Honda Accord – ninth-gen appears on oto.my

s4-5948-honda_accordsedanrussia2013_r1jpg_zps23ab5df4

You’ve seen the ASEAN-spec ninth-gen Honda Accord at the Bangkok show; now it looks like it’s going to be our turn soon. Once again, our sister classifieds site oto.my has served up indicative pricing and specs – this time of Honda’s latest D-segment contender for our market.

UPDATE: We’ve driven the new Honda Accord. Click here to read our review.

The ad is for the 2.0 litre version, with push start, leather seats, sat-nav, reverse camera, DRLs and Econ mode among the equipment mentioned – sounds very much like our neighbours’ 2.0 EL Navi variant. 155 PS and 190 Nm of torque are fed to the front wheels via a five-speed auto gearbox.

An indicative price of RM149,800 is listed, and according to the ad, we’re looking at a probable launch sometime in August or September. Remember, things have yet to be made official – for the real deal, we’ll just have to be patient.

Learn more about the ASEAN-market ninth-gen Honda Accord here, and its US-market counterpart here. Click here to go to the ad on oto.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• carlies on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:06 pm

To be frank, this is the fusion of the malaysian current model with the older model of Accord. Especially the rear design. My godness Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 15
    • Moores on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Precisely. Still look very much like the previous model only more squarish. Exactly like what happened to Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
      • Wisdom on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:56 am

Camry push it to far with the boxy shape. This one just nice.
        They purposely make it boring when later on suddenly we come to appreciate the design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • We will see all minister and government top brass driving this car on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
      • OMG…DAMN Ugly…they all wont like this…they prefer BMW, Merc, Luxury MPV, Conti cars or even Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • thamts on Jul 13, 2013 at 7:40 pm

accord = perdana = accord = drb = proton ….

• Exactly, the Japanese cannot think out of the box?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Wahh….lawa laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 38
    • Jimmy on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:07 pm

The lawa one is the CBU at similar price with 6 airbags and ESP. What’s the name of that D-segment car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Kalun on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Actually, it looks good with those wheels.
    Look more mature styling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • nabill on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:15 pm

I thought it should come with the new cvt ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Thailand mah, sure cut cost wan…
      Except for 5 speed, everything is good in this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • shawal on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:48 pm

The direct injected 2.4 earth dreams comes with cvt ,2.0 soldiers on with 5 speed box

• jeremy on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Unfortunately, no direct injected engine for the 2.4 liter version as well….the Thai version 2.4 liter engine only has 174ps and 225nm of torque, no where near the direct injected equivalent in the US…engine will be called ‘earth dreams’ engine, but in reality its not the same new engine as the US version…

• jeremy on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:08 pm

And both will be mated to 5-speed automatic, no CVT in Malaysia…

• Yup, ASEAN is getting a 10hp/10Nm lower than the US model, but it is still direct injection. it is the same K24W unit, with a diferent compression ratio.

• BlueV12 on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:19 pm

I would take this over the fugly Toyota Camry anyday.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 13
    • This Accord and Camry now abang adik already. Both also fugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 27
      • Pls don’t type both r ugly lah, see ur own car first loh! Anyway the new Accord looks great and improve a lot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
  • Huhhh, still 5 speed gearbox?
    Even the Koreans are ahead.

Whatsup Honda???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 20
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Best in class safety tested, even Conti’s can’t match it. Does gadget more important than your life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 43
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:43 pm

This is just the 2.0L on a 5-speeder. Camry even worst, 2.0L on a 4-speeder… Wait for the 2.4L (or the 2.5L…?)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:22 pm

This will destroy Camry sales no doubt. Same brand influence as Camry, better speced, better looks, better drive, everything is better. One of the only good Honda selling here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • It’s weird that in the US, this is among the best performer when it comes to chassis dynamics in its segment, even thou it has the cheaper(and hot point for any Honda haters)MacPherson struts front suspension. It has all the qualities that a Camry should have and the 2,4l is no slouch. So yeah, it dethroned King Camry sales dominance in the US in the 1st Quarter of 2013, will be interesting to see what it does here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • zipzap on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:25 pm

It looks like a camry le

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • meh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • I’ll say in my eyes, decent looking, decent specs, and a decent price. Not world beating as the Kimchis are offering, but not shit as UMW is offering. So overall, it’s pretty much a comfortable, dependable daily roundabout,In other words, taking the spot where the Camry previously seats(and beat the Camry sales in the US). The 2.4l also comes very close to Mazda 6’s level of goodness by offering an excellent engine and specs.

But I’am not going to expect positive views.It’s has a upright H badge, it has a slight price increase, it’s gonna bring all the hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:30 pm

New Honda desogn, 1st impression doesn’t looks good. But after seeing it for a second time, it starts to grow in your heart and become more catchy than call me maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • CARtoon on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Yawnnnnn …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • albag on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:55 pm

this is a very good looking car… expect 2.4 to reach more than 150k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • skyfall on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:12 pm

another ugly syiok sendiri design by honda. glory days of japanese cars r long gone. they cant even beat the koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 32
    • Beating the Koreans or not is not what you say that count, is the actual sales figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • google on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:02 pm

yea. thanks to m’sians brand loyalty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • alldisc on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:40 pm

already Honda Malaysia struggled to sell 8th Accord.

choosing ‘large body’ as a formula obviously did not work.

honda must admit the only time accord was doing very well is during the 1990s with SM4 and SV4 models. unbeatable.

• theanswer on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:09 pm

to be honest..d segment is a very risky segment. best segment is b and c.

• mael lambung on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Proton perdana replacement is it use this design??

• dsgner on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:25 pm

the design is going backward like those in 90’s. why not using the same present design language and modify it a bit into new one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • HONpengDA on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:46 pm

At least this new accord got better looking,spec and more safety features than boring camry

• xcounterx on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:51 pm

this car in USA get many awards ~ 2.4 and 3.5 engine are awesome!! 2.4l 0-100kmh 7sec 3.5l 0-100kmh 5sec , both with earth dream direct injection… interior with nice than Hyundai and kia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Moores on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Where on earth you got the figure 0-100km/h in 5 seconds? Ridiculous.

• alldisc on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:42 pm

wow that is supercar territory already! even jaguar XKR struggles to achieve that, and only able with 5.0 V8!

• supra 1.5 on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:05 pm

current design is better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • One question, is the 2.0 version one of the EarthDreams engines?

• yesdigi on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:16 pm

new features lane departure warning, forward collision warning, blind spot watch, dual screen multi-functional , dual projector headlamp with day time running light, SMS text, and more!!! it will be 2.4 model, sad

• lchlch on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Can’t see how the specs can even come close to similarly priced conti. Safer than conti? Serious?

• frenzyaustin on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Spec =/= Safety. Chassis design, rigidity is the one that count. You should watch more crash test like NCAP and IIHS to learn more.

• lchlch on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:17 am

Oh really? Let me try again to find out which conti score below ncap 5*….. And which lack ESP, >6airbags etc….like you said i probsbaly have not studied enough…..

• frenzyaustin on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:10 am

If Honda Thailand managed to install all safety features like in US, this car’s safety tops every car in it’s segment. K5 does not on par with it.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:30 am

Here is the comparison video
            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByPAhoeU6UQ

• lchlch on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Am comparing it to contis not k5 . similarly priced contis not merc or beamer…..

• theanswer on Jul 11, 2013 at 4:12 pm

dont forget that amount of airbags..seatbelt warning..esp will give extra star.

• Fahmi on Jul 10, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Conventional, bland design.. But definitely better than Camry this time.. Hope that the 2.4 comes with CVT + Earth Dreams (cheesy name) as the “new” Camry 2.5 comes with Dual VVTi + 6 speed AT…. Safety features should not be compromised… Should be dependable, comfortable with a tinge of sportiness (like previous Accord)…

• Kuinosan on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Honda is still trying to rip off its customers with the same old styling and drivetrain. Wah! Very arrogant and ignorant of Honda indeed… Honda buyers, please wake up!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Out of the box on Jul 10, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Come on…. With that price and look…..Mazda 6 beats the hell out of T and H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Stuart on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:47 pm

I will definitely put Mazda 6 in a different league now. I saw the quality, safety features, ride quality are above all Japanese cars in iIt’s segment.

• encik boss on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:17 am

Top up some more and get Mazda6

• Looks like Honda have learnt their lessons from the Civic fiasco and give the Accord a higher quality interior. The exterior will again split opinions like all Honda’s latest offerings.

• Simon Hoh on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Sushis lost inspiration. Except Mazda.
    Taking the safe route is just going to lose them market leadership eventually.

• The Japs nowadays keep the same platform or engine/ gearbox year after year…just look at the Camry, Altis, Civic, all of them were merely facelifts rather than ” all new” as advertised..tats why u see the old shape, when they used the same platform and moulding, can only changed the front or back design a bit, and not the main body structure

• Anyway the rear design really boring compared to the current one, looks like Honda trying their best to copy Camry

• kelvin on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:11 am

after u guys see the real cars, will have different opinion… the day running light is very bright & interior looks very premium… wait & see

• why this accord is one of the safest D segment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOOMR-fTBWg

• frenzyaustin on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:15 am

But it is a Honda, everything come from Honda become bad in paultan’s commenter mind.
      In Camry post, everyone so emphasize about safety but here, suddenly a KIA and Hyundai has the best safety. The IIHS tested the Camry with 6 airbags, but the crash overpowered the dash and the airbag doesn’t really helpful. Only Accord in that segment survive and thanks to the simpler Torison Beam front.

• Forza on Jul 11, 2013 at 7:52 am

Until now many of you still don’t get it. This test does not necessary applicable for the car sold here. Our Accord are build in Thailand and MEANT for Asean market. Unless your car are CBU from Japan then most likely it will meet the Euro Ncap test.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:17 am

The main parts are still same in this accord no matter where it sells, except for the gearbox which Honda Thailand managed to carry over. The only doubt is will HT managed to maintain the same number of airbags like in the US and Japan?

• alldisc on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:52 pm

the front door still crumpled badly. the driver hardly can walk away without a scratch.

could do better.

• Kuinosan on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:25 am

Haven’t Honda learnt anything from Mitsubishi’s big mistake by letting Proton Inspira share it’s Lancer platform??? It has totally destroyed the Lancer model’s image in the Malaysian market.
    Does Honda really want to destroy its Accord model by sharing it’s platform with the Proton Perdana??? Honda, stop this self destruction measure before it takes it’s toll on one of the best selling Honda models in the world, the Accord. Just my humble opinion!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Farhat on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:48 am

Honestly, i like this accord more than the current gen in Malaysia, and the new camry. These kind of design, these ‘safe’ design may be boring to look at first, or give a bad first impressions, but Honda may know a thing or two about this.

Designs like this does not fade or create a hype that would just die off in a few months. look at the optima K5, revolutionary design at first, then as time pass by, it becomes boring and you would want something else to it.

This accord has the right angles and soft touches to make it ‘safer’ than the current gen, not revolutionary, not beautiful, but practical.

• jeremy on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:48 am

I’m still not bored with the Optima k5 design…having seen the actual new Accord here in the US though, I have to say it looks better in real life than it does in pictures….never seen one with the DRL’s as pictured above though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • frenzyaustin on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:21 am

K5 is indeed good looking, but D-Segment buyers are usually 45-70 years old uncle. K5, Mazda 6 looks too young for uncle. Successful young man tends to go CT200h, a class above Camry and Accord more compact size, looks better and save more fuel. They will get K5 or M6 is size is their main requirement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Wisdom on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:52 am

Sonata & Elantra design already expired.
        K5 and new cerato still warm but going to rot like the picanto..

• penguna K5 on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:36 am

booooo… my k5 is still way cantik from this old honda design… do you say that we should prefer boring design car?? booo.. honda salesman detected.. booo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Farhat on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:45 pm

What ever floats your boat Penguna K5. If my opinion hurts your feelings, shouldnt be looking at Honda comments to try and find a wormhole and bash other peoples opinions.

Do you remember the time when phones were all bold, beautiful looking? When the 8250 came out, everyone wanted one, then as design got better, the old one got boring. Now? Samsung, HTC, iPhones, all have bland, empty design with big screens to be safer, big screen and features all are in favour more than design.

That was a vague example, but its one example i could think of during my free time right now.

Im not saying your K5 is ugly, or boring.. The K5 to me was good looking, BUT that kind of design will fade and die off within months from now. (Another example; Sportage) A car should be owned more than just 1 year, we all cant afford to keep buying new cars just for its design. This accord however, has the right shapes and safe looks to keep you happy till the car dies.

Boring look? Yeah, maybe to those who own a super bold extraordinary designed car, but just wait till you finally finish your loans, or even now, ask people, design will or has fade. Design is a hype people go through, but in the end, the safe ones would stand.

Selamat Berpuasa and dont let your K5 interfere with Ramadhan and what life has to offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Pengarah Penguna K5 on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Penguna K5 like imature kid. Kesian.

• lepat on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:13 am

againn
    the headlamp led similar to preve : )

• valjean on Jul 11, 2013 at 9:39 am

Between the new Camry and this? I will take this anytime. I like the KINK along the front side.

• it becomes uglier than previous version.. better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Sam Looser on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:06 am

it is very.. very very very plain.. boring .. no elegance..nothing.. no soul..ppl thought is junk on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Maserati on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:26 am

As usual, this accord will destroy K5 already terrible sales.

Accords always feel great to drive, great chassis and fantastic engine! Honda never lets u down.

This car will sell like hot cakes definately!

I drove a k5 before and its probably the worst so called D segment car i ever drove. Even a civic feels better to drive than k5. For all its good looks, its sales has been miserable. And its 2nd hand value has been aweful.

For me, its not about the gadgets cuz after 1 year the gadgets will probably be useless and u will get bored of them. The drive is more important. Well, many korean fanboys wont understand. They just go for looks and gadgets..

Cant wait to see this nee accord on our roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • I am in my age of 42. Honestly speaking this car has a very “safe” design. It reminds me the 6th gen Accord S86. However, the design is somehow too “matured” to me at least. Maybe for those who are above 48 yrs have different says.
      Feel excitement on overall design — No.
      The design may last longer compare Korean maker — Probably Yes.
      The weird things is the existing 2.0 I-Vtec drives better than 2.4 I-Vtec. It is 2.4 DOCH I-Vtec characteristic where it work slightly sluggishly during the low RPM range but it revs more lively while above 3500 RPM. Anyway the 2.0 I-Vtec displays a more linear torque throughout the range.
      Hopefully the earthdream technology could have a major breakthrough to improve the overall engine performance with the new direct injection on fuel.
      In view of the new comers: Skyactive, Ecoboost, Prince Engine, TSI, Nissan VQ V6 Series have been truthfully serving the marques well, I am eager to see how its’ performance of 2.4 earthdream to pair up with the CVT transmission as compared to the reputable well built Teana VQ V6 series. Anyway, it is not same category to compare earthdream technology with the more advanced TSI/Ecoboost/Prince Engine.
      In term of driving dynamics, Accord & Civic has been revoluting over years, it has the tendency moving more to the comfort side, it is right move in the sense that to match its new status. However, there are players doing a better jobs in term of this without sacrificing the comfort but still retaining the enjoyment of driving dynamic, Ford Mondeo/Pug 508/Mazda6 are great in this area.
      Accord is competing directly with Camry & Teana.
      Mondeo/508/Mazda are however targeting different group of people who have different taste. Cheers

• Its my money that I bought a K5,M5,Camry,Accord or anything.
      Why do you care about other people’s money.Their wish to buy anything they prefer.
      If I can see you one day, I would like to buy your wife too for an hour.
      I am sure you are one of the person driving a 15yo Proton who has wet dreams about Jap cars.
      Whether Jap or Korean or German, it does not matter, bcoz not your money!!
      You are a real “maseru”….in tamil called as an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Johnny on Aug 28, 2013 at 1:10 am

You’re hiding from the reality that some cars are indeed worse than others.

• Maserati on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:29 am

Somehow or rather some cars look better in pics and some in real life.

I am sure this accord will look awesomer in real life.

To be sure, rmb how good the new mazda 6 looked like in pictures? But in real life , it looked somewhat boring and so normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • sparcov on Jul 11, 2013 at 10:34 am

As far as Observed for the past few years.

Honda design seems does not get fate over the time.
    What I means is

Starting from 1990s honda up to now. If look back the current EJ/EK series honda. It still looks great eventhough there are plenty of new model in the market. Even the FD seriesa or FB series may look great after years.

This is my perception.

So, the japanese really came out the model that can sustain for many years to come.

• Frankly speaking, this car will get the sales like the previous model. Don’t talk about kimchis, they bring out the gadgets n good looks, but after a year feel boring with looks already, see sonata n forte as example. Honda/toyota design is meant to last. At first u look at the new Jazz or Civic like ugly compared to previous one, but now after sometimes, it gets better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Farhat on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Yes, i agree. To me a nice simple design would keep its heart going for many years to come…but i still cant find the goods of the camry though. This Accord, nice, Camry, No.

• iluvhonla on Jul 11, 2013 at 11:51 am

This design makes ex and future owners happy. This is their tactics and their secret of good rv.

• reyust on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:30 pm

looks like sonata nf

• ben yap on Jul 11, 2013 at 1:48 pm

why no dual clutch with light pressure turbo?

for accessories and safety, should plonk in sunroof, auto park and also 6 airbags.

But maintain the price. :)

• Nigel Yap on Jul 11, 2013 at 2:06 pm

The design is the previous Camry…WTF

• How about the 2.0L Accord hybrid ? Anyone got any news on whether it will be launched together with the conventional Accords ? This hybrid is launching soon in Thailand & surely is equipped with the latest CVT.

• mrhehehe on Jul 11, 2013 at 8:41 pm

very2 fugly car…damn japon car..

• Well, Current Batch owners !! DO NOT be too worried abt your re-sale value coz d new one sucks…

• Keane on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:07 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5ZYtjaL0Kw
    Thai Honda Accord Commercial

• keane on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Just feel that the commercial so quality and share here…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZw1TcK7g3k

• Johnny on Aug 28, 2013 at 1:16 am

You go for an event like this everyone else will be driving BMW’s and Mercs. Accord drivers wont be noticed.

• suntharram on Jul 13, 2013 at 11:42 am

Hi ppl…. would like to know if the extra features e.g side line watch , reverse camera , gps , and etc will be available in 2.0 car ? How about those 2.0 launched in Thailand and Indonesia ? Do they come with this extra features…. how about earth dream engine in a 2.0 unit.? And lastly by when it will come to our shoress ????

• omg…Honda & Toyota … abang adik…B4 they learn their mistake they wud have been wiped out by other cars, i hope!

• Accord2.4 on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:27 pm

nice car… nice to drive too.. nothing come closed to Honda accord…

• Accord2.4 on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:33 pm

comments are Honda technology are yet to be beaten.. you have pretty exterior but lousy engine and technology.. kimchiss, Toyota, drb perdana etc.. still bets on exterior but nothing in the inside.. Honda still have the last laugh with its vtec technology and fc… cheerriooo Honda japon… what can I say…