MINI JCW Hatch, Coupe, Countryman and Paceman now available in Malaysia – from RM279k to RM339k

MINI_Countryman_Paceman_2014_041

John Cooper Works fans are due to be spoilt for choice now that four MINI JCW versions have been introduced in Malaysia – joining the burgeoning local MINI lineup are the John Cooper Works Hatch, Coupe, Countryman and Paceman, all CBU models.

Common to all is a JCW aerodynamic kit as well as distinguishing red roof/mirror caps and bonnet stripes as exterior dress-up items, while inside, a Chrome Line interior is to be found, with Carbon Black colour line and piano black trim elements as well as Leather Lounge upholstery the various bits on call.

All four models also feature a 10-speaker Harman Kardon audio system and a Radio MINI Visual Boost with 6.5-inch LCD display, as well as front sports seats, velour floor mats and a Lights and Sight package.

Let’s start things off with the MINI John Cooper Works Hatch, which is priced at RM278,888. The 1.6 litre twin-scroll turbo engine develops 211 hp at 6,000 rpm and 260 Nm (280 Nm on overboost) betwen 1,750 to 5,500 rpm.

Paired to a six-speed automatic, the JCW Hatch has a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 6.7 seconds and a 236 km/h top speed. Kit includes 17-inch black Cross Spoke Challenge alloys, six airbags and a JCW sports leather-wrapped steering wheel.

MINI_JCW_Hatch_08

Next, the MINI Coupe John Cooper Works, which goes for RM288,888. Power and torque output figures are identical to the Hatch, but the Coupe gets to the century a shade faster at 6.4 seconds and gets to 240 km/h. It’s shod with the same 17-inchers as the Hatch, and comes equipped with four airbags.

Number three on the list is the MINI Countryman John Cooper Works, priced at RM318,888. On this one, the 1.6 litre lump offers 218 hp at 6,000 rpm and 280 Nm of push (300 Nm on overboost) from 1,900 to 5,000 rpm. It takes seven seconds flat to get the JCW Countryman from standstill to 100 km/h, and it’ll get to 223 km/h before the speed tops out.

The ALL4 all-wheel drive Countryman JCW sits on 18-inch twin-spoke, burnished black alloys, and equipment includes a rear spoiler and roof rails.

Finally, the MINI Paceman John Cooper Works ALL4, which is priced at RM338,888. The car shares the same output numbers with the JCW Countryman, but has a maximum speed that’s a kilometre faster at 224 km/h, and it’s a tenth of a second quicker to the 100 km/h mark at 6.9 seconds. It sits on 19-inch black Cross Spoke Crusher wheels.

All prices are on-the-road without insurance, and the MINI JCWs come with a three-year or 50,000 km MINI Tender Loving Care package. So, if the JCW route works for you, there’s no shortage of bodystyles you can have that MINI in – surely, there’s one in here for you.

MINI John Cooper Works Hatch

MINI John Cooper Works Coupe

MINI John Cooper Works Countryman

MINI John Cooper Works Paceman

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jimmy on Jul 09, 2013 at 8:54 pm

stupid, they charge so much for a car made in india.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • Is pretty sad to see that the BMW destroy the MINI! Expensive yet dull! why don’t get a A class or A1 eh?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • class in motion on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:27 am

wah ramai miskin miskin and keyboard warrior memekak macam anjing…
      xde wang or class kasi duduk senyap senyap..

ni kereta untuk orang ada wang, class and prestige

ini baru betul hot mini car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 38
      • orang ada wang, class and prestige duduk Bently, ia itu mistress atau ah boi duduk mini. U ah boi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • Maybe for this rich man wannabe MINI is super luxury and for high class ppl! seriously this guy belum jumpa big snake urinate! u tau orang kaya pakai apa ah? dia orang pakai Aston Martin Cygnet! pls lah…

• namanama on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:40 pm

so class and prestige that even DC2 from 90’s can smoke this! 7sec to reach 100kmh? 300k+? forget it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • apa apa saja on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:52 pm

conti is still a conti.
          its not about speed.
          its about passion, build, design, soul, feel, handling and comfort..

a real driver’s car need to have those..

• namanama on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:24 pm

when you talk about JCW,it’s all about speed..and 7sec is rubbish.

• wan smoke ppl get a L5 kancil? smoke ferrari pun boleh =]

• namanama on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:22 pm

my point is 7sec to reach 100kmj is useless.DC2 can reach 100 in just 6.2sec and it’s naturally aspirated.

• Retep on Jul 09, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Very big price for a small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Jul 09, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Very big car for the name in its badges.

That mini is huge. We shouldn’t call it mini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • droll on Jul 09, 2013 at 9:41 pm

this is ridiculously overpriced. sheesh. 339k – can get a lot of car for this kind of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • neemfa on Jul 09, 2013 at 9:45 pm

JCW hatch is a brilliant car.. but waaay too overpriced in malaysia.. too bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Biscuit on Jul 09, 2013 at 9:46 pm

….own by BMW…you pay the price for BMW name. Buying a Mini is similar to buying a BMW. Without BMW….. Mini is history, forgotten and abandon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • 288,888?..better get nissan gtr with that price..=0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • are black rims suppose to be goodlooking for
    this class of vehicles? i think they look odd.

• Simon Hoh on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:24 pm

A250 for me for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • bising bising on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:29 am

hiyoooo A250 la.. A45 la.. apa apa pun
      if nak beli la saja
      why must type-type.. brag-brag..
      make noise..
      end up not buying what you type..

oh.. keyboard warrior..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Simon Hoh on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Not keyboard warrior la. I’m actually thinking about it. It’s between VW CC & A250 Sport. Beauty & spacious vs beauty & performance. Difficult decision :(

• sepul on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:34 pm

It is sad that such a great handling car, albeit expensive only comes in auto. No manual tranny, even on special order. They should do like Motor Image does for the new BRZ.

• skyfall on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:55 pm

these r definitely not for average ppl like me. but being an automotive fan, its nice to see nice cars coming..

• I know it’s a lot different than mini, but with that money. Why don’t just invest in 3-series or c-class ? Not really worth it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • waterman on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:46 am

i LOLed when you said “invest”. opss~
      don’t let your economic class teacher see this~!

agreed with lots of comments here…
      with this price range there’s really plenty of choice to choose from!

RM339k??? I’ll get an evoque just top little!
      seriously I want to see their sales report…

• Jimmy on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Again, these are toys. No real market value, in Malaysia; and you know what I mean.
    RM300K for a watch, much smaller than this tiny Mini, sounds familiar?

• a car for rich people only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • bising bising on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:30 am

yes its true; more choices of toys for the rich

so work smart and hard; become rich
      join the club

• Johnny on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:20 pm

JCW = a car for rich people only?!! I don’t think so. Rich ppl wil buy Bently! This is call average people.

• PauKaya on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:58 pm

great car. stupid pricing.

• bising bising on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:31 am

yup good car.
      prestige, performance, luxury at rm90 road tax..

so…
      u no money dont make noise; shut up la..

• you poor guy shut up!

• jesus….. what is wrong with these importers? do they really think riches in malaysia are nuts?….

• People people , come on why do you gotta say bad thing/negative comments , overpriced n all, it’s simple those who buys MINI, are people with money and they really like the car, if you prefer BMW go n buy one and don’t say overpriced just because you don’t have the money , you broke people are funny xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • waterman on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:50 am

No one is saying it’s not a good car~ it’s unique and good looking (for some people).

I accepted the truth that i can’t afford this car now, over price is over price.

seems like you are rich enough, now tell me~ even you are so rich, when you want to fork out RM339k to buy a car, will you choose this over other choices?? in the end this car could be dato-dato, tan sri-tan sri’s son/daughter will buy this if we can see OTR.

• marco on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:52 am

bro, its not what you think..IT IS too overpriced..
      look at the cheapest 279k, i think that model already present here for quite sometime. if i’m correct, since 2003-2004, even worst than Proton selling the same shape. (not talking about the spec)

• 03-04 is a r53 u refering? its r56 now bro. dunno about mini dun even comment dude. same shape because we keep our heritage strong. y blame the car overpriced when its the government who is taking in crazy tax percentage ?

• zamer on Jul 10, 2013 at 1:28 pm

lol..i wouldnt notice too until u highlght r53 and r56…
          too lame, they are not developing that much..even the interior is alike..

keep heritage for what? the a250 does not need to keep the same shape but somehow they did a walla to the new a250

• One hurted Mini owner.. Very sorry, here’s some aloe vera.

• Wiley on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:44 am

One word: Waste… With RM300k you can buy a better car or give your money to the poor laaa rather than buying this stupid car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • yeah.. 300k get 2 camry aight =]

• Biscuit on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

The rich can play-play with their money to spent on whatever they desire…..but still plenty in their deep pockets andl wiser…..

• carnut on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:52 am

When people say its overpriced does not automatically mean that they dont have the money to buy it. Its just simply saying its not worth more than its price sold here. Even if some people cannot afford to buy does not mean that they are not allowed to express their opinion. This is a forum for car enthusiasts afterall, so its rude and uncultured to assume and look down on people on the premise that they are broke. If you think the car is great and worth every sen, then share constructively what’s great about it.

The countryman is a fun car to drive and handles very well on twisty roads. But its unrefined and its interior is plasticky. Its targeted at people who want to have fun on the road and anyone expecting a luxurious car at this price will be disappointed. The pricing in Msia is on the high side and as a car enthusiast I think its overpriced by around 10% – 12%.

• bro u r holding back when u say 10-12 percent. our car price are overpriced by 100%. nuf said

• average joe on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:57 am

rm338 better get bmw 328, golf R,megane rs and bmw Z4,nissan 370z

• underskinned on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:32 am

I don’t know, was Mini an expensive marque during the 60s? Or only in Malaysia it is?

• iceman on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:57 am

even the rich feel the pain if they fork out that amount of money to buy a mini for RM340k. I dont think the rich is that stupid. They would rather buy BMW 328i, Lexus IS 250 Fsport, audi A6. Only the poor think that the rich will buy this kind of car for that price.

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:22 pm

You are looking from the perspective of a common person.

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Rich people are not interested in C-class, 3-series or equivalent. Trust me, once you reach there, you don’t want to buy these compact premiums for yourself (except as company cars to your valued staffs).
        If you ask me, among Mini, Beetle and C250, which one will I be more likely to choose if I really want, what will be the answer?

• hahaha……… Agree with you. same like If you poor buy AMD processor, If you rich then intel processor.! :D

• TopGear on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:35 am

if i am rich enough, i dont mind to get this hot car, a legendary JCW Mini Cooper S….. if i am correct, i think the most expensive Mini Cooper is the Goodwood version (interior by rolls royce)..
    i think got 1 unit in m’sia..published in the STAR paper

• MINISON on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:51 am

You are right ‘TopGear’ MINI Cooper Goodwood version is following ROlls Royce tradition handmade interior. Actually that’s no overpriced or something. It’s all depend on you the item you buying is worth it to yourself or not. Don’t compare the thing is small, like some of the watch can be few hundred thousands but people still buy it? because it represent the level/standard you are.

• Grandma Police on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:42 pm

I don’t see anything that justifies spending that much on a Mini Cooper S compared to a polo gti. It’s even more expensive than a golf gti

• handling? safety? image? but ironically cooper s is cheaper than gti in europe… hehe

• Biscuit on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:02 pm

The rich can line up their garages as a showroom…polo gti, cooper s, bentley, ferrari, cayenne etc….another expensive car mean nothing to them. Work hard get rich….everything will be within reach.

• imagine the car tax free.. 120k for a jcw.. woot woot… abolish tax! abolish 9yrs car loans… increase petrol price! but it aint gonna happen…

• Micheal on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:33 pm

I would buy this car for my Mistress! :D

• Ppl who bought this just a laughing stock to bmw. Technology so common and cheaper japs brand like subaru brz more fun to drive.

• TopGear on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:24 pm

how much is the Mini Cooper Goodwood in M’sia ?

• MINISON on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Mini Cooper Goodwood is priceless, it a limited version. Only for Agong in M’sia.

• MINISON on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Mini Cooper Goodwood is priceless, it a limited version. Only for Yang di-Pertuan Agong in M’sia.

• jamal plaza damas on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Hey owning a Mini is all about passion
    and its brand power.
    Even Agong drives one!!!
    Enough said.

• vwvwvw on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:26 am

i just smoked a mini cooper in duke with a stage 1 golf gti. puii. so fast la sgt…