Kia Sportage facelift unveiled for Korean market

Kia-Sportage-Facelift-Korea-00034

The Kia Sportage facelift has been released for the Korean domestic market, showing minor changes on the exterior and a tad bit more on the interior.

Changes on the outside include an updated front grille, a new fog lamp design, revised rear brake lamps which incorporate LED lighting technology, as well as new alloy wheel designs.

The changes on the interior include the option for a new twin binnacle Supervision cluster with a 4.2-inch colour LCD multi-info display, though a regular tri binnacle instrument cluster also exists. There’s also the new Flex Steer system with three modes varying steering assistance levels. The current Sportage was launched here in June 2011, see it here.

Kia told us earlier this year that their new product update strategy is to have two minor facelifts across a product’s lifecycle, a departure from the usual more significant facelift smack in the middle of the cycle adopted by many Japanese and European car manufacturers. However, with the current generation Sportage first unveiled in the first half of 2010, a 2013 facelift is about the usual time for an update in the middle of the usual five-year lifecycle.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wussy on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:19 am

Wow so nice what’s the pricing? Do i sound like young guy who cannot afford that car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • If the price is right, competitive as usual & all those spec (cooling seats, colour LCD, rear air cond vent, active Eco etc) as in pictures will be load in new Malaysian facelift; it surely will be CX-5 killer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • old dog on Jul 18, 2013 at 8:29 am

sorry dude, the 70s’ 80’s who can afford this probably still preferred a solid Japanese brand who shows improvement like Mazda, then kimchi products in automobile. mobile phone ok la, korean girl ok la…korea car if i got a chance now with CX5, sorry la…(but i think this may compete with CRV..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Finally on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:39 am

First. I always want to do that. :).. another tick on the checklist. Yes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 44
  • IMHO, the current sportage with the current grille looks more daring.

• looks much better than current version except the old fashion sport rim.

• sudonano on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:07 am

Nice rear lights.

I still don’t get what is this Supervision meter for. I see kia and Hyundai promoting it a lot, but what is the function of it, besides the fact that it looks more ‘modern’?

• jilbaber on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:12 pm

I don’t really like it to be frank, but it clearly there to aide the driver view during few second glances on speed/tachometer

• jilbaber on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

I don’t really like it to be frank, but it clearly there to aide the driver view during few second glances on speed/tachometer

but then again even some Honda and Toyota model also have this kind of clustering view though not binnacle

• jilbaber on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:12 am

Rear aircond vent ! Yes, oh please make it here quick, I’ll be the first batch to book no question

• digitheatre on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:27 am

rear aircond vent & adjustable rear seats .. small features they added.. but very useful..best compact SUV now even better

• shawal on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:26 am

rear aircond vents shubbe made standard in most cars in malaysia d/t hot climate…
    Reclining rear bench is important too if the driver values the comfort of the occupants, i was extremely surprised to find out dat even honda city has that feature, really useful on long journeys

• jilbaber on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Honda City has rear aircond vent? hecked my sister car (bought last month) it doesn’t have one

• KuinosanNickNick on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Now the Sportage is a complete compact SUV with all the latest additions. If they price it right, it should sell well. Naza Kia, becareful with your pricing and you have a winning card in your hands!

• ace ventura on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:22 pm

tucson or sportage or even cx5. maybe even crv …..
    which to choose?

• Ng.y.s on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:01 pm

how much is the price??how many hp and nm??

• sportage_fan on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:29 pm

when this new sportage facelift will be release Malaysia market?…i was plan to buy sportage on early 2014 next year..hehe around Chinese new year lor…

• RedBeanBun on Jul 18, 2013 at 8:33 am

I will not support cronies Naza.
    Unlike Sime, they purely loot the country.

• FisetaWong on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:18 am

Did they revise the suspension?
    The test unit I tried was bouncing over undulations.
    Really wet blanket, my wife who was keen on it at first, flatly said no after that test drive.

• PAula on Aug 23, 2013 at 12:15 am

Looking to buy a new one(2013 but should i wait til the new facelift model arrives in UK?? and when will that be

• nobody xD on Apr 20, 2014 at 2:53 pm

hyundai tucson,kia sportage,mazda cx-5,honda crv.
    these are top crossover suv etc. ill go for hyundai cuz it has 10 year warranty and cool interior kia because of its innovation mazda because (somepeople) doubt that korea car better then japan crv is ok lah in terms of price and reliability but i still think cx5 best because exterior nice, interior ok ok lah~
    sportage is nice because it has cool features at a reasonable price… but its exterior not very nice when you look from back…..(sorry).but still can nice if they add in side view mirror like honda accords its pretty nice, but front is nice looks very cool.honestly i go for sportage or cx5 depending on budget