Suzuki Swift Sport five-door introduced in the UK

Swift Sport 5dr-03

The five-door version of the Suzuki Swift Sport has been announced in the UK, along with the Swift 4X4 we showed you yesterday. The second-generation Swift Sport made its debut in late-2011 as a three-door hatchback before a five-door joined the fray later on.

No mechanical changes other than the two extra doors, so it’s a high-revving M16A engine with variable intake system and an optimised intake VVT (Variable Valve Timing) for increased valve lift. This 1.6L motor makes 136 PS at 6,900 rpm and 160 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm, a significant increase from the original SSS’ 125 hp and 148 Nm.

In the UK, the Swift Sport five-door is priced at £14,249 (RM67,523), which is £500 more than the three-door. Suzuki UK expects the new variant to account for a third of SSS sales. In Malaysia, the Swift Sport was launched last month as a five-door, starting from RM97,888. Click here to view our launch report and gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i like this phrase “In the UK, the Swift Sport five-door is priced at £14,249 (RM67,523)..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • rajaGlobal on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:31 pm

and in Malaysia ..starting from RM 97,888… RM30k really went to gomen coffers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • _xXx_ on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:19 pm

The cost of 1.6MT is about RM32k. I think it’s an open secret where the remaining (98k-32k) goes.

• Biscuit on Jul 10, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Gosh…..the price differences almost 30k on the road in low income third word M****sia. The one sold to mat salleh usually of better spec than ours. We low income human being pay higher for the SSS but get less….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Keris Jawa on Jul 10, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Similar to ours?

• Plus+ on Jul 10, 2013 at 6:38 pm

UK getting nicer 17’rims

• Steven on Jul 10, 2013 at 7:20 pm

I amaze how wonderful Previous Swift Sport that has superb handling and this car is up to par with Megane sport and Mini Cooper Sport that I own

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 11, 2013 at 12:23 am

We majority Malaysian, are not high income nation , but we certainly are High debt group. Despite knowing the fact , government act like Blur sotong. Despite knowing all the cons of being highly in debt , our necessities, food, transport and housing, and not forgetting medical healthcare are all rocket high price !!!

• stop complaining.. if u can afford to buy expensive car like swift or vios u better buy cheap plotong saga sv

• that’s “a lot” of difference externally from previous model.