Peugeot RCZ R: full official details of production car!

peugeot-rcz-r-official-a

Here are the first official images of the most powerful road-going Peugeot ever ahead of its Goodwood debut in production form this weekend. Shown as a concept at last year’s Paris show, the Peugeot RCZ R packs a 1.6 litre ‘EP6CDTR’ THP unit that gives an impressive 270 hp at 6,000 rpm and 330 Nm of torque between 1,900 and 5,500 rpm.

That’s a specific output of nearly 170 hp per litre – a record for this segment. Armed with a six-speed manual gearbox, the 1.28-tonne (17 kg lighter than the standard RCZ THP 200) sports coupe does the century sprint in under six seconds and hits the electronic buffers at 250 km/h.

Coupled with a quoted combined fuel economy of 6.3 litres per 100 km and CO2 emissions of only 145 grams per km, the Peugeot RCZ R will also make an appearance at the Frankfurt show in September before going on sale early next year.

peugeot-rcz-r-official-e

But it’s not just about speed in a straight line – improved aerodynamics and rear downforce come courtesy of an integrated fixed boot spoiler. Its 10 mm-lowered suspension boasts new-spec dampers, stiffer springs and a stiffer anti-roll bar, and there’s a Torsen differential as well.

Those 19-inch bespoke alloys in a two-tone diamond/matte black finish shield larger brakes with red four-piston Peugeot Sport callipers. Tyres are Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 235/40 series jobs. In terms of dynamics then, the Peugeot RCZ R shouldn’t disappoint.

A rear diffuser incorporates a reworked exhaust system’s twin chromed tailpipes. ‘R’ badges can be found on the front grille as well as the boot lid, and there’re matte black roof arches. The Peugeot RCZ R looks at you through Xenon projector headlamps with washers.

peugeot-rcz-r-official-f

Inside, there are sculptured sports seats dressed in a mix of Nappa leather and black Alcantara, with ‘R’ emblems on the headrests. There are ‘Peugeot Sport’-embossed sills and red stitching on the dashboard, leather steering wheel, gear lever gaiter, door panels, armrests and seats.

The centre stack is dressed in a classy piano black finish, while the centre console holds a brushed aluminium plaque bearing a red ‘R’ inscription – nice touch! A full World of Peugeot multimedia system with Nav Plus comes as standard.

You can have your Peugeot RCZ R in four colours – Moroccan Red, Nera Black, Mercury Grey and Opal White. Also offered is a range of custom-made satin or gloss carbon roof treatments, decal designs and black mirror shells.

UPDATEOfficial details added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• One of d most beautiful car.. Now with more power :-o

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
  • Johnny on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:09 pm

The ability of this 1.6l engine to churn out 260hp is insane!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • armandd on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:34 pm

The turbo lag must be insane too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 88
      • guest on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:06 pm

armandd, keep the comment to yourself ya. Something is wrong with your eyes/brains. 330nm@1900 and you still say insane turbo lag? Then what about EvoX, WRX and GTR? Out of this world kind of lag? LOLOLOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
        • Turbo kicks in at around 1500RPM on my manual RCZ (200hp). You can get Turbo at almost any gear shift, so long you press the fuel pedal, immediately you will feel the acceleration. :)

I am excited with this 270hp RCZ R! It shows how great the 1.6L Prince engine (same as the one used in Mini) is able to deliver!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
    • Hamster on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Can this baby smoke the Golf R ?
      Golf R 2.0 -270
      RCZ R 1.6 – 270

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Grandma Police on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Same color as JCW and same engine but way more power and I bet more decently priced too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Himmi on Jul 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Better than box look gti

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • hahahaha…Better than Stupid MALAYSIAN made cam pro engine that Preve use one…ahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 49
    • Tell that to other engines as well, civic engine, sylphy’s, altis’s even passat’s
      They are stupid too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • stienthusiast on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:06 pm

My wrx sti can smoke it, but its fuel consumption triumph over my wrx sti.6.3/100km really sound too good to be true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
    • Jackson on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Bro, come on la.. if this pug can smoke your wrx sti, you should really just keep it at home.. remember, there is no replacement for displacement.. find ‘someone’ your own ‘size’ to play with.. maybe an Evo X?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
  • Jackson on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Peugeot RCZ R 1.6 Turbo = 270bhp
    Preve 1.6 Turbo = 138bhp

That’s what we call efficient!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • perhaps it may not be fair to compare like that. the proton’s tuning is for low pressure turbo while the peugeot has a different set of parameters and different objectives with its turbocharging. more apt would be to compare the 308t to the cfe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
      • cfe cant compare too with 308t
        205nm to 240nm,diff 35nm
        like compare NA 1.6 with 2.0.

308t is decently powerful.

• kimchi on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:31 pm

wait till jap fans tell that it’s all only paper, on road real world is different lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • Furqan on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Wonder if this car will kill the megane

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Hmmm, ini baru ada oohm, 6 saat, oke lah for its predicted price. Kereta ni agak cantiq.

• Johnny on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Preve 1.6 Turbo stage 2 sure smoke this Peugeot!!! hahaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • this pug is prolly twin turbo charger, preve only single. nothing to shout about

• anymore? on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:45 am

the point is, if you have to modify, you’re not comparing correctly. do stock to stock then see. comparing a modified car to a stock is just silly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Jerry on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:55 pm

• VW Fanboi on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 113
  • GT-Rider on Jul 10, 2013 at 8:28 pm

nice…..i mean the colour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
  • Simon Hoh on Jul 10, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Specific output of 170hp/L? They’ve just matched the Merc’s A45 power plant! Impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • vios is better.. just mod vios a bit can smoke this car already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 44
    • Neutral on Jul 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Sau Pei la Vios….modify what also no use. Lousy car. A Proton Preve close eyes also can overrun a Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • So you have modified your Vios to become an Ah Beng’s super sports car?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • .. come on la.. talking about mod, if lorry did mod also can smoke vios..,!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • paparadzi on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

A lot of lorries can smoke any car without modification. Literally. Black smoke, that is.

• sengsang on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:31 am

how to give correct comment maaaa , no pretty models in front?