New Mazda3 Sedan online leak shows off its sexy back

2014_Mazda3_Sedan_0003

We can now have a closer look at the new 2014 Mazda3 Sedan, as revealed by the guys over at Top Gear Russia. This isn’t the official reveal just yet, so we only have a small selection of pictures for now. Thankfully, one shows the new 3 Sedan parked next to a Hatchback so you can decide which one’s your favourite right away.

Off the bat the new Sedan looks well proportioned, even with the hatch’s steep windowline design feature carried over intact. The short and high boot looks good in pictures, but we’ll leave our final judgement till we see it in the flesh. For what its worth, first impressions are positive.

Already a crowd favourite, the Mazda3 is set to take it up against the class usual suspects that will include the new Toyota Corolla Altis, Honda Civic and of course the Kia Cerato we’ve just reviewed, among others.

It’ll be some time yet till we get a hold of the full local line-up specifications, but in other markets buyers will get a choice of 1.5, 2.0 or 2.5 litre petrol engines and a 2.2 litre turbodiesel motor. More info when we get them.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• From Altis, Civic, Cerato to Mazda3. I think the toughest decision to decide whether you want a sedan or hatchback Mazda3. All other options aren’t even an option.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 8
    • Exterior are great.
      Interior especially the meter, I dont like. Like one eye ogre..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 41
      • bystander on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:03 pm

the front plate number position totally turn me off! n oso makes the grille too bulat-bulat….spoiled everything. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
        • SixthGear Msia on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Dont only judge by the looks ..
          how about the engine n drivetrain,,
          that worry me the most..
          so far this is the most eye-cathing car ,
          from any direction, this car looks astonishing.
          from the side it look like the gorgeous Kizashi.
          Interior simple but nice looking except the steering, too much button.. i counted around 16 buttons,,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Why worry about the Engine? d Mazda force u to bought their car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
          • ngker on Jul 05, 2013 at 8:29 pm

I don’t drive manual because auto gives me adv when i traffic jams. Unfortunately it’s underpowered, sigh.

• jack rookie on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:41 am

i agree with u bro, the plat position killed the KODO design…

• driver on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:44 pm

I think the lines where the rear door and C pillar meets.. don’t go together.. sudden disruption of the flow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • TapaC on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:29 pm

gonna to buy mazda 3 2.0 old model one….somebody ples advise me worth it or not??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • only worth if the price drop. just waiting until new mazda 3 launched here

• U are ady paying at least RM120k for Mazda 3 2.0.

if new Mazda 3 at RM132k..
        it will make u no mood despite RM10k price cut.

it’s better to wait for these 3 model by 2014:
        1. Mazda 3
        2. Toyota Altis
        3. Nissan Slyphy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • AMDME on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Maybe you can wait for Mazda 2020…or Civic 2018.. heard the model is even better than the current model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
        • Current Mazda 3 is having promotion of 7K. Lets say an increase of 10K for the new model, that’s 17K off. I think it’s still a good buy. I m still considering the current Mazds 3 1.6.

• McLaren01 on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:04 pm

1. Mazda 3
          2. Ford Focus
          3. Honda Civic
          4. kia Cereto
          5. Hyundai Elentra
          6. Toyota Altis
          7. Nissan Slyphy

Touch choice… Kia and Hyundai exterior is nice but interior so so only compare focus and Mazda 3.

• i like old mazda3 than this one.. exterior and interior old one is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • Kalimaca Chan on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Is the “Ipad” thing on the dashboard detachable? Prefer something with a slimmer bezel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Cantiq. Hopefully Mazda3 Malaysia can continue to be the best buy of the year, beating its own big brother M6 2.5L. How come Bermaz can sell M6 CBU at such a good price compared to CKDs from various marques?

• Actually the ForFo is also quite a good option but in my opinion this is better.

• Is that model with manual transmi?

• itsme on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:43 pm

dont forget about VW Jetta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Jinggo on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Confirm! I will buy this beauty..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • I saw something I didnt like. 120hp max power for AT 2.0 Should we still be excited?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Petrolhead on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Like – Mazda3
    Dislike – Kia Cerato

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 17
  • Zend3r on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Bitch plss k3

m def getting this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Kalau bawa mazda3 pergi merisik anak dara, confirm pak mertua setuju beb

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 4
  • Moores on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Really have the premium look. Mazda finally raised the bar now. And going back to look at the Kia Cerato, it already looks so outdated already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • kingkong on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:45 pm

the interior looks like an audi+bmw which is a very good thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • mazda3 on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:45 pm

gorgeous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Shut up and take my money please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • mazda3 on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:49 pm

but mazda cars almost alwiz have a weak spot exterior look wise — a big and high butt which exposes the wheelbase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Wisdom on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:55 pm

I thought everybody like ‘upskirting’..

*car skirting in this sense ;p

• Gokul on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:50 pm

This car is full of win!!.. Now it comes down to Bermaz on pricing and the specs which will be bought here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • bystander on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:51 pm

to be honest, pics of the actual car fall short of my impression of the animated ones….the real car looks narrower and more chubby, and that plate number position….what a disaster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Looks damn good. but then, when reach malaysian shores, sure to be stripped of all the yummy parts and replaced with drab

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Hyundai n kia can ask them go back to korea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
  • Bermaz pls sell it at a reasonable price (like how you did to your CX-5) and rest assured you are in for a killing! Don’t be greedy like Naza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Current Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 priced well too, just Mazda 2 can be slightly lower as a better Fiesta priced similarly. So This Mazda 3 shou;d be priced well too, don’t like Naza.

• japanese car lover on Jul 05, 2013 at 10:20 am

Cx5 and mazda6 are very good car with reasonable price but you hv to deal with inefficient and arrogant dealers if you want to buy one…based on my experience

• Wisdom on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:53 pm

The new front grill of Mazda family are not really ‘in’to me.

The rest are good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • superman on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Mazda 3 will destroy the heavily over priced Cerato. Preve hatch also does not have any chance against Mazda 3. Mazda is built to last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • afraid the HU display will attract attn to the theft..huhu..

• gOOsh on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:12 pm

cantik…
    if i have no plan to switch to D-segment, this will be a potential choice for me to change my 4 years old fd…

• Definitely way better than overpriced kerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Pls come here with the black leather interior and don’t play interior option games like the ford focus, beige only for titanium? Such a joke

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • Sparcov on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:30 pm

If driving in US, i think they not require a number plate in front. So looks nicer.

• Proton Staff on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Purposely leaked? Same thing happened to the Mazda3 HB.

• Roger Tan on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Hatch ftw

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSjDAtEaNjU

Launch Video

• sonyman on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:52 pm

woah, this one is one killer man. i see HUD like Peugeot. I see dashboard like BMW, i see screen like 3 Series. Center knob like Audi. Wah Lau weh. i m in a very confused car man

• MBX Boy on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Very HAWT!!! This coming generation Mazda3 is definitely a show stopper! I would personally be even more thrilled if Mazda provide stock black smoked tail-lights which will make this Mazda3 even extra smoking hot.

• underskinned on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:01 pm

It somehow reminds me of previous gen Hyundai Elantra. Not a good thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • Gokul on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:36 am

I know a good optometrist who can help you… You want their contact number?..

• Michael on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:02 pm

dammm …its sexy

• Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:15 pm

This will drive better, handles better and runs better than the silly k3. Quality wise will be in Audi/Merc segment while consumption is as good as a hybrid! With the amount of torque on such small nimble aerodynamic car, the acceleration will give the over rated VW Golf GTi or Focus ST a run for their money.. all in all can’t wait for this Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:19 pm

The last one is absolutely wrong, Mazdaspeed 3 compare to GTi and ST. Mazda 3 is compared to Fcus and Golf. But Golf is way too overpriced.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:35 pm

This car achieve “excellent” in everything! Engine is great, driving is great, safety is great, drive is great, price is great, gadget is great. Really can’t find any weak point to bash about it.

• lol..all tok kok la..say nice nice nice..when the car really launch here that time..how many of u would really go n buy it???…proof?..mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Devil on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:10 pm

same same la. Thanks to Bermaz, mazda car prices here never cheap. good to admire only when hit our shore.
      Jack up price nvm, worse still, strip most features away somemore. Adui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • You know what you are talking or not? Jack up prices? Look at what they offer for the new Mazda 6. The specs itself not only shut your mouth, it will drown you. Mazda is no Honda or Toyota.

• Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:56 pm

This Mazda 6 & 3 are good cars! But the problem is the new Mazda 6 looks excellent in pictures but in real life looks seriously boring.Thats y can hardly see new M6’s on the road .

I hope this new Mazda 3 will look better in real life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Btw,if they can price this M3 around RM120k , it will totally destroy the Cerato.In fact,the Cerato has destroyed itself with that kinda pricing.

The Cerato 2.0 should have been priced at RM 90k MAXX!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • autodriver on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:18 pm

do you ever seen a replacement model sell cheaper than outgoing model. If yes then tell me which car maker done this before in Malaysia.

I am not agree Cerato 2.0 price hike 20k above Forte 2.0. The reasonable increment should be 5k or less than 10k.

I am not sure you are retarded or naive, putgoing Forte 2.0 selling at 97k, and you want Cerato 2.0 sell max RM90k. You better go and visit doctor ASAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
      • Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:19 pm

I’m not sure which replacement car sell cheaper. For Mazda3 it will definitely be more expensive I agree wholeheartedly and logically as well, but everyone should consider this as a cheaper car comparatively to its closest predessecor, the Audi A4 or BMW 3 series… so in fact its cheaper! Think of this and you will know that it’s logical.

You are getting a car which will outperform the 4 rings A4 and the Beemer in performance and quality, at a fraction of its price. Does A4 have HUD? No. A4 design? Well maybe looks nice, but Mazda3 will be the best designed car this year bar none. Don’t be surprised if its better designed than some of the cars from Porsche and Ferrari, and I’m not joking either!

Does it drive as good as BMW? Of course with sky active it can easily outperform the outdated BMW engine. Many ppl willl sure buy Mazda 3 EVEN its priced at Camry/Accord level, simply because it drives good, looks good and performs so much better! Keep in mind you are getting a Japanese A4/BMW 3 series at Japanese C segment price. Mazda is a God send gift from heaven…

Forget Shir Ra To, thats a piece of junk and can never even outdo Mazda3 smaller sibling Mazda 2. This Mazda will change the whole C segment!! mark my words!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
        • “Of course with sky active it can easily outperform the outdated BMW engine”

You still live in 80s? The BMW 320 can easily tapao the Mazda3. No contest at all. I like the new Mazda3 but fact is a fact, force induction engine is just way more powerful.

• fd_2r on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:01 pm

IN UR FACE LANCER GT OWNER!!!!

• Wtf Potong on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:16 pm

And I thought Potong already had done that to the Lancer owners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • In Soviet Russia, cars drive you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Assuming the price of Mazda 3 around RM100K++. still can’t afford it. Waiting for the next generation Mazda 2 as well. Hope the next generation Mazda 2 will be better than the upcoming Honda City and Toyota Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Pointblank on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Nice? Rear similar like sonata , not to mention the front , like an animal eating the car plate . Ya no doubt interior is nice , but I heard lot of ppl shouting ,wa like BMW like Audi ,so…………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 34
    • Stuart on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Why are you so jealous? Just bought a Cerato?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
      • Zend3r on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:25 pm

lmfao

good one bro. sei lan tou buyer is crying now

when m6 launched it whooped new cmry ass

now m3 coming out it def will whooped sei lan tou ass

• Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:20 pm

not only Cerato, but also whoop Audi A4 and BMW 3 series easily! Mazda did a good job this time!

• autodriver on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:23 pm

This is definitely a good looking car. But I’m not sure whether Bermaz can sell it lower than 120k since Mazda 6 selling price is quite high.

I think the major problem of Mazda not getting hot in Malaysia mainly due to the distributor, Bermaz. My brother’s friend own a Mazda showroom at Jalan Ipoh. According to him the problem of Bermaz is always “no stock” due to AP problem. He receive a lot of booking for new Mazda 6 when newly launched, however the car delivery to customer keep delay. From waiting period of 2 months as promised by Bermaz become unknown date. At the end most customer cancel their orders and walk away from Mazda 6.

Besides, after sales service of Bermaz need a lot of improvement. Always shortage of spare part, small scale of service center and etc.

Mazda producing good car and hopefully Bermaz improve its services and bring out the brand to public.

• Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:23 pm

You must be kidding me.

The reason the workshop can’t perform at its optimal level is because the growth of the sales far far outweigh the growth of the service center. They are like Ferrari and Porsche, can sell but difficult to service. But your consolation is the car you have is consider the Ferrari and Porsche of the C segment, so be proud of it and just tahan la the slower service… Give and take ma!

• nova_freak on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:13 pm

If Mazda3’s price is around Cerato price, Kia’s salesman will be in deep shit…

• Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Shir ra to will be in deep shit since Mazda 2 will outperform it no doubt. No need Mazda 3 to kill it off la, this model will kill off the Audi A4 and BMW 3 series slowly…

• Omg this car makes me so excited! Looks so much better than all the kimchis. Glad to see that sushi manufacturers are starting to revise their designs to rival with kimchis, especially Mazda (and also Toyota, recently with their Altis and Vios). Kimchi Cerato shall hide in their showrooms forever!!
    Btw, am I the only one who thinks that the rear end reminds me of the previous gen Lexus IS250?

• frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Vios is getting good design? Are you kidding me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • jeremy on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:39 pm

The new Vios still looks pretty bad IMO…the new Altis is decent looking though, but not a game changer like the new Mazda 3…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Haha for sure Vios is not really THAT nice as Mazda 3 but well, at least it is way better than the dugong ones right? I think it looks great but the rear is kinda letdown but overall it’s a great step up for toyota in terms of design, ditching the typical uncle looks

• frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Compare to old design, definitely a step further, but compare to current generation vehicle, still bad.

• Awesome looking car. Thumbs up to mazda.

• Both cars are a stunner but I fell in love with the hatchback. Can’t wait to book it next year and hopefully the pricing us right too.

• Farhat on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:58 pm

From the shot angle, the red hatchback resembles alot like an Infinity FX37… Which is fantastic!

• dakool88 on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:41 pm

You guys hear that?.. It is the sound of kia ceratos k buyer screaming in jealousy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • I’m also screaming jealously..
      just bought current mazda3 in April this year..
      but no regret because I’m fully satisfied with the ride and enjoyment of driving the machine..

• benzs8787 on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:46 pm

1.5 variant also available.. Must be under power. But all looks great. Nice mazda 3 by acceptable looks. Good job Mazda!

• roxas on Jul 04, 2013 at 8:51 pm

why the frontgrille looks like 208..or just me? boot is too high, not so sleek like mazda6. rear looks like lexus IS

• Maserati on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:26 pm

please la, dont insult Mazda 3. Compare it to BMW 3 series or Audi A4 maybe I agree abit, but that also I need to think hard cause Mazda 3 is way ahead of them now…

• Modesto.hann on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Bermaz does not sell cheaper, the price is lower now because value of Japanese yen has dropped more than 20% over the course of this year. Toyota and Honda will follow the same trend when they launch new cars. They are not heroes, prime minister Abe yes!

• amirad on Jul 04, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Why, why, why most of the promo pics be it German or Japs, they show the manual tranny. I feel high and dry looking at the pics which I know will not become reality. Nobody drives a manual lagi ka?
    The sedan looks as good as the sedan. Yep, its previous gen IS250 rear which still looks good today.

• GreenMonster on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:02 pm

As a CX-5 owner, I’ve never been so proud to have such a handsome younger brother otw!

• Farhat on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:51 pm

To the upcoming car buyers, Cerato or Mazda3? I think the base 3 would be priced below 130k, as the CX5 (usually more expensive than the 3) is below 140k.

Regardless of engine size, i think the 2.0 Cerato would be phased out as this 3 is way better and much more attractive than the overpriced Kimchi.

• Kuinosan on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:26 pm

I don’t know whether anyone else besides me notices that Mazda designers tend to have very high waistline designs that actually makes the car look rather high and clumsy looking. The most obvious being the CX-5 and now the Mazda 3 too looks like is suffering from the same symptoms. The Mazda 6 also failed to express its true KODO DESIGN direction by not sticking to the original concept car, the Takeri. If Mazda were to stick to their concept car frontal grill and interior design, they really do have a trump card in hand. But as it is, well the design is mediocre at most!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:06 am

Actually, Mazda 6 derived nicely from Takeri. Just lack some chrome and large rims make the car looks civilized. And also they smoothed some lines too.

• oppa gangbang style on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:01 am

owh no one has mention it, so here it goes:

PREVE HATCHBACK IS BETTER THAN THIS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
  • what is this junk design, why you create a design look similar to hyundai junk. can you learn up Toyota spirit, create own design? I don’t mind you can copy exactly Toyota design to guarantee your sales. only know to advertise the performance, puii.. how many can feel it. Toyota still the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • bigTbutSmallBrain on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:49 am

Research before you bark your offensive comments here. The Kudo design theme had been announced since 3 years ago back in 2010. Besides I see no similarity between the ‘trying too hard’ new hyundai design with the kudo theme. The kudo is more easy on the eyes, breaking the barrier yet not losing its elegance(aka AhBeng-fication)

• Go back to your CAVE!!!!

• takNakP1 on Jul 05, 2013 at 12:00 pm

i always find comments for like and dislike of design from interior to exterior to maybe even the bottom of the car are hilarious.

wait till the car arrives in M’sia with the price tag… then everyone will just “go flat” or “potong stim”. HAHAHA!!!

• maserati on Jul 05, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Ugly. Unreliable. No resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • sinac on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:56 pm

does sedan have double exhaust as the HB? cant see clearly from the picture

• nikita on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:13 pm

New M3 you are my sexy babe, Bermaz bring in MP3 soonest we can’t wait for it. I want to show my sexy babe on the road, come on…..love it so much.

• C-Seg on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Wow! Handsome and slick! If Red on this Mazda 3 Sedan, definately looks better! C-Segment war coming soon… Seems like Honda Civic is far behind!

• allen sk on Jul 06, 2013 at 2:38 am

anyone know the release month of 2014 ??

• Azuan on Feb 11, 2014 at 10:51 am

I just booked Mazda 3 yesterday. Just can’t wait to drive and fun this car.