Datsun GO heralds the return – set for 2014 debut

Datsun-GO-1

Datsun is back, the name officially making its return with the unveiling of the new Datsun GO in New Delhi earlier today. The five-door, front-wheel drive hatchback is scheduled to go on sale in India beginning early next year.

The GO, codenamed K2, gets the inspiration for its name from the first Datsun, which was the DAT-GO that was launched almost a century ago in Japan. The new GO will be equipped with a 1.2 litre engine, and this will be paired with a five-speed manual transmission.

The hatch – which apparently utilises the Nissan March/Micra as its base – measures in at 3,785 mm long, 1,635 mm wide and 1,485 mm tall, with a 2,450 mm-long wheelbase. The company says that the car will provide a spacious, comfortable cabin for its five occupants.

Datsun-GO-2

Actual equipment specs haven’t been bandied as yet, but the company says the GO will have a Mobile Docking Station to connect the driver with his/her smartphone. Functionality should as such include music streaming through the car’s audio system via the phone.

In terms of pricing, as mentioned in passing in an earlier report today, the Datsun GO will be attractively priced, entering the competitive Indian market at below 400,000 rupees (RM21,210). Assembly is set to occur at one of the Renault-Nissan factories at Oragadam in Chennai.

The announcement of the Datsun GO for India is set to be followed by the introduction of several Datsun models, the first being sometime next year. Target markets aside from India are Indonesia, Russia and South Africa. Nissan expects to sell around 150,000 to 200,000 Datsuns in India annually.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• goshh on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Reach Bolehland, suddenly can become 200% more expensive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 17
    • since when? for those engine..the highest tax(all include) = 30% + 75% + 10% = 115% but menteri kreta said effective excise is bet 40-50%..200%?..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • You afraid the price cheaper than Proton kah?

Don’t worry MITI will tell TanChong put price RM70K lah HA HA HA

Bravo NAP-NEVER AGAINST PRO..TECTION!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • goshh on Jul 15, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Mirage in India is 350k Rupee (RM 18k+). It’s 200% more expensive here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 64
      • do u even check their spec?…even thai who make those mirage oso don give those price to thai people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • and i check with mitsubishi india..there is no mirage available…don lie man not cool

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 6
      • what a loser, trying to prove a point by using fake fact. booo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • goshh on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:00 am

It’s projected 350k Rupee here:
        http://www.carwale.com/mitsubishi-cars/mirage/

• Green on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Take Best Example::
      ::
      1. Suzuki Alto
      @ India = Maruti Alto A-star

RM25k @ India, but RM50k @ Malaysia. Exactly 200% cost..

U are right.

well..

GOOD NEWS ::
      Datsun @ nice and big @ fuel saving @ RM45k range or less..

If Edaran Tan Chonng CKD it here, it will be @even lower price. or better if Edaran Tan Chong Can set up RnD Centre in Malaysia to boost even lower price as Rakyat’s Car. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • abuya123 on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:43 am

Dont try cheat people by miscalculate simple equation. If the price is 25k, when reach malaysia with higher tax of 110%, you need to times the price more than twice, so about 52k++.

• Norazam Manan on Jul 16, 2013 at 7:08 am

Well, let’s react positively rather than being pessimistic. CKD Almera comes in at RM70K-85K against India who gets them at RM40K-55K. Supposedly if Tan Chong does CKD this car then it should be around RM38K (low spec) to RM45K. The base car is good (Nissan Micra) which Tan Chong didn’t even dare to bring in. Seriously I would prefer this inoffensive looking Datsun against the Almera, anytime…..

• kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:12 pm

To be honest I’d rather have them bring in the Dacias. Also by Renault-Nissan, proven tech (though they do offer the latest Renault engine (3 cylinder with 900cc, 90 hp)), very affordable and spacious.

You would never be able to get this Datsun for 38-45k, the government won’t allow that to protect Perodua and Proton.

• torquealot on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:38 pm

This definitely is more spacious, got bigger engine capacity (1200cc)and looks more premium than our Viva (660cc, 850cc, 1000cc) yet Datsun can produce Go at base price of RM21210, look at our cheapest 660cc Viva which starts at RM24000++ ! Damn !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:46 am

Correction. Its selling at 21K. Including profit.

You may be surprised just how little it costs to make a car. The Viva is burdened with our ridiculous tax. The Viva 660 Basic probably cost less than 10,000 to screw one together but FWIW, it does have 2 airbags….unfortunately not the same can be said for some Japanese marques.

Nice looking car.

• west end boys on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Datsun is back

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 15, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Holy cow, I thought it was a Polestar C30.

• I don’t know about you, but I think putting a stick in that awkward position might put me off.

• labix7 on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:10 pm

is this model will be proton savvy replacement??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • tanchongsux on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Knowing Tan Chong, they will surely jack up the price for this Datsun when it reaches Bolehland. It will no longer be affordable i tell you. If can sell for under RM35k here, then who the heck wants to buy Viva anymore???

• actually, i prefer viva highest spec over this..
      but only if both car around the same price.

this datsun just look 1980’s.
      especially the interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
      • abuya123 on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:51 am

Prefer that small coffin? Hahaha…. dont be clown here dude say it looking 1980’s

• well design. Stick position also gives new fresh look. Overall ok. Just wonder the driving dynamic and safety level. Have seen a savvy hit the back of an altis, can say savvy bodyshell is proved hard.

• Gary Yap on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:00 pm

What a fuggly car, did they contract styling to Chery or BYD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • datsun is back with its legendary….still can see some 120Y or 130 running on the road…

• xflow on Jul 16, 2013 at 7:57 am

Datsun Go = Datsun Ghosan

• datsun buah kana is the legend..

• gOOsh on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:35 am

good strategy carlos…

• kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:14 pm

I’m not so sure about that. They already have Dacia… why don’t they put on a Datsun badge for Asian markets who remember Datsun instead of Dacia, and sell them under that brand? Why develop a new model? If anything, add the new one to the Dacia brand as the new entry level car, below the Sandero.

I simply don’t see the point of having 2 separate budget brands belonging to the same company.

• Dacia is the low cost brand for Renault, Datsun recently revived as low cost brand for Nissan. Though Renault Nissan are essential owned by same party ie Renault their strategy and market are different. I have seen Renault Duster in Saudi, was in my considered list due to price but I am glad I skipped it even at the highest spec it still bare…at least to me.

• kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:13 pm

The Duster will also be sold as Nissan Terrano, in some markets the Logan is sold as Nissan, etc. So it looks like they are quite flexible… that’s why I’m not sure why they need to have different models for both brands.

• VoidDance on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:55 am

Knowing Tan Chong, they would rather selling their current models for 20 years than bringing in new model.

• masakroti on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:05 am

So ugly. No wonder the picture of the ceo and the car look so much alike.

• Dacia/Renault Sandero much much nicer.. why can’t nissan rebadge that and bring it in here?? should be almost the same price as suzuki alto and much bigger as well

• Datsun comes back and… GO!!

• FrenchGay on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:57 pm

dacia…Oh please. Using renault engine is crap. Look at what happen at Proton Sawi. No resale value and problematic car. Users of renault drivers are known to be rich fools coz they don’t mind their car stuck in workshop for many weeks when no parts or their car breakdown so often their mechanic is laughing all the way to the bank.

I rather be seen in a myvi or saga blm than all this lanjiow renault crap gay shit. I wonder why people bother with kangoo….it’s one hell of an ugly car and should be push into klang river like multipla.

• kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:16 pm

I’m driving a Renault. No problems with spare parts, no problems with keeping the car running. Hasn’t spent one night at a service center/workshop. Go there, repair, drive back. Never had a breakdown in 8 years (except for a dead battery once).

Also those engines are reliable, it’s just Proton mechanics who are clueless about them.

• Veneno on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:45 pm

can’t wait to see this car kicks Viva’s ass.. yeah..

• shubham kapil on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:25 pm

supereb car n not so expensive