Jaguar plans all-aluminium entry-level models for 2015

Jaguar_XJL_001

It comes to no one’s surprise to hear that Jaguar is developing a new entry-level model range. It’s losing traction next to other premium brands, and even within the Jaguar Land Rover group, it’s fast becoming an also-ran. JLR racked up a healthy 14% sales increase in the first half of this year, but less than 20% of the 210,190 vehicles were Coventry cats.

A new range of more affordable models is likely to be the best solution for the British brand, especially considering that Land Rover’s two best sellers are its cheaper Freelander and Range Rover Evoque models (affordable and cheaper here are all relative, of course).

Financial Times reports that Jaguar’s new entry-level range will arrive in 2015, consisting of a sedan, an estate and the brand’s first SUV/crossover. The compact sedan, rumoured to carry the XS moniker, will mount an attack on the BMW 3 Series first, with the rest to follow.

In an unprecedented step, however, it looks like Jaguar will be using an all-aluminium architecture (or at least use a large amount of the lightweight material) for its new range. That’s a big departure from the long-dead X-Type compact sedan that used a modified (and old) Ford Mondeo chassis – a move that won it few favours.

Jaguar is no stranger to utilising all-aluminium constructions, having already done so for two generation of the flagship XJ sedan (current model pictured here), as well as the XK and F-Type sports cars. Land Rover too has started to move away from conventional steel architectures, with the latest Range Rover and RR Sport built around all-aluminium monocoques.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Toe To Toe on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Why would anyone want to buy an Indian car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • well probably its far more better than made in China cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 24, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Dude, when I see your comment I just laugh.
      So can u afford to buy a India Jaguar XKR or a Land Rover Evoque in Malaysia ?? ( Sarcasm)
      If u can’t afford just admire quietly . PERIOD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Strange la this comment.
      Do the Royal Family possess Jaguar(s)?
      BTW, most Malaysians think that German brands are the most prestigeous instead of British.
      Are CKDs Malaysian better than CBUs Indian? Are we technologically more advanced than India? And what about the India people working attitude, do they makan roti canai when we drink teh tarik for 30 minutes at 10AM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • farizY on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:30 am

They’re owned by Indians, but they are very much British, just like our very own Lotus, own by DRB Hicom, but very much British.

• Finger to Middle Finger on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Yeah why would you, given that you could afford a Jaguar. And judging your comment, I’m sure you “know a lot” about Indians and their cars.

• nice interior..

• now everyone can own a jaaaaaaaaaag… well, maybe not everyone…

• It is a good approach by Jaguar to counter the 3 Series, the C-class and the A4.

Now let see if Maserati and Porsche are willing to enter the entry level segment as well.

• Jaybond on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:44 am

That means Lotus is a Malaysian car and Volvo is a Chinese car la?
    Nutty comments aside, Jaguar I think is a bit slow to carry on with their momentum that they have built in the last few years in offering customers excellent alternatives to German premium executive cars;missing an entry-level executive model in their line-up. And Jaguar must avoid the past mistake found in the X-type which was a FWD car.This time it should be a RWD car.

• Jimmy on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:49 pm

True, we want RWD.
      And, the Jaguar salepersons could not even differentiate between complements and critics.

• Tyler Durden on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:41 am

That thick dude driving the Jag….isn’t he Faisal Shah?