SPIED: A clearer look at the M’sian VW Golf GTI Mk7

VW_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Malaysia_003

Thanks to these pictures sent in by regular contributor Anol Alias, we can now have a closer look at the Malaysian-bound Volkswagen Golf GTI Mk7 that we first had a peek at a few days ago. Volkswagen Group Malaysia has hinted to us that ‘something sporty’ is coming at the end of August. Put the two and two together and we now know when this GTI will be launched.

UPDATE: The VW Golf GTI Mk7 is now available in Malaysia. Read our test drive report here.

As confirmed above, the local-spec Golf GTI Mk7 will wear the uprated 18-inch Austin wheels, a step above the base 17-inch Brooklyns and one below the rubber band-tyred 19-inch Santiagos seen on the first promotional pictures. The use of standard rear lamps instead of the snazzier smoked LED items that are included in other markets is a curious omission.

Hiding behind the big wheels are plain red brake callipers without ‘GTI’ lettering, denoting that this is a standard 220 PS GTI sans the optional Performance pack. The latter raises maximum power to 230 PS (torque stays at 350 Nm) and adds beefier brakes and an electronically controlled limited-slip differential. It won’t be available at launch, but may be introduced later on.

Peeking into the cabin, it looks like VGM is leaving very few boxes on the options list unticked. Top-spec 8.0-inch ‘Discover Pro’ navigation and radio system with integrated voice controls replace the local 1.4 TSI’s 5.8-inch ‘Composition Media’ unit. Black ‘Vienna’ leather upholstery is also present, along with ‘Cyclone’ black/grey trim panels on the dashboard and doors.

Chunky GTI sports steering with contrasting red stitching to match the bewinged seats take centre stage, and the foot pedals (just two of them, unfortunately) are now aluminium. You can just about make out the Dynamic Chassis Control (Driving Mode Selection) button by the six-speed DSG’s gear lever, as well as those for the auto start/stop, traction control and park distance control features.

From these pictures, it looks like only the keyless entry/push start button and sunroof options are left out of the local Golf GTI Mk7. If you were among those who thought that the Golf 1.4 TSI was under-specced (it’s really not, but it’s your prerogative), then perhaps this one will be up to your expectations.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• MAI Apprentice on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 155
    • Own a VW and I’ll never buy another VW in my life! 2 years old but feel like driving a 20 years old car! scary break down experience and the DSG scream everyday and the noise make me almost vomit!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 14
      • Only Use At Night Car on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:12 am

Ha ha ha. You hit the nail on the head. I think readers here must read previous post and their comments and they will stay away from VW far far away. VW Germany already admit on May 08, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white.

There is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner is inherently defective.

So, this car CANNOT be sold in Malaysia. Unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam. Truly Knight Rider (KITT)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 5
        • GT-Rider on Jul 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Pass me if you can…GT-R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Veyron-Rider on Jul 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

Pass me if you can…Bugatti Veyron

• veronsak on Jul 22, 2013 at 6:05 am

your small scale car toy lol

• Wisdom on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:14 am

Sorry a bit late for this DSG gearbox party!!
            Yeah!! shift it bro! shift it!

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 282
          • Crocodile Dundee on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:21 am

It does not matter which is good or which is bad. In the river of crocodiles, you cannot tell your kids there are few sections that are safe and crocodile free. You dare to swim in a river full of crocodiles but one or two section of the river is confirmed crocodile free?

• @Crocodile Dundee:

They better don’t buy a Toyota. Toyota admitted that their cars will turn over in curves (recall Toyota Harrier) or that their brakes will frequently don’t work (recall of Toyota Prius) ;)

• VW Death Machine on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Get ready to die when you use DSG. I read many forums berpuluh puluh people complain they suddenly lose power while overtaking. So, when you are trying to overtake a lori balak on our north south highway, you car lose power and you cannot make the overtake, and other side of road another lori balak head on with you,myou are dead bro. If not dead, you become vegetable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • stick shift on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Alternativly they can bring in the 6 speed manual gearbox. Cheaper, lighter and more fun!

• I have a MK 5 in manual. Loads of fun and wide grin when driving. Excellent car for all times especially in Malaysia. But VGM marketing people are dumb to only spec the car as they deem fit. They dont listen to anyone paying the cash out.

• Star Dust on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:22 am

KITT where are you, I need you
      -Michael, I need a tow truck

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 4
      • Michael Knight on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:28 am

Michael: “KITT where are you I need you. Its 9am and I have a meeting to go to”
        KITT: “Sorry Michael, I cannot come in the morning anymore to fetch you. My DSG only allows me to drive at night”

On another day….

Michael: “KITT please scan the area for any life forms in the building”
        KITT: “Michael I am doing a perimeter scan now and I detect 5 tow trucks heading towards me”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
        • Tow Truck Association on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:15 pm

We are looking forward to this car launch. VW cars are the tow truck association’s bread and butter. Without VW, we tow truck drivers sure bankrupt. Since VW cars being towed is so high volume, our association give 30% discount to all VW owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
          • Brayokmok on Jul 21, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Make sure the tow trucks are not from Volkswagen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • paparazi on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:35 am

could tied up with Bonus Link to accumulate Break down points for VW owners.

• Awesome fridge? Look everywhere, still the same old VW fridge.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
      • 5 Years or 3 Years? on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:11 pm

With all the DSG stories, RV of VW cars have dropped so much. Now, 2012 Passat can only get RM90k. Seems everybody also know the DSG scandal. Lagipun, VW Malaysia warranty ONLY 3 years. The additional to 5 years is Insurance. When the DSG kaput after 3 years, sure the insurance company tell you go to hell when you make a claim. So, better save now, coz a new DSG gear system cost about RM80,000.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 4
        • I hate VW on Jul 20, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Passat 90k? Where’s the dotted line?

• Ada Jie on Jul 21, 2013 at 10:07 am

Stop your bull. Show me the 2012 Passat selling for RM90K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
        • Sam Loo on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Yeah, for the D-Segment, Camry is still the king. No one dates to touch VW anymore.

For kimchi’s, their nighmarish after sales service will drive all potential used car buyers away. The only way out new kimchi buyers is trade them in at less than 50% RV within a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
        • where can i get a passat 2012 for RM90k…i want it now for Raya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
          • Joe Radzif on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:54 am

http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/62039/

• Joe Radzif ,Thats a 2007 year passat selling for rm90k….i tot someone mentioned a 2012 passat selling for 90K…where??

• _xXx_ on Jul 20, 2013 at 9:03 am

plunk in a 6MT GB n I will buy. Im ok if u call it old tech…

• Dont Trust Liars on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:50 am

Are all VW cars now known as Knight Rider? Is the official nickname for VW in Malaysia is Knight Rider?

Can VGM change their name to Knight Industries Two Thousand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Simon Templar on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Malaysians are dumb! Fullstop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
      • Yeah, just like Joe Razif here. He is showing a 6 year old car when we are talking about a 2012 model! Come on, use your brains la!

• habiz on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:47 am

why dumb? VW should give this car for free! why, because it’s not a car but junk! Always break down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Japanese Banana on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:33 pm

How come VW sales increased by 17% first 6 months of this year according to Malaysian Motor Sales? Car dealers and mechanics are only say the car selling very well. So why Paultan site people say bad things about this car? So who is telling the truth now? Very confused la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 86
      • Kereta Mayat on Jul 21, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Of course the dealers say the car selling very well… Especially the mechanics. You know why ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
        • I know why! Mechanics can make more money when the car breakdown frequently :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
    • Two Sen View on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:56 pm

I notice that a lot of the Proton and Naza sales people have started commenting here :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Crocodile Dundee on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:25 am

I don’t think so because Proton and Naza cater from a different market segment. I think everybody knows about the DSG scandals. Its on VW’s Facebook page.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:07 pm

TAILGATERS ANYONE….!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Toilet on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:20 pm

No wonder Malaysia is now behind Indonesia, Philippines and Thailand in growth. See how the Malaysians comment here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Liken on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:58 pm

You are right. Look at what happened to Malaysia in Apprentice Asia? All gone ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • penje on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:09 pm

well, i like this rear lamps better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Maserati on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Its an awesome car. But design is abit boring compared to a250 sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
  • lining merah sampai kedalam lampu, takde dah gti wannabe takboleh tiru lagi :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • staticx on Jul 20, 2013 at 2:46 am

simple.. tukar GTI headlamp kao tim la.. lol

• WaJib on Jul 20, 2013 at 9:50 am

Dun waste money buy Gti headlamp coz VW thing not cheap..Just go Brother’s tampal the red sticker on the headlamp. Das Auto…

• lepat on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:23 pm

boring design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • this car is fast..so what?..the gearbox will breakdown in a moment…ohwai~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 23
  • Johnny on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:37 pm

I prefer A250 for sure! Golf interior lose to A250.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Johnny on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Yeah the interior of the A250 is sick! But the interior of the MK7 Golf GTI isn’t too bad either. Both has its pros and cons. The A250’s center screen is a bit too small and looks slightly out of place, with not much buttons for quick navigation. Will have to see the GTI’s in the flesh to decide…and also….it cost might be cheaper than the Merc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • What Car UK review abt the Merc A class:

For The Mercedes-Benz A-Class is available with some strong and efficient engines, plus it looks stylish and resale values will be strong.

Against The ride is overly firm, yet most models handle poorly. It doesn’t feel as classy as an Audi A3 inside, and higher-spec models are pricey.

Mercedes-Benz A-Class Hatchback
        What Car? says 225stars
        The Mercedes A-Class looks great inside and out, but rivals are classier, better to drive and more refined, so it’s hard to recommend.

• Wharcar review on the Golf:

For The VW Golf is refined and comfortable, but also enjoyable to drive. Its cabin is well built and practical, and resale values are strong.

Against The entry-level engine doesn’t have a lot of power and the 1.4 petrol with cylinder shut-off is expensive. Lesser versions of the Golf have an unsophisticated rear suspension set-up.

Volkswagen Golf Hatchback
          What Car? says 555stars
          The Mk7 Volkswagen Golf is the best yet. Classy, refined and great to drive, it’s one of the very best small family cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Hmm, what UK praise the golf…no wonder there are lots of them on the streets in UK. Surprise to read that whatcar is not giving the Merc A class a good rating…even autocar mentioned its dual clutch gearbox is inferior than VW 6 speed dsg on the GTI…

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:47 pm

How much to just install keyless entry for M’sian spec? Now even B-segment car comes with it, stingy VW. And yet again VWM turn DEAF ear again…… WHERE IS THE MANUAL 6box????? Over 200K think everyone can afford? Why don’t offer Manual, cheaper by 6K better than nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:49 pm

You can indent a manual model with vgm at menara Volkswagen in bangsar……it does not make economical sense as majority will choose the dsg over the manual which frankly speaking is better than d manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • TSI owner on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Perhaps he can shift faster than Keichi Tsuchiya so he wants the manual. Even the drift king lose out in terms of shifting times to a DSG. Reliability issues aside, DSG is the future of auto-trans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
        • carnut on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:16 pm

DSG troubles mostly occur with the dry clutch version (so i heard from my workshop guy). GTI should come with the wet clutch which i think is ok. My DSG running strong for 6 years now. If i want to upgrade to mk7 this DSG thing is really not a deterrent for me. Its great but u must learn to adapt to it as it behaves different from torque convertor autos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 21
        • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Requiring Manual box doesn’t mean need shifting like Keichi Tsuchiya or does not make economical sense. Because is a CBU, unlike CKD whereby company need to balance overall profit. Plus driving any sport car not necessary need to “challenge” top speed, 0-100, etc…
          I am sure there are niche market for driver who prefer “Manual”. Yes DSG is future gearbox but since 80% of GTI world market offer Manual, why can’t offer here as well?
          My main objective is to ask VGM offer GTI Manual & not ALL VW models. Let us M’sian have a choice to choose. We are not BEGGARS “Nah! this is DSG only, you kenot have keyless, NO sunroof, NO Reverse Camera”. Want! take it, OR choose other brand!!!
          Read VWM fb, how many poor VW owners are like “ball” being kick from this SC to another. They only reply “PM your contact details, blah..blah…”
          To BeemerFreak & TSI owner bro, NO OFFEND but I am just voicing for more “choices”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
          • All our price are controlled by our MITI malaysia, they dont like VW to come on top of the market in Malaysia, so they increase the tax, they forcing all the car to be CKD so that can met the price, and they can dig some money, you see like other brand who join the CKD program, their price will be much better and spec will be high, that why you see the price is higher than other brand, is not VGM who giving this price

• BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Absolutely true. However the dsg in question here is the DQ250 set speed wet clutcher which does not have any problems so far but reliability issues should be alright since even the Japanese are trusting this technology with Honda introducing the super hybrid dual clutch transmission for the new jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 36
          • Dont Trust Liars on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:48 am

Does not matter whether wet or dry, the fact that VW lied for years denying that there was anything wrong with their DSG alone is enough for me to stay away from the brand. I won’t buy anything from a company that lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 48
          • Crocodile Dundee on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:29 am

You dare to swim a a river that someone tells you got no crocodiles but few km down the river got crocodiles ie some parts got crocodiles, some parts don’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 39
          • NissanCrazy on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Actually, its true. All cars use DSG nowadays and all DSG’s have teething problems just like CVTs and Auto Trans during the early days. A point to note is that other DSG’s by other car manufacturers also have problems. The reason VW is targeted is because they are the world’s largest car company that uses DSGs as the main gearbox tech. From waht i understand, VW changes any faulty DSG for free during the 5year warranty, so its similar to my Nissan which also suffers from CVT problems. So what exactly is everyone making noise about? Relax la, bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • lonelyobserve on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Manual transmission equipped continental cars need to have special orders, like super rare items.

• _xXx_ on Jul 20, 2013 at 9:06 am

some salesmen prefer to sit at a corner tokoking than entertaining u…

• lonelyobserve on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:09 pm

I understand that those ignorance by car dealers. Manual transmission is like on the phase being obsoleted in this country and we are those minority hardcore manual transmission lovers being neglected all the time.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:03 am

Support U all the way Bro “Manual kaki’s” hehehe…. But Megane 250 reli good in terms of “pushing” but if wanna excitement “type-R” still da best but don’t expect POWER push from FD2R. Anyway for us “minority” we can only hope, even grey dealers DO NOT import much these days!

• akula on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:33 pm

watch this manual lover! DSG shift faster…!!!!
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4HpD5K6Qws

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Yes DSG do shift faster, but you will miss the fun of shifting in manual. And when it comes to reliability, manual transmission may last forever if properly driven.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 20, 2013 at 10:56 am

Driving a sport car isn’t about which is faster or quicker around the lap, it’s the process that make you putting a smile on your face.

• droll on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:23 pm

EXACTLY. it’s not about being faster. it’s just about enjoying the process of shifting, clutching, de-clutching etc. that’s all.

some people like it old-skoool. nothing wrong with that.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jul 20, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Yeah BRO!! Ol Skool boyz. Quite a number of “sticky” fans here, feel so happie & proud. Have a nice weekend.

• Joe Radzif on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Long Live Manual GB!!!

btw, my drive is auto…

• Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:54 pm

‘Some’ doesn’t make it economically viable,at least in Msia with it’ endless traffic jam.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 20, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Quite a number of former pro racers in UK now doing car documentaries prefer manual transmission rather than dual clutch transmission. They all tease automated manual transmission and dual clutch transmission by saying flappy paddlers.

• Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:55 pm

See whether you still got that smile when you’re smoked by a rich 18 yr old college boy driving DSG Gti.

• This so call fulfill market needs? price affordable 220k something only ma(estimated). powerful? 220hp, not that bad. VW always giving a impression HP equal to the Price

• I think this time no one will complaint overprice, underpower, not good looking. because is carrying a VW logo. everyone love it, its affordable among German made and powerful. Who agree? lets meet sign order

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Kok Chi on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:37 pm

The A250 has a more exciting design. The diamond grille alone is lovely to look at.

Specs wise, GTI also loses to the A250. Looks like VW is going to lose this battle.

• Apekgog on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Improve reliability first la, how to get convince vw fixed the dry clutch dsg? Wait 2years to see? I will go with merc a250…retain value better

• teh tarik on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:42 pm

ppl told me it gonna sell around 180+.
    i think he’s mad. perhaps pressure from a200?
    anyone know the exact price tag?

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 20, 2013 at 1:42 am

Drooling if it’s true that it selling around rm188k. Thank you MercA200 for coming in Malaysia at the right time and moment.
      But if it’s selling at Gti mk6 price, sorry Vag , u will lose 80 percent of the hot hatch battle .
      To the promising Future gti owner, a difference of rm 20 k is nothing to them owning a better and faster Merc A250

• frenzyaustin on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:46 pm

If they sell at 180K, they probably killed their normal MK7 themselves. Price differ not a huge margin but overall package difference is very huge.

• boring design, yawn

• husam kumbang on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:57 am

cakap la apa pun…this car still can sell…
    especially to those anak2 tawkey…masuk private U..or mcik2/chikaro2 yg ada sponsor…kesian level2 GTI ni da sampai tahap orang x pandai psl kereta pon da boley bawak…kesian Beb!!!
    Tak yah laa citer pasal problem…korang beli2 la VW mahal2..last2 jadi org bodoh siang malam tgu kat SC..then kena tendang g SC lain…pasal stupid dry-clutch…
    A250 is gooood..but u can’t still run away from RS250..superbly awesome….hentak le camner pon RS250..still king or Nurburging….Golf-R pon x bley tapau!!!..(cumanya jd bodo sket laa time dlm jem klu own RS250..ngehehehe)
    Golf GTi = mcik2 40an = awek 20an ada sponnsor sugar daddy = anak towkay2 kaya masuk private U….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
    • ckp mcm org kampung..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • husam kumbang on Jul 21, 2013 at 11:12 am

mmg la ckp mcm org kampung, coz tak nak duit rugi mcm tu je lal lol….bengap la lu
        beli keter mahal2 pastu lepak SC lama2…

• u go back learn how to earn more money laa..got gov support also duno how to make full use of it..bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Balik kampung makan jagung dan main buah kuli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • David on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Why so many Proton sales people here ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
        • not salesman on Jul 20, 2013 at 8:03 pm

i didn’t read any, vw has different price level with proton. so why bother to sell here?

• WaJib on Jul 21, 2013 at 2:39 am

Takde salesman proton la.. Salesman proton hanya pergi forum perodua or Naza je…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Shame_Loo on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:17 am

Looks to me not much change in the design. Maybe I’m not the fan of VW Golf and not paying much attention on it. When I see it on the road, I can’t differentiate which gen it belongs to. Btw, between MK7 n A250, I’ll put my money on a Merc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
    • Exactly this is the reason why the resale value won’t drop that much when a new generation of the Golf comes out.

• Sam Loo on Jul 21, 2013 at 5:39 pm

That is why you will be always be labelled as a fake

• mk6 and mk7 are so identical except the headlights and tail lights.

• Mighty gtr35 on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:51 pm

There are no gti in my dictionary

• DSG Lover on Jul 20, 2013 at 1:19 pm

DSP BOOM! Gearbox fail again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
  • Ada Jie on Jul 20, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Say I have a wife and a son, do you think this car suitable for daily use?
    I am torn between BMW 316i, BMW 320i, Merz C200, Passat, and this new Golf GTI

• i’d say u get the camry. ppl here in paultan will finger down, but people on the road will not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Ada Jie on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Camry has been using the same old engine for THREE generations of Camry. Change exterior but engine is the same. Its a shame actually.

• Liken on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Same with VW. People here in Paultan will finger down also. But sales is high.

• WaJib on Jul 21, 2013 at 2:43 am

If u are apek.. then I strongly recommended u to choose Camry.. Its called apek with taste..

• frenzyaustin on Jul 20, 2013 at 6:20 pm

How about try the new Mazda 6.

• Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:45 pm

This is c segment boss,pls compare your mazda 6 to passat or its equilavent.

• Same old same old

• sudonano on Jul 20, 2013 at 5:16 pm

It will be interesting to see how this goes.

Judging by the TSi Golf 1.4, expect it to be uncomfortably close to the A Class. The old GTi was MYR209888 excluing insurance.

The thing is that, even if they keep the same price, the A250 Sport is 230k or so. And its a Merc. At that price, I think people will actually not mind paying the extra 20 odd k, after all they are putting down 210k on a family hatch. And it’s not just for the brand, the A class is a safer car, as it has PRE-SAFE, Collision Prevention, Attention Assist, and on the A250, high beam assist.

Unless VGM does some magic with the price, and give a guarantee of Merc level after sales and a guarantee their DCT is not going to give troubles, they are pretty much doomed really. And if they bring this in at 210k, how will they ever bring in the higher powered one with XDS?

Whatever happens, grab the popcorn, cause really, 2013 is the year of new car launches and interesting pricing.

• Tanah merah on Jul 20, 2013 at 8:34 pm

The standard version already has XDS+, It’s the performance version with differential locks that is really desirable though for normal driving probably can’t feel the diff

• hafriz, is it technically possible to have a manual or ordinary auto work with this TSI engine? DSG is just a big disgrace (big name, bigger trouble, biggest shame) in malaysia. but if the engine is with CVT or normal 5-speed auto/manual, maintenance wise VW can at least gain some face back…

• Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Why are you toking cock?Vw DSG has been copied by other sports car manufacturers.They have improved on its product.Going back to CVT/full auto is like throwing away your smart phone to use 1kg handphone.

• viosGT on Jul 22, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Vios is actually more reliable than cars using those high tech DSG. Even proton CVT is still better.

• Medic on Jul 23, 2013 at 9:02 am

Obviously you haven’t tried DSG yet..Vios is old tech liao..even the new model is coming out using the same engine/transmission…Dinosaur car for apek.

• viosGT on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:22 pm

I didn’t say it’s old or new but it is RELIABLE, understand?

• Vios & Camry 4 speed gears were back to an era when the Nokia 3210 was the rage.

• I hate VW on Jul 20, 2013 at 5:54 pm

They’s ve taken out the sunroof, no LED rear lights (I think Malaysia is the only country without the LEDs), high tech touch screen (beats the A Class hands down in this department) and 18″ (MK6 GTi 17″?). I read the prices should be the same, so anyone can do the math? Unless they push prices below 200k to match the A200, it’ll be tough for VW.

• teh tarik on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:15 pm

2013 year was interesting! lets wait for the launch of volvo v40. if price around the same. benefits the buyer. volvo offer better safety equipment :)

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 21, 2013 at 1:09 am

Any idea on whether the new Skoda vRS will be coming in? If so when?

• WaJib on Jul 21, 2013 at 2:49 am

Wira is still a wira la.. How about a Kancil turbo tapau a wira ahbeng…

• really hate to find many gti fans deemed this car as supercar. A 20 yr old wiravolution can tapau this even without dsg. Im not joking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • I hate on Jul 21, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Sour grapes ah?

• Medic on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Can wiralution gives you 12km/litre of mileage after the run?can it corner fast &stable as Gti?(e-diff).Can it ride comfortably to the malls without you causing your girlfriends implants to leak?Pea brain like yours,better you stick to your wiralution.

• “Sulphur in the gear oil and an inorganic heat stabiliser in the plastic parts (iodine) of the mechatronic unit can cause metallic surfaces to be attacked and to suffer from electrolytic corrosion, in connection with high air humidity and high outside temperatures. Conducting particles can then settle between the circuit paths of the control unit and could cause a short circuit. The subject of the recall is the DQ200 seven-speed DSG gearbox. Volkswagen also produces the DQ250 six-speed DSG and DQ500 seven-speed DSG which are not affected by this recall”

• Crocodile Dundee on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:27 am

You dare to swim in a river that parts of it got crocodiles but some parts got no crocodiles? You trust someone if someone tells you this part of the river is crocodile free but 3 km away in the same river got crocodiles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • bawakereta on Jul 22, 2013 at 8:05 am

The Volkswagen and Apple share same design philosophy, simple yet stunning for all its product and they make a few cosmetic changes or simply uograding the internal part where most people can’t see it. That is how the Volkswagen and Apple sell like hot cake. cakes. Believe me most of the Volkswagen owner share design preferences and they own an iPhone. True story.

• Garfield on Jul 23, 2013 at 7:34 am

It’s really interesting to read the comments here by people who rely on hearsay. GTI’s DSG are the 6-spd wet clutch. Whereas most of the ‘entry level’ VW’s sold here come with the 7-spd dry clutch, which is the culprit. I’m for one, really hoping that this market misinformation is driving the used VW price down. Look fwd to the time I can relatively afford a 4-yr old Passat CC (with 1-yr warranty intact) at half the original price

• 100% sokong! but consumers are getting more knowledgable la these days. peugeot used price quite stable now. ford also. golf GTI doesn’t show any trend of going down. citroen pulak nobody is selling. must be very good their ride. 7 years skoda price seems very good though

yes, i’m a cheapskate