the price after gaining traction. With that kind of specs, and the competition really not anywhere close, I find the price is reasonable. It’s a great car, thou I’am not liking the especially dull-looking interior(which I’ve notice has become a trend in recent Kias, even the new Corolla looks better, PERSONAL OPINION).Thou really from the pics, looks smaller the the Japanese offering, which is the last USP the Japanese has an edge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • jeremy on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Its a HUGE price hike, bro…that’s why people are complaining…not a 5-10 k price hike, more like a 15-20 k price hike…that’s about a 25% price hike…

• I may get a huge dislikes for this but here goes. You’re getting better kits and specs, and Kia’s image has lifted abit more, so basically you’re getting more image now. So is kinda natural that the Naza starts raking in the cash after the Forte, where it was building its brand. UMW did the same, and I see no different with this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
        • overpriced on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:09 pm

I do understand that cerato is a better spec car than the forte that it is replacing and thus the expected price increase. But an increase of approx 12k for 1.6 and 20k for 2.0 is just too much. Bear in mind that the cerato is fairly new and thus unproven nor recognized internationally yet. When the elantra was introduced here, it was already recognized and acclaimed internationally with numerous awards under its belt. Thus even though the price for elantra can be considered high, it was kind of justified in a way due to its status. But the cerato is even more expensive than the already proven elantra. Talk about overconfidence or rather arrogance on the part of naza

• chikaro on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:47 pm

In that case, I would rather buy inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Flying Car on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Hope Nasim’s also read paultan…only if…padan muka semua

• Jack Tai on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:00 pm

The price is too high. Not worth to buy.

• kelvin on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Way too expensive for a 1.6l Korean car

• FluidicSculpture on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:08 pm

The exterior and interior is hard to stomach…

Now where can I get an Elantra with Cerato’s equipment… :P

• dason on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:22 pm

lower by 10k, put it at 89,888 and you can sell a few more units man

• Ricky James on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Very expensive, better i buy honda civic or Toyota Altis!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Aaron on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Too experience for a torsion beam rear suspension setup car. Will not pay over RM90k for this car.

• Kuinosan on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:45 pm

No longer a value for money model like the Forte. At this price range, Ford Focus will be a better choice and also the better specced car with better performance. Their slogan (This, is innovation) for the Cerato really doesn’t reflect the ability and potential of the car. The Cerato is in fact a step backwards in some areas compared to the Forte. Too bad!

• benzs8787 on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Since I just read n read all the comment posted. This car is actually overprice since its a local assembly. But quality wise not sure. Should wait another half year to see how ppl respond n we can make judgement. Korean is not very good for the past few yrs but now they r getting better. We should wait for price reduction from G since the price is way too high compare to older model. Anyway fellow respondent we should wait for upcoming t.altis n t.vios. see which country give the most gadgets.

• Korean kimchi Still can’t beat the king of quality n resale value Toyota n Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • You haven’t been checking RV lately yea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • car lies on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Check already. But no need to check also understood that, those Korean car RV really………too pity la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Max Long on Jul 02, 2013 at 8:54 pm

In Bolehland, there are always the benchmarks Myvi 1.5SE, Preve 1.6 and Inspira 2.0 to be “considerate” about when a particular new non-national car model gets launched and “approved” priced. Go figure guys!!!

Naza-KIA got lucky the 1st round with the Forte 1.6 and 2.0…that was before the Inspira was born…no?

• jeremy on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:27 pm

While I’m no government lover, I think the problem is not just with the government or MITI…the Forte sold well, and Naza the saw opportunity to sell it for more…to cloud it, give it a new name so people would not compare it with Forte…genius?? Marion Caunter must be so proud of her man…

• overpriced on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Wrong strategy by naza. The current forte no longer commands the interest nor demand, hardly see any with new license number. Launching the new forte as a different model with a new name at a much higher price will not push up the demand for the old forte. Nor will the cerato command similar interest or demand as the old forte during the initial years when it was launched due to the pricing. So the result will be minimal / sluggish sales for the old forte and moderate / so so sales for the cerato. If naza had market the cerato as the current forte replacement and price it at just slightly higher than the forte, I would expect the sales to be just as good or even better than what the forte was previously.

• Peter on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Just viewed the 1.6 just now, they don’t have 2.0 in Penang. Hmm…

Just my 2 cents. Overall, the exterior is very nice with the redesign. A lot of cool features too compare to other cars in same segment.

However, the interior looks at City to me nothing really interesting. Passenger seats behind are a little cramp feels like Vios, the height is too low if you sit straight. Does not feels as comfortable as a Civic, perhaps is the missing leather seat.

I must say the white looks really good and going to review second round when the 2.0 comes in. The price might be back me off with no promotion at all. Sad…

• jeremy on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Why are people so surprised with the price…me and few others already mentioned the price 2 months earlier as revealed by Kia salesman…

To those who want great C-segment car…best thing to do right now is to wait for the new Mazda 3 to arrive early next year and wait for Bermaz to CKD it maybe late 2014…price would be pretty similar to current Mazda 3, a little price hike definitely, but not as crazy what Naza is doing here…and with direct injection engine as well, not this shitty MPI engine…

• mkler on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:46 am

skyactiv is shitty too. 2.0 AT low powered version is really underpowered, lol

• overpricedcerut on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:51 am

Yes, the estimated price range was released by the KIA SA before the offlicial launch. However, it was perceived to be CBU, which is justified for the price range. Moreover, the tendency is that the official pricing will be at the lower range or cheaper than the estimated pricing, for example in the case of Peugeot 208 or Ford Kuga. However for this Ceratu, it turns out to be CKD and the price fixed at the higher range of the estimated price range.

• RoKie on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Why the girl models all looked so lansi one ? The guys are not that lansi looking, compared to the girls.

What sort of messages is Naza trying to portray to the public ? That their super high priced cars are worthy for lansi looking people ?

• nice car but overpriced.

• NutHasForgotItsSkin on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:41 pm

oh yeahh..the nut has left its skin aside ;-)
    well, they’ve forgotten that Malaysians chose Forte due to the fact it is stuffed with RM100k++ tech with the insanely affordable price tag… now??? even coming mazda 3 and sylphy will come out with better technology as in engine and transmission wise, they cant stand a chance to such fine cars

• lanytr on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:48 am

mazda3 2.0l for 10.4 sec sprint, is that better tech? Funny

• Hunterhunted on Jul 07, 2013 at 10:42 pm

well mr, if sprint time is define as ”better tech”, the world should stop R&D for low C02 emission and breakthrough in fuel formulation.. u have just ended the world by ur backward comment, thanks

• i like kia forte design than this kia cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • RakyatMalaysia7 on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:45 pm

I believe car prices in malaysia will be much more cheaper if there’s no proton n perodua,coz others have to price their cars higher than p1 n p2..i dont know,just my gut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • pasculy on Jul 02, 2013 at 9:50 pm

For that price, they should include in park assist. But still it’s overprice & overkill.

• expensive? on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Sometimes… Quality things have to be slightly expensive to prevent cheapsakes to own it… :P…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Engdau on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:08 pm

I still prefer Kia Forte than Kia Cerato, especially the front look. The latter is too pricey, not worth it.

• old dog on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:33 pm

wait for the 2013 model in 2014 20% discount like Inspira…

The failure to market Protong at over RM70K and Kia at over RM100K is the same…

• Chicken little on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:34 pm

As most of the readers are mentioned that they were rather get Japanese car but are they also aware that Toyota, Honda & Nissan all also local assembled as well. Specifications wise they are way behind Kia/Hyundai. I think most of the people will buy Japanese car just for the sake of brand and hau lian (action). Just like how I wondered why so many bought vw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • neemfa on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:38 am

That shows that the rakyat kena con up side down, left and right.. when they have no other choice, they will go back to the regular japanese.. koreans are as expensive now.. so what’s left? local products loh..

• One thing for sure….if Naza down the price for just 10k I believe all the comment will turn up site down kan? No more jap car no more mazda3…. Just left OMG I’ll must get this car…but true the price is too high…..pls bring the price just 10k Naza, then u will see this car will be sold like hell and left all Jap car lost market

• odi862 on Jul 02, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Everybody complained the price too high. Agreed. Why not launch a campaign not to buy it. When the sales figure low, the seller will offer big discount. We’ve seen this happened before. Let the buyer decide.

• onizuka sensei on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:02 pm

rather get a less gadget civic 1.8 than this so called sir-ra-too-pid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • ah wei on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:11 pm

exterior very cantik.. great leap forward by KIA, but when come to interior.. i prefer Elantra.. especially the dashboard and gear stick..

• korean c segment for rm120k…joking or wut

• autodriver on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I will definitely visit showroom when Kia launched a new car. When I see the real car and price,

1. Forte, WOW WOW WOW (and I own one).

2. Sportage, WOW. Value of money SUV.

3. K5, WOW. Value of money D-segment.

4. Sorento, WOW. I consider it as best value of SUV/MPV in its segment.

5. RIO, WOW but the tone is softer. B-segment hatchback is competitive, there are rivals like Peugeot 208, Suzuki Swift and Fiesta. I prefer 208 over RIO.

6. K3, mmm.. overall impressive but to be honest, I can’t WOW despite long list of features. Compare to outgoing Forte, Cerato features are not so impressive and yet hike the price by 14k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • jejai on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Yes Naza.. I’m willing to pay RM100k for a car that can keep my butt well ventilated..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • mamamia on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:19 pm

take that!…hahaha

• autodriver on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:27 pm

If K3 is priced around 90k for 1.6 and 103k for 2.0, it will makes K3 more competitive, given that other car manufacturers increase few thousand for new replacement.

When Civic launched 9th gen, every model is raising by few thousand, it is understandable. This time Kia launching K3 to replace Forte, unfortunately it is 14k higher than Forte for 1.6 model. Disappointed.

• Maybe Naza tink they r in the poperty market, where in everry new launch, the prices keeps getting higher

• the interior looked like preve quality

• mazdex on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:36 pm

mazda3 0–100km/h sprint

skyactiv-G 1.5 6MT – 10.8 (underpowered)
    skyactiv-G 2.0 standard 6MT – 8.9
    skyactiv-G 2.0 standard 6AT – 10.4 (underpowered)
    skyactiv-G 2.0 i-ELOOP 6MT – 8.2

auto transmission – underpowered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • theanswer on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:44 am

most of turbo diesel 4wd have 10-11 sec sprint. but with 300+nm(at least) of torque, do u consider them underpowered? sprint time is too general.

• I feel sorry for the salesmen..

• They never learn from the Elantra mistakes yet. With that overpriced car Elantra selling demand is jz so so. Most of it sales is contribute by 1.6 model which is below 100k benchmark. I guess same will happened to Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Aeroman on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:34 am

I was initially very interested in the Cerato. I had even put down a RM500 booking fees last week after comparing features, reading good overseas reviews on the huge improvements over the last Forte. But I started to have second thought after the pricing were revealed during the launch. I was hoping the launching price for the 2.0L would be closer to RM110K. To me, Cerato 2.0 has lost it’s value for money advantage to Ford Focus 2.0+(Sports or the Titanium). The Korean could have the chance to lure someone who has been camping at the other camps all these years, namely the Japanese, Italian, British, German and almost once, the Swedish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:29 am

If intend to get a Korean at this price, rather get a Euros/American Ford. Reliability is on par but build quality, fc, driving and other factor is lead in class. If not rushing for a car, better wait till next year Mazda 3 as it has Japanese reliability, Conti’s driving and fc, excellent looks and well aged , 1st batch will be CBU from Japan and Japanese craftsmanship is one of the best in the world. Mazda doesn’t really that expensive here.

• Aeroman on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Thanks for the info and advice.

A family member is already driving the Mazda 3 Sport. I just like to adventure into other makes which I have not tried before, namely the Korean (Kia, Hyundai), US (Ford, Chevrolet) or France (Peugeot, Citroen).

• Aeroman on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:44 pm

Different strokes for different folks

My personal priorities when choosing my ride
        1. Safety ( My ability to continue enjoying life depends on this)
        2. Handling (You will then enjoy every moment you are driving the car)
        3. Performance (Exhilarating when you overtake)
        4. Looks (I like all things beautiful)
        5. Comfort (You need to be comfortable to enjoy anything)
        6. Features & gadgets (I am a geek)
        7. Resale Value (2nd last place because when you enjoy your ride for 5-7years, this doesn’t matter anymore. After 5-7 years, you may lose ADDITIONAL RM10-20K ie RM2,000-RM4,000/year, when compare to those makes which are supposedly to have a better resale value)
        8. Fuel consumption (Last place, reason same as above. Even with 30% higher fuel consumption (RM600 per month*30%=RM180 additional fuel cost per month or RM2,160/year), this will be only a fraction of the yearly 8-12% of depreciation on a RM100K car you will be suffering (RM8,000-RM12,000).
        So I am not going to sacrifice my enjoyment of my ride just to save RM6/day ! Most of the people who visit this forum are car enthusiast. So are you going to compromise your enjoyment just because you wish to save RM6/day but still have to ditch out at least RM22/day(RM8,000/year on depreciation)? At least not me.

• Makia on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:41 am

Went to see the car at pavillion today. It looks much better than in pictures actually. Interior finish and quality was top notch for its class. Ventilated seat in the 2.0 was something I found in a Lexus recently which will be great to have for long hour drive. I have a kia forte 6 speed and really love it. This car is certainly much better in quality, bigger n more well equiped than forte and therefore should be price higher as well. In term of price, compare with other c-segmet car it is still value for money. Certainly look more special if less ppl driving it. Would love to own one soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
  • My testes bounced off the floor when I saw the prices. Can you say expensive in Korean?

• KennyKT on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:59 am

그게 비싸네요 Gugeh Peesa-neyo – That’s expensive……..lolz

• Anyone here drive a flying sushi cars? I never feel that in proton’s.

• spyshotX on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:05 am

had to agree with u on that.. sadly though r&h is the only point worth mentioning for our local breed.. not to be confused with the other sushi celup local breed..

• Not really, most C jap C segment cars here only have 2 airbags. So point 2 : safety

• kuinosan on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:16 am

Looks like there are many unhappy potential buyers for this car. Many are dissapointed by the fact that Naza is trying to price their Kia cars ala Sime Darby way. Price cars at way over customers expectations, then see market reaction. If sale slow, then start using rebate strategy. But then again, these rebates are for cars that are from the previous year. Now do you see the catch? Wrong strategy Naza, we need you to price it(Cerato) to sell and not price it to discourage the growing Kia fan base in Malaysia as It will surely come back to bite you in the end. High price = to low demand = low sales = to offer discounts and rebates.. Naza, you are pushing your luck! ¦(

• everyone complain about price….1.6cc 100k…. so should tag how much ler?80k,90k? if they fix 90k,without memory power seat,less air bag,no armrest air blower,keyless,touch screen reverse camera.. i think i prefer add 10k to get all of this specs which we cant get from outside….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • zamer on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:51 am

did you know they can put those thing and still make money when sell at 80-90k?

if everytime new gadget introduced, then have to jack up the price..how ler??? then in future the cerato will become 300k.. what do you think?

• I really can not accept the dashboard design which look like 10 years old design…Kia got no designer? Even a 3-year old kid knows it is extremely outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Pornstar on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:26 am

Thank you 46% Malaysians… because of you, we still pay so much for our cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • The price increase margin is unbelievable. In term of features, all the gizmo and goodies will not worth the hassle and trouble you will facing for owning a KIA. Naza really ruined the korean car tactics.

• marina mahadir on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:47 am

bye bye KIA…welcome Mazda 3…….

• gOOsh on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:58 am

untung arr adam ng… dapat kereta free…
    congrat adam…

• azrai on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:11 am

Waht about the current Forte? Still selling it after this ‘replacement’? Or maybe not because the price in 70-80k bracket?

• TheJapDriver on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:11 am

Looks great but 99k for a 1.6 Korean car is way too much. Well looks are deceiving but the engineering under the hood are things that matter about a car. I can see numerous Korean fanboys here who stick to the point that the price hike is reasonable due to the increment in terms of specs but hey, please get back to the fundamental basis of a car-the engine. Korean cars have lots of problems here and there and the maintenance fees are sky high, not to mention the awfully terrible fuel consumption they have. I guess even the aging Vios engine might turn out to be better than this piece of metal in the Cerato’s bonnet. And yes, Korean cars are noisy all the way long.

But, to be honest, the design team has done a great job at the exterior part. Looks more dynamic than the oddball Forte which doesn’t look like a C segment to me. But still, any Altis, Civic or Mazda 3 will do better than this thing in terms of performance, handling and aging ability, not to mention their brand reliability. Still, I’d stress that 99k is too much. Don’t be dreaming Kia, this is a Japan-centric automobile industry, lowering your price might help in improving your sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:24 am

In 1970’s Japanese car are meant to underprice Conti’s car. 2000’s, Korean car meant to underprice Japanese car. In the future, China’s car are meant to underprice Korean car. Maybe Malaysia car meant to underprice China car in the far future?

• TheJapDriver on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:08 am

Well that would be a very very far future then…. Hahaha just kidding. Honestly proton has the looks lah but their engines are also quite problematic. I love the styling of Korean cars but I’ll never buy them anyway…

• Kirigaya Kazuto on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:29 am

99 888 for 1.6 is steep price!

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:01 am

if 15% downpayment.. take 7 years loan have to pay around RM1180 p/month. Looks like my next car will be a Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • feels like previous forte has better interior design

• nighttrain on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:33 am

The pricing part is not KIA’s job but NAZA Group, and MiTI(although they say they’re not involved). I propose NAZA tekan cukup-cukup their super luxury customers(not even an eyelash bat).
    Price this Cerato lower lah, you can charge RM5m for an Aventador, they still buy. Charge RM200k for 1.8l Harley, they still buy. No need to hantam us middle income earners lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:21 am

Naza, DRB Hicom, UMW, Honda Malaysia, ETCM. Stupid pricing from these company.

• how bout if u develop ur own car and company and sell it for rm10?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Korean car have no soul (except kia soul hihi) compare to japs and conti. Both of them got long history and some become legends but not KIA. The most important for driver is power and handling not gadjet…this is hows japs and conti tackle us…

• FreakOBoost on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:35 am

Agreed, I believe safety (active & passive) feature is another factor to be considered

• Suckdsg on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:20 pm

You must be joking saying that Jap car got soul.

You want to know the meaning of soul car, go drive an Alfa. Kia soul, jap shit, even VW golf is bland.

The soul feeling still falls on the italian except for Maserati fan which drives old 2nd hand skyline and some beatup golf.

• i love najib on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:39 am

without the excise duty everyone will be smiling instead of arguing here. thanks government.

• Typical korean dashboard…for sure not design by peter sheryer…..

• Aaron Wong on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:14 am

With the new pricing policy from Kia, this will definitely benefit the European car sales in Malaysia. With the pricing of Rio very near to Fiesta/208 and Cerato, even though cheaper than Focus/308, due to rear torsion beam suspension setup and older engine, the European car will gain more market share in Malaysia. Generally, continental cars have better handling compared to Korean.

• azhar on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:15 am

gilaaaa!!!..100k for a korean car..overprice car with an over ambitious company..what a combo!

• On the contrary The K5 is RM150K and yet I can see many on the road. I supposed you should retract that statement;)

• pengguna_bijak on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:31 am

Let us rakyat use our power..

stop buying new cars until BN fulfilled their promise of 30% reduction in car price..

wait till GE14 sure all car price will drop.. just need to wait a few years only..

Just stick with whatever ride you have now.. if you desperately need to have your own transport just go fetch secondhand one that you can buy in cash.. stop feeding the greedy gov, car sellers, bankers..

• along on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:52 am

Yes… we do this ourselves…

If we dont buy, the gov can forget about 7 billion excise tax…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
      If we work together, we can win this…

• been there. done that. still driving one

need to admit old cars do come with needs for more attention. no warranty, parts reaching end of lifespan, bla bla bla.

one may come to a point where attention need to be shifted to other things, i.e, family, kids, school etc.

so idea of reliable new car, warranty, free service, less visits to workshop may sound like a good one. so if you are young, less commitment, no dependants, go for this old car/used car route. can save a lot i tell u. however as u aged and become a family man, decision is yours. for me, family comes first.

• D.MAN on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:48 am

Why no one comparing it with Ford Focus? The Focus has lots of features too, more than Cerato. The price is more or less the same for the 2.0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • overpricedcerut on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:12 am

KIA has been fairly successful in Malaysia all this while despite the high maintenance cost and poor after sales service partly due to the fact that their cars are attractively priced and feature packed when compared with other similar segment car makes.
    For example, the old Forte and the CBU Korea models, Sportage and Optima.
    However with the Cerato, this is no longer the case. It has lost the price advantage / attractiveness over the other car makes. With this type of pricing, the consumers have many other better options and all of a sudden, somehow the maintenance / spare part cost, the after sales service and resale value plays a big part in one’s decision on whether to get the Cerato.
    Looks like Naza is making a strategy shift in the marketing of future KIA cars and sadly, I believe that this is the wrong move.
    Without having strong after sales service, affordable maintenance / spare parts and comparable resale value with Japanese make cars, consumers will never regard or place a KIA in the same category / mould as a Japanese car make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • autodriver on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:55 am

Most people say Korean car resales value is bad, high maintenance cost and expensive spare parts. Let me explain 1 by 1 with the facts.

1. High maintenance cost? Forte maintenance cost is cheaper than City, Vios, Sylphy, Altis and Civic. You can get the schedule from Kia SC and compare with the rest.

2. Expensive spare part. People always say Japanese car spare part is cheap, but this pointing to non-original, OEM or used one. If you are taking genuine (new original) spare part, I believe Japanese car cost more than Korean car. Try to call up UMW to check an Altis bumper price vs Elantra bumper from Sime Darby.

3. Resales value bad? Please go to mudah.my and check the price of Korean car (models from 2010 onward). Suggest you can compare Sonata 2.0 vs Camry 2.0 & Accord 2.0 for year 2011.

Do research yourself and don’t only listen to others who talk without fact. Anyone who doubt my statement are highly recommend check out yourself. Please prove proof to challenge that I am wrong.

• gmorque on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:21 pm

mostly here people talk about the pricing. if the car is excellent. no need to worry about the resell value.. comparison was made with the previous forte which was a success with the pricing and specs.

• really crazy price for a kia. hope that the sale is really bad n the price will drop.. discount or whateverlah.

• Cheng on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Greedy Naza n Kia!!…please don’t buy…hhuhu
    better go for Preve Premium…coming soon..huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • where naza kia found there bussiness strategis ?? make easier people choice…good for you naza…

• not value for money
    >_<!

• CerutMahal on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Well said and true to the core. Without the price advantage, and coupled with the high maintenance cost, poor after sales service and low resale value, I don’t foresee the Cerato will sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • human on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:02 pm

consider all the spec given, plus look to be proud, i definitely will place a book, consider other brand only give u only two pillow and vsa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • NOKIA on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:37 pm

The pricing make this car ugly. Totally not worth it.
    When I see this car on the road, I would say an idiot just bought an overpriced Korean car. No more wow factor for Kia cars like the Forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Johnny on Jul 03, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Why does every post have people flaming one another? Is this a Malaysian thing? Or is it just human nature of wanting to always be right-fighting with “facts” here and there (or plucking out figures from the sky) like the expert car critiques you are. If you have an opinion, that’s it. No right or wrong. If you think the car is ugly, say it’s ugly and other people who think it’s ugly will like your post. Likewise if you think the car is good looking. But don’t need to go bashing the other side just because they have a different opinion! Grow up brothers!

• Forte for the mass, Cerato for the niche.

• Shahrin on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Bought a Kia Forte 2.0 few mths before not knowing the new Cerato will launch this soon and felt a bit regret. Since the price hike is 20K, felt a lot better… hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Johnny on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Sorry to burst your bubble my friend. But the price drop of your car will be equally bad as well.

• Shitty it has good look.. But i always has doubt about the KIA brand..

• Polo Saga on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Greedy Naza, such a ripoff!

• Overpriced car..will see the price after 5years..wondering why the price is still increasing…ini semua BN punya kerja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Probably 1 of the most heated forum & to much extent arguments & bashing 1 another & of course the mostly 1-sided bashing of this car due to the pricing. Funny to read even talked about Samsung phones & what not which were way out of topic.No need to dwell into that. Everyone has their opinion & there are always fan of a particular make & even hater of the other. I agree on face value, the price hike seems ridiculous. Business decisions wanting bigger business profits by taking advantage of a previous successful venture…hmm, sounds logical but when it hit the pockets of common consumers like us, it hurts, i understand. I had spoken to some SA of a KIA dealer this morning & they were also surprised by the announced pricing, as they expected somewhere in the region of 90k would be a fairer representation(ie. on the 1.6L) but some SA who had done the test drive in Korea did have their own say on this. In my opinion, it is easy to simply bash & love a car based on papers data but i would take in more value of a comment of someone who has really seen & test drive this car. Only then the person of potential buyer can see and feel the real thing & have clearer idea of the worth of extra bucks he needs to fork out. Indeed the factors (1 or all)of past records of Korean make or Forte’s maintenance costs, resale value & SC’s after-sales services,etc will be considered. Again, past records may be actually be past events and things will always improve thereon, lets hope so. I’m more of a facts and rational thinking guy, so i will reserve my final verdict after test drive…but i can say now that resale value is not 1 of my factors to consider when i want to buy car. Time has changed & we are lucky to have more brands for us to choose from. And i will feel good for whatever decision i take as to whether to buy this car or not. Prefer not to use the word “invest” as if i ever buy, its for sake of pure convenience & enjoyment & not for appreciation of values for profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • I am also upset with the price but I couldn’t say much until i have the car tested by myself. Let me feel it by myself. People here love to comment as they have used this car for years. Well, let me feel it and decide. You guys do not exaggerated much!

• cerato potential on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:34 pm

after reading thru, most of u commented on 1.6….but we have also an option to buy 2.0…..i think with technology, engine wise, performance wise, and with price 118K for 2.0, personally i think it is reasonable….this is the cheapest 2.0 on the road that i have ever seen in the market (except forte), with 161hp, and 194nm torque….better than civic 2.0 full spec at 136K on the road…..so anyone of u wanted to comment on 2.0?1.6 i am agreed it is overpriced….how about 2.0?any comment on the 2.0?

tq

• Aeroman on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Aeroman on Jul 03, 2013 at 12:34 am

I was initially very interested in the Cerato. I had even put down a RM500 booking fees last week after comparing features, reading good overseas reviews on the huge improvements over the last Forte. But I started to have second thought after the pricing were revealed during the launch. I was hoping the launching price for the 2.0L would be closer to RM110K. To me, Cerato 2.0 has lost it’s value for money advantage to Ford Focus 2.0+(Sports or the Titanium). The Korean could have the chance to lure someone who has been camping at the other camps all these years, namely the Japanese, Italian, British, German and once almost the Swedish.

• Aeroman on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Different strokes for different folks

My personal priorities when choosing my ride
    1. Safety ( My ability to continue enjoying life depends on this)
    2. Handling (You will then enjoy every moment you are driving the car)
    3. Performance (Exhilarating when you overtake)
    4. Looks (I like all things beautiful)
    5. Comfort (You need to be comfortable to enjoy anything)
    6. Features & gadgets (I am a geek)
    7. Resale Value (2nd last place because when you enjoy your ride for 5-7years, this doesn’t matter anymore. After 5-7 years, you may lose ADDITIONAL RM10-20K ie RM2,000-RM4,000/year, when compare to those makes which are supposedly to have a better resale value)
    8. Fuel consumption (Last place, reason same as above. Even with 30% higher fuel consumption (RM600 per month*30%=RM180 additional fuel cost per month or RM2,160/year), this will be only a fraction of the yearly 8-12% of depreciation on a RM100K car you will be suffering (RM8,000-RM12,000).
    So I am not going to sacrifice my enjoyment of my ride just to save RM6/day ! Most of the people who visit this forum are car enthusiast. So are you going to compromise your enjoyment just because you wish to save RM6/day but still have to ditch out at least RM22/day(RM8,000/year on depreciation)? At least not me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Eastar Mystic Black on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Dear Naza, Male model for car launch is a no no. Thank you.

• conspiracy theory

BeeNd invite all car brand to a meeting.

“Pls hike your price kaokao for all the new car launches”

“Then I will play a puppet show that BeeNd janji dicapati, this model reduce 10%!! Meanwhile you still can earn extra for the first batch buyer. You help me, I help you”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • OJ Tan on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Price for 1.6 should be around RM75K and 2.0 RM 90K.
    Korean is still Korean. 2nd clsss to Japanese Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
    • autodriver on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:46 pm

you expect new Cerato with additional gadgets sell lower than Forte, think you should see doctor ASAP.

Otherwise can you tell me which auto maker ever sell new version lower price than previous model?

• Vince on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:12 pm

The success of forte is because the C segment car has a B segment price tag.

Now with the change of name, as well as the price, everyone will turn back to Toyota, Mazda, Honda, Ford etc…

The legendary moment of Kia is over, sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Hah????? Kia….. resale value….. mampus wooooo….. design lawa tapi takde resale value…… meh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • cerato on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:05 pm

good price for compete with altis and honda..for me
    cerato isbetter than others…because my cars always korean car …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • civicEK on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:07 am

better buy inspira leh more powerful and cheaper by almost 40k

• Mat Ali on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:24 am

Heh2.Kia@Naza Syiok Sendiri lg.
    1.Overpriced(must try tipu buyer)
    2.Less/Non Resale value(tipu lg2)
    3.Uneasy to find service center or part replacement(tipu lg3)
    4.CKD lg?Da berape rmai kena tipu ni weii…

• gkl83 on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:39 am

Standard market price same with Honda and Toyota to fill up the gap of RM100k price range… no tough competition between them as Forte’s pricing range…

Anyway, no more “The Power To Surprise” but replaced by “This, is Innovation” which cost RM100k… sigh…

• Cerato in other countries are using a better GDI engine. Why Malaysia using MPI?

• Neymar J.R on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:16 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 119
    • a woman who can hold her own on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:37 am

“…….woman bising…”?

don’t be so gender bias. some women know cars better than some men. go back to the slum you came from you mysogynistic chauvinist swine.

neymar my foot!

you got balls the size of ping pong balls tapi nak cakap besar.

get over your recent breakup and if you’re still married, you can expect your marriage to end soon.

disgraceful douche!

• Bad strategy on pricing for a Korean car.

• who gonna buy this 100k kia when u can get vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:12 pm

The Forte resale is so bad already and people might be afraid to splash their cash on this Cerato. They might as well buy a Civic which might be more expensive but a safer choice in the longer term. It has more sentimental value and modders out there love the Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Aeroman on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Just called Kia SA to cancel my Cerato booking and going for the Focus Sport+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • gmorque on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:13 pm

wow totally expensive. local assembly some more not cbu.. definately ford focus is the clear winner..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • anrix on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:51 pm

mhal dri yg ap yg org rmai jgka….1.6 utk rm 100k???lbeh baek amek city…almera pn x trase trgugat pn ler….interior, lg elok preve lg…nmpk ad klas ckit…yg nie nmpk murah jer n x pdan dgn harga yg smpi rm100k….tguler vios bru yg akn dtg k malaysia nt…mst cerato nie kurang sale….in my opinion ler….rse mcm lbeh baek bli preve dri cerato nie…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:40 am

Some of the readers here are anti Korean cars and will discriminate without taking into consideration the facts or ability of the car.. That is why we always hear them saying they heard from others about how negative Korean cars are.. Why always heard from someone? Just go test drive the new generation of Korean cars and you shall see.

• Kuinosan on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:51 am

There’s the give away guys….this anti Korean tech big mouth motor do drive an old Japanese B segment car! Cannot afford new Korean cars, no need to condemn like there is no tomorrow. Maybe you will afford one in the future, don’t be so sore lah. Cheers!

• anti haters on Nov 07, 2013 at 11:35 pm

I come back here after driving my cerato 1.6l over 14k Km on the road.
    wat i can say is i fully satisfied on it. it gives me a fresh new experience on driving a car and some level of “premium feeling” at an affordable price.
    i think i made a correct choice. if u nvr sit into one, pls go and try it. 99k for this car? i cant see any problem on it.

so, haters pls continue to hate.

• Alvin on May 16, 2015 at 11:31 am

Enjoying this k3 until the 7 the month. Battery dies. Thought I can claim a new unit but was told by KIA Glenmarie (Temasya) that the mileage exceeded. But why this is happening? I had my car service for 1k, 10K , 20k KM. Each time they charged for 8 points check which inclusive on battery health check. Why they never tell me that before it dies. Now I’m at 24k KM. I’m sincerely urging those who are driving KIA, each time make sure they tell me all the 8 points they had check. KIA Glenmarie HQ, or Red Cube note this! 7 th months and the battery dies is MANUFACTURER’s defect! Do not blame it to your customers

• azalee95 on Oct 23, 2016 at 12:35 am

I disagree.

• Tee From Johor on Jul 09, 2023 at 9:47 pm

i am coming back after being the first batch owner for more than 10 years!
    it served me well in the past and have clocked 325,000 KM now and journey is still counting.
    I have another new car and this is my second car now, never think to sell it as it is super reliable and low cost to maintain.
    I am super proud of my decision made on 2013 which i didnt even to touch n see a real car before i made the booking.