F30 BMW 316i introduced in Malaysia – RM209,800

BMW 316i 01

Been eyeing that F30 BMW 3 Series, but can’t quite bag the 320i? Well, here’s the one that should do the trick – it’s the entry-level 3er called the BMW 316i. The model joins the 320i, 320d Modern and 328i Luxury, as well as the recently announced 320d and 328i M Sport versions, in the line-up. There’s also the 335i and ActiveHybrid 3 in the F30 family, of course.

It’s also the sixth model to join BMW Malaysia’s locally-assembled model range, and is equipped with a 1.6 litre turbo four-pot with 135 hp and 220 Nm for output numbers – the mill is paired to an eight-speed auto. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.2 seconds and a 210 km/h top speed.

BMW 316i Interior

There’s no accompanying features list, save to say that the likes of Eco Pro and a multitude of ConnectedDrive kit is on – included in the list are BMW Live and BMW TeleServices. Also on, Leather Dakota Black interior and upholstery, a 6.5-inch screen, USB and Bluetooth connectivity and iDrive. The website doesn’t even list the model yet, so can’t tell you what other kit it has.

What’s known is the exterior colour options, and Alpine White, Black Sapphire, Melbourne Red, Glacier Silver and Mineral Grey are on the palette list. As for pricing, the 316i is priced at RM209,800, on-the-road without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wow, nice pricing strategy. I can expect to see more BMW on the road now.
    However, I worry whether it will underpower or not. After all, it is 1.6 engine.
    One thing is good, we no need to pay expensive road tax.
    Maybe I should just go to the showroom and have a test drive session.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 23
    • cardude on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:40 pm

its 1.6 Turbo.. base on the figures, it should serve most well enough.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 5
      • Johnny on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Wow…at this price.. for me, it’s a choice between this and the new A-class. I know even though it’s different segment, but being able to own a 3-series or a A-class at just +/- 200K is a big dilemma! (Cannot afford yet..but soon..bwahahhaa)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 8
        • Toe To Toe on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:23 pm

BMW316 at RM209,888
          3+1+6+2+0+9+8+8+8 = 45
          4+5 = 9
          9/3 = 3
          Half life 3 confirmed!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 32
      • Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:19 pm

The pug 308t already feels like no power. And here we have a much heavier 3 series with a 1.6 turbo. It will be blardy lethargic lah! Common sense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 74
        • I feel very poor la…many commenter here very rich base on the car they said they buy or has/had or car they test drive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
        • ahmad loy on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:59 pm

..not true! Actually..different manufacturer offer not the same performance..that’s why be able yourself go for test drive..generally..1.6 turbocharged engines working good on german brand..other word, please do not make comparison german brand with others..should be this BMW 316i compared to Merc A200.or Audi or VW with similar capacity for both drivetrain and gearbox technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • blue-traveler on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:37 am

At that price, we should alos add DS5 to compare. Priced about the same range, and both are 1.6 turbo.

• Autokennzeichen on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:22 pm

true true.thats why germans make fun of french cars. its true story and u’ll trust me if u live there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
          • Ip Man on Jul 08, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Trolls, please bring up the Preve 1.6 turbo to this topic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Doesn'tmatterwhatmynameis!! on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:04 am

this is a base model for the 3-series. Did you expect an M3 with that price. Sure its a little expensive, but consider the brand and the car. Its quite reasonable for those who wanna buy their first premium car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • not everyone needs to be first when the light turns green….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
        • ahmad maliq on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:41 pm

hello brother.. have u seen the VW golf, jetta or the scirocco that uses 1.4 engine? are they slow? No right? small engine doesnt mean its slow..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
          • hey guys why dont campare with our proundly national manufacture 1.6 turbo maybe at trafic light can …..hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • u r wrong man, vw are using TSI engine, and it 1.4 is twin charger turbocharge with supercharge. BTW vw are using DSG Gearbox. Totally cant compare with it.

• VW forever on Jul 09, 2013 at 12:06 pm

You can’t compare a useless 308T with a beemer. Totally different category.. Main thing is that the 308T will last 2 years and your maintenance bill will destroy you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • Thomas Shelby on Aug 27, 2023 at 11:43 am

you got experience or your another one of those i heard from here and there cocktalkers

• Jimmy on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:17 pm

I love BMw’s but why is the pariah BMW Malaysia ONLY giving 2 years warranty when most car manufaturers have upped it to 5 years. Even Mercedes give 4 years now.

You know why they give ONLY 2 years? Because they know, just right after the 730 days are up, your gearbox is high likely to kaput and it will cost you RM80,000 to replace. Be warned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
        • klata-klata on Jul 09, 2013 at 12:00 am

Change your gearbox oil & filter every 60,000km. BMW won’t do it for you. Take your car to an independent, to keep your gearbox running beyond warranty period and avoid BMW’s money making idea of “maintenance free” box.

• klata-klata on Jul 09, 2013 at 12:49 am

If your gearbox throws an error code and put you on limp-home mode, BMW will not reset the code for you to check if it was an intermittent problem. The only suggestion is for you to trade it in for a recon box at a huge price.

I was in this dilemma and I said No Thanks. Took my car to an independent who reset the error code in less than 5 minutes without charge. I drove off without problem for a few days and brought the car back for the gearbox oil & filter change as STRONGLY recommended by the independent, and the box has been running flawlessly now for another 2 years!! What a huge dent BMW can do to our national economy by swapping out such an expensive part without consideration to the customer’s bank account!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
        • Very shallow statement there for a person to completely belittle the subject matter discussed!

To be fair to all, check on all factory warranty given are from them or extended with third party insurance for the additional years.

All car german brands are using the more advanced drivetrains. Perhaps you are ranting your personal isolated case here to induce negative thoughts against it. IMO, not a fair comment made Mr. Jimmy. Information is important but validity and relevance are crucial to prove a point!

• jupjup on Oct 21, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Jimmy, you either do not own a premium car brand or you mind is just plain imbecile. Didn’t you know manufacturers that comes up with 4 or 5 years warranty are not fully covered by the manufacturer itself? All of them are mainly covered 2 years only and the rest of the years of “warranty” are from independent insurance companies in which you would need an adjuster to actually inspect your vehicle faults if you need to claim something. If you do not come for service in time for the 1st two years, you can say bye bye to your so called 5 years warranty claim. so which is better? thought so. pftt. people like you.. epic.

• Exactly. Some people comment without knowledge. BMW could give double the warranty but it will affect the price.

• namanama on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:50 pm

220nm torque is quite decent for this kind of size.done 9.2sec 0-100 sprint.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
      • Of course how fast is fast varies from person to person. But a 9.2sec car is slow in anyone’s standards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 73
      • Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:47 am

Hello friend, 220NM is pathetic.

My wifeys polo tsi 1.2 does 0-100 in about 9secs too with 175nm torque

So tell me , is the BMW 316i decent? Hell NO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 92
        • Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:31 am

and if you park a polo beside this f30, which car will people look at?? this car isn’t meant for performance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
        • Arcee on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:08 pm

I would rather be in an F30 if the road or weather condition is less than ideal for driving. I am on the old school thinking that more metal means better protection. In fact, 2 friends of mine recently walked away from an accident with just scratches in their BMWs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Hopefully this model carries the rest of the kit list found in the 320i. Imagine a BMW without xenon lights – yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 24
    • Ppl who bought this car is not just coz the power or performance but the badge… beemer fans dreams came true! of coz can save same money to add extra M sport kit lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • look at the availability of its torque (from low rev). 220nm is higher than a much bigger 2.0 Camry and quite comparable to a 2.5 Camry’s 230nm…Go Figure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • ahmad loy on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:58 pm

..220nm is far more powerful, and dynamic driving on this BMW compared to Camry’s 230nm..the price talk their’s quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • It should be below 200K mark!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Yap on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Yup, if deduct the tax…

That’s why we had given chance to vote for pakatan rakyat!!!

Reformasi!!!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 214 Thumb down 290
      • Doesn'tmatterwhatmynameis!! on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:08 am

bro, please keep political bull**** out of this blog. this is a car blog, not a place for politics. in case you didn’t know, the elections are over.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 58
      • shahza on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:20 am

Stupid comment. Had enough of politics.Start counting your votes down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 25
    • RON97 on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 193 Thumb down 307
      • Johnny on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:02 pm

Hypocrite!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
      • hafiz on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:03 pm

PTS has the rights to express his view on the price tag. But u do not have the rights to ask others to blame their ancestors for not being rich.

Should i ask u to blame your mother for having such a rude child like u? yes? no?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 208 Thumb down 9
      • Kereta on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:13 pm

’10grand but thy drive P1 also lah… drive expensive car just to kena puji and show off but end up driver inside yg fikir how to pay hutang every mnth…is it worth it??… tepuk dada tanya selera lah…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 5
        • WaJib on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:51 pm

I have seen some insurance agent drive BeemW but everyday eat maggi mee at mamak stall. What’s the point…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 6
          • rally_fan on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:47 pm

whats wrong with eating maggi mee at mamak stall?? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
          • ferrari owner on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:23 pm

I own a ferrari california but every month i like to eat maggi goreng in mamak la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
          • pleaseeee on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:21 pm

You sir, you don’t own ferrari. don’t lie

• What’s wrong with u? why blame mother or grand mother for not being rich? pls pay some respect!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
      • capati on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:44 pm

seen the official statistics on BR1M?
        half of the families got it. 58% give or take.

know the condition to actually receive BR1M?
        family income need to be under RM3k.

so yeah, half of all malaysian families live with under RM3k a month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
        • You are misrepresenting the figure. 58% is from the total of households (ie. families, 8mil total) of which BR1M is given to the head of families (ie. the father/mother) not of Malaysia 28mil total population. Within the families, you actually have well off sons/daughters, hence you see people collecting BR1M in Accords, Camrys.

• Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:16 am

looks like we got another jackass here who thinks he is better than everybody else. go and play with your daddy’s money and let people who work hard and earn their own money say what they want about this car instead of dealing with a special kind of retard like you RON97.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Boo Hoo on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:34 am

Wow RON97,

For someone with such good income and such bad taste, you do come across as somewhat arrogant… such a shame that you measure things only materialistically…for me people like you does not deserve to be respected, let alone listened to…

i wonder if your mom is proud of having such a rich (aku rasa dia ni berlagak je tapi hutang banyak) but very rude, inconsiderate, vain,and of course selfish child… these people are just comparing the “value” of the car, not the price…not everybody is as rich as you, who can simply walk into a showroom and dump in 10% down payment, people still want to discuss about the value they are getting for what they are paying…

but since you are an idiot you feel you can barge in anytime and acting like you own the room…this is a car blog, post your wealth somewhere else (fb or linkedin would be a good start, you cant even figure this out haha!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • RON97…Yeah there r lots of keybord warrior here. But are YOU TRYING TO SAY THAT U earn more than 10k /month ?? that you are sime d…. company big boss son?? or u are just another keybord warrior that you mention earlier in ur comment? PS ( im just a schooling 16 years old.) CHEERS ;)

• Winson on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:44 pm

If priced at RM100k, you will also shout below RM100k …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • dugong on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:48 pm

RM209,888…..interesting number.
      exactly the same price as Golf Gti. Now which is overpriced?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Johnny on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:33 pm

sure affordable la. Golf GTI so small only. RM209,888 is cheap and big car. :D RIGHT?

• David on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:34 pm

BMW = branded car
        VW = local brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • ahmad loy on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:11 pm

..some guys has test driven for both..when comparing german to german brand.. they said VW Golf Gti..but actually not right to compare because.BMW 316 is entry model.

• JAPAN CAR on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:19 pm

JAPAN CAR MAKE STILL GOT FUTURE?????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
  • ben yap on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:20 pm

interestingly, the engine develops lesser power than the Prince engine found in the Peugeot 308T and 408T.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Yap on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:53 pm

output lower but 0-100 and top speed still on par with 308t?

what happen to 308t horsepower? fake horse? lmfao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 47
      • theanswer on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:04 pm

power to weight ratio? aerodynamics?

• ae101 on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Power is produced from engine and that’s it. No such thing call fake hp. Transmission, weight and aerodynamic are major components contribute how fast the vehicle goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Peugeot 308T engine has a very very weak turbo. Test drove before.No oommphh wan.Feel like driving a slightly more powerful 1.6 car.Thats all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 51
        • Have to agree with u on this. I myself has Pug 308t. And based in my personal experience, the turbo in 308 is weak compared to tsi and other turbocharged car. One thing is because its low pressure turbo from prince engine. And also power-to-weight ratio is terrible due to the panoramic roof which significantly increased a car’s weight. Besides, 308 does have abit of turbo lag. Not as responsive as twin charge IMHO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • theanswer on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:02 am

u must be driving lancer evolution.

• guest on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:37 pm

You do realize RWD vehicles have grip advantage when it comes to acceleration right? Also, the transmission used on both cars are different, so the power loss of the gearbox also factors into the acceleration.

Btw, just to enlighten you a little. Power figures shown in brochures are flywheel figures. You want a proper figure, get it dyno’ed for on-wheel figures. lmfao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • dugong on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:34 pm

308 only 6 speeder la. 8 speeder sure better acceleration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • klata-klata on Jul 09, 2013 at 12:57 am

Superior Power & Torque Curves.
        plus the 8-speed Transmission.
        RWD also helps accelerate.

• Mercedes A-class not bad either

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo Ori on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Camry 2.4 is still better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 85
      • engdau on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:31 am

Dude, no more new Camry 2.4 on the road. Either 2.0 or 2.5.

• Sam Loo Ori on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Yes i was talking bout old camry as new camry 2.5 is damn fugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
          • sure i will choose Mercedes A Class over this bullshit entry level 3 series. Got 4 years warranty compare to Banyakk Mashukk Workshop car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • hopefully no one here will say better buy vios :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
  • I suggest Bmw rename this as 316i SV, sure sell like hot cake.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 8
    • I think if they name it ‘318i’, it would sound more attractive and reminiscent of the once most popular version of 3 series.

• Paul Tan on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Not possible as the ’18i’ tune is also 1.6 turbo but 170 PS and 250Nm in the 1-Series 118i.

The performance gap is too close with the 20i for there to exist 20i and 18i at the same time.

Currently for models where there’s a 20i, no 18i. Where there’s 18i, no 20i.

1-Series has 118i but no 120i, 3-Series has 320i but no 318i.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
  • Super Value on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Wow so this the BMW SV edition…for the poor tauke??? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 21
    • Jimmy on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Nope, it’s company car to accountant/manager, ok wat.
      Average taukes choose E-class.
      Rich ones choose brand-new S-class.
      Superrich choose Bentley.
      Rich Royal or famous can drive RR, otherwise it looks odd in your garage.
      Rich young at heart choose X6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • jinjangman on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:52 am

this car sure laku with the multi level skim cepat kaya people.. lol…

• Proton on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:35 pm

campro CFE power output better than that 138 compare to 135.. so jaguh kampung still not bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 29
    • Winson on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:52 pm

ppl nowadays see torque as reference for acceleration… VW Jetta 1.4 hp only 122bhp..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • where you got this fact bro. current Jetta TSI in malaysia is 160hp 240nm

• Jet-da on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:48 am

Jetta 0-100 only 8.3sec, plus turbo supercharged.wonder why vw didnt put the engine in golf7?too fast i think?

• BrianXYZ on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Direct competitor to local Mercedes-Benz C180. More choice for buyers / consumers!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • nasi lemak on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:41 pm

holy moly, shud grab a lot of potential m6,accord,camry buyers.nice price tag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Yap on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Now we don’t need to spend so much for the branding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • encik boss on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Haish~! This should be below RM200k la kawan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • paparazi on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:19 pm

This country is rich in resources but not our hard life salary…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • longjaafar on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:49 pm

The Peugot 308 has better bhp(156), better torque(240nm) better acceleration (9.1sec to 100kph) and better top speed (212kph)It also has a panaromic roof. It is about RM90,000 cheaper. The only thing it does not have is pedigree and prestige.
    But a yuppy will go for the BMW in spite of owing the bank more…So what’s new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 15
    • theanswer on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:05 pm

at this price ppl might consider 508gt or mondeo. 1.6 prince engine is good..but for 200k..hurmm..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • don’t be so sour grape. if they price it expensive, you complain, they try hard to lower the barrier to their ownership, you complain. if price similar to Peugot, you will say it looses it’s luxury image, if keeps at it is now, you say it’s overly priced. people are difficult to please, especially the greedy one….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 21
    • ferek on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:38 pm

308 is hatchback la, if you want to compare, 408 is better because it’s a sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Man, the bimmer is all out to take a bigger share of the “other” rival. Like said earlier by PTS, should lower the price till rm199,999. Lessen the equipment kit or just throw in fabric interior to make it happen.

Btw, will be like the same spec as the Singapore 316i? If priced below rm200k, VW and Camry might have to have a fight with the bimmer….

• iluvlexus on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:57 pm

WAIT. who is going to buy Lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • mystvearn on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:07 pm

I cahn see that those who are so into BMW brand but can just get this car will buy the car, then remove the 316 logo because of malu can only afford the cheapest beemer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 23
  • Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 151
    • Underpower? It 0-100km below 8 secs, get your facts right bru

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 119
        • dugong on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:55 pm

conti cars always feels alot more composed than cheap jappo cars. Thats why u think it is underpower. travel at 160kmh feels like only 110kmh in dugong.

in your dugong you floor the pedal feels like you are moving fast but u see the meter only 80kmh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
        • ABTguy on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:14 am

Actually not entirely right or wrong here. The 0-100km/h figures is an indication that the car should not be underpower, but again since this is 8AT, on town / city driving you might feel some sluggishness coz the ECU programs to pick the most fuel efficient gear.

8AT mated to a 1.6T engine, the gearbox might need to work extra-hard to hunt gears all the time.

To overcome that, if you put it to sport mode, rev keeps going to 3000RPM level then the drive is not smooth.

I would think 1.6T should be mated to 6AT instead. 2.0T can pair with 8AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Of course 320i is under power if you drive Maserati (well, I assume since you use Maserati as your name). A 7.3s century sprint for 320i is called under power, then you need a 3L or 4L turbo to make you happy…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • All cars are underpowered except for Honda, Masakroti logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 135
        • shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Golf GTI? Go for Aventador la. So you test drive Golf Ti only izzit?

Thought you own one, you are just another keyboard expert that BS all over here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
        • Honda CR-V 2.4 feel the fastest la.. who wan book faster call masakroti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Hey dude , I guess u have not driven any other performance car. That’s why you keep saying and prasing the Gti.
          Btw, I drive a Mitsubishi evo ,I can only say gti is nimble and fast , still not yet on par with the Rocket speed

• ABTguy on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:16 am

Maserati may not be completely wrong here.

GTI is paring with 6spd DSG, on city driving, get going and speed up kind of traffic, I think GTI does have “more powerful” feel than a 328i.

On motorway of course it’s different, from high speed raise to ultra speed definitely 328i win.

• Medic on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:55 am

Yup,according to Vw Gti owners who tested F30 328i,Gti seems more responsive,prob due to BMW weight,but on highway 328i will eventually ‘makan’ GTi.

• shame_Loo on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:56 am

Now GTi “lelong” RM189K only to clear stock I guess. Well, Maserati have some point correct, but just too sarcastic.

Stock GTi 0~100km/hr is 6.9s vs 328 of 6.1/5.9s. So, GTi more responsive? Maybe the GTi engine is noisier and gear ratio is higher giving you that feeling. Correct me if I’m wrong.

• Sam Loo Bitch on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Maserati is a boy who drives a vios and play video game dreaming driving a maserati with skyline engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 10
      • shane on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Masakroti is butthurt vios driver, been smoked everyday by other turbocharged cars, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • theanswer on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:19 pm

aiseh..hp and torque lower than 308/508/408 prince engine. is it because rwd?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • ABTguy on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:21 am

That is the rated torque, not on wheel I supposed ?

If yes, then it could well be, RWD cars has more moving parts to transfer the power to rear wheel.

• Good bargain if it’s below RM200K. But at least a good option for those who consider buying a sedan around RM200K and not so hungry for power or acceleration. If one can accept the Peogeot 508’s 1.6 Turbo power and acceleration, I don’t see why people will complain about this 316i. For young buyer of Camry 2.5 & Accord 2.4, I would suggest you to top up a little bit and go with this 316i. You will never regret with the driving pleasure of UDM as compare to the “Toufu” Japs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • latukbandar on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:26 pm

135hp, this is slower than a Honda Civic 2.0 (155hp), and RM60K more.

I will go for Civic or any make that gives me bang for bucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 109
    • A Civic vs a UDM is totally different story. No doubt the Civic 2.0 might be faster but driving on the road is not racing. If you want a powerful and cheap car, then this baby 316i is not for you. If you compare the NA E90 318i or 320i, the acceleration is more or less similar to this F30 316i. So, think about it when you can afford buying this UDM, what will be the different when you sit in a Japs Civic and an UDM……

This is something similar to compare a Nissan GTR with Porshe/Ferrari & etc.

Just my 1.6 cents for 316i….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • ABTguy on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:26 am

To me this 316 is more for those who worship the BMW brand than anything else. The main weakness is still the power.

If you want to enjoy driving, UDM with 1.6 engine is not for you. Take a Golf GTI for a spin then you know what I meant. The power to weight ratio is not too bad, but fall short of the proper power to weight ratio for a proper UDM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • You will not saying this if you drive a F30 before, although this 316i is slower, the handling & quality of ride is totally diff from Japs / Korean even those are 2.4l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Btw, pls do not just compare the hp. Do compare the torque as well. Besides, you won’t know how much loss of power from engine to wheel between Civic and F30. Figure on paper remain on paper. A real road test and review will tell you the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • nd4spd on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Honda boyracer, Honda bengish fanboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • batman on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:27 pm

so near yet so far for the pricing. ><

• Nice pricing BMW. good one. But 316i.. Hmm. abit skeptical towards its equipment and performance. Now C180 will have a fighter. But i guess majority will still opt for 320i and 328i. Same case applied to C180. While C180 is cheaper, many rather go for C200 and C250.

• seancorr on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:26 pm

A quick look into the bmwclubmalaysia forum and the F30 is still experiencing quality issues so…..still no faith in BMW reliability and durability. Even if u top up to get the 5 year warranty u still have to waste so much time sending the car in for warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • sutheshkumar on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Err, not exactly true lar dude. I hv seen a lot of C180s on the road despite the low specs over a C200 so I wont be surprised if this sells as much as the 320i/320d.

• U sure? coz apart from C180 coupe which is even higher spec than C200 sedan. I dont realli see much C180 sedan besides the one around my neighbourhood. Those C180 i have seen recond prefacelift version. =) So if this 316i comes with halogen, thats it. no one will wanna buy it except for young 1st time buyer.

• elgringo on Jul 03, 2013 at 3:57 pm

ok la more options for the market. Not everyone needs the power for a daily driver. some people buy powerful car also still drives slow. Choose whatever fits ur driving needs n purpose

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
  • If u guys wanna see price below rm200k go buy VW golf gti, now at RM189,888 only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
  • BOYRACER on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Wow!!!finally a base model BMW.Not that I can afford anyway.There is nothing wrong with base model.Why not?Driving experience doesn’t stray much from higher end model.Could be 3-er most popular model considering the lower price.Good news for first time buyer of BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • $0 badge removal option, anyone?

• PauKaya on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:32 pm

i’d purposely keep the badge. it makes you look awesome when you smoke a supposedly bigger engine road challenger

• 1.6 turbocharged engine looks under powered if you look at the specs. 135hp with 220nm of torque. Let’s compare with a Mitsubishi 4G93T for example. 4G93T is a 1.8 turbocharged engine but gives out 212hp and 284nm of torque. That’s just 200cc more than the BMW’s 1.6 litre engine. Not to mention that the spec of the 4G93T is based on the 1995 model. This is year 2013 already, BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 58
    • theanswer on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:09 pm

pls dont forget to mention that bmw prince engine can give 220-240 (up to 270+nm) at 1600rpm flat. can 4g93T did that? get real bro. prince engine marketed towards everyday drivers. not turbo hunger drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:20 pm

This 316i is not a race car but it is built with good efficiency and fuel consumption. Why not compare to 328i 2.0 with 245hp and 350NM? It’s also 200cc more than the history 4G93T. Not every car is tuned to the max output. It has to be balance for performance, fuel economy and some target market. Remember, 4G93T is for Ah Beng and Mat Modifier….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
      • 245hp with 350nm for 2.0 328i? 4B11T in Lancer Evolution X can do 276hp with 422nm torque. Or EJ207 (300hp, 422nm torque) in GRB Subaru Impreza WRX STI? And you are bringing in a very new engine in 328i against the old 4G93T. So I’ll compare new japanese engines with 328i as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Savethering on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:16 pm

The new mercedes a45 amg makes 360 HP & 450 Nm. What’s your point?

• Lancer Evolution X FQ-400 makes 400hp with 542Nm. The standard Lancer Evolution and Impreza WRX STI are not going over 300hp is because of the rally regulations. If they wanted to go over 300hp, why not? FQ-400 Lancer Evolution is an example for you.

• Masakroti on Aug 04, 2022 at 9:40 pm

A 1986 Audi Sports Quattro S1 2.1L makes 592hp. Question is how reliable are these cars? And what cost will the performance parts be to maintain and replace?

• The Mitsu is designed to go fast. The BMW here is catered to a different market.

Please people. Be sane in making comments. I bought a Mondeo 2.0 Ecoboost for RM194k, getting 238HP and will outrun a standard F30. I bought it because I feel I get value for money.

It isn’t always about a badge, and even then, everyone has different ranking for manufacturers.

For me, since I place heavy weightage of price, Skoda Superb, Ford Mondeo and Peugeot 508 is my top three in that class. Yes, I can afford the Beamers and the Benzs, but I don’t place badge value high up the ranks.

If I did, the ranking would topped by BMW 520d, then the BMW X3, followed by the Mercedes Benz C250.

To each his own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
  • Ordinary Joe on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:34 pm

I know its a BMW, but its an entry level 316i. It should have been RM198,888.88 the most. I personally think BMW & its Malaysian dealers could have offered it at that price, but decided to charge premium becoz it has the words BMW on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • And what’s wrong with that? That is why people spend millions to build a brand. It adds value. It allows price to go up.

If this car was a PROTON nobody would pay that price would they? Why? Because the perceived value isn’t there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Ordinary Joe on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:34 am

Owh, sorry. I forgot we’re from a third world country where the mentality is ‘brand’ matters. Its where (as you put it) ‘perceived value’ is important, where people are still gullible enough to pay extra for something which is a matter of perception (BMW mesti bagus maa). But heck, its your money and its still the ‘cheapest’ new 3 series available right.

• Gullibility, OJ, is subjective. See, I am ok with the price as some will justify it as they perceive the premium as justified. I am not going to criticise the guys that sees the price as too much, because its their view.
          Buying a car is not all about prestige, or all about power, or all about the badge.
          In the end, its the sum of the parts.
          I am not a fast driver, yet I bought the Mondeo 2.0E with the knowledge that I get a continental car made in Belgium with a fair list of goodies, and one that I can push if I ever need to (went to 220kmh at NKVE in month 4).
          Yet closely contesting for my money when I decided was the Skoda Superb! Yeah crazy I know, but both were being offered at sub RM190k (Skoda had a rebate scheme), and I decided to run with the wind but not the crowd. The Superb wasn’t near as fast or powerful, but it said something else in terms of my values. Like the Citroen C4 that was also on the list (but lost on on the ride quality which I think was my fault as I expected silky smooth). That too was going with like a RM25k rebate, but I decided against it as Competitive Supreme was already wafty.
          To each his own.

• Heybadigol on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Nice price! Don’t worry about the power. Can get it hot-chipped for more powerhhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Jyabond on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:37 pm

RM200K price tag is quite rediculous for a 135bhp car, prestige badge or not.This car should be priced well below RM 190K!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • WTH7813 on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Make 313i la.. 1.3 twin turbo.. Price it at Rm160k. Get all the camry’s sales.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Nope, but a VW passat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
    • ABTguy on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:41 am

Better still 310 i, borrow 1.0 Ecoboost from Ford and price it RM130k.

Take Elantra, Cerato, Civic, Altis, Camry, Accord, Teana, Golf, Passat shares !

But in reality, BMW is Premium brand, they are also trying to stay a bit more exclusive for those who can afford it.

• TIME TO GET MY FIRST BMW !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • civic_FD on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:53 pm

what to malu about showing the 316 emblem?
    It’s still 209k.
    Aiyah malaysian ppls too rich la nowadays..

Even if this 316 less power but they still got CLASS and the handling must be superb. Its BMW!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • When I sent my 328i for service…Ingress provided me a 320i as replacement car n tell you the truth….totally dissappointed with the 320i….interior so bad….steering feel cheap i.e. so thin …..pick up so slow….what can you expect from 316i then?….better stick to 328i or above…yes it will cost you additional 80k…but the driving satisfaction is guaranteed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 98
    • shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Don’t lansi over here. How good is 328i? A 335i owner will say the same on your 328i. Why not pay another few hundred K to get a M3, M5 or M6, that will give you 200% driving satisfaction!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 1
    • Are you refering to F30 or E90? All F30 are turbocharge, F30 320i steering is thin?? The interior material is the same as F30 328i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Maserati on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 104
      • shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:47 pm

i thought you test drove twice but still can not afford buying it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
      • Golf GTI on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:57 pm

I am owning a GOLF GTI and tailgated a F30 320i at NS highway at 200kmh +. I would say 320i is not bad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
        • 200km/h is nothing to shout about, it should be 250km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
          • WaJib on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Life is more important bro..speed at 250kmh wont get u any award..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • amirad on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:34 pm

If you tailgate a 320i at Karak highway at 200 km/h, I will be more impressed with the 320i.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:13 pm

BMW is more affordable than ever! Don’t need to drem to own one, just work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Abg Long on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:14 pm

prefer the A Class :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • valjean on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Hmmmmm I think the BMW is trying to sell 320i by pricing this at above RM200K. You know, they entice you to visit them for 316i. Then they will tell you why not take Pre-Reg 320i for about the same price… SO this 316i is just a bait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Stevie on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:18 pm

A-class competitor…..This is Nice car!

• Jimmy on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Don’t rush to buy one. Merc/BMW/Audi/Lexus/Volvo all these below-RM1M vehicles are still for rich & prestigeous people; think about the maintainence and other costs, and the lose of money every year(if you are not there yet).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • abcde on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:03 pm

lol..i just know that i’m rich and prestigeous because i own below RM1M car. 40k to be exact on current value..=)

• merc is real euro on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:49 pm

No resale value… and banyak makan wang later after bsri is over. Better get jap spec merc c250 204hp and 310nm of torque….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
  • zamer on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:06 pm

funny la u guys..say better buy this, better buy that..are you guys consultants??

just buy whatever u want la..nobody stopping..why so worried about other people choices?

u guys only see the 209k..but not without insurance..if add up here and there, its reaching 220k..furthermore, hows the warranty? 2 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Still prefer that cute little A200 over this.

• Drust on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:51 pm

You guys r real joker la. If you dont like it then just dont buy…why want to influence others and bash that much. People buy for a reason and is their money anyway.

This Beemer for 210k is really attractive for me but i still cant afford to buy yet :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • jimster on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:24 pm

you more joker la, if you like then buy la…so much time to comment on people’s comment. People comment and criticize for a reason and it is their right to post here anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Whatever on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:25 am

I beg to differ. For a car buyer, the views here can be quite precious, something you won’t get to know from a sales agent / showrooms. At the end of the day use your own intellectualism to decide !

• Blaster on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Haro…the 316 is targeted at Accord, VW, Camry owners who are looking at moving up the ladder….hence the power issue should not arise. Price wise it would be ideal for this target market…except space would be a little bit of a challenge now…..

• protonkia on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:20 pm

if you don need a fast car, u r environmental friendly, enjoy good handling and handsome looking car and have the budget, afterall being a 3-series, how bad can it be?

• Modesto.hann on Jul 03, 2013 at 7:36 pm

You can get this car to show off to chicks, you can make them pull down their panties instantly.. after all, chicks wont know how much power your car has…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • You guys think this would eat in potential A-class sales? Although different segment, still something an A-class purchaser would consider. Its bigger,p and more practical.

But from my humble guess, i think malaysians would go and prefer the mercedes A rather than a biemer. Mercedes has a bigger brand respect than BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • SUV lover on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:07 pm

I dun understand why some ppl wrote abt removing a badge…although it is a base model but it is still a BMW…malaysians very rich nowadays even driving a BMW but basic model will make shame them

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Was anticipating the 1-series, seeing as Merc had brought in the A-class, and the V40 launch is impending. Surely BMW is losing out?

• Arcee on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:18 pm

With company fleet discount (less 6%), you can then get the 316i below RM200K. Bargain hunters can probably get good deals at the pre-own sale.

To those comparing output & century sprint, BMW won’t win on paper nor on straight road (unless it’s the bigger cc brethen). BMW is all about the driving experience. Go test drive it through a windy road (minimum with Msport set-up). Test the brakes, handling & steering feedback. To the driving enthusiast, BMW will be best suited. To those seeking comfort, low fuel consumption & ease of maintenance, BMW will fail miserably. As for me, BMW saved me from many near accidents. If it was other cars, I am sure I won’t be typing this today. For this I am grateful & sold on the brand. Price, high maintenance & etc is secondary because it is my life along with my love ones that matters more.
    (Some might think of another European brand for safety. It is different. One protects you upon a crash while BMW prevents you from a crash, of course within the confines of the law of physics)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • That’s the only thing that worth to mention. Pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • Arcee on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:26 pm

There r others to mention & if i can define this marque with limited space here, I probably will be working as a motoring journalist.

There is no one shoe that fits all. Everyone has a choice & i have chosen mine. If I need more excitement, there is an option of a weekend car, no?

• bmw is well known in lying their performance sheet..better test drive first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Arcee on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Another VW salesman? If we are on a topic of a poor value for money car, I think d polo sedan is one piece of a crap car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • jimster on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:22 pm

what the….this is extremely overpriced, so underpowered and yet they still dare to sell it at 210k when the 320d is only 20k more. it should be priced at 190k then it makes more sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • jeremy on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:23 pm

That’s actually a decent price for a BMW…just wondering if the A3 Sedan makes it to Malaysia, how much would it cost? 200k? Maybe lower? The current A1 pricing just doesn’t make sense when you compare it this entry level BMW 3er…

• jeremy on Jul 03, 2013 at 11:02 pm

I also wonder how much the BMW 2er Gran Coupe will cost when it (hopefully) arrives in 2015…180k perhaps?

• Wait til year end, and the price will be 198k after discount :D

• Tyler Durden on Jul 03, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Wow..I am beginning to warm up to Malaysians’ perceived opinions on cars. So much of flaks aimed at B-freaking-M-W?!

Its surreal, guys !

My suggestion, lets drop the idea of buying/owning a ‘typical’ road car and let’s gun for a Veyron, a Zonda, an Enzo or maybe an Aventador?!

C’mon

• Xtoyota on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:10 pm

better than camry 2.5v

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:30 pm

It has less power than the 320 but I think it is good enough if you’re going to drive around just 120 or 130kmh (max). RM90 road tax for BMW ? Well, that sounds like a good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • amirad on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Hope this car is not about all show but no go. Or else it will just be a very expensive and stylish mum taxi to ferry the kids to school and going to the grocers. For the balik kampung and outstation trips, can drive the M5 or a black Vellfire with 19 inch bling bling rims. Such is the trend nowadays.

• bmw owner on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:52 pm

i own a 325i e90 lci.
    i buy it because it is NA 6potter
    i love everything abt my ride

now what i dont understand is, in order to fight with the new A and the cheaper VW … BMW msia came out with this new marketing gimmick… 316i at 200k…. i can understand what they did to 323i where i do feel a bit butthurt the performance difference between 323i and 325i is narrow but at huge rm50k difference…. but 316i and 320i is quite huge performance difference but its still rm40k difference..

if its 318i i may understand.. .but 316i ??? they should price it much lower !!! these bmw marketing memang pandai cari duit..

i feel pity to those who dunno much abt cars esp bmw cars… sure kena duped into buying this car… they deserve more !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Actually you can go to BMW global or Asia website. 316i is already available for sometime in the market. Actually they have 318d as well and many more which is not available in Msia.

• Cobra on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Nice car and not too bad a price for a BMW. Its a nice car to drive and with some glam. Power wise would be just so so and don’t expect too much out of it.

Sometime back, a friend bought an E90 320i and he also had a 1995 Volvo 940 Turbo. He loaned me the old junk and we did drag race. Guess what! the new beemer couldn’t even catch up with the junk 940. It was priceless!

• shame_Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:23 pm

E90 320i is NA engine with low HP & Torque. There is no way you can fight the turbo charge 940 regardless of the 320i is brand new or not. Maybe a Civic 2.0 easily beat your friend’s 320i as well.

• Cobra on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Yes, agree with you on the 320 low hp and torque. But my friend cannot tahan cos the 320 cost him 200k plus and he sold the dinosaur 940 for few thousand. As usual lah, he will think a new beemer can’t match a 20 years old power. Anyway, just sharing his opinion. Nevertheless, BMW is a nice car.

• Autoexpert on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:28 am

A lot of continental cars can beat this 320i on the road. My Peugeot 407 has beaten so many on the PLUS highways that they “hide” when they see my P407 coming! Jokes aside!

• Bmwfan on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Hope the 316 is way less superior than the 320i as the price gap is huge. Im sure bmw is smart enough to keep 320 and 328 buyers happy with their purchase

• As i mentioned before, i dont think this will be the hot selling volume. Coz when ppl can fork out 210k. Uts ok to for out another 30k to get extra kits. Anyway, it still comes down to the final disclosure of the equipment. If being equipped like C180. Without xenon and everything, ppl will still opt for higher range. As till now i oni seen one C180 sedan even its d cheapest of the lot. Ppl nowadays apart from saving, there are also concern about the kits they are getting for the premium they paid.

• guys need you (the rich ones) feedback: in malaysia which masuk workshop more? merc or BMW?

actually regardless the segment (B or C or hatchback or sedan), as long as u drive a luxurious, hot chicks in malaysia will volunteer to get laid. so for people making <10k a month, it is good to have one luxurious with minimum maintenance….

• audiowner on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:32 am

Audi and VW will masuk workshop more and stay there longer if compare to double Bs.

• dreamcomestrue on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:28 am

So, should I buy or not? Pls help me guys…

• BMWman on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:27 am

BUY! Between 316i & 320d but 320d’s performance huge different.

• Arcee on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Why are you letting others decide on your purchase? Can’t you make your own stand?

• paparadzi on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:48 am

Soon some local newspaper will use this car as proof that car price is coming down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • saw d heading “F30 BMW 316i introduced in Malaysia – RM209,800” m so damn happy. but reading towards d end found that its RM209,800 on-the-road without insurance……f*** la. i would go for VW CC for d same price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
  • encik boss on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:12 pm

For RM209k,I’ll better buy Mazda6 2.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
  • Kelvin on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:34 pm

It may not be powerful as most comments here say, however, BMW engines are meant to be high revving. It lives and breathes at the high revs. Change the way you drive and you should feel how sporty it becomes.

• I found a little hilarious reading people saying VW engine more turbo boost, feel more powerful etc…
    BMW traditionally design their engine with linearity in mind… i.e. their NA engine…until recently turbo trend due to environmental pressure. Even with turbo, u do see their torque are relatively low compared to VW group engines (with similar hp), i.e. explain why the ‘boost’ is less and feel “less powerful” during normal driving… In return, you do get an engine with better linearity in power delivery and higher rev too…

• Yooong on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Hi..can anyone share about the reliability of BMW ?

• lauyiachia on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:32 pm

BMW is ready to ride on the Selangor new plate numbers beginning with “BMW” in the next 2 months or so. BMW 3161 ?

• Threetwentydee on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:36 pm

If one has always aspired to own a new BMW, then one should think again about the 316i….my first Bimmer was the E90 320i…paid over 220k for it in 2007 and it only did 9.6secs (0-100kmh). Was I disappointed back then..no way! Coming from a 1995 C-class it felt like heaven! The taut handling and great in-gear acceleration (when in Sport mode) seemed more than sufficient…

The 316i with drive select (sport,comfort,Eco pro) and leather seats to boot seems like a steal…I would encourage all ‘first timers’ who don’t want to splash out for a F30 320i to seriously consider the F30 316i..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Arcee on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:11 pm

I find BMW gearbox seems to work better than most makes. I hardly need to downshift or use sport mode for normal drive. It works great in D & hardly hunts for the right gear. Couple this with the taut handling, its definately above average in corners.

• Threetwentydee on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:47 pm

We have a Jetta as well and that seems to display the same ability to dispatch steep gradients with ease…I would put it down to the Continental car capability…something the Japs and Koreans are still struggling with !

• Arcee on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Hmmm….how reliable a BMW can be??? I have heard owners swearing off this marque because everything seems to break down part by part(even new BMWs). I have heard owners saying if we keep to your scheduled maintenance, hardly any issue will arise. I also know owners who only keep to basic maintenance & in the end with disasterous results. So the key is keep to your maintenance. It’s a learning & humbling experience at the same time. It might even be heavy on one’s pocket if you don’t know where to bring your car to service or where to get your spare parts.

So if you intend to get an old BMW, prepare to spend $$ to bring the car up to pristine condition. After that, it’s usually just replacement of wear & tear items. If you want a hassle free BMW, get a new car (also provided you don’t get a lemon car la). During my 3 years of ownership, only spend slightly above RM10K & that is including 2 sets of rear tires/1 set of front tires with an ori Breyton rims. The rest was for alignment.

• Tamiya on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:13 pm

the price looks tempting for first timer BMW owners. People who can afford camry and accords, should consider properly before making the decision.

• Scarlet Rose on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:18 am

I just cancelled Camry 2.5 booking and now considering on F30 320i…hope this is a right decision as a first timer BMW owner.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • oldwira on Jul 06, 2013 at 12:41 am

Test drive pug 508 before, first I thought it was at least 2 or 2.4 litre engine, but surprised it just 1.6 twin scroll turbo with 6at box..

• Nilam Sari on Jul 07, 2013 at 12:02 pm

3 July, Wed, KL – BMW has reduced the price for their 3-series car, from RM439,800 to RM209,800. This has been another promise fulfilled by current government as stated in their manifesto to reduce the car price between 20% – 30%. A spokesman that is declined to be known said that, “This is what a responsible government all about. This price reduction alone has translated to 52%. More than what we have promised. So that’s it. Another promise has been fulfilled. Let’s just forget about reducing car price now, can we? We have more important things to do. Like party election etc.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 36
  • ssasasas on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:39 pm

i wonder if preve that has 1.6 engine vs this bmw?
    performance only….

• Arcee on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:02 pm

If money does not matter & given a choice to choose between a BMW & Preve with the same engine capacity, which would you choose?

• HeyYo! on Jul 19, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Totally agreed! The BMW316i, just a failure products from BMW. The Peugeot 308t is even better performance, 1.6t 156hp with 240nm/kw going for RM116K (OTR) Vs. much heavier 3 series with a 1.6t for RM215K (OTR). RM100k more need to pay for a under power car!!! No way!!! Guys, save some money lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • Luqman_HKM on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:29 am

Similarities of this car and Preve exists!

Engine
    Preve : 1.6 Turbo (CFE)
    316i : 1.6 Turbo (TwinPower)

0 – 100 kph
    Preve : 9 seconds
    316i : 9.2 seconds(roundup become 9)

Top speed
    Preve : Top out 210km/h (manufacturer claimed)
    316i : Top out 210km/h (manufacturer claimed)

Power
    Preve : 138HP
    316i : 135HP

Preve can win a race against this 316i for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • bootupjoe on Aug 08, 2013 at 12:44 am

Compare spec between 2 car doesn’t meant something…but feeling drive between this 2 car meant a lot different. why don’t u test drive or own it and feel it….i mean BMW.

• Arcee on Aug 08, 2013 at 2:30 am

Have you driven both cars before rather than comparing specs on papers? If u have not, go then re-post ur findings. The only issue I see with d 316i is the pricing. If it was rm190k or less, then it would make more “sense” or “cents”

• mini126 on Aug 21, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Test drove today.. Overall performance is Okay.. Power & Nm ‘feeling’ wise r not much different with my Camry 2.4v maybe due 316i r more lighter But handling r much much better.. It’s time to trade it.. Oppsss…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • i rather get a proton, so i can support malaysia economy. malaysia boleh. everybody please buy proton, why pay more? anyone hear the new ad from proton. Very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
  • 1.6l engine ok la…cheap road tax and good quality vehicle…better than more for road tax each year…must understand that some people need a bmw for bussiness purpose..to make clients have faith in them.. Some just want to have the luxury feeling for a lower price….no hate intended

• To those knocking this BMW based on paper specs, go to a showroom and get a test drive. Unless you’ve owned or regularly driven, like being a driver, a more powerful luxury sedan, this BMW’s performance, handling and refinement will pleasantly surprise you.

• Sometimes i wonder. Those who complaint about the power and speed. At what time and where do you get to rev your car that much? 80% of your time with your car are stuck in the traffic jam. Do the power and speed really necessary compared to comfort?

• handalkomen on Sep 04, 2016 at 8:59 am

technically… this bmw lame if compare to proton preve turbo. this bmw 3banger. while preve 4banger. the same borg wagner turbine. just stupid-cocky-showoffer would buy this.