SsangYong Stavic – second-gen pops up on oto.my

SsangYong Stavic

Look what’s come up on our sister classifieds site oto.my – it’s the second-gen SsangYong Stavic, which made its debut in Korea as the Korando Turismo (Rodius in some markets) in February. Is its arrival around the corner, then?

As you can see, the new MPV eschews its predecessor’s love-or-hate styling for a more conventional- and prosaic-looking outfit. It certainly won’t stand out like the old one did, but we cannot blame the Korean carmaker for playing it safe this time.

Listed is the SV200 eXDi variant – that’s a 2.0 litre turbodiesel with 155 PS and 360 Nm of torque at its disposal, coupled to a five-speed auto. The ad mentions cruise control, a 10.2-inch rear monitor, 11 seats, dual front airbags, multi-zone climate control, seven-inch DVD  player, sat-nav, Bluetooth hands-free and USB, amongst others.

An indicative price of just under RM117k is stated – view the full ad here, or learn more about the 5.13-metre long vehicle here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Green on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:11 am

waa.. RM15,000 more already.

last one only @ RM102k.

Korean Production cost has increased?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Wisdom on Jul 07, 2013 at 10:41 pm

After further dig on the net and saw the car in flesh, I found this car quite sensible for a large mpv.

The engine is torquey couple with proven 5 speed auto.

The ride, as its predecessor, far better than any ladder chassis mpv eg innova or torsion beam setup on most budget japanese mpv. Its equipped with double wishbone front, and multilink rear, with nice balance between comfort and handling.

The original plan (as per original stavic) was to combine mpv vesatility with suv capability. Some market got 4wd but here, only rear driven 2wd available.

Exterior is miles better than the last stavic. Actually quite handsome with acceptable proportion. 16 inch wheel comes with 65 series tyres.

Interior, I would say a notch better than hyundai starex, with a nice dashboard layout and well spaced seat arrangement. Anybody planning to use this stavic as 8 seater, by removing the last row and push the third row towards the back (adjustable by floor railing), there will be ample cargo space at the back for luggage and whatnot, plus comfortable walkway & legrooms for passenger. 2nd n 3rd row center seat is foldable. So there’s no need to consider roof thule box etc.

At 117k with fully loaded equipment list, I think its a bargain compared to similar size mpv priced at least 150k. Even worst, recon vellfire plays around 180k above, with some units has clocked hundreds of thousands km only to be adjusted to low 20k to 30k km, with steering rack, some gearbox, some driveshaft, and mountings problem waiting they’re so called high class owners. Ask around. You will know later, nothing beats new car with proper warranty..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:18 pm

nice comment by a sales representative.

coz no one knows so much about a car just unveiled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
        • Wisdom on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Sorry im not the salesman.
          I learned it the hardway. Just ditch my vf due to twice steering rack prob.

If u have no point, better dont comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • _xXx_ on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:13 am

dlu kia mati(z) skrg sanyong keranda plak. name2 korea mmg pelik laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • Farhat on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:34 am

So they only changed the skin and left the interior 99% same? If i were to pick which ones look better, id still have to go for the previous generation. The current version you get in malaysia has more subtle but bulbous design.. I cant believe im saying this but, its more elegant. This one howerver, is too edgy. Front looks lik a pickup, rear is a china van and the side profile is weird – they try too much to make it look like a 5m SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • amenojaku on Jul 06, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Yup, the previous (1st gen) is more expensive-looking. Plus, it came with mercedes-benz engine. This new one doesn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • TIGER760LI on Jul 06, 2013 at 12:33 pm

I saw from last week at Taman Hilir showroom where by Ap holder keep all cars there.looks great specially in black color.In my view is worth to buy if u have big family and u know resale value would be less,provided owner want to keep in long term basis.feature like ABS,ESP,NAVIGATION SYSYTEM,REAR VIEW CAMERA,power driver seat OK.
    Have to test drive and then see how it goes but price tag is v attractive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • nabill on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:01 pm

I saw that too at the corner lot….doesn’t looks that bad in real…looks like ALOT of car for the money…bt who cares anyway !

• Low rv, buy Japanese 4wd better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • alldisc on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:21 pm

just get a jinbei era and save 50k. invest that in property and watch the money grows.

• Keris Jawa on Jul 06, 2013 at 12:57 pm

This is the one car that my friends and I always joke that the chief designer sleeps on duty… And the intern continues designing until the last minute it has to go to production, and here it is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Mozilla Chrome on Jul 06, 2013 at 2:16 pm

The look of the car doesn’t resemble a 100k++ car..looks like a China car and cheap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Nurrem on Jul 06, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Confirmmm…it’s Cherry Easter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • i would suggest ssangyong gives more of its models to italdesign la, so far the best looking models are all designed by that company, and the rest of the models designed by ssangyong designers are simply pushing the boundary of fugliness…..

• Mat Noh on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:49 pm

It has a funny name & looks even funnier. That’s a fun package.

• if u want value for money & u have a big family and willing to keep it for 6-7 years….this looks good value for those who dont care abt image, just practicality & saving $$

• Jimmy on Jul 07, 2013 at 6:44 pm

But the aftersales service and spare parts availability & durability must be able to keep us happy for the next 7 years.
      Quite difficult to sell, 40k more expensive than Innova.
      Is this van as thin as Elgrand(shameful at 1795mm width, priced near R-class & Q7) or Serena hybrid(1695mm, to be sold as if it has no tax deduction)? (Nissan and mitsubishi vehicles are mostly thin).
      No armrests. The steering is ugly.
      Variant 7-seater with ottoman captain seats.
      Lastly, airbags, airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • VoidDance on Jul 07, 2013 at 11:41 am

Saw one in Shah Alam yesterday. Quite a looker I must say. A cheaper alternative to those who can’t afford big MPV like Alphard.

• Jimmy on Jul 07, 2013 at 6:49 pm

If you don’t mind ‘second-hand’ and you can identify ‘accident-free’ status and there are good service centres around for you Alphard, then of course top us a lil bit to get Alphard is a wiser choice. Otherwise, get a Sharan or Mazda8. Of course we want Q7 or a more cantiq and larger R-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Wisdom on Jul 07, 2013 at 2:04 pm

i believe korean make is a step or two better than chinese make. For that, i reserve the bashing till i test this car.

Anyway, looking at the pictures, especially driver seat, we can see the acceptable quality of leather stitching. the seat arrangement, dashboard panels, all seem well built compared to horrendous cherry eastar built quality. As its korean, i believe they engineered the car better. might be even better than exora. plus couple more seat to begin with. 117K seems a fair price.

No info on the engine, but the transmission was merc. 350Nm and 155ps is quite healthy for a 2.0 diesel.

• Jimmy on Jul 07, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Korean is still slightly inferior in terms of build and ride refinement, compared to most Jap. Korean cannot be priced at the same level like Jap, at the moment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • em912 on Jul 07, 2013 at 6:27 pm

will test drive in Prai next few weeks , I driven stavic old model , no complain at the engine .

• LittleMin on Jul 07, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Saw this car on the road of Ayer Keroh for couple months dy, the car is registered in Melaka’s plate alphabet MCE if not wrong.

• Hukaka on Jul 08, 2013 at 1:35 am

I have the previous version 2.7 new car 2011 till today just pass the road tax renewer date.This it one of the pain moment rm 1390 per year.
    As a owner I can tell you,my batch the lether seat its local retrofit in malaysia.and they add in china 7 inch DVD sd card with Papago navigation,a 3m tint back row you got 10 inch screen.
    But my it’s the last batch used those local fit cheap acc.
    I have a friends he it’s the lucky guy,same year but stock arrive in sept.
    Leather seat are imported from Korea if compare with retro fix it’s big different,7 inch DVD player it’s blupunk brand.with USB and sd card.
    The rest all are same.before buying this car I do compare with Hyundai starex.and till today I can tell some fact engine are good gearbox are good.feul consumption are par with my old waja.rm 120 can go for 600 km town used if HW almost 700 km per tank.
    And if you want the warranty must only back to services in Ssang Yong services center,but I will recommend the best place it’s in HQ PJ.
    Cause some info by my friends work in Ssang Yong HQ other services center are close example Peneng,Johor those branch are close other it’s dealer.but they are planning to expand the services bay in PJ.minor service lower price from rm 280 in raya Balik kampung package.
    normal price rm 350 onward,semi major from rm 850 to rm 1250 major from rm 1400 to rm 2000.each 5k services once but for seldom or private family used can extend to almost 10k services once this save a lot.
    And the only commons problem told by my friend who work as Ssang Yong services advisor only the high pressure pump may having some problem if fail you need to ready rm 8000 for replace it.and the symptom if you listen when morning start car are louder then usual then it will stop working any time.handling are also pretty good but the suspension are on soft side and I don’t think you will trade it like a sedan car.now let’s talk about the interior dash board are good soft touch meterial and under sun light for two years are still like new car.door trim are also good with soft touch.but the hard practic are bad quality.seat cover side are always crack and no point to replace it,cause usually it will crack after 3 month to half year.the sound insulation are also good if you are in HW.cause consistent engin speed will help reduce noise level.but if you drive in town area are bit noisy as we all know it’s some dated tech diesel engine.but the sound are more gentle if compare with 4 cylinder engine.since this 270 CDi tech by Mercedes.power wise also good if for my judge cause turbo diesel and this car you wil easly drive above the city limit,with auto cruse,and they called thumbstronic shift gearbox.but I found its almost useless,cause the computer it’s over protection you can’t switch some times if you wish too.D will do everything you need.
    Parts wise you can get easly ah apart shop either oem or original even borsch also have some product for this kind of cars.i think cause the cars are extramly heavy and the disk break are fast to deplete.my original break pad are finish around 40k km.and two time change the pad then also need to change the disk rotor.each pair front will cost rm 1k in services center price,if part shop same original are selling rm 680.
    Some parts you can buy at parts shop and request to change when you during services in HQ dealer may not allow cause they need to selling you to make some money.and Hq will give agip oil.this oil are good.
    original fuel filter will cost rm 450 in HQ if parts shop can get for rm 300 for Delphi brand.and change diesel filter regularly will help you to prevent injector shorten working life.and each injector will cost from 1.5k to 2k and mostly you don’t need to change all in one shot.and if new cars the original injector can last you as lease 10 year.most problem will only appear after 300K km.this car it’s big and not huge the starex are same wheel base whitish this witch it’s 3000 mm but size wise starex re more boxy and the high of starex can’t enter some carpark with small curve and low in celing high.space it’s more then enough for my family,I got two kids with my maid I still can carry two full size stroller baby bag,a small cooler box can fit in six bottle of small size mineral water and the cooler can switch to heat function to consistence stay at 65 Celsius to hot my baby milk or keep food hot,and if hot date also can change to cool mode.almost are maintain at 15 Celsius if you wish to make it cooler just put some ice and it will stay cool for many hour.this car have 4 12V socket two in front driver side below the air cond control and two cup holder,the new version have three cup holder.
    One at third row seat and last one in forth row but I have remove the 4 row for cargo space.second row have a pop up small table you can hold a small drink.with jump seat so if you pull down the jump seat and retract it you have extra two cup holder if you wish to seat in a person it also with a two point seatbelt in the jump seat.all passenger will have a three point seat belt if compare with starex it’s only have two point seatbelt.
    And if you wish this car can arrange like a bed for two people are still with reasonable space.to keep you travel bag or event golf set.
    the original tyre are supply with kumho light commercial tyre,as for my pass experience I will advice change it to Yokohama geolander g055.
    Cause this tyre are rear you can’t get this in Malaysia and its noise and odd profile 225/65/65 with low speed index.the dangerous part it’s many negative review for a blowup command.i went back to Kuantan trip in one day the two tyre from back side are fatted.and became very bumpy ride.and I cant event get a similar type of tyre profile.
    Finally if you are big family or always need to but some big stuff this it’s a good car other wise for budget I will go for exora cfe.
    And please keep it for at lease 5 to 7 years cause as many said the resell value are low.but actually this car if you are buying in Taiwan the price will be rm 169k and the brand new Toyota wellfire are selling rm 199k for a 2.4 full spec for a new cars.so I think I get what I pay and I quite satisfy with the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • 4G63T DSM on Jul 08, 2013 at 7:25 am

117k… Hmmm… That’s a lot of car for the Money.

This addresses it’s biggest failings… It’s looks. Still far from being a handsome vehicle, it is at least no longer an eyesore. Loose the 4th row seats and you still have 8 seats and usable luggage room at the back. The smaller 2.0 TD would make road tax more palatable.

Both the much smaller compact MPVs from Korea… the Orlando and the upcoming Rondo…is coming in at slightly higher price points.

• alldisc on Jul 08, 2013 at 11:26 pm

why not get a hiace window van, then?

if want extra space, just remove 1 bench seat – and still a 11 seater.

ultra reliable and hey! its a manual too!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • MPV hunter on Jul 08, 2013 at 9:50 am

Most never saw the car. Understand the negative comment.

I like the new design compared to the last model. It has some American design language in it. Design cue of Chrysler, Ford, and seems masculine, evergreen, just nice for the car of its size.

Some say the design is boring, but let me tell you, last time when the new Sonata launch, everybody said very nice and futuristic. But now it became an eyesore. The same happened for 2005 Honda Odyssey. The front end looklike a sad face.

Design can be adventurous and futuristic. But if the designer push it too hard, the design will expires in no time. I saw it coming for Mazda with their new odd front theme.

Next example, the new cerato vs the old forte. i think the old forte design will age better than the cerato. Remember Civic EK vs Civic VTi? EK is older model but looks better compared the newer Vti.

• Driver on Jul 08, 2013 at 10:49 am

The 2.0 diesel is a plus point, but the outer look/shape seems getting worse, looks like unser, where i think market expectation is higher now.

• looks like another good alternative for those travel to Cameron / Genting as now mostly are hiace or those cetak rompak hiace from china….at least this one more comfortable and spacious…

• And you thought Exora still the crappiest mpv ever…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • totti on Jul 08, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Most never saw the car. Understand the negative comment.

I like the new design compared to the last model. It has some American design language in it. Design cue of Chrysler, Ford, and seems masculine, evergreen, just nice for the car of its size.

Some say the design is boring, but let me tell you, last time when the new Sonata launch, everybody said very nice and futuristic. But now it became an eyesore. The same happened for 2005 Honda Odyssey. The front end looklike a sad face.

Design can be adventurous and futuristic. But if the designer push it too hard, the design will expires in no time. I saw it coming for Mazda with their new odd front theme.

Next example, the new cerato vs the old forte. i think the old forte design will age better than the cerato. Remember Civic EK vs Civic VTi? EK is older model but looks better compared the newer Vti.
    ————————————

Totally agreed with MPVhunter.

The sonata/Elantra/new K3 – cerato/K5 will be outstanding from the 1st glance but will be outdated after few months.

There are to many curve line apply to their design.

Old kia forte/Civic/Altis still look better than the latest model.

• totti on Jul 08, 2013 at 12:17 pm

But again, Sangyong always fail to come out with a good design car except the sangsong Actyon hatchback.

They should replace their designer or close shop.

• I saw this car at aeon setiawangsa, later test drive it at Ampang Hilir showroom, quite powerful despite the 2000cc engine, bring all my family members and goin all the way to bukit antarabangsa..salesman face sour oredi haha…

• Anyone know what engine is in it?

• isuzuki on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Yea…

How’s the durability? Availability? Reliability of this engine?

And the maintenance cost?

• jayson on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:26 am

I might miss out the comment of the patrol consumption. If you guys had mention. I am looking for this car too just wondering how the patrol consumption if driving town area most of the time. am from penang. also like to know the maintainance (brake pad, rotor, oil filter) if who own the car may comment.
    thanks

• warghh on Jul 28, 2013 at 12:55 pm

did my test drive on this car last week.. the interior is superb, the car is very responsive with its only 2.0 diesel korean engine.. no longer Mercedes engine likethe previous version, the ride was smooth .. i pedal down as I saw a bump… the susspension system handled it very well and I was impressed.. my friend who joined me for the test drive also impressed with the performance..
    As per brochure the fuel consumption is said to be urban 10.1L, Extra urban 6.9L and Combined 8.1L for for 100km.. it is almost the same or even better than my Waja 1.6 Campro (M).
    it is really value for money.. and those who has big family… with only RM120K.. you can enjoy a brand new big MPV

• slkoh on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:58 am

Consider buying this car. Appreciate if owners can share their experience after owning it for a year. How’s the durability, reliability, the maintenance cost and fuel consumption?

Many thanks.

• How to get the tyre? I can’t find this type of tyre in Malaysia….225/65/16. Can someone let me know where to get it?

• The stock tyre Kumho really was good.able to handle tough corners tho harder in ride experience. There are abundance of alternatives. Just to be sure the sidewall is for large mpv and load per tyre ant 800kg or above and the ply. I tried turanza 235/65/16. Softer tho not as hard ride as the Kumho. Give it a try

• Now I used Indonesia tyre, brand’s name 〈Radar〉RM400/tyre. (225/65/16)But after 9 months, my tyres “Bengkak”,inner iron string was broken….said the tyre‘s boss…really hard to get in Malaysia, can someone share? can we change to other type? Urgent! Please help me! Ssangyong centre told me to use Kamco tyre (must order from Korea), but cost me RM800/tyre….

• Overall Stavic is a good car! I already used for 3 years…powerful car! But the problems is where to get the tyre……make me sick!