Nissan GT-R Midnight Opal – only 100 units worldwide

Nissan_GT-R_Midnight_Opal_01

This is the new Nissan GT-R Midnight Opal, yet another special version of the popular Japanese hero car. The new designation is inspired by its exclusive colour scheme of the same name, which Nissan claims is applied by hand for an immaculate finish that is comparable to that of exotic supercars.

The Midnight Opal colour has a two-tone effect that changes its hue depending on light conditions and viewing angle. Also part of the package is a dry carbonfibre rear spoiler (read: unpainted) and a set of Rays forged aluminium wheels in Hyper Titanium coating.

There’s only a single change in the engine bay – a gold-finished numbered plaque to affirm its exclusivity over lesser GT-Rs. The rest of the car is as per the latest 2013-spec Godzilla, with a 545 hp and 630 Nm twin-turbocharged 3.8 litre V6 engine capable of a 2.7 second 0 to 100 km/h sprint.

Production is limited to just 100 units worldwide. That’s 10 times more than the GT-R Gentleman Edition announced earlier this year, but this one is available outside of France and isn’t saddled by a laughable name, which makes it the GT-R to have at the moment. Until the hotter Nismo version arrives, that is.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• ChrisLai75 on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:14 pm

it’s a RHD, looks like we will be able to meet this Godzilla on our road.

• Johnny on Jul 17, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Anyone still want to say its overpriced car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • It is an overpriced car. Over RM1mil in Malaysia if you don’t know.

• Alpha on Jul 17, 2013 at 6:27 pm

A successor of the Midnight Purple 3?

• GT-Rider on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Ermmmm…I don’t think I like this colour. For me it’s more suitable for a sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • i dont like this car.. i prefer vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 5
  • Wong Caf GT on Jul 18, 2013 at 7:31 pm

….,Vios..???!^^^,no need -ve comment if cant afford to buy

• PENGUTUK ORANG BODOH on Jul 22, 2013 at 4:21 pm

TAN SRI VIOS WONG.. nxt time pls use the brain to compare a better car wit GTR…