2013 Toyota Vios on oto.my – October launch?

Toyota Vios 2013

As far as new cars go, surely few are as eagerly anticipated as this. The 2013 Toyota Vios entered the Thai market in March, not long after which we brought you a live gallery from the Bangkok show.

UPDATE: 2013 Toyota Vios now launched in Malaysia – click here for launch report

And now it seems our turn is nigh – our sister classifieds site oto.my has yielded a listing for the popular B-segment sedan that suggests a Malaysian launch in October.

Apart from stating that G and TRD versions will come with leather seats and push start, the ad doesn’t offer any other details of the equipment or trim levels that will be available here. An indicative price of RM80,313 is mentioned – but this has yet to go official, of course.

As you know by now, the 2013 Toyota Vios gets a new exterior and interior as well as projector headlamps (G and S grade only). At 4.41 metres long, 1.7 metres wide (including wing mirrors) and 1.475 metres tall, it’s slightly bigger than the outgoing car.

The familiar 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE motor soldiers on, as does the four-speed auto ‘box. J, E, G and S grade variants are available in Thailand. Click here for full information and Thai pricing and specs, or here to go to the oto.my ad.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• This thing is gonna flood our Malaysian roads in no time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 33
    • rajaGlobal on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:18 pm

yeah, you’re spot on this!! at my office several people already said the new vios is the car that they are dream of…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 50
      • Wisdom on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:47 pm

I believe Malaysian car buyer now smarter.
        80K plus with old engine + 4 speed auto, better buy Jazz at 72K, at least 5 speeder, more practical too..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 21
        • nabill on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

ur being very polite regarding the ‘smart’ part…!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
        • Anon Chan on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:59 pm

I wouldn’t really say smart, demand for safety features is still very low, majority looks for brand and design ahead of everything else, engine, handling and safety are generally ignored. Heck, even Proton Preve offer got less air bags compared to oversea versions.

• rajaGlobal on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:09 am

my officemate says he gonna trade in his persona with this “new” vios…. this i’ll just wait n see!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • WaJib on Jul 18, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Huh…dream of vios…

• Sam Loo on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:20 pm

That’s is because the majority of car buyers still have quality in mind

• Toe To Toe on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:23 pm

The final nail in the coffin for the stupid korean cars. Charge us 100k for the Cerato. We are not all earning RM3k+ a month la. Puuiiiii!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 76
      • You mean if earn RM3k+ can afford that 100k Cerato?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 11
        • Wisdom on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:54 pm

He meant monthly 3k for d car. We all take car loan maximum 3 years only what…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
        • ziti akhziz on Jul 30, 2013 at 9:42 am

yes……provided you have no existing financial commitments except credit card (0 outstanding balance). if you have life insurance premium to pay every month, it won’t be counted because it’s not considered “commitment”. you must also not be under AKPK.

just get a CCRIS report for yourself before you even apply. if everything’s good, then proceed to apply for the RM 100k ++ car with a RM3k++ salary if you so wish.

things like existing salary and financial commitments, payment record and profession type all play a big part in determining whether your application is approved. some may earn a lot more but still default on payment, thus getting their application rejected.it’s not how much you earn but how manage what you earn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Mulyadir Fitri on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:29 pm

I earn more than 3K and still think that the Cerato is too expensive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 1
        • me too but for me its expensive for this Vios while the segment is just the same with Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
          • Saga? You really believe in the prowness of saga. Hahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 32
          • DonkeyKong on Jul 16, 2013 at 1:35 am

It’s not that he believes that the Saga is “good” as the Vios, he’s saying that the Vios is as lousy as a Saga, dumbass

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 5
          • saga is anytime more comfortable than vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 40
          • Saga is nowhere match anything except Proton’s crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
          • dugong on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Even saga got better and newer tech than this dinosaur re-skin old junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
        • When i was earning 3k, I was driving an old Proton Wira which is 10 years old.
          Now got 3k want to buy 100k car?
          and kid complaining cannot afford to buy house…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • Overpriced on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:08 pm

I earn almost 8k but still driving kelisa..

• namanama on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Back then when I was earning 3k+,only can afford Myvi.Kids nowdays earn 3k die die also want to buy Vios.Aiyoo..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 3
        • velldriver on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Vios is the king! Long live vios!!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 126
          • Rogaz on Jul 22, 2013 at 8:48 am

I Have BMW, CRV, Mazda Gen2 Nissan from my comparison BMW and Gen2 top speed up to 200km/h and it save petrol on the high way but costly in town but for the Japanese car it pick up in town and save petrol but on highway with full blast it consume too much petrol and the top speed is low for car like wish, harrier, Estima, Latio, and many more Japanese car and please don’t deny it if you do it must be you never try your Japanese car at 170 to 200 km/h for 2 to 4 hours continuously. Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • paparazi on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:38 pm

especially show off colleger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • power rangers on Jul 15, 2013 at 11:00 pm

3k per month only can afford a viva + small apartment to live..this is MALAYSIA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 1
      • autodriver on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

you expect a bigger , better spec and greater safety car should sell cheaper than Vios? Cerato should compare to Altis or Civic, not Vios and City. You are comparing apple to orange.

And 1 more thing, earning 3k+ afford to buy a 100k car? I am earning 4k+ (basic exclude commission) and just enough for me to pay a 86k Forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawi on Jul 16, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Cerato C segment la… for a C segment car still affordable. The Rio, which is in the same segment as the Vios is only around 75k… and that is a much safer, more modern and better equipped car (though you lose the boot).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Low Budget on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:02 pm

You should Puuiiiii!!!!! the Gomen for the expensive car price. Korean cars are not stupid as they are now one of the biggest car manufacturer in the World.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Sam Loo on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:21 pm

I will thank those that are willing to take the change buying kimchis news.

They will only make used car dealers like myself well off

• I tot i saw an octopus in the first pic lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Masked Pervert on Jul 20, 2013 at 5:32 pm

And I watched enough hentai to see where this is going…

• Datuk on Jul 15, 2013 at 1:56 pm

First!
    anyway new Vios not bad at all, for the price, i think its still overprice

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 21
  • frenzy on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:00 pm

The largest improvement is they finally managed to placed the dial in the correct position.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 5
    • saw somebody put air freshener (the bulky one) on that dial since it is a stupid idea anyway

• Sam Loo on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 325
  • Black Dog on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:06 pm

After 5 long years they can’t produce a new improved engine?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 6
    • Green on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Toyota Engine’s driving Experience @ City is still the best :

1. Very fuel saving at 15km/L city mode.
      2. Good pickup at city driving.

this engine is still better then Kia Rio and Pug 208 so called “latest engine”

Majority buy car, based on the result produced, not how good on paper it looks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 73
      • drBirdie on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:50 pm

oh really? no wonder i saw so many proton saga on the road, i think ur theory is ‘correct’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 19
      • neemfa on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I hate to say this.. but the 1NZ-FE engine is a good engine.. buy using the same engine for 3 generations might be too much..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 1
      • Felixwcf on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Seriosly.. I think you should try i-VTEC engine… especially in accelerating..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 99
        • I assume u take i-VTEC car like Honda City compare with this Vios with VVT-i. Seriously you should try both on straight line. Vios would smoke City in acceleration anytime. Not only that, for fuel consumption Vios is still far better than City(i-VTEC engine equiped like you mention) :)

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 160 Thumb down 150
          • theanswer on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:03 pm

on paper, city have more power. but in real world driving..most ppl prefer vios engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 55
          • johndol on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:31 pm

i agree with you, vios can smoke city in no time when it comes to acceleration. For fuel consumption, vios undoubtedly won in city drive but when it comes to highway driving surprisingly city are more fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 103
          • Rainbow on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:52 am

Put time put place… I would like to try with your vios.. Fyi, I win a vios in highway twice.. 0-40 no doubt vios is lighter.. After 40-165, the vios is 3 car behind me.. don’t believe.. try!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
          • TeacW7 on Jul 17, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Why you want so fast for what? Haven’t kena AES camera and want to deposit your hard earn salary to the cronies kah? Fuel consumption good then end of story already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
          • To Rainbow.
            Ricer like you please stay away from the public road and bring your mighty city to a race track.
            I’m saying that vios acceleration is very good for city driving and good fuel comsumption both together.

Okay i do sometimes travel around and i speed sometimes when i’m in hurry.

40-165 3 cars behind? Joke of the year. Guess you never really try both car from standstill before. Let me tell you the fact.
            1st, both almost similar output, almost similar weight. And 3 cars behind? Unless your car had been modded or turbocharged
            2nd, ya i admit i lose to a car from a standstill to top speed with a lower displacement car. Polo tsi 1.2. Turbocharge and dsg 7 speed gearbox. I achieve a top speed of 190km/h and i’m about 3 cars behind him.
            3rd, you have a paddle shifter and a ‘S’ sign on the gear lever doesnt mean city is a sport car with sport mode. The ‘S’ sign is not sport mode like vw had. It is shiftronic mode which allow you to hold gear and manually shifting.

Please admit the fact that vios is faster in terms of acceleration compare to city. We all know that. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
          • wakaka on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Actually reading about people “racing” with Honda City’s and Vios, lol

• Wrong, majority buy car based on badges. Stick Toyota badge on Preve, Preve sells like hot cake.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 17
        • Stick Proton badge to a Golf, no one wants to buy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 2
          • Seriously on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Stick Proton badge on anything, no one wants to buy. it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
          • People will buy it, but later remove the bagde

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • except government of Malaysia who will buy rebadged Accord as Perdana, somemore using outgoing 2012 model..Proton is a cash cow for foreign car companies dumping old technology, it was Mitsubishi followed by Citroen then now Honda.

• It’s not that old, at least much better than using decades old Toyota engine and 4 gears.

• labix7 on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:21 pm

existing vios got lighter body weight than others, of coz FC is better la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • theanswer on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:02 pm

they should pair it with cvt box.

• vios_fan on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:29 pm

15km/L city mode is wrong. Take a look at fuelly. Take the most number of fuel ups AND city driving AND auto trans – only 13km/l. It’s not impressive. Try pushing the car on highway 120km/h with full load, it cannot do the same.

• y u guy talk oni engine?…main priority is safety rite? is it safety last?

• nierz on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm

The speedometer is not at the centre anymore. Yeay!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Wow..will kill city with this price definitely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
  • owaha on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Now let’s see what the T fan will says….it’s still 4 speed autobox. So, is it sucks, shitty, stupid T or they are just like ifags, queue up to buy even if they just stick some old engine and old gearbox ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 9
    • they just redesign d outlook which use lesser R&D cost then can earn back faster.tat y no new engine o gearbox for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • frenzy on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:39 pm

At least launch a hybrid version and shared the power plant with yaris hybrid.

• Can’t wait to see this in metal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • RIP TOYOLta on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:12 pm

“The familiar 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE motor soldiers on, as does the four-speed auto ‘box.”

Like for those buying dinosaur tech with new skin
    Dislike for RIP toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 25
    • Preuse on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:07 am

I guess some still unable to catch the big T business concept… OVER-DESIGN a car and use it for up to 3 model changes, therefore ripping as much profit as possible from reducing devp and capital cost as volume and period increase. Buyers would love them for their bulletproof reliability and RVs.

• iluvloyola on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:23 pm

The front bumper is too thick. Doesnt look nice to me.

• Finally they upgrade the tyre from 175 to 185.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Green on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Vios have been using 185..

U must been only observing J specs Model.

• I’m telling my mum not to worry bout her 2003 vios spare part cause the 3rd generation is still using the same engine and gear box…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 5
  • Maserati on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Vios is one of the nicest car I have driven at that price range.This new one will definately be better.It will sell like hot cakes once again! And it will destroy almost everyone else around that price range!

Expect to see huge price cuts & discounts for the Cerato in no time! Good riddance to those Korean junk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 92
  • I’ve seen it here in the Philippines (it was launched earlier this month), the dashboard is now soft touch, not hard like the old one. Overall it looks more upscale than the old Vios and this was just the mid-level E trim that I saw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Tak sokong B.N. dan Inspira/Preve on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Not surprise lah, Dude! Now salesman said clearance old vios at 8k discount with whole Malaysia left unit at only 500 number.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Walter Ty on Jul 15, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Toyota just launched the new Vios in the Philippine market with local assembly at its Sta. Rosa, Laguna plant. This will be a sure success as with the previous generation, it’s aimed at the taxi/corporate fleet market.

• Yahooo bye bye Preve hatch bye bye this new Vios is the sign of my success above RM3K salary no BR1M to depend on ha ha ha only winners drive Vios and chick magnet too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 61
  • Dru-Zod on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Will the manual transmission come to Malaysia?

• no more dugung look alike… a little bit nissan almari in the back and skyline nose,does they kidnap nissan designer…

• neutral on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:36 pm

although it using same engine and gearbox, but it’s proven to be fuel efficient and durable, still ok.
    draw back is the high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Aiya, change the shell only!
    Why no Dual VVT-i, no 7 speed CVT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Don’t fix if it ain’t broke?

• Bro 7 speed gear is not needed for a 1.5 car…even if comes u wont even realise that much a difference…y do people still complain…u wan 7 speed okla then umw will increase the price also then u start la complain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • theanswer on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:08 pm

7 speed is only virtual gear. but with current engine and cvt..vios will give better fc. unless u’r talking about 6 speed conventional auto, then it’s wasteful for 1.5 engine.

• totti on Jul 15, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Well, The war just begin to kick start.

With Honda Jazz at 74K and Nissan almera at RM 68K. The T vois will need to be competitive to maintain the no: 1 spot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jul 17, 2013 at 4:17 pm

vios already hit badly by almera. unless they can undercut it a bit.

not a big issue since almera also is basic. modern EFI engine with 4 speed AT

• If centre metre cluster looks so horrible why Vios is the best selling non national vehicle? Why Alza is the best selling MPV? There are so many choices out there!

Just to comment about Toyota conventional gearbox, why do Toyota have to change something that is already perfect?

Try to compare this with your Ford or VW DSG gearbox, no doubt it has 7 speed and performs much better but how many times you have to change your gearbox a year?

About CVT gear, do you know how terrible the gears sounds? Like pulling a rubber band. Try put big exhaust and listen to the sound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 34
    • Vios has no flaws for “Toyota Vios” fanboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • frenzy on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:44 pm

But 4 speed is so 90’s. Toyota has a reliable 6 speed conventional auto in their garage but they refused to use it.

• alldisc on Jul 17, 2013 at 4:47 pm

it is not a big issue as long as it still has 1st gear and 4th gear which is an overdrive and good enough to deliver optimum fuel economy.

unlike Honda City 5 speed gearbox which may excel on constant medium to high speed drive, in city driving the gearbox often found wonder and hunting for gears (especially 2nd and 3rd) which jeopardises overall fuel consumption.

6 speed gearbox does not work well for an engine with 110bhp +-. Besides, how often does one count now the my car is in 4th gear.

and now… in 5th gear.

and now 6th. ooppss.. now drop to err 4th gear, err NO 3rd gear actually.

coz no idiot stupid enough to do so. ordinary drivers just dont bother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • but the price is still butt hurt.. although old engine and BG design.. should lower than city

• Seriously on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Oh I don’t know… the PRICE MAYBE? AND LACK OF A BETTER CHOICE?

• nasi lemak on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:18 pm

the meter look like kia forte!

• Alex Chan on Jul 15, 2013 at 4:20 pm

If u want the BEST hanling car with High technology one and BEST design of all ..can anytime choose TOYOTA …TOYOTA is the most reliable engine and gearbox..u buy europe car today..tomorrow oredi drop 50% value…u choose TOYOTA..even 2-3 years..the resale value maintain one!..Thats why TOYOTA is world best and most prestigious maa..u guys need to google and read more!..than u guys can understand!.
    Choose value ….thats why we chinese choose TOYOTA maa…and one more things, you want cheap cars?..vote DAP!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 207 Thumb down 167
    • wahh dari bukit mana you datang.. bukit bendera ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Anti CO2 on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:27 pm

“thats why we chinese choose TOYOTA maa”
      Mind to share you statistic with us???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Hadi75 on Jul 15, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Toyota best handling…high tech…best design..most .prestigious car….world best ???????you’re joking ka?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • No need to bring racism into this and here is definitely not the place to fish for votes. If you have not noticed, most people did not condemn Toyota for being unreliable or lousily built. Its just that Toyota tend to sell the most expensive model in its class yet still comes with old technology and minimal standard equipments. Does upgrading from 4AT to a newer 5AT or CVT that will improve performance and fuel consumption really gonna cost that much and ‘affect’ reliability like Toyota supporters (read: traditionalists) always mentioned?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Here come the believer of Sam Loo.
      Therefore, your grand grand children will be still enjoying the same 1NZ-FE Vios engine and the antique 4AT. The forever young Vios……..

• rational buyer on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:51 pm

which cave do you come from ? :\

• Nthg great…to toyota fans sry to say this…but the new vios dashboard looks similar to the new myvi…

• With the omission of important safety feature like VSC … not worth it.

Better get the Honda Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Just like the new Camry , initially also came without VSC. To boost sales they later add in the VSC.

• SafetyWarden on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Finally someone mention this. Malaysians generally think themselves as immortals.

• jazz or vios?

• jack78 on Jul 15, 2013 at 5:29 pm

i feel those rnd folks should try to increase the torque & hp of vios…at least it would look more nicer and appreciated and i feel the design at the rear is too lousy.

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:17 pm

As usual this is for just graduated owner, and to those who want to run from Proton/Perodua. Cheap solution i guess.

• mantempe on Jul 15, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Nowdays all car resale value are very much lower than we expect, either you buy japanese car korean car or european continental car all about the same. So dont talk about second hand value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • So much better than the dugongs, but for me the rear looks a bit awkward. The engine might be old but the 1NZ-FE is inarguably one of the best engines with minimal noise, great performance and

• finally!! this is the next big thing.. im gonna buy 3 units of this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • kekabu on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:28 pm

finally…the dugong era will end soon…lets welcome the new catfish era….

• I earn 4k/month and drive persona also feel like cant afford it, how come kids nowadays earn 2k already can afford Vios??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • that means u should buy vios, persona is not suitable 4 u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • its all depends on ur finance management..salary is not the full indicator to see wht car u afford to buy..thee r so many things like ur living place, where u staying, how much u eat, entertainment, n so on. i hv seen ppl with salary 2k+ using almera n ppl with 10K++ using old saga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • DiCapriYeoh on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Many youngters inherit hand me down car from parent. Trade in for new Vios with lower loan, sure can afford.

• Different people has different ways to value money. Some may think earning a 10k can afford to drive an european car but some with the same salary will just drive a saga blm and spend most of his salary for 3 housing loan. Never judged a person by what car they drive.

• Alex Chan on Jul 15, 2013 at 9:59 pm

now everyone can dream to own TOYOTA but only a few can drive this prestigious brand maa..work hard..sure u can buy one.
    vios TRD is oredi best in handling..this one sure the bestest maa…TOYOTA = engineered for perfection…and resale value oso very very gud one. u guys can google or visit mudah.my.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 45
    • chanteq on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:36 pm

wow you mean handling like Golf GTI correct?
      i’m speechless

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:10 am

Nothing is engineered to perfection, unless you are Rolls Royce.

Everything else is engineered to a PRICE. Especially an entry level budget car, trying to pretend to be a “premium”.

• This guy want to be second Sam Loo

• kl_guy74 on Jul 15, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Hi guys,

Tell me which of the car sell in Malaysia is not overprice?…

Below is the lowest specs which I assume

Cerato = RM 100K and Elantra = RM 90K
    Current Vios = RM 76K and Honda City = RM85K
    Inspira = RM79K and MyVi = RM48K

Pls tell me which of the cars is not OVERPRICE, even MyVi?

Let’s thanks to our Malaysia Government. The increasing of our Inflation is higher than our salary increment. Don’t say about car, our house is terrible crazy, do you think a RM3K/mth salary is afford to buy a house in KL. Let say a condo, nowdays atleast 500K and above..

Please don’t complain, just we need to face it as we have such a GOOD Govn’t.

Rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakan….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • Alex Chan on Jul 16, 2013 at 8:44 am

haiyaah, next coming election make sure u vote DAP maa…for sure one car will have no tax anymore..come come..remember aa next election..then u can own your dream TOYOTA.
      TOYOTA = everyone dream to own one..FACT

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 36
  • Celako or Vios is nothing, i noticed many youngsters like to show off like road bullies with their vios or kia, but their pokets empty one hahahaha…show off only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Youngsters drive vios are rich, uncles drive proton are poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • ziti akhziz on Jul 30, 2013 at 9:14 am

don’t be ridiculous, ozie! half the youngsters driving these cars don’t even own the cars. their parents bought the cars for them.

life is easy when you have rich parents to support you until your 40. i have no respect for a youngster, be it one with/without tertiary qualifications, who drives a nice car ‘given’ to him by his/her parents and more so when he/she shows off, not realising there’s nothing for him/her to show. i have more respect for the fresh grad driving a viva which he/she bought on her own instead.

• And they cant even corner properly, my 20 year old wira 1.5 cc auto beats these ah bengs vios easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
    • I see who is the “ah bengs” here. In fact, your 20 years old 1.5 wira is a no match to vios. Still imagine you are driving “wiralution” with all the evo 3 bodykit. LOLOL evowanabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Alex Chan on Jul 16, 2013 at 9:12 am

you still drive that unreliable problematic car ahh?..iayaa..20 years summore..pity. dont have money to buy meh?..dun worry after next election u vote DAP..for sure can own ur dream car..TOYOTA..remember..TOYOTA resale value is very very high…vios sama level with ford focus..when u drive TOYOTA..everyone will respect u more maa…sucessfull in life..if u drive Camry..for sure people think u as CEO, camry = BMW 5 series..but BMW resale value no got..drop kaw kaw.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 239 Thumb down 46
      • alex the ah beng on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:42 am

another newly born d*mbass in Paultan’s forum..

• wakaka on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:27 pm

i sense sarcasm, hope im right ;p

• Vios = B segment car, Ford Focus = C segment car.Vios same level with Ford Focus?Camry = D segment car, BMW 5 series = E segment car. Camry = BMW 5 series?Who told you all these things?Pls check your facts.

• Sam Loo on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Halo, 5 sili is D Segment lar. Only 7 sili/S-class range is E Segment

• WaJib on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Manual belive la but ur junk auto boleh ke?

• Datuk Jack. on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:23 am

kid nowadays spend more money on car.. they forget that buying car is asset depreciation..

if i were them, 1st year work i keep the money for downpayment of apartment/landed.. nowadays developers give u chance buying property with minimum cash out, with basic salary 2.5k permonth u should be able to have 10k saving with 1 year ++..

use that money get 1 unit landed double storey in nilai which worth 300k.. next 5 years u easily can sell it back 500k for easy money..

why spend more money on car.. buy proton preve u get all what u need.. pay less every month and save up to RM400…

while u don’t tied to any bank commitment, grab property 1st..or else u’ll be regret..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • azrai on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

Can get 300k house this time around ma? Buying car to go to work everyday just to make money. Monthly installment for Saga just RM400. Plus, no downpayment. Buying house RM300k installment RM1500k already. Downpayment already at RM30k. If we can pay around RM700-RM800 per month for house can lah. Got or not? Use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • Datuk Jack. on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:25 pm

who said cannot get? cheaper than that also have, either u look for it or not..

who said buying house must have 10% discount? look for major developer, they offer u 10% rebate, so u juz pay for booking, again its either u look for it or not..

who said u cannot pay house loan 700 or 800 per month? if u think u afford for that price, than u should buy medium cost apartment. infact u could pay much more cheaper if u buy flat.

who said only with car u can go to work? how about motorbike? city train(lrt,putra,ktm commuter)? or bus? its either u consider or not..

now, u tell me, whose brain is not been use?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • azrai on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm

You look at where? Bukit Beruntung? Not every place are connected with train meh. Motorbike prone to hazard, moreover if you got family. Use your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • Datuk Jack. on Jul 17, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Dear Azrai,

keep your denial to your self, do what u like to do, use ur hard earn money for what u enjoy most.

when property become more n more expensive, i hope u not going to blame non-malay as speculator just becoz they are the biggest investor in property..

up to u how to use ur brain..

best regards,
            Dato Jack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • wakaka on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:33 pm

+1 agree 100% with you, alot of people never actually ask the developers for rebates, waivers etc and just moan and groan.

• Edmont on Jul 16, 2013 at 11:47 am

the interior looks fugly… wonders how the navigator looks like on top of the air cond.. moving backwards design it seems..

nevertheless, it will still sell like hot cakes in Boleh land.. that’s for sure..

• babaygrand on Jul 16, 2013 at 10:02 pm

I being tax about 10K per annually but i still driving 1995 1.3 manual proton saga. Every time i ride on it i feel i am a loser but no choice still tahan until 20 December 2013 (road tax end) because i booked CKD jazz petrol and the only car i can affordable.

• VIOS = DESIRABLE!!! Both generations served my family well, can’t complain about reliability. Forget about power, acceleration etc…it’s a 1.5, perfect for city driving. The 3rd generation looks way better. At least the new model is more spacious.

• Btw vios is well known as the best acceleration pickup, best fuel economy and good reliability in his class (1.5 N/A) for the past 10 years. On paper, yes i admit it loses to others competitors, but you got to drive vios in real life. You can feel quite strong torque in low to mid end rpm. Thats more than enough for city driving. Well to me 4 speeder is still acceptable for me as the engine can cope with the boxes to deliver both good and smooth acceleration without jerk hunting for gears and fuel economy. At the end of the day it is still your choice.

• Almost all comment say good about vios engine. NO doubt! Just the design need improve and better material use compare to city.if this round the car is more solid and comfortable, it consider improvement. city not fuel efficient. Bout price,all car price is increase. Jazz decrease also because remove a lot gadget inside.

• 4 gear vios more fuel efficient than 5 gear city. Who should improve?

• I bet if Toyota is same with proton,malaysia will be flooded with Toyota..lol

• I earn RM6000 a month. I’m very happy to drive a Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • like or not, Toyota is well love by all people. other rubbish car is just like a rubbish, nothing else. everyone will trade in their car for Toyota.

• My mom just bought a vios last year. I had told her new vios is coming out but they bought it bcos of toyota year end clearance promotion. At first, I hate it bcos it looks very ulgy but very practical for city driving. I guess my mom juz need a simple and durable car, not a piece of crap with high end tech but lousy engine and built quality. Before that, my parent bought an korean car and now they regret cos bad engine, high fc, always breakdown and low rv! Dont be a victim of korean car anymore! At least for my family…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Rogaz on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:07 am

If you think Japanese is good think again because until today they still using American processor why not producing their own like they producing their car. It because Japanese still don’t have the technology. That the level of their thinking and technology.

• Guys….lets wait and see when new Vios come, then comment. Lets test drive it and feel it first, see how good it is for Malaysian version of Vios.

• mulanku on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Preve way to go… only the blind will say VIOS better than PREVE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • Tommy on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:49 pm

I want to use Vios 1.5 to beat Elantra 1.6
      110ps vs 130ps

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 1
    • Overpriced on Aug 07, 2013 at 2:14 pm

enough of the stupid Preve. syok sendiri..

• jaswan on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:23 am

frankly preve is really hopeless, tried the manual, the clutch is useless… too low, the cvt is just as bad, the brake.. if all or you have noticed, is just too low… salesman told me brand new car brake need to bleed, is proton really selling with air in the brake….

• kingkenny on Jul 23, 2013 at 7:20 pm

I earn RM10000.00 a month. I’m very happy to drive a Tiara.

• KL KEE on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:43 am

hope malaysia version not Kosong-kosong one…

• Johnny on Jul 28, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 133
    • Its not in the same category brother.. anyway, when u have luggage and people who wants to tumpang ur ride, at that point you can sense a dissapointment

• haiz…a new version of tin milo..cosmetic change only…inside still old one…some more jack up higher price…haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Vios is just a Japanese version of “SAGA”.

• princess dugong on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:28 am

spot on! the front of the new Vios, especially the lights looks like Saga flx while the bottom part of the front looks like Lancer and the back looks like Accord. very original from Toyota…….NOT!

honestly, this car is only worth considering if you’re upgrading from a Malaysian car but if you’re already driving a Vios or City then buying this won’t be much of an upgrade. unless it comes with ESP, it can and will be considered overpriced. you might as well go for Almera high spec with a few optional accessories like bodykit and it still won’t cost as much as Vios high spec (google for expected price of the new Vios). at the same time, since Nissan is also Japanese, at least you won’t have to worry about resale value or spare part availability.

there are conflicting reports on whether the new Vios comes with ESP and some ads online claim it does come with ESP……….very misleading.

I’d strongly advise prospective buyers to wait for the launch, test drive the car and see exactly what specs and optional accessories are available and compare that to existing rivals and then decide whether it’s worth the price they’re asking for.

• Wayank on Aug 11, 2013 at 6:53 pm

It’s already for taxi at Jakarta 19 Juni 2013
    http://autos.okezone.com/read/2013/06/19/52/824400/ini-wujud-all-new-vios-taksi

• memang lah bro, you want to know why? because Vios is durable and less fuel consumption. Do you know Wayank, Dubai are using Ferrari for their Police Car.

• jaswan on Aug 20, 2013 at 12:18 am

why all the fuss, for those who like vios, go ahead buy it, dont listen to all the others idots,
    those who dont like it, keep your money and use it for better use… go ahead and buy the car of your dream

• raque82 on Aug 24, 2013 at 12:40 pm

I also earn 6k,but still not change my gen2.Proton is terrible car.It had been repair so many time for every parts.I intended to buy vios or almera but when I look at property,not afford to buy new house apartment at 300k and car at 80k. Becoz we need to consider our meal also nowaday bcome so expensive

• jack L on Aug 29, 2013 at 1:53 pm

My experience tell me buy Toyota Car save money in term of maintenance, 2nd hand value and reliability.
    I owned a Proton Satria b4 (UK spec),after 3 years – I need to pay at least 1K++ per year to fix the problems here n there so I go n buy a Toyota 2nd hand Corolla 16SEG RM69K used 8 years sell RM38K and seldom give me problem except for those regular maintenance.
    My income is 5 figure now but I still prefer Toyota it never fail me. I’m not saying other Non national car no good but I trust Toyota now. I believed many Toyota Car owner have the same experiences.

• rational buyer on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:42 pm

kosong car of the year

• wandi on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:14 am

my salary just 3k.. leave at shah alam.. before this i own a persona.. owhhh my God.. sell it already. now i use new vios.. bcoz my chinese Bos use vios for 7 years, last km i saw was 150k++ km. better FC, better pickup, less problem, start n run, he treat his car like crap, like shit slave, sometime 2 month never send to car wash.. he use that vios to go to work, always bring me to outstation from shah alam to penang almost every month.. never use compeny car.. for me, Vios is a good investment for a guy like me.. atlist 7 years no problem, mean machine, high durability.. engine problem will make me like crazy..