Lada aims to copy Kia’s success with style revolution

lada-x-ray-concept

First it was MG; now it’s Lada that wants to follow in the footsteps of Kia by revolutionising its design. AvtoVAZ design director Steve Mattin has told Automotive News Europe that he wants to replicate the Korean carmaker’s rapid sales growth through a strong focus on design.

“There will be an intensive modernisation with the introduction of a completely new design language and DNA that will change the image of the brand,” said Mattin, who has worked at Mercedes-Benz and Volvo. He said at Volvo his challenge was to give its products a more desirable look, and he would do the same at AvtoVAZ.

The Moscow show-debuting Lada X-Ray concept (pictured) showcases its new design direction. According to Mattin, the new Lada design will have elements of robustness, simple and uncluttered lines and contrast.

What does he mean by contrast? “There is a strong contrast in the seasons between the long cold winter and the really warm summers (in Russia),” he told ANE.

“There is a contrast in the way the wealth is split up between the countryside and the city, the eastern part of the country and the western part. It was some form of contrast I wanted to somehow try and capture in the design of the vehicles.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• CKD Master on Jul 12, 2013 at 11:14 am

When our Protong /Perduang will focus on latest design…always old and facelift to existing model…please appoint more creative designers to design not old school design….this only way to save your future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
  • look like Honda front… Honda urban suv Nice than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Eugene Lau on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:38 pm

I believe design can change a lot in car industries, when I look at the conceptual art and the physical car model released by KIA, I was amazed and it just look like a cool traveling art.

• Mazlano on Jul 12, 2013 at 1:02 pm

See folks, sell lada hitam also know important to hire world-class car designers…very sad Protong still syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • defty on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:34 pm

noob, you know anything about italdesign?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Dru-Zod on Jul 14, 2013 at 12:43 pm

EMAS looks like a rejected Fiat concept

• youbodok on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Whatever you said, if it’s not good enough, vw won’t buy the company and use the design in its up! lineup

• Dru-Zod on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:22 am

get your facts right. They were on the brink of bankrupt and they asked VW to rescue them. VW never pursue them.

• youbodok on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:34 pm

The main point here is the design is good enough, if not it won’t go into production

• Jimmy on Jul 12, 2013 at 1:17 pm

I am sure the name of Lada will win if someone submits it to Proton in their naming contest.
    BTW this vehicle is cantiq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • azrai on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Why must everything (thecomments) on paultan should be relate to proton in the first place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • maki proton on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Bcz proton and perodua still never change….lowest quality, lousy engine , weak body etc…people of malaysia already frustrated bcz always cheat by this company in name sake buying malaysia product…other already have move toward future still way behind and now gomen start igonering them by replacing perdana…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • veyour on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:11 am

do you live in cave? 5 stars australian ncap is not for weak body cars like some jap cars. i believe you don’t even know proton have such achievement or you just bash because you hate proton, sigh.

lousey engine? civic uses sohc engine, and malaysian beloved vios has decade-old engine and lame 4 gears. that’s you call moving forward company? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Dru-Zod on Jul 14, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Seems like you still live in a cave. Keep harping on 5 stars A-NCAP. Quality is still crap to say the least.
          How can you make fun of the CiVic and Vios engines when those engines are proven worldwide. YOur MACAMPRO is 9 years old already and got countless problem.

• veyour on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Many taxis are using campro engines in saga, persona and waja, non-stopping while waiting for passengers. Go out from cave! Toyota honda also have problems too. Honda-tak-guna case, remember? Just to name one.

• Dru-Zod on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:16 am

Have you gone to any Taxi workshop before? I go because its cheaper than a regular workshop. The mechanic and drivers curse the MaCaMpRo engine for the amount of problem they face with their cars.
            I admit I read about the Honda case and the recent Mercedes aunty case. These seem more one-off compared to the non stop Proton problems.

• veyour on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:45 pm

The numbers of that problem much smaller than recalled cars all over the world by T,H and N

• Maki Protong on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:37 am

SOrry la bro…i living in city not cave bcz u still live there…Protong get NCAP by local organizer…gave and take lor…please ask them go to do outside Malaysia confirm fail…or ask TOPGEAR UK to test review the Protong…A to Z confirm kena bantai and boooo….i suggest u buy all Protong car for all ur family and members and dont sell until it become scrap…please tell me why no protong cars dont have vintage line ahh…protong always protong…this motto always said by protong salesman till today….

• veyour on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:37 pm

“Protong get NCAP by local organizer”

I can’t stop laughing. And power windows got lifetime warranty. T&H made numbers of recall. Haiz still people can’t see.

• “proton have such achievement”….. those word make me proud to buy a proton even that time i am more attracted to so-call dugong vios and 2nd civis….which area 50K-70K kinda affordable to me. That time… news and rumors around “proton had change”, cheaper than T and H with higher spec, “proton fix their quality and after sales services”…those stuff…. make me believe my decision. after 1 year, yes….a lots of problem…. to many to list here….power window? hahaha… that common dude, fail 2 times already at the back… I FELT CHEATED! Thanks Proton! Thanks Gov!

• proton n perodua improved in many aspect la bro.. haters will alway be blind pig when judging something…. keep it on bro…

• aureola taste is nice on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:36 pm

this means KIA is the front runner of car designs in the world.

ironically most Malaysians still bash KIA for it’s Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • namanama on Jul 12, 2013 at 2:56 pm

when every cars manufacturer push looks to be main factor,then consumer will receive sampan handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Looser on Jul 13, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 145
  • gOOsh on Jul 12, 2013 at 3:04 pm

bye-bye proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jimmy on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:07 pm

I am sure the resale value will be better than volkswagen, ford, etc..Please make it affordable, NAZA!

• kadajawi on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Maybe Lada should work on cars that actually work. When a car is hand picked for President Putin to show it to the press, and the thing just won’t start… How awful will the cars be that everyone else gets?

• Dru-Zod on Jul 14, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Renault Nissan are taking over Lada. Lada will get the Ghosn effect.

• Maserati on Jul 12, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Kia as design benchmark?!!?! haahhaaha.. joke of the century… look no further than Mazda for your design inspiration. Its a work of art

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • McLaren01 on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:09 pm

I don’t see they mention there “Kia as design benchmark”. Only Mazda have good design? They only mention there “replicate the Korean carmaker’s rapid sales growth through a strong focus on design”. They don’t benchmark kia design but benchmark their business strategy.

• youly on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:40 pm

oh u mean something like mazda2? yuck, it’s fugly with high rear butts LOL

• Sam Looser on Jul 13, 2013 at 8:06 pm

u mean the one with new Koala nose design and body lines all over ? no thanks

• no name on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:10 pm

korean design is just plastic surgery…never trust the look of a korean…hahaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • what the shiat are you trying to say? don’t tell me korean cars made of plastics, haha!

• F...K Proton on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:40 am

i think proton lover cant take it when someone condemn the car bcz they already do the mistakes buying proton…..ego cant let go …please tell me how satisfy you when driving proton…one words WTF…Bravo Maki Proton

• spyshotX on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:53 am

LOL even this post on Lada is getting hijacked by p1/p2 bashers.. only in bolehland