Subaru WRX STI tS Type RA announced for Japan

Subaru WRX STI tS Type RA

This is very probably a last stab at the current-gen Subaru WRX, before the new one burbles its way in. Called (in true special-edition-Scooby-long-name fashion) the Subaru WRX STI tS Type RA, this one has been announced for its home market.

On the outside, the Subaru WRX STI tS Type RA sports gloss black accents, door mirrors incorporating LED indicators and a front splitter, while bucket seats and a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gearknob grace the interior.

Underneath sits a sporty suspension setup that boasts STI-tuned springs, dampers and struts. There are gold-painted Brembo brakes, a flexible front tower brace and a quicker 11:1 steering ratio, amongst others.

Available is the NBR Challenge Package (the initials referring to a certain German racetrack), which gives you Recaro seats, an adjustable carbon fibre rear spoiler and 18-inch forged aluminium wheels wrapped in 245/40 series rubber.

Tangerine Orange Pearl, Satin White Pearl and Blue Mica make up the list of exclusively available body hues. Only 300 units will exist; 200 of which will be equipped with the NBR Challenge Package.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Nurrem on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:04 am

In term of exterior design, of course proudly it’s SUBARU, but when it comes to interior design, it’s ‘SU-LAMA’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Jul 04, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Even if the interior is SudahLama, if the exterior of the new generation is as stunning as the concept and the century sprint is below 4.7 seconds and it is at the price of 86, I think people will still buy. Subaru = Japanese Porsche, sports car image.

• jackchaivc on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:17 am

I will not trade in my bmw z5 for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
  • turbofan on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:34 am

Seriously, anyone still want to bite subaru or evo ?

This are the beng era car of yesteryears.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
    • ahbeng_no_more on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:54 am

I am no longer a young ah beng, but evo and sti still gain my respect all the time no matter where i am now and what family car i have to drive now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • ae101 on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Why not since it can modify to suit any kind of motor sports. Until now the whole world still respect these 2 la. And by the way, ah beng got era? I tot you are one now.lol

• Joe Radzif on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Turbofan?
      but no respect to EVO & SCooby?
      omg…

• Mini-Me on Jul 04, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Turbofan, are you sure you’re a car enthusiasts ?
      You sound more like a bimbo to me. LOL
      Subaru & EVO is all about the passion and engineering. Not Glam.

• yeah i would not mind an estate scooby STI :)

• jolly_idiot on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:46 am

The car look so slow in action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Scooby on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:19 pm

I wish there were Cusco Subaru version

• Johnny on Jul 04, 2013 at 12:27 pm

This sure smoke all Golf Gti and Proton Preve!!!

• Ganniii on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Especially @maserati’s golf gti..lol

• P1 preve 1.6 bro…if preve can be smoke by subaru..it sure must be P1 sagabaru facelift..wrong class..

• namanama on Jul 08, 2013 at 12:28 pm

will like your comment if you don’t mention Preve.lol

• joanna on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Neo can beat this car anytime. #sarcasm.

• tuahahbeng on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Wah my fav car. My ah lian gf love this car especially with gold rims bling bling n big big exhaust with boop boop boop sound.

My jinjang and puchong beng friends sure choop chap if I buy this car. My hair saloon need to dye my hair more colourful to match my beng look with this car.

Beng rocks…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • No steering button to control audio? Even P1 has it!

• frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 5:40 pm

If I got this car, I don’t even need an audio, listen to the engine noise everyday is much more better.

• Go get a Korean then, so many buttons and features for you.

• Eddie on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:22 pm

This is a rally bred car, it is, anytime can beat any car on the road with their 4wd system, yes, most of the driver very ah beng I must admit, but to gain such reputation and handling performance is not easy. I guess it is practical for a family man with some little racing spirit yet still can carry comfortably 4 person and kids for dinner and trip. Shall I say one car for all?

• mrpuchong on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:22 pm

come on, most of you guys here(maybe not all)dreamt to have one of these subaru, evo few years back right? that time you call it chick magnet la, handling very good la,rally champion la,got turbo la,unique exhaust note(boop boop boop sound)la,blah blah blah..and now you call it beng car.you yourself been thru that stage too.lol..its still a good car la after all…and even some drives supercar or live at expensive areas are ahbeng..

• STienthusiast on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:16 pm

This car will be forever fantasy for those who admire.When you capable to get this car, you have your family to raise hence you will get a family car instead.

Those who capable to own this car before engaged, indulge yourselfhave a blast.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:58 pm

This car is good for family man too, 4 doors large boots. Cool daddy image.

• not sure mechanic in malaysia can fix its engine

• Littlefire on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Subaru Boxer engine is 1 of the reliable engine around compare to other makes.. A lot of people is driving around the world (Singapore is a lot!) and never heard of serious quality issue.. Besides that, a lot of sensor is from Denso which i heard some of them even interchangeable with Toyota since Toyota bought their share a few years ago and came out the GT86..

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 05, 2013 at 1:55 am

I drive a 11 years evo, I would said Subaru is still a enthusiast motor sport company, look at Mitsubishi, they are not producing a decent New Evolution model, not that they are keeping it as a top secret or designing a superb model to conquer the enthusiast. Sad to say it’s because Mitsubishi main business is now on Banking and insurances .Car manufacturing is difficult to earn $$$$. Lucky Subaru hasn’t lose it roots

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:51 am

For those living in 90s!