Perodua first half 2013 sales up 4% thanks to S-Series

p2-h1-2013-01

Perodua has announced sales results from the first half of 2013, which show a 4% increase from the same period in 2012. The 96,900 units registered means that Perodua is on track to meet its 2013 target of 194,000 units. The company attributes the good performance to its new S-Series range.

Launched in March this year, the Perodua S-Series range comprises the Viva S, Myvi 1.3 SE and Alza S. Replacing less popular variants in their respective families, these cars offer a value proposition of between RM4,500 and RM5,600 to the customer. That amount takes into account enhanced safety features, additional accessories and three years free service. The latter is standard across the board for Perodua cars registered from March 15, 2013 onwards.

“The S-Series has contributed significantly to our sales volume so far this year. The value proposition of these variants is the result of an extensive cost management exercise that began in 2011,” said Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, president and CEO of Perodua.

p2-h1-2013-03

Till the end of June, Perodua collected almost 52,000 bookings for the S-Series, registering almost 38,000 of those bookings. The difference is because not all applicants get their loans approved by the banks. In fact, rejection rates were around 25% last year.

New car sales aside, the other aspects of the business also saw some growth. The after sales division saw 924,000 vehicles coming into Perodua service centres, up 3% from the first half of 2012. For its parts and accessories business, Perodua’s revenue jumped by 40.2% to RM157.8 million. A new parts warehouse located in Perodua’s Sg Choh HQ will be operational next month.

Updating the press on the progress of the new Perodua Global Manufacturing plant, which was announced in December 2012, Datuk Aminar said that progress stands at 10% and they are on schedule.

p2-h1-2013-02

The new 65,000 square metre facility and its holding company will create 1,200 new jobs and add 100,000 units to Perodua’s annual production capacity, which now stands at 200k with a two-shift cycle. The 100k figure is based on a single shift, so full capacity should be even higher. Mass production is scheduled to start in mid-2014. Total investment in this project is RM790 million. More on this here.

The new plant will churn out a new model, which we expect to see in some form at the KLIMS 2013 motor show that is happening in December. P2 boss Aminar said that surprises are in store.

Launch report, gallery and specs of the Perodua S-Series here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Biscuit on Jul 17, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Overprice for what it is & the only affordable brand with 9 years loan for many.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
    • Dunno what so excited? some ppl they have no choice to choose better and expensive mini hatch cars so this is the only one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 5
    • Kenny on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:14 am

Hi,everybody expert .can you give the suggestion which 2 of this car better value,power,save petrol & maintaine..

1.crv 2.4 2013 new.

2.vellfire 2.4 2011 recond.

Thanks a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 38
      • jolly_idiot on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:15 am

2 different car dude.

CRv = sport cruising vehicle with 5 pax seating comfortably
        Vellfire = large size mpv with 7-8 pax seating comfortably.

BOth car have huge different in size and fc

• Green on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:17 am

Take Toyota Fortuner 2.4.

higher class then CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
        • goliath on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:43 pm

fortuner is the worst SUV in terms of value for money. its just an overpriced hilux. which was already expensive to begin with.

• if you’re going to always brings more than 4 passengers take the vellfire je..

if not.. crv is a better choice. 4 me lah

• I am pretty sure its not the S Series that perodua should be thanking but the Tax Series. If no Tax Series pretty sure they will be making losses.

• Norman on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:15 pm

Enough said,Now pls use the Altis 1.6 and 2007 Wish 1.8 engine for your Alza variant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • p1p2basher on Jul 17, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Awesome jobs Perodua! Keep going!Looking forward to free turbo upgrade, racing seat and brembo break.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 39
    • “brake” la bkn “break” hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • pirlo on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:57 pm

turbo upgrade? i doubt that. if i’m not mistaken, they plan to source the powertrain from indonesia daihatsu plant. daihatsu ayla 1.0 variant.
      racing seat? i really doubt that since it will cost a bomb.
      brembo brake? brake disc at front with brembo caliper with rear red-colored brake drum? indeed i doubt that.

• turbo upgrade or racing seat sounds like a joke, but a Brembo breaks is a must for a Perodua. Espacially in the Alza, the brakes works like this, press abit= no responds, press harder= gives it a hint u want to break, press hardest=OK I’ll give some thoughts on slowing down, press it Deep into the carpet and onto the floor= than, and only than it will brake. I know is unfair to compare to the likes of a Honda City, but is crap within Proton Saga standards, the OLD one. My dad refitted the front brakes of our Alza with bigger, vented disc Brembo…..all to later find out that the rear drum has also have issue, sigh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • I was wondering why almost all Alzas i seen on the road have visible brake dust on their front alloy rims, even newly registered ones. If i am not mistaken, Alza comes equipped with Brake Assist which should reduce leg muscle effort required.

• pirlo on Jul 18, 2013 at 8:47 am

if i’m not mistaken, they use different kind of brake pad to countermeasure the brake judder problem. but the cons is more brake dust appear.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:17 am

Easy. Obviously cheaper brake pad in use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • At least Perodua is much more better than Proton. Full stop.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 56
    • yaa re-badge is always “much more better” =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • What better? both r local car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Proton Staff on Jul 17, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Perodua myvi rebadge cost is RM220 million. Proton P3-21A (preve) was cost RM300 million. That is consider cheap for C Segment. All in house RnD, from platform, engine, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • Proton is getting better in terms of reliability. Its in terms of perceived build quality that Proton is still lacking for such a long existing carmaker. They really should put more efforts into the interior design and improve ergonomics, space allocation, NVH suppression and material quality. Although improving all these areas will almost surely increases selling price, i believe buyers can accept it. Don’t believe me? Just look at the Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • Proton is getting better by Proton standard and that was in Persona. After that the newer models are crap especially the enjin bocor model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • How about INSPIRA the fake Lancer?

Still Proton admit it as ‘own developed’ car?

MUKA TAK MALU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 27
          • at least inspira suspension is independently tuned maa.. even mmc admit inspira R&H is better compared to lancer. how about myvi and alza? any suspension tuned done?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • MMC Japan or MMC Malaysia aka DRB?

• yes, proton do rebrand certain models….how bout perodua…let us see….WOW…they rebrand ALL their car models!!! truely a cheapskate car manufacturer..

• axel_stig on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:17 pm

smart la u~ all ur P2 car r fake toyota n daihatsu lah cos they all r rebadge…

• Agreed. Last time Proton also rebadged Mitsubishi cars, bt the quality is bad bcoz they downgrade a lot. Perodua is now rebadging Daihatsu cars, and the quality was considered good. Just that the price is quite high bcoz of stupid gov tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
      • David on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:20 pm

rubbish.

• rambo ramsey on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:16 am

its the profit lah not stupid tax. everyone got tax more or less the same, especially when p2 got most components imported.

• Please can you give me 300 million, I want to rebadge my bicycle.

• kambinganas on Jul 17, 2013 at 10:31 pm

It is a simple concept: Kalo kete lagi murah, lagi ramai yang mampu beli. Question is whether they are willing to continue this trend instead of just being greedy to cekik people for profits.

• Profit first, safety improvement none, eh?

• P and P on Jul 18, 2013 at 2:13 am

Proton and produo is abang Adik…………same quality….like nasi campur…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • 76hj9 on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:03 am

this car got whole bunch of problems , bought for 2 years look like 20 years … no ESP , no isofix , only can sell well in boleh land … go to benchmark with Dacia lodgy … you will know how bad is alza

• Hooraayyy Syabas Perodua!

BUY PERODUA = KILL PROTONG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 16
  • we will see how long they can stay with compact car segment. Their target is clear to focus on energy efficient vehicle.

• Alex Chan on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:18 am

congrates perodua..see see anything with TOYOTA DNA got full support from the rakyat…resale value oso very very gud..
    no need show off with europe car..once a week for sure breakdown one..confirm!…spare part shop oso dun have their spare part..one thing aar, used car shop oso die die dontwan to buy europe car becos no value..buy TOYOTA or perodua (Have TOYOTA DNA maa)..for sure good move..remember..resale value high

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 15
  • abuya123 on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:23 am

4% increase…. Let see what happen this year end. Dont fooled us. We know you’re facing disaster sales after saga sv launch. Reduce price now or you will see 4% decreased from last year. That cheapest viva coffin still RM25k. Make it RM19k please !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:29 pm

RM 19K for a Viva coffin? MAna ada jalan! Go buy a motor cycle instead. I would agree with you that the Viva sales will be affected by the Proton SV.

• abuya123 on Jul 18, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Actually, not viva. But myvi. Previously, people will compare between saga and myvi. But when the price drop, this group of people will go to saga sv. RM10k gap ma…

Viva still the cheapest. Saga sv cannot touch viva 660 sales! But for viva buyer whose looking for 850 or 1000 manual or 1000cc auto, they will think twice.

Last time, proton make mistake by introducing exora, huge and quite heavy. Perodua make right choice by introducing alza, small and lightweight. This time around, perodua make mistake by giving free service for 3 years. Proton make good choice by reduce price.

Do you think perodua will giving crazy discount to capture market? No! because they already give free service!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • azrai on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:54 pm

The free service instead of price reduction is pre emptive strategy well planned to tackle 2 issues:-
          1. Reduce price mean lower used value for the model which in turned..
          2. …make the previous owner pre reduced price felt pissed and it is not good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
      • Proton SV? you mean the model which wires dangling at the bonnet cover?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 62
  • azrai on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:21 am

I don’t think they will do better for the next 2nd half. it is because the Saga SV at RM34k already create much hype and the price is within the Viva and Myvi terrirtory. The booking as till yesterday already reach 12k with 5.5k already registered for the current month. You can see it just by passing by P2 showrooms. There are a lot of Viva and Myvi, while hardly can see any Alza. I think the Saga SV have eaten the Viva annd myvi market for the sake of the overpriced.

• azrai on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:10 am

Moreover, the 1st quarter of next year there will be Proton’s compact car debut. let see what will happened then.

• Low Budget on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:37 pm

I am going to ditch my existing Viva and buy Proton Saga SV soon. Many people think that Viva is a re-badge Daihatsu, well, they are all wrong, save for the engine and transmission parts, most of the other parts are local parts, my experience with the Viva is that the air con compressor ‘bocor’ during the 1st year and then the ‘cable set’ rosak in the 3rd year. The Service Center guy told me its quite common for the Viva ‘Cable Set’ rosak.

• azrai on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:16 pm

Even to those who think of Myvi SE 1.5 have a better option like the CKDed Honda Jazz just RM100 more in monthly installment now.

• Wah … now selling Honda for their master. Dulu bukan main condemn Honda. Now singing diff tune

• azrai on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:07 pm

…not only Honda…Suzuki Swift..Mitsubishi Mirage…so on and so fourth…

• Kenny on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:59 am

Hey Perodua, when are you going to upgrade the Myvi? It’s still the same as when it was released 9 years ago. Or will it be like the Kancil, no upgrades or improvements from launch till end of life 15 years later? You can only survive because of Bolehland’s distorted car policies, you know that?

• hmm, then i guess the introduction of S series is rather a commercial call.

not ‘in line’ with government janji dicapati…

• boring la perodua..8 years and still depending on the old model..if your’re truely an awesome car manufacturer, pls produce us new car la..uhuk..sori..pls ‘rebrand’ us a new car la…ini tak, myvi myvi myvi…

• axel_stig on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:20 pm

u think P2 will do R&D n produce new car meh?

• Ah Ho on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:40 am

Why should rebrand..honda never rebrand their Civic

• Low Budget on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:28 pm

So far Honda models not re-branding in Malaysia, but soon it will! The brand will be Proton Accord (or Perdana)

• so true, perodua = fake toyota n daihatsu hehehe..

• Gangnam Gaegeum on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:26 pm

lazy manufacturer..still relaxing in comfort zone just like Iswara and Satria era, why these people still lead 30% market share?

• Ah So on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:15 am

So…will now they focusing on hybrid /performance engine?