Honda Accord Coupe V6 gets HFP package in the US

Honda Accord Coupe HFP

The US-market 2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 can now be specified with a limited-edition HFP (Honda Factory Performance) package, first shown at SEMA.

Enhancements include a bodykit, boot spoiler, 15 mm-lowered sports suspension and 19-inch alloys. There’s also red interior illumination and HFP badges throughout.

Honda Accord Coupe HFP

Limited to 500 examples, the HFP-equipped Honda Accord Coupe V6 has been track-tested by Honda Performance Development against a regular car.

It says the HFP car feels “more confident and stable and is capable of going around the track faster than the stock car.”

With 278 hp and 342 Nm of torque at its feet, the standard 3.5 litre V6-engined Accord Coupe is no slouch. Manual and auto ‘boxes are available, both with six gears.

The package goes for US$4,620, excluding installation. See Japanese tuning house Mugen‘s interpretation of the Honda Accord Hybrid here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ok, thats very beautiful and…. beast!

• ss427 on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

USD$4600 for body kits, spoilers and a so called sports suspension… :( Is this still the Honda we once knew?

Evidently Honda engineers, just like Toyota, believed that spoilers and bodykits adds ‘power’. Very soon we will have Honda Marketing dept claiming big, loud stickers will add another 20hp to the car.

How pathetic… sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Mynameishello on Jul 17, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Dont forget the 19 inchers n tyres

• ss427 on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:01 pm

WHich will slow down the car even more if its heavier than the original

Honda is really finished. They have to resort to such nonsense to make their cheapened new cars ‘appealing’

• Sean William on Jul 17, 2013 at 2:56 pm

They did not mention anything about power. It clearly says “HFP (Honda Factory Performance) package”. Power is indeed a part of performance, but how it drives around a turn is also considered to be a part of performance. And if spoilers and body kits are not necessary, then why GT300 or GT500 cars have wings of an aeroplane?

• ss427 on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:04 pm

May I remind you how much more power did the Mustang GT350 and GT500 put out as compared to the stock Mustang GT?

Don’t shout performance when you can’t deliver. Its ego deflating if you fully kitted and big spoiler whizzer got smoked at the lights by some quiet, stock looking high perf machines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • kambinganas on Jul 17, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Looks like there are some ah bengs that dislike your post. To them any Honda with Mugen/Modulo bodykit already cukup terrer. No point wasting time explaining to them.

• Kalun on Jul 17, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Red carpet put out extra 10 hp.

LOL. Thats what i read from american blog.

• not selling in msia, talk also waste time. unless u so rich to direct import it.

• Jimmy on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Luxury brands aside, soon there will be no more V6 offered in Malaysian new-car market for common people.
    Perdana has since long time ago disapperared, now it’s Teana’s turn.
    This is another example of reverse gear in Malaysia, no? Too easy to become billionaire when you do car business in Malaysia, as long as you get the permit or APs. No need to be competitive, no need to advance and progress. No need brains as well, in AP business, just sleep on bed meminta tolong kasi APs 10 ribu kepings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • pooyu on Jul 17, 2013 at 6:12 pm

not easy lah…how come only 10 billionaire in boleh land…n mostly u know who thy are…

• kambinganas on Jul 17, 2013 at 10:24 pm

That is because yang lain senyap and enjoy their wealth. If they brag nanti kene siasat for illegal wealth.

• PauKaya on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:23 pm

doeSn’t matter. V-TEC KICKED IN YO!

• GrandSavrify on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:08 am

Very impressive design! Well done Honda!

• kekabu on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:59 am

fuhh….its preve….

opss…my bad…its honda…