BMW 4 Series M Performance previews upcoming M4

BMW 4 Series M Performance

The first images of the M Performance package-equipped BMW 4 Series have been uncovered. Add-ons include an aggressive-looking lower front bumper with bigger air intakes, side skirts, darkened chrome exterior trim and a new rear bumper with integrated diffuser and air extraction ducts. Mirror caps, boot spoiler and front splitter are carbon fibre.

The familiar interior features the distinctive M three-spoke steering wheel, this time bestowed with F1-style shift lights. We see carbon fibre and Alcantara on the steering wheel, dashboard and door pulls. There’ll also reportedly be more contoured seats to hold the driver even more firmly in place in the bends.

The M Performance package also brings about an increase in output, through software changes and new exhaust systems. The 420d gets a 16 hp and 40 Nm boost to 195 and 419 Nm of torque, 428i is up 27 hp and 40 Nm to 269 hp and 389 Nm of torque, and the king of the hill, the 435i, is 34 hp and 50 Nm richer for a total of 336 hp and 450 Nm of torque.

The M Performance-specced BMW 4 Series supposedly previews the upcoming BMW M4. Not surprising, since the M Performance range is only a step down from the full Monty, and is brought to you by M Division themselves. If this is the direction in which the legendary M3 Coupe‘s successor is heading, how not could M enthusiasts rejoice?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• venven81 on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:31 am

very menacing-looking. i think the M4 will be a killer machine!

• borer on Jul 22, 2013 at 2:31 pm

boring exterior….same front with f30, only rear is different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:21 am

its fitted with a different front bumper dude….so yes, it looks similar but actually different.
        F30 owners should be able to spot the difference

• Beetle Nut on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:48 am

Sex on wheels, sex on wheels…

• Joe Radzif on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:49 am

sekali imbas…
    tak nampak beza sangat siri yg mana-mana pun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • rajaGlobal on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:50 am

now that’s a performance package…not just bodykit and larger rims…

• shame_Loo on Jul 22, 2013 at 11:55 am

Great car.

• vwowner on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Hope this car will be sold in Msia….can consider one lahhh

• Nampak betul betul garang !!!

• nameshame on Jul 22, 2013 at 3:39 pm

wait till u see the price and maintanance..betul2 more garang..

• As long as I like it, I don’t care about price and maintenance. If you so worry about money get yourself a Viva.

• are you sure? so you are ready to vomit your own blood everytime it needs money

• Not all people poor like you, have to vomit own blood every time need money.

• frhstupid on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:32 pm

well, im sure even u buy kancil oso u will vomit blood because everytime ur life is full of bad luck. because no other ppl seems to have prob when they buy one of these.

• mecha on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:15 pm

bmw = banyak masuk workshop

• Jealous person will say “bmw = banyak masuk workshop”
            Real man will say “bmw = Best Man Win”

• frenzyaustin on Jul 22, 2013 at 1:24 pm

The looks is really good, can’t wait for M4 unveil for it’s full spec. RC-F vs M4, when the east meet west.

• Dr Kervokian on Jul 22, 2013 at 4:10 pm

er… M3 coupe?

• abcde on Jul 22, 2013 at 4:13 pm

isnt the steering wheel big?
    not sporty at all..but the shift indicator is nice

• basque on Jul 22, 2013 at 5:39 pm

big as lorry steering wheel lol

• Arcee on Jul 23, 2013 at 12:19 am

Steering is not only big, its also thick & works perfectly on my E90 Msport

Try applying full emergency brakes & change lanes to avoid an obstacle with a small steering. See which works better? A bigger or smaller steering wheel

• Good handling such as sport doesn’t need big steering. This car sure got bad one LOL

• Arcee on Jul 23, 2013 at 11:37 am

Actually, the steering is smaller than most similar size sedan cars but it aint as small as those on an F1 car (if small is defined as that)

• Waliaooo on Jul 22, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Waliaoooo, so many bad comments about this car. Big steering la, like lorry la, like 3series la, etc la. Cannot afford ah?

• 2million on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:47 pm

sure can afford but have to pour more money to buy more expensive one since driving this car like a lorry

• 2millionstupid on Jul 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

sure u can afford? judging from your statement u like to talk c*ck more than u can chew.

• 2million on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Cannnnn, who are you to say I cannot own one? You cannot say I have only one ride but several.

• zamer on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:02 pm

never under estimate people bro..
      i have more respect to low profile people nowadays since they dont have to show that they have a lot..

u never know a begger might own this car..its a true story

• sonje on Jul 23, 2013 at 4:20 am

Because the designers so lazy, only change the rear, the front still same with other series. Yawn.

• Arcee on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:34 am

Despite all the negative comments, I still think the 4 series looks menacing. With the 420d producing 419NM torque with a stock engine, imagine with tuning, how much more it can go & yet returns fantastic FC

• Robert on Jul 27, 2013 at 9:48 pm

I dont have words to describe how much i liked this M Performance version of 4-series :D all i can say is that i Loved it:) interior was perfect to:)

• fredo on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:22 am

nice shift indicator on the steering wheel…
    but i would personally prefer it to be on the dash…keep the steering wheel clean