SPYSHOTS: Porsche Macan on the road, due 2014

Porsche Macan

You’re looking at the upcoming Porsche Macan, the baby SUV from Zuffenhausen and its new cash cow (forecast sales: 75,000 units per year), courtesy of our European spies.

In spite of what the lamps and window line would have you believe, this isn’t a Cayenne – the test mule reveals a more sloped back, a bonnet devoid of the Cayenne’s creases and a longer front overhang. Those are Audi wheels, too.

We know the Macan will make use of the Audi Q5‘s MLB platform (FWD/AWD, longitudinally-mounted motor), and so engines are expected to come from Audi too, including four-cylinder and V6 TFSI and TDI units (there hasn’t been a four-cylinder engine in a Porsche since the 968).

The top-of-the-range Macan Turbo, however, could get a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 with a little under 400 hp, while a future Macan Hybrid will share its powertrain with the Audi Q5 Hybrid. Reports say there may even be a three-door version later.

Scheduled to go into production later this year, the Porsche Macan could be headed towards a Los Angeles Auto Show debut in November.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ladies & Gentlemen, now we present to you…… The expensive version of Q5….Oops… Sorry…The Porsche Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 61
  • Alpha on Jul 13, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Puasa la. Cannot Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • triple7 on Jul 13, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Macha?

• Biscuit on Jul 13, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Macan…in Javanese meaning “harimau”. Harimau – garang, menacing, intimidating.All Porches are like that….just give way as soon as it appear on your rear view mirror.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Clarkson on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:11 pm

No way my Velfire is so huge that I can not even notice this minute car on my rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 50
    • nsxer on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:37 am

Gt-Rider sure doesn’t give way, his car is a lot faster than this macan

• Biscuit on Jul 13, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Simple basic design and yet very effective in enhancing the brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Cookie on Jul 13, 2013 at 4:00 pm

More like a zero cost design carry over with zero R&D in new design, yet effective in earning big bucks.. Lol

• If Lexus = Toyota, then Porche = Audi = VW = Seat on Jul 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm

So if people bash Lexus for “being” a Toyota, is it also fair to say that the Macan is an expensive Q5 which is an expensive Touran which is an expensive Seat? Since they all share the same chassis like how some models from Lexus are shared with the same chassis with Toyota for example the ES and Camry..

A lexus is a lexus. A porche is a porche. An Audi is an Audi. They are luxurious cars in the luxury Segment. Period. On the other hand, a toyota is a toyota. A Volkswagen is a Volkswagen. A Seat is a Seat. They are all budget cars. There’s no such thing as a Lexus is a Toyota. Unless people in Paultan are somehow brain damaged that they can’t tell the difference between a Toyota and a Lexus and will continue to hate just cause it isn’t a German luxury brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Biscuit on Jul 13, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Please google automobile history…Porsche was born as a Porsche, and Ferdinand Porche was also responsible in developing people car “volkswagen, VW” during Hitler era. Audi was born as an Audi(Auto Union). But Lexus was born by Toyota to produce and compete especially with Mercedes and BMW.
      One can tell a car by their design, either a Western Europe or an Asian. The lines, the light clusters, frontal shape, rear form is less busy and very pleasant to the eyes. That why historically their old buildings, castles, churches full of artworks because many well known artisans can be found there…Italy, France, Germany. If a designer was born there and exposed to everyday artworks on the way to work, be in building, painting, culture, surely their perception on beauty is much higher than Asians. These translate into car design. No wonder Lexus look like Toyota and actually a Toyota by design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Clarkson on Jul 14, 2013 at 9:01 am

Accept the fact, only Merc and BMW are real, Porsche and Audi are just an old VW lady with a new cloth.

• Developing senses on Jul 14, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Hi Biscuit,
        Suppose your grandparents, oops sorry. I’ll use my grandparents as comparison. If they were beggar & now I am a biochemical engineer, am I a beggar?
        If Lexus father/ grandfather was/ is a Toyota, that is history, its root. and not all German marques you mentioned can beat TOYOTA LF-A.
        Sorry to say, IMHO you need a major overhaul in your perception. Peace!

• Toyota please go back, you are such clown here offering Malaysians with archaic engines and grandpa 4 gears. Even ‘cheap’ cars here using CVT, why you only plonk in that gear in Altis? Put it in your B segment or else you are just ‘cheap’ company, LOL

• Here in Malaysia, Beggar is richer than biochemical engineer.
          No need to pay tax also..

• Lexus = Toyota on Jul 13, 2013 at 9:48 pm

k

• merc fanboi on Jul 14, 2013 at 7:08 am

Q: What’s Lexus’ other name?
      A: A glorified Toyota.

mana mau lari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Clarkson on Jul 14, 2013 at 8:58 am

Q: What’s Porsche’ other name?
        A: A glorified Volkswagen.
        jangan tak mau mengaku?

• Jimmy on Jul 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm

The rear lamps could be better.

• jinjangman on Jul 13, 2013 at 5:43 pm

ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Long time ago proton shouted abt SUV project but at nowhere. Wht a shame. Look at porsche, cayenne and now macan.

• abon_sucke on Jul 14, 2013 at 6:41 am

How loud is the shouting? LOL. Asal komen proton je buthurt. Sigh. Then compare proton with porsche wth

• niterunner99 on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:04 pm

nowadays buying car goes by: large / medium / small.
    example:BMW X5 / X3 / X1 or Audi Q7 / Q5 / Q3