New SsangYong Stavic spotted on the road, ads out

stavic-spy-01

The new SsangYong Stavic, which made its debut earlier this year in Korea, has been spotted in town by reader Aiman Abdullah. Ads by the official distributor have also surfaced in the papers this week. Last week, the second-gen Stavic appeared on our sister classifieds site oto.my, alerting us of its arrival.

Available is a 2.0 e-XDi variant with a 2.0 litre turbodiesel with 155 PS and 360 Nm of torque, coupled to a five-speed ‘E-tronic’ automatic gearbox. The oto.my ad mentions cruise control, a 10.2-inch rear monitor, 11 seats, dual front airbags, multi-zone climate control, seven-inch DVD player, sat-nav, Bluetooth hands-free and USB, amongst others.

An indicative price of just under RM117k is stated in the oto.my ad. Video and official pics here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lepat on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:24 pm

fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • drrif on Jul 13, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Has there ever been a Ssangyong that looks even remotely nice….it is must be the car company that deliberately releases fugly cars…maybe they are trying to go BUST…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Wisdom on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Big size mpv is generally not a looker. Alphard/vf known as locomotive, new serena is enlarged kenari, starex is a moving greatwall and so on. Only odyssey might cut it designwise. Still, odyssey’s low roof and smaller size means its not really a big mpv and its less practical too.

I think ssangyong do just fine with this new stavic. Slightly towards masculine design, some elements of ruggedness.

The pricetag is what matters. Ssangyong name has been well known for tough and reliable vehicle. If you ever live in ssangyong musso era, you’ll know how well their vehicle, besides technical from daimler/merc.

I think the downside of this brand is its name (Ssangyong sound slightly too korean).

Other than that, for a mid 30s family man with 3 or more children, 116k for d whole package, just irresistible.

You really have to see d actual car to judge…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 18
      • lembughini on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:12 am

still ugly as it is..need a massive plastic surgery like KIA and HYUNDAI..haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Jul 14, 2013 at 12:02 am

The look could be improved, especially the front lamps and the grill, make each more square/boxy with plenty of chromes on the grill.
      But this is a huge vehicle for the price, Nissan Urvan is just 4990mm, 1690mm(typical of Nissan vehicles, slim), and wheelbase 2715mm. So we can imagine the size of this Stavic. Wish R-class can be 5500mm to have such a good interior size because the front takes up a significant length of the vehicle.

• carlos on Jul 14, 2013 at 2:44 pm

There is one on display at Tesco Mutiara Damansara. It’s a bus!

• RedCRZ on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm

All that for rm117k? Wow…
    But this is a dead brand here in malaysia.
    Still… Wow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • mpvhunter on Jul 13, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Im buying one of these!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • NSFWGuy on Jul 13, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Yeah, it looks nice actually. I rented a Stavic before and it was very comfortable and relaxing to drive. Not sure about the maintenance though..

• Release the Kraken!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • l3ryan on Jul 13, 2013 at 6:01 pm

eyesore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • saw it yesterday at putrajaya at padi restaurant silver color.. Should take the picture if i knew it is hot deal.. Huhu..

• Ssangyong is the most weird and super ugly design among Koreans….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Coz Ssangyong own by Mahindra Group, India… never got nice car came out from Mahindra lorrrr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • MZMA, stop making silly comments. It was always Korean owned. It was only in the last few years Mahindra took over.

• Are U idiot or what? Use uncle google to check out mahindra website & look under automotive & company 1st lorrrr… Dont simply said something U not sure….

Or use wikipedia for above company loorrr.. we shy to U lerrr… just admit it lerrr ssyangyong own by indian company like jaguar & land/range rover own by TATA….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • better then last generation,, but still ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Sgt Scoop on Jul 13, 2013 at 7:28 pm

There is one on display at Tesco Mutiara Damansara if you are interested in seeing how ugly it is in the metal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Carnut on Jul 13, 2013 at 9:01 pm

Its a value for money and safe car. No worries about car jacking or the car being stolen. Good for large families.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • actually the black color as in the picture has reduce some of the fuglyness..

• prolever on Jul 13, 2013 at 10:36 pm

actually, the car already been in showroom about a month already. Saw one in ipoh showroom around 12@13 jun 2013.

• mpvhunter on Jul 13, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Change the badge to T or H, suddenly the comment may change to ‘unique’ or ‘safe design’ or ‘evergreen’ or any positive remark… :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • meanwhile on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:44 am

…and when it is a proton, the comments may change to butthurt mode….:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • I beg to differ, look back at all the T&H post and you’ll see the new common trend of T&H bashing. The amount of positive comments is just dismal. However to get reaction as you’ve state, just put a Ford, or K and slanting H

• dannylamfung on Jul 14, 2013 at 3:37 am

no mass sales,

mechanic many dont want to do /tak tau buat
    and less car volume the part also expensive
    eventually the value also no good
    the service center also very less. still eventually closed.

now u are in trouble ,

dont get into problems ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Wisdom on Jul 15, 2013 at 1:26 am

This is where u were wrong.. such mindset what makes models like myvi, vios or city bought in bulk, and their dealer happy counting money when it comes to service. Heck their service center becoming so jam n service attitude now so so..

We need variety. We need to properly segregate the capital in automotive sector to more companies rather than channel them to just 2-3 company, they became rude, treat customer like $hit, price their car so expensive, yet u still wanna spread this mindset.

In this open world, even if d parts is not widely available, u can order part directly from d mnufacturer thousands of miles away and get it shipped to your door. U may surprise how competitive the cost is.
      And as long as its a vehicle, what so difficult to replace part/s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • policeman on Jul 14, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Isn’t that the same Blaupunkt unit found in Inspira 2.0P?

• Black Dog on Jul 14, 2013 at 3:22 pm

11 seater? Danny, do they call thus an SUV or MPV or Van or all the above?

• start-a-figt on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:27 am

its a bus!

• prolever on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:30 am

on korea, this car can drive through the bus line. Seriousy. NO other car /mpv can drive through the bus lane.

• David on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:49 pm

MPV is just a glamour name given to something that should just be called a Van. Look at the Avanza, supposedly an MPV, but even the model name has the word “Van” in it. Who are these people trying to fool… XD

• ProYong on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:06 am

Proton and Ssangyong should merge as one company.

Match in heaven!

• hanssen on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:57 am

if u buy car to serve the look u waste your pocket. we buy car to serve our purpose. tq

• any one know where is their SC in Penang ? I went to tok kanggar , their SC is closed already …

• julian on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:22 pm

I think the name leaves an impression but seriously the car is nice… not great but nice
    visited the showroom last sat and was amazed wt the package and prize
    I bet it’s gonna be a winner this time

• AmenoJaku on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:06 am

Danny/Paul, could you please do a test drive review. I’m sure the dealers are more than willing to lend you one. Perhaps they’re too shy to offer without being asked.

• ILuvMyRS265 on Sep 24, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Nice car,great new design,powerful but yet fuel saving guts(as compared to another 2.0 mpv,juz remember the size dude..),value 4 money,technologically enhanced spec n system n most important part,it is enormous dude! But not so practical in malaysia market i think.. The sparepart for ssangyong here real suck.. My dad own one stavic b4,suprisingly no prob at all 4 around 4 years n due to pipehose prob,it need to be top overhauled.. Guess wat??.. Top overhaul,pipehose n belt costs RM6000 to be done..!!! Hell bad experienced though..

• alexwkl on Dec 08, 2013 at 2:35 pm

i have read the above comments about Stavic, some good and bad. i have Stavic year05 till now and intend to buy the latest Stavic.it value for money and is reliable.Please ask for test drive and u will find the beauty of it.350nm torgue @1500, even my cls cant give me this type of feel. During test drive i shifted to manual button change gear, amazing, i can feel the engine sound and respond which i can’t feel on other shiftonic gear.My comments is through my experient,value for money below 120k brand new mpv with 3 yrs warranty, where to get. Feel the drive

• Sreekanth on Sep 11, 2014 at 3:32 pm

After reading all the above comments, I was very apprehensive whether to buy this new Stavic or not. I did a test drive and had a feel good feeling. I subsequently bought it and is just over an year. Driven 42000kms and the MPV is doing its job very well. So far no issues. Gives around close to 9.5 to 9.8kms/ltr in city driving conditions. I recently did the 40K kms servicing and found that the servicing costs seems to be slightly higher compared to petrol run cars servicing at 40K kms.

• qawsme on May 18, 2015 at 10:30 am

I owned a new brand stavic year 2014. It is already a year now. A very decent bold and a very good which I think quite acceptable performance SUV which is comparable to estima.

Running powerful on both highways and city roads. Fuel saves too. Feel fresh after my recent long distance drive from KL to Kuala Perlis.

Cargo compartment is huge , no problem at all to put many luggage – very convenient.

Only thing is that it should comes with a moon rooftop for additional enjoyment at nighttime ride esp to the passengers. Very recommended who has family and likes to travel long distance.

• This fugly car can tapow lot of sedan easily..yet diesel euro 5 fuel save :) :)
    waiting for 2.2 engine soon more brutal