SPIED: Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 at JPJ Putrajaya

Looks like those wanting a Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 won’t have very long to wait now – regular contributor ApexKit has sent in a few snaps of a white-coloured seventh-gen GTI example that he spotted in the JPJ Putrajaya car park.

UPDATE: The VW Golf GTI Mk7 is now available in Malaysia. Read our test drive report here.

Though the car is available from the factory in two power output levels from its 2.0 TSI turbo mill, the word is that it’ll make its debut here in its standard 220 PS model form. No indication as to when the 230 PS GTI Performance Stage 2 version – which adds larger brake discs and a front limited-slip differential to things – will get here, or if so.

The EA888 TSI lump offers 350 Nm of maximum torque, and the GTI is able to get to the 100 km/h mark from standstill in 6.5 seconds, with a 246 km/h top speed to boot.

Standard kit consists of a Stop/Start system and bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights. The base wheels are 17-inch Brooklyn GTI alloys, but though the spyshots don’t offer any indication as to the wheel design, reader YM Oon shares with us the local car will wear the 18-inch Austins as standard fitment, similar to the UK. The evaluation mule in the pix isn’t shod with rear LED lamps, which Hafriz thought was standard issue with the car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• gerammmnyeeee!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 41
    • Toe To Toe on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Tow truck hasn’t arrived yet?
      Still waiting in basement parking for assistance?
      Damn Stupid Gearbox only can use at night.
      Knight Rider Mk7 spotted.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 26
      • Only Use at Night Car on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:39 am

Ha ha ha. You hit the nail on the head. I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away. VW Germany already admit on May 08, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white.

There is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner is inherently defective.

So, this car CANNOT be sold in Malaysia. Unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam. Truly Knight Rider (KITT)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 6
        • nasi lemak on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:45 am

diam lah,u cant afford to buy is it.
          the dsg problem well known wif break down but ppl still go for it.its their money!buying for drivin pleasure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
        • Toe To Toe on Jul 16, 2013 at 1:36 pm

OMG, I just called cycle and carriage to book a test drive of the A250. He said no prob BUT, the waiting list for delivery of the A200 and A250 is 1 year!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • DSG Accident Magnet on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:22 am

The DSG, whether dry DSG or wet DSG is very dangerous. I am a Golf Mk6 driver and I nearly met with major accidents a few times because while overtaking big lorry, the DSG loses power, sometimes completely lose power. I checked online and this is a common problem. So VW is not only the tow truck’s best friend but also a very very very very dangerous car to drive. All because DSG is faulty AND VW for many years 100% denied their DSG was problem and many people must have met major accidents. Thanks VW for all your lies!, you have maybe killed so many people.

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:33 am

WOW!!! GOLF GTI HAS THE BEST RV (CAN BEAT TOYOTA ANYTIME). 2005 MK5 STILL SELLING 128K!!!! AMAZING!!!

• I love DSG on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:40 am

You gotta be kidding me, no LED rear lights?!!! Might as well put halogen for the front lights.

• kelso on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:27 pm

i’ll say me lil’ ol’ 1.4tsi is sufficient, but i know deep inside there’s always the “what if”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Tyler Durden on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm

This is still, THE performance car of our time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
    • Forza 5 on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:22 am

You tell that to the 16 years volvo 850R/ T5. The old people car will smoke your GTI /R anytime. If you can beat the grandpa then you can challenge the new volvo S60 T6.

• jangan tipu on Jul 16, 2013 at 7:56 pm

dude; give a break la..
        the new s60 t6 with its 440nm still feels slow
        dont believe?
        go to FA Glennmarie..
        they have the S60 T6 fully loaded by haico with 19″ rim and quad exhaust..
        even said its 440nm but it feels like 250nm..
        go drive if dont believe.
        volvo is for comfort..
        not for race/drag
        its bad/terrible steering and body roll..

• Tow Truck Driver. on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:23 am

I hope they launch this car soon. We, tow truck drivers are short of money and we need more business from VW owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Wisdom on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:40 pm

VW is considering which gearbox to use… DSG or DSG..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 15
  • Johson on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 151
    • I smoke Vios with my ugly Almera..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 9
    • kid don’t know bout cars~lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • makan asap on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:45 pm

the coming new vios? I cant seem to see it as I’m well ahead of it

makan la my asap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Vios is for ppl who don’t like or who don’t care about car. Walau the tail lamps r terrible! where is the LED? i watch the uk review video and i can see the GTI came with LED tail lights!

• New refrigerator model…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • hindo on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:05 pm

great car , but hate Shitty drive a Gti Thought himself a drive supercar LCLY dan TIONG ppl car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • Jimmy on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Similarly priced, similar acceleration time, so A250 vs Golf GTi, time will tell the winner.
    Many strong points vs perhaps just one(suspension setup/handling) and they are of similar price tags, I presumed the prices in Europe are similar too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Going4A250 on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:37 pm

looks and interior A250 got the upper hand,just my 2cents

performance wise time will tell

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:30 pm

The A250 is 30k more expensive and the A200 is 10k cheaper than the GTi. IMO, the A series is a luxury hatch while the GTi being your run-of-the-mill hot hatch. The closest comparison here would be the WRX, ST, Mazdaspeed 3 and the Clio RS 200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Wife: Bang, kereta abg baru keluar “Mk6 GTI” abng dapt diskaun 20K tu?
    Bang: Ye kenapa sayang, kereta tu siok
    Wife: Sekarang VGM akan pasarkan MK7 GTI
    Bang: Ape? baru minggu lepas saya loan 170K, maknanya…
    Wife: Maknanya kereta abg akan terus “turun” harga lagi 20K selepas MK7 di-pasarkan! dlm masa 2 bulan lagi.

Patut-lah diskaun, abang ingat BN turunkan Harga selepas pilihanraya, adui!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 274 Thumb down 16
    • Jeremy Clarkson on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Go home Bang, you’re drunk !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • amirad on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Here’s another scenario.
      Husband: Yang, minggu ni bagi abang pula bawak gti tu.
      Wife: Eh! Tak boleh…tak boleh… Saya dah biasa dgn handling dan power dia. Kereta pun pendek senang saya nak parking. Abang bawaklah kereta sedan abang tu ye.
      Husband: Haish! Ini mcm kena tangkap GTi mk7 performance pack pulak ni.

No wonder I see so many makciks zooming around in GTis in my neighbourhood. The hubbies don’t stand a chance.

• jangan tipu on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:00 pm

yeah its true..
        spotted one makcik on Golf MK6 R on highway..
        perghhhh

• MAI Apprentice on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:19 pm

damn cool!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 15, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Here we go again…! Something new for the ego-deprived on the road. Just don’t know why Golf and Polo drivers get me the impression that they always drive reckless, tailgating other road users everywhere showing off that “I can afford a hot hatch, can you…? NOW BUZZ OFF…!!!” smug attitude… :w

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 10
    • deftones on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:00 pm

not to say i like vw very much, but to be honest, even the 1.4tsi is a powerful engine for road use..
      not talking about gti yet..

thats the reason you being tailgated..just move to the left next time..its in the law anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 34
      • yeah yeah. Waksegan driver mindset same like myvi driver, happy tailgater.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • GT-Rider on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:18 pm

GTi is like a peanut to me, always eats my smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Move over to the far left lane perhaps? Hogging the road on the fast lane isn’t good manners. Unless u r smug enough to think its ur grandfathers road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Choon on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:12 am

vwclubmalaysia members always tailgate be it over taking lane or slow lane. Alot of sohai in there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
      • YepImSohai on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Yep. Usually I tailgated sohai like u. Drive in fast last at below 100km/h. When people highlight u angry, when people give signal you act like so ignorance, when people tailgate you suddenly you become the most sohai keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
        • Choon on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:29 pm

oh look, a butthurt vwclubmalaysia member.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • I think u hav a problem wit vwclubmalaysia ppl havin fun and enjoyin their cars… U think we want to tailgate slow cars? Risk getting unwanted dust and stones on our bonnet n bumper la… If u use ur brain and drive on the proper lane with proper speed… Everything will be fine… =) if ur car not fast then send to workshop see what’s wrong lo…

• Medic on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:12 am

Come on…myvi,vios,sage also like to tail gate lar..some more so ‘thick skin’ go kacau bigger,faster cars.So ‘Ah Beng’…

• jangan tipu on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm

its true many VW(s) drive like they own this land..
        tail gate.. lion dance… drive like…
        chillax..
        its just a car..

• look at that rear lamp..ugly like shiat..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Medic on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:13 am

Get use to it,cos that’s the only part of the car you’ll be staring when on the highway..

• between a250 and mk7, I will choose a250 for sure if similarly priced, after all, Mercedes Benz is a more desirable brand and better looking in every way, anyone with me? No offense to gti lovers but it’s just common sense. Handling wise the a250 is magnificent with the amg tuned suspension as I have tested one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 7
  • People who know about car will appreciate the “inner beauty” of Golf GTI.

However, tell the majority public that you paid RM200k+ for such a car, you will be most probably get laughed at.

Personally, I prefer inner + outer beauty, so I chose Peugeot RCZ 200hp manual version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
    • Peugeot should compared to Proton and Perodua. Mercedes and VW r still far away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:56 am

I would rather prefer the GTI to the A250.

One is VWs best and most desirable cars. The other, will always be looked at as the an entry level Mercedes (but I’m sure if you look hard enough, you might find a C180 for quite a bit less)

As our dear ex-home minister so often puts it, its only “perception”.

Regardless. VWs are madly overpriced here in malaysia.

• A250 will smoke this like drink water!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
  • Its nice. But gate to perceive those ah bengs who drive GTi like he has made it or something like that. With all the lansi face. C’mon la, Gti is still a normal car oni with better performance. Kena tailgated once, but of coz. I smoke it bak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Seen a new wokwagen golf stopped at left lane of highway with hood opened. Cause traffic jam. Mayb waiting for the tow truck but the point is they got style. Its an art of owning a conti.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:07 pm

VW should give some vouchers for free tow trucks trips coupled Rapid bus cards in case the car sits in the workshop for the 10131th time.

For trouble free car, look no further than Mazda 3, half the price but twice the performance, handling, looks and RELIABILITY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 15
  • Johnny on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:08 pm

I rather drive my Nissan Teana V6 then this junk car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • If they can’t afford to put LED tail lights, 18″ rims would definitely be replaced with 17″. Worth noting that even A200 comes with 18″. Maybe they are saving these for the performance pack. Seriously think queues to buy the A250 would be longer than the gti. Having seen the mk7 without lots of specs here, I kinda would expect the same from the new gti. Come on VWM, get your game on la. Please.

• Elvin on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:23 am

Have tested the Merc A250, Indeed the vw DSG is more
    responsive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • jangan tipu on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:07 pm

for FWD hatch it will still be the GTI as its been on the road since 1970s..
      its legendary response and road manner…

other the other hand…
      maintenance/support is a different thing to argue

• Elvin on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:44 am

Have tested the Merc A250, indeed the DSG is more responsive. Even my wife’s beetle 1.2 has better ‘pick up’. For A250, it is quite ‘lagging’ when i step on full acceleration. For engine sound, i still perfer vw.
    After the dissapointment, went for test drive the c-class.
    Think will aim for the c-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Farhat on Jul 16, 2013 at 2:35 am

Regardless of what model, brand is available, Golf GTIs are known throughout the world as The Hothatch. Why? I dont know, even though there are plenty of other hot hatches available. But maybe it was called that when they came out with the MK1 GTI..

But GTIs are like Beetles, or Minis in a way, it is iconic because of the name, not the look like the beetle. The 2013 A-class is ofcourse more desirable and design-wise, beautiful, but it does not carry the heart and joy of a GTI.

Those who purchased a GTI must have a liking for the GTI badge and its history, not neccesarily the brand, where as the A-class has a dull history of being a Mini MPV but bloomed to become a new generation of mercedes.

Yes, VGM should improve on its service and customer relations, but to take that away and leave only the cars to the people, this GTI is not bad, but surely the A200/A250 AMG kit is a total beauty.

If i had the extra cash to choose between the two, i will have an extremely difficult time and be happy either of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • No need to buy this car la. Better spend on vw golf and save a few thousands ringgit for a holiday in paris with family

• Medic on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:17 am

After the hols,how would you feel when you’re smoked by Gti on highway?Damn,regrets?

• pula dah on Jul 17, 2013 at 6:23 am

yes la..
        how u feel when ur TSI with sluggish-ed DSG7 dry got smoked by GTI all the time mr medic?

• _xXx_ on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:57 am

a few thousand ringgit go Paris with family???? Go Pulau Redang enuff laa bro…

• spend on golf? better buy Proto Preve better!

• WaJib on Jul 17, 2013 at 12:58 am

Tapi naik Preve takda “Class” macam A Class the Prestige brand..

• apa ‘Class’ naik A Class tapi rumah flat, baik preve tapi rumah banglo. kekekeke

• WaJib on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:30 am

Yg Tinggal Flat biasanya naik keta apa you tau la..dgn buntut tonggek tu..

• v-power on Jul 16, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Despite all the German teutonic superiority lavished on their marquee car…I can’t understand VW’s dragging their feet to take any form of action on the long-running DSG-related gremlins for cars in tropical-climate countries…(VW’s official admission on the matter only makes it worse…)

To my knowledge this Mk7 GTI gets the desirable wet clutch, like its GTI predecessor…so replacing all the dry-clutch units, throughout all the Golf range, is the ONLY solution…yes, it will be bloody expensive…but then the buck needs to stop somewhere…because the risk of losing epic numbers of existing & potential buyers should be a more frightening proposition for VW (it could happen sooner than they think…) than replacing the above-said tranny…

But then everything always come down to cost & balancing the books…so until then, we will only get to see dry-clutched Golf’s coming out to play when the sun goes down…legend of the ‘dark knight’ is reborn :)…(I’ll just get out of the way when I see one barreling down the fast lane)

• VW DSG on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Buy a VW … you get 20% time of super fun driving… and 80% time visiting the workshop with 4 wheels above ground

• Workshop Regular on Jul 16, 2013 at 3:37 pm

I own a Passat 2013 model. The car has been in the workshop 4 times for DSG failure. Go ahead and buy this GTi, you will be sitting in the workshops most of the time. Each time, about 2 weeks to repair DSG gearbox. In 6 months, my car already sit 2 months in workshop. Only drive 4 months

• jangan tipu on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:13 pm

passat is a cheap car with mass produce dsg7 (dry).
      thats why always got issue with ur gear box..

unlike GTI it uses dsg6 (wet)..
      only unlikely (unlucky) will get dsg issue; its normal for any brand defect.

if u see other brand also have same issue with dry dual clutch..

if u still want a VW/AUDI/SEAT/SKODA..
      make sure the DSG is wet version; not the mass produce dry dual clutch..

• neymar jr on Jul 16, 2013 at 4:54 pm

my fren’s 1 year old passat already been in workshop several times ahaha

• gtiagogo on Jul 16, 2013 at 6:36 pm

that’s why VGM should’ve brought in the manual version. drivers car through and through. real drivers opt for manual tranny…:) i have been driving my polo gti 9n3 for years since it’s launch and no GB issues whatsoever…:)

p.s. proud of my little manual pogo…:)

• mizan on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Bawak masuk VW Golf GTI manual laa…best giler..x payah serabut dgn DSG

• david on Oct 11, 2013 at 3:12 pm

I booked MK7 at Kepong Area but VW service was so bad. I was treated as buying a local car instead of these VW Golf GTi MK7 which is more costly compared to locals. I was very dissapointed with their service and unable to offer me other options as i need the car ASAP. Customer service not follow up my loan issues eventually draging my time.