2014 Toyota Corolla – European production starts in Turkey, new batch of images released

corolla-turkey-02

The European version of the 2014 Toyota Corolla, which ASEAN will also get from Thailand at a later date (not to be confused with the sportier US-market Corolla) has started production at Toyota Motor Manufacturing Turkey (TMMT). The new Corolla sedan joins the new Verso on the production line at TMMT, which exports to more than 50 countries.

With the new Corolla, next year will see total production at TMMT reach 150,000 units, its full capacity. Over 85% of output will be exported to European markets, Russia, North Africa, the Middle East and Central Asian countries. For this project, Toyota invested 150 million euros and hired 900 new people.

Toyota’s Turkish plant has been making Corollas since 1994 with the seventh generation model, right until the end of 2006. The Verso joined the production line in 2004. From 2007 to 2012, TMMT produced the Toyota Auris hatchback in place of the Corolla sedan.

In line with Toyota’s pan-European optimisation and localisation strategy of C-segment production in Europe, Auris production was consolidated at Toyota Motor Manufacturing UK at the end of 2012, making room for the reintroduction of the Corolla sedan at TMMT. This move allows both plants to operate at full capacity.

This Corolla differs from the US version in both front and rear treatments – headlamps, grille, front and rear bumper and tail lamps – but otherwise, it’s pretty much the same car, with an identical side profile and dimensions, including the 2.7 metre-long wheelbase. Here, the bigger front grille’s triple bars intrude into the headlamps, which are wider and stretch further back into the front fenders.

There are also very minor variations to the interior. The dashboard layout is largely similar to that on the US car, with the same increased space and legroom, although the digital clock position has been moved to the right from dead centre. We also observed some minor differences in trim and the dial face design. Small things, but there nonetheless.

COROLLA_DYN_30_DPL_2013

The European line-up offers a choice of a 1.4 litre D-4D turbodiesel (90 hp/205 Nm) and four petrol engines; a 1.33 litre Dual VVT-i unit (99 hp/128 Nm), a 1.6 litre engine available with Dual VVT-i (122 hp/154 Nm) and Valvematic (132 hp/160 Nm) systems, and a new 140 hp/173 Nm 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i.

The latter is paired to a new Multidrive S transmission (CVT with seven-speed mode), which is an option on the 1.6. All other engines come with a six-speed manual as standard, but the 1.4 D-4D can also be had with Toyota’s MultiMode automated manual transmission (AMT).

So far, we’ve seen the “rest of the world” Corolla in rather “cold” settings. The gallery below is a new batch of pics with sunlight and gorgeous scenery as background. Nice? It has to be to take on the new Mazda 3 sedan, Kia Cerato and Honda Civic, among others.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokan on Jul 09, 2013 at 1:57 pm

turkish delight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • drBirdie on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Can’t wait to see this new Taxi around the world !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
      • enkei on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:47 am

wow nice. what’s the pricing? am i sound like a poor youngster?

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 411
      • excss on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:28 pm

The specs here will hamper it down, definitely not worth the money/price. Stay tuned.

• polimer on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:18 am

wow you got so many praising
        *sarcasm*

• OMG..at least this better than the new civic, at least can see major different from the interior and exterior. Nice car. Well done Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Beetle Nut on Jul 09, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Looks like something my grandmother would get excited about…yaaaawwwwwwwwwwwn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 54
  • faggot on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:04 pm

when this will come here ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:34 am

the 1.4 turbo diesel with 205Nm of pulling power sounds very interesting.

why not UMW, dare to make a change?

• Dont get too excited guys and dont be fooled by the looks. You will still get that boring numb steering toyota ride

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 20
    • wearetheword on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:46 pm

shut up! that’s the world’s best steering acc to my grandpa. and he hates proton because it’s poor man’s cars.

(he doesn’t have any idea what Lotus is, maybe Lotus Restaurant)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 62
  • Maserati on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:13 pm

As boring as watching paint dry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
  • urghhh! my eyessss!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
  • Optitron on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:16 pm

I’ll be wishing the US sportier version will make it to here. Should be interesting to pit it against the Cerato…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • aiya…1.33 engine? better put this engine in new vios maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • kambinganas on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Jangan, nanti ah beng kene tambah TRD sportivo nak bagi laju pulak. The extra 0.03 cc is very powderful you know, just kene tambah TRD sportivo bodykit to terbang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • kokej on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:51 pm

eh tak la, kalau tambah sticker TRD boleh tambah cc jadi 2000cc. kempunan tengok preve tempek 1.6 je macam bodo tapi 2.0l senang-senang je tapau ka ka kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • pondek on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Yes proton laju n power but after ngam2 waranty cabut sana cabut sini kualiti tarak.. after that convert to mitsubishi hehe

• nierz on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Maybe not as much of an eye candy as the upcoming Mazda3 or Cerato, but definitely better looking than the new Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 24
  • Congratulation Toyota for the most lamest video I’ve ever seen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
  • Ray Chua on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Does anyone know why Toyota is changing back to traditional bulb type backlight instead of LED? Isn’t that LED is brighter, safer and more “trendy”? Toyota currently is using bulb type backlight for US version of Camry, RAV4 and this version of Corolla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • hondaman on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:33 pm

cheaper??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • kambinganas on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Macam downgrade je dari Altis current gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • bongok on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:11 am

Tu belum masuk Malaysia lagi tu, masuk je sini, airbag tinggal 1, DRL takde, speakers only 4, tu belum masuk benda-benda yang tak nampak. Lagi hampeh dari Proton.

• kopunbongok on Feb 12, 2014 at 8:15 pm

All kereta at malaysia same.. cabut sana cabut sini tarak apa left.. sebab ko pun bongok beli apesal? Stop beli lah bongok bongok

• Gajen on Jul 10, 2013 at 2:49 pm

I HOPE its the low spec thats having the rear blub and high spec thats having the rear LED. However to answer your question, the answer is marketing. Altis2001=orange rear signal lamps, facelift=white rear signal lamps. Altis2008= Back to orange rear signal lamp, facelift= white signal lamp. Im guessing Altis 2013= rear bulb, facelift = rear LED. I said that because a good example will be Camry. Camry2006= full rear LED lamps. Camry2012= combination of LED+Bulb rear lamps. i really dont know how can the project engineer/manager even approve this move while in the RnD stages.

• toyolta on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:22 pm

ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • Come and have a good fight with Cerato!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • Enthu on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:06 am

I believe they aren’t even giving a glance to your Cerato. Meh~

• imran on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Love their strategy,

1 body & chasis design , Reduce R&D and design cost, many engine & displacement options. thus price range will be widespread for wider targeted market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Vader on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Normally people call it cost saving rather than strategy..
      Mix and match the power train & gearbox is not preferred, look at the camry in malaysia.. still pair with 4 speed AT.
      Besides, standardization should be the trend, that why we heard global car,eg one ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • sirimusa on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Cost saving IS a strategy. One of many. Just like cost increase, of internationalization, export increase or cutting cost on R&D are all various business strategies.

You don’t just get there by the blink of an eye. You have to plan, and spend (yes, spend) in order to save in the long term. Aiyoo.

• Toon899 on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Toyota, take my RM10,000 booking now!!! I want one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 55
    • kambinganas on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:02 pm

No need to berebut stock. Lepas launch nanti banyak stock macam Camry baru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Even thou it looks so 90s(Toyota Unser) I’am quite liking the interior dash design. Its definitely a game topper over the old car, which is as boring as a roll of toilet paper, but as dependable as well. The design of this adds some aggression to it.

Sigh….I really wanted the US version to come to ASEAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • C-Seg on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Wah… Toyota overdone “garang” & “high-tech” design into this Altis… Then, facelift again in not more than 5 month.

• it’s gonna be hit in Malaysia coz the look is very much ahbeng look and as usual msian will fall into this easily. the normal motto is as long as it is toyota, everything can sell here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • hondaman on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:36 pm

ermm…altis sales can’t beat civic… not everybody blindly buy toyolta except for vios because of the cheap j spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:39 am

dont forget from 2001 to 2004 altis had better sales than civic, almost 2-3 times.

time has changed then now that even honda salesman finds it not easy to sell the civic. c segment is crowded with choices while size of the cake is not that big.

• Nice sylphy back…

• rajaGlobal on Jul 09, 2013 at 2:47 pm

wonder will the 1.33 displacement comes to Malaysia…with manual as standard..

• miskin on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:05 pm

klasik betul dashboard nyer………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • M3White on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:05 pm

IF base model price 125k for the ALL new Toyota Altis comes with

1 Airbag
    no VSC, no ESP
    High resale value
    Appeal to mother and father in laws

Come take my $$$ Toyota!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • kambinganas on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Altis high RV ke? Ingatkan Camry dengan Vios je tinggi. RV altis tak leh nak banding ngan civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • ghosy on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:02 pm

1 airbag for 125k only noobs will buy. Even preve got 4 and maybe 6 in hatchback variant

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:44 am

in 1998 corolla SEG 1.6 with dual airbags and ABS were selling at 110k.

in 2008 corolla 1.6 was selling at 103k, this model even bigger in size and with rear disc brakes.

what we can see… for the past 15 years UMW has maintained the same price for a Corolla with 1600cc engine but with much more features like Dual VVTi.

similarly goes to the 1.8 model. but of course, when a person wants more, he just have to fork out more. this is logic.

• “İts selling , do not touch” approach may cost Toyota for next 5 years

• hantu on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:39 pm

UMW, please make diesel burner sell here.

• Nice exterior. Finally i more refreshed look.

BUT………the dashboard….. OMFG!!!!! So effing FUGLY!!!! Oh well…. its a Toyota that’s why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • 2f2f-father on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:04 pm

son, it’s my money, not yours
      you just go in and i send you to school

• 2f2f-mother on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:13 pm

bang, its my money, not both of you. now go clean the house and stop surfing the internet

• Ong chin aun on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Hopefully we get yhe 1.6L and 1.8L models. and 1.6L SHOULD BE MANUAL and AUTO. Of course, price affordable and reasonable. No need too many airbags la. and other unneccesary gadgets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • kambinganas on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Idea bagus, Altis J spec?

• ramfd on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Yes, give us the J spec altis:

1.3l
        no airbag
        no vsc
        no tc
        no abs
        0-100km/h – 13.8 secs

suitable for rich uncles and aunties

• Edmont on Jul 09, 2013 at 3:58 pm

the interior looks awkward.. something’s just not right somewhere.. sigh..

• kumanz on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:15 pm

no projector headlamp.. very the outdated!

• _xXx_ on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:01 pm

My 1995 Mazda Lantis came with a pair of projector lamps. Does that mean my car is very ‘indated’?

• No Projector headlamp..?? DIY HID la….:D no power? tune to stage 2 loh….:D

• WaJib on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Projector lamp kat Brother’s manyaklah.. Kereta ahbeng Myvi, Wira@lution & TRD Tubo Sticker Vios pasang kat sana…

• weight on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Pity, it’s like those who add DRL on their civic FD. They don’t come in factory standard, they feel very inferior to preve.

• no projector headlamps for this???

• kambinganas on Jul 09, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Mana lagi terrer, Mazda3 baru atau Altis ni?
    Like untuk Mazda3, dislike untuk Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • one2three on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:17 pm

both suck to the max = underpowered AT

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:47 am

you not knowing what is called skyactive technology?

• one2three on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:04 pm

skyactive with AT is suck except with i-ELOOP, that’s only the highest variant. else have to stick with manual, shame.

• b sensible on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:04 pm

i’m surprising to see 1.33 litre Dual VVT-i unit. is this a turbo version?

• yippy on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Yup twin turbo V12 which even Golf GTI can’t match

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

you need to read more, or travel more.

small capacity engine cars with manual transmission are highly popular in europe.

honda jazz was sold in 1.2 manual form. same goes to daihatsu sirion while Golf 1.6 manual or 2.0 turbodiesel manual outsold DSG versions.

• offbeat on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:37 pm

auto trans is more popular here due to bad traffic condition

• Johnny on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Finally can own this CAR in 15years!

• Cerato vs Altis = no competition on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Cerato = better looks. Better equipments. Sportier, maybe. Cheap to buy.
    Altis = executive but humble looks. Way poorer equipment than Cerato. Less sporty. Expensive to buy.

Conclusion = In Malaysia, the Altis will still out sell the Cerato.. No doubt about that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:40 pm

Expensive to buy, cheaper to own, cheaper to buy, expensive to own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • kromet on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Old saying, now lot of spare parts of kimchi can be sourced out

• frenzyaustin on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:50 am

Electric seat? Heated Seat? Keyless entry? New Engine? Those parts are all old model like Rondo, Forte..etc New Kia changed everything (Which is a good thing) but parts availability is still a question for mainstream buyer.

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:53 am

rondo, forte, optima k5, sorento and sportage – all fail miserably in terms of sales.

Naza now runs the automotive business only for the sake of doing it. their main income now comes from property division where the group can earn tens of millions ringgit. kia cars dont sell in malaysia and naza kia does not bother a single cent.

• Maserati on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Mazda pawns both Altis and Cerato in all department… now pack ur bags and go back to where you belong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Cerato vs Altis = no competition on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:36 pm

A perfect example.

Optima and Camry.

Optima looks younger, sportier, extremely well equipped and cheap to buy. Camry looks old, complete absence of sportiness, extremely and utterly poorly equipped with extremely poor safety features and is extremely over priced. But at the end of the day, the Camry outsells the Optima.

It will definitely be the same for the Cerato and the Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • carlies on Jul 09, 2013 at 7:25 pm

This is handsome!

• WaJib on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Moral of the story…uncle purchasing power is higher than young chaps… that’s why Cumry can sell well than optima..

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:55 am

actually even the new Camry suffers from sales. ready stocks available any time with some good discounts.

market impact by Sonata, Passat, mazda 6 and teana.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 09, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Don’t think this will sell well in Europe. A better looking, better speced Auris with this, definitely Auris. And Europeans like hatchback more.

• Heng Lee on Jul 09, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Europeans don’t like Toyota at all. Financial Times:

“In 2007 – prior to the global financial crisis – Toyota gained a market share in Europe of 5.6 per cent, its highest ever. But then over the next few years it lost ground, with the market share falling to 4.2 per cent in 2011.”

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/d72acc0c-84e9-11e2-891d-00144feabdc0.html

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:59 am

its not that they dont like… but there are better cars available which better suit the european market.
        cars like european ford (fiesta, b max, focus), VW (polo, golf… the likes in turbodiesel form) and vaxuhall/opel (corsa, astra, mokka, meriva, insignia)

• Darren on Jul 09, 2013 at 6:01 pm

What an 80’s design dashboard?!

• Johnny on Jul 09, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Like what Toyota has been doing all these years. They come up with a blooody ugly first car. Then improve it at the facelift. Note : blooody

• Waiting for Mazda 3 sedan though

• Bryan Tee on Jul 09, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Is a improvement compare with Current boring Altis but….. if you put this car next to Mazda3…….then this new one look old…
    Sorry Toyota try harder next time

• jolly_idiot on Jul 09, 2013 at 6:48 pm

so, europe has a taste of made in asia (thailand) product..hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Whatever on Jul 09, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Not so sure if I like what I’m seeing. One sure thing is I don’t feel as excited as when I look at the Mazda 3.

• everbgreen on Jul 09, 2013 at 11:16 pm

mazda3 feel excited fast, bored also fast (not long lasting/evergreen)
      altis don’t feel excited, until the end also don’t feel excited

• Toyol-ta on Jul 09, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Typical toyota, dull and boring. Same engine for every facelift!!!! Jesus, are toyota engineers aware of the word “innovation”????!!!!

• jolly_idiot on Jul 09, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Expect no cheap price from UMW.

• supra 1.5 on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:26 am

owh.. macam proton saga dulu-dulu punya dashboard. kompom laku sebab toyota..

• Never actually considered a Corolla until I saw this latest one; great job, Toyota.

However, what is it with the 1980’s clock design and placement? Is it a retro thing? I just don’t get it.

• Nice car..unaffordable for an ordinary middle income group..this car price guarantee will be too expensive..while other peoples from other countries easily can enjoy drive & change different car every 5 years,we at Malaysia will use car until it’s “reput” and continuously buy poor quality of proton car…Sad but true..it’s Malaysia loo…

• morazz on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:12 am

Kalau dah jatinya TOYOTA.. jual balik mungkin dapat duit. Walaupun orang dok mengutuk tapi yang kaya sape? hehe.. orang meniaga buat kereta guna kepada otak. Tapi yang silapnya CAMRY. Tak payah bagitau kat sini kenapa.

Kalau dah jatinya HONDA.. bermula daripada keturunan EF sampai FD lepas tu yg baru ni semua akan stim pasal design. Sampaikan ada satu model evergreen bila dijual balik harga tak turun2 sampai sekarang!

Kalau dah jatinya KIA.. jual balik kenalah topup duit sendiri. Walaupun bentuk cun, orang akan flasback sejarah keturunannya dulu2. Enjinnya bukanlah lasak sangat. Cuba tanya bank boleh ke buat full loan?

• No matter how overpriced it is, Malaysians will still flock to book it. Coz it’s a Toyota.

Anyway, you’re going to face a harsh battle with the current Civic around and the upcoming Mazda 3. Those cars have better looks and slightly more Value for money (I suppose)… Cerato? stay in your kimhci restaurants Iah, you won’t even stand a chance…

• kevier on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:11 pm

nothing left with new corolla/altis. it tries hard to be petrol saver by decreasing the power and add some tech/designs. 1.33l to push long C segment cars. sure suck big time. 1.8l only churns mediocre output.

• combination of honda city front and kia forte koup rear… disappointed.. toyota needs a new designer

• Kelvin on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Exterior awesome but interior yuck! Very lousy design…I can’t imagine if i pay RM100K++ and touch with those ugly design buttons….Even Myvvi interior design much more better than this. Interior part i think Honda Civic and Ford Focus is much better.

• brian on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Whenever there is a toyota or honda article, there must be thousand of people bashing these japanese cars, and try to promote their proton as the most affordable and reliable cars.

Come on, before i can afford my first camry, i was driving a proton wira 1.5 too, i know how the car like, which is build cheap and selling at premium price.

Those that basing japanese cars are basically young, not afford to buy above 80k cars. Come on dudes, just admit it. When u can afford cheap japanese cars after making and saving enough money, u will say different thing about toyota and honda.

One simple example, just compare a proton inspira and toyota vios, feel the obvious difference between a turbo charged inspira and a simple 4 cylinder inline Vios. 100% you will tell that Vios is way responsive in manuever and torque.

• inhitim on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:13 pm

uncle here is old in age, noob in experience LOL

• jammer on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:47 pm

You suggest vios can tao bao turbocharged inspira? The inspira driver should be kidding or you don’t know what’s turbo lag.

• design wise abit bit wannabe…why not stream out the line to make it more simple approach? Ultraman curve for the tailamp edge which kill the momentum…

• 2f2f-grandpa on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Ooo… Its for grandpa! Reminds me of the olden days. (Referring to dashboard only)

• How do u know Camry outsells Optima?? Thanks to MyCC, car companies cant even publish their MONTHLY sales numbers, incredible, just in Malaysia.

• Kuinosan on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:05 am

Toyota fans may mot like what I’m going to say….but this new Corolla do resemble a white colored Forte with bodykit albeit minus the longer headlights and 90’s tail lamp. Interior wise, way too 80’s for the current times. Drivetrain wise is the biggest dissapointment, still the same old jurassic technology. Shame on you Toyota!

• ugly! ugly! ugly! better buy sexy vios

• Tak sokong B.N. dan Inspira/Preve on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Fugly design grill and designer never forget to take care “Uncle” element when draft the car design.

• mokkf on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:55 pm

U saw the cruise control button? Why all looks similar?

• awesome design by Toyota, RV is guarantee, now somemore can uplift Toyota owner’s grade. those vw, peugeot, honda, nissan, hyundai, kia… all pui, lousy car.

• Could i know when new altis will launch in malaysia? pleassss…. :)

• SYOK SENDIRI on Jul 13, 2013 at 10:48 am

…design just like korean car. since everybody including japanese designer are using samsung smartphone.. sigh.. booooring.

• corollacomeback on Jul 13, 2013 at 1:31 pm

nice photos. the new corolla design looks very refreshed, marking a significant design evolution with more sharp bend lines on the sheet metal, large swept back headlamps and the rear also takes on similar approach nicely.

except from the cat-whiskers grille, the rest of the car looks quite good. The old corolla is not a beauty but it’s not also ugly and similarly this new design gives you a real “All New” corolla in an acceptable way. at least, in terms of this new toyota design language, the designer pull it off in this corolla way way better than they did in camry (2nd ugliest after almera on our road).

US new corolla = tried too much to be sporty and young but looks like a failed plastic surgery.

Cerato = not sporty at all, if you compare cerato with other kia models like optima, sportage, rio, and old forte they are all sportier and more masculine-look than the new cerato.

I wish UMW would spec this new corolla better than what HM did to our new civic so the competition can be healthier for the benefit of the consumers.

For generations Civic and Corolla have survived along each other appealing to 2 different groups of buyers that look for different things in the car they buy. I think it’s wise for both T and H not to get in each other’s way.

• Toyota, step aside. You suck.

• toyota on Jul 15, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Kudos to the reflector type head lamp and rear lamp. “Toyota – Moving Forward” indeed…

• new honda city

• Momtaz on May 28, 2014 at 5:03 pm

i got it but i feel sorry because i can not upgrade the Toyota touch 2&go to Toyota touch 2&go plus even they are the same dimensions shame on you Toyota corolla Euro (Turkey)