Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo Malaysian spec on oto.my

s4-8402-image_1

The last time we saw an ad for the upcoming 2013 Toyota Vios on oto.my, the ad listing suggested an October 2013 launch. This latest ad that we found while scouring the oto.my car classifieds site reveals that an October launch might just be right after all, as UMW Toyota appears to have done some kind of dealer presentation recently.

The oto.my ad shows two different Malaysian-spec cars. The white car has a sporty bodykit on it with TRD stickers on the side, so it must be the top of the line Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo spec. We also noticed daytime running lights below the fog lamps. The other grey Toyota Vios without a bodykit in the photo set has tape covering the badges on the rear, so we don’t know what spec it is. It must be either E or G grade variant, since it has proper alloy wheels.

Another difference noticed are the reflector headlamps on the grey car and the higher-spec projector headlamps on the white car. You can also see a Honda City with a Malaysian number plate in one of the photos parked next to the grey Vios, an obvious benchmark for the car, as the City is the biggest rival to the Vios in our market.

The Toyota Vios ad listing also suggests estimated pricing for the car – an RM80k to RM96k ballpark figure is given, with the RM96k price tag likely for the TRD Sportivo model. The ad also suggests a RM72k model, that could be a baseline J model. Five colour choices are listed – Quartz Brown Metallic, Attitude Black Metallic, Silver Metallic, Medium Silver Metallic, and Solid White.

If you’re interested in the new Vios, you can contact the sales person who posted the ad. Live gallery of the Thai-spec new Vios here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Maserati on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1116 Thumb down 2747
    • you serious bro? TRD version any faster? Bodykit only wor. Interior looks great..awful to touch in this new Vios. Fake leather stitching everywhere.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 315 Thumb down 56
      • policeman on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:35 pm

You touch ready?
        Fake leather stitching everywhere? Speedometer, roof upholstery, exhaust pipe also got fake leather stitching?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 131
        • Vader on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:41 am

Hey policemen, please do investigation before comment..
          so many review on this vios already, even some enthusiast went to Singapore to take a look on this vios, the conclusion is fake leather stitching for the interior.
          Unless UMW malaysia improve it to become genius leather.. but do you think umw will do so??? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
          • yes yes handsome vader, genius leather.. nice… a new kind of leather..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • Wisdom on Jul 25, 2013 at 4:11 pm

I foresee the doomsday for dugong. everybody is hating their dugong (especially designwise)and now selling off their car (for this or other better car.
            Supply > demand. Resale value plummet. Price will goes down no matter toyota or not.

For this newly launch model, they play it wrong again by recycling 4 speeder, which is proven lack of ratio and noisy on highways.
            5-7 year coming, when all cars using either CVT or at least 5 speeder, nobody will buy this 2ndhand vios, again RV affected.

I advice potential buyer not to be fool by its looks. Play our part to drag car prices down. We can do this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Master on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:30 pm

ya lorr……..Dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
        • _xXx_ on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Say whatever you like, bashers. Your words do not tell how good the car is, it is the figure, it’s the demand. Go google how many Vios sold todate. If you are still not convinced, stand on an overhead bridge on a busy road and count yourselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
          • blisse on Jul 26, 2013 at 2:29 am

popularity does not mean the best. it’s like when you waste your money to vote your fav contestant in reality programme. the winner by votes is not necessarily the best but they are the most popular one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 1
      • besset on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Only finishing, please give us the real thing. Faux stitching is too much. I can stand if it’s faux wood or faux carbon ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • glaze on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm

sir, you are comparing apple to orange

Cerato is segment C and should be compared to Civic/Altis

Price wise, you are comparing a smaller car with lesser feature at near to the price of a bigger car with more features

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 7
      • Maserati on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 280
        • federal on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Korean car basher are similar with p1 bashers. They bash without reasons. How can it be acceptable? I’ve tested both makers. Not really far by millions. Japs Bsegment cars like vios is nowhere to compare with C segment koreans like cerato. Feature wise already cerato wins. Why waste money on cars smaller, lesser comfirtable and lesser features like vios? Better buy cerato if non local is in mind. Or better settle down with local made preve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 9
        • Please Dont Talk Kok on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Hey Maserati…

1) U do know this piece of Vios JUNK only has 4 speed?? Which is totally obsolete in today’s automotive climate – And hope you realise now the bare minimal is Honda’s 5 speed, which is already pathetic enough.

2) And it is B segment whereas Cerato that you’re comparing with is one size above C segment??

How much SHIT for brains can one ??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 8
          • frosgate on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:34 pm

wait till other vios fans telling to the whole world that the TRD sticker can add another 50hp, lol

oh and we cannot believe the specs printed on paper. if so then they want us to believe that vios can tapau 5 series, lol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
          • childish vios on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:00 am

vios pn kene makan asap preve cfe la…walaweiii….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
          • extremeauto on Aug 08, 2013 at 11:07 pm

The vios’s 4th speed is proven since 2003 in durable, smooth, power, and fuel saver. 4th speedo is perfectly for 1.5 car, unless is CVT, no GB complain til now, city CVT problem. kia mazda ford 1.6 h.city 5th speed all makan FC then 4th speed, so why change ?
            not most of u think the more gear can give u more fuel saving is wrong, as we know the 1st gear ratio and the 4th gear ratio is almost same to the 6 speed GB, the extra 2 gear is making more weight in the GB to the engine, it cant help to save fuel but slash more engine power.
            think it… why Now H.city 5speed but the engine need upgraded to 120ps, because GB weight increased, and higher hp consume more.. so H.city save in HWay not in town.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • this Maserati guy must be a Toyota salesman.. I don’t care what class you compare it to, the current vios is the worse car in the 50k to 100k range by far. doing an apple to apple comparison it is on a different planet to the city. it is closer in terms of performace to the saga than the city. people only buy it because of the supposed resale value and good trade in prices that Toyota gives for the old cars.

• you could have saved so much time by just commenting that you are a Toyota salesperson :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 6
      • Maserati on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 1957
        • Sam Loo on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:20 pm

As i always said before, this car will set another new high resale value record. I feel so proud of it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 92
          • Vader on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:46 am

emm.. what is your great contribution for the RV on the Toyota car in Malaysia to make you feel so proud! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • Shame on Toyota with “consumer r idiots"specifications for the new vios. im not proud of what this car will achieve, but without a doubt it’s going to chalk up a HUGE number of sales. The koreans need probably atleast another decade or so to prove themselves in terms of reliability, (regardless of how good the specs are ), only then they will be well accepted as toyota. They have to go thru the journey of what toyota had gone thru…theres no shortcut (but they can fast forward it a little).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Aaron on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Childish Toyota Salesperson double confirmed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • WallaceLimPK on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm

im driving a TRD vios, is nothing different from the J E G spec, even the new vios will be the same, change face-lit only wor, even interior add in the push start system, modify outside also can la….the vios is very usual , just like taxi in malaysia LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 3
    • John Tan on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:48 pm

I drive a Vios. However, I find ur comments laughable. Vios is good but not really fanstanstic, and Korean car not junk. Pls talk facts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 6
    • abahko on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:53 pm

so pro! judging based on photo, yet to know it is much better than anything compared. obviously a know nothing fanboy. thumbs down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
      • It seems he has mastered the dark art of refreshing the page and liking his own comments. I don’t believe there are 100+ insane ppl will be in paultan’s comment sect. My dad use to say self appraise is an international disgrace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
        • flat_tire on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:13 pm

there’s no dark art or black magic or whatever.. just using auto-like to make those numbers jump into the hundreds..

• i_swear on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Of course he knew. As the engine, gearbox and chasis is relatively same (have been used for more than 7 years for god sake and UMW, you still sell these craps to us?) as previous gen.

So no need to sit on the car if you driven the old model as nothing changes except the exterior.

• protonotsuck on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:44 pm

Yes only judging on pic, they can give ‘facts’. Remember the spot welding on preve door went viral last time? Either they knew nothing about welding or just went bullshitting about it.

• With the forte replacement has move more upmarket in the form of the Cerato the Japanese B seg cars has a better breathing space. But Koreans car are not junk, they never were since 05′. They’ve steadily gain popularity and support to be on par with the Japanese. I usually don’t defend Korean cars as there are far too many of the commenters doing just that and to the point that Korean cars are just overhype.

The Cerato is better than the corolla in everyway on paper, the interior feels snug and safe with rather good materials all round. Design and looks is subjective, it’s still a great design and better than the Japanese but I don’t believe is a Huge leap forward like some believe, Probably because i don’t have Peter schereyer manikin on an altar in my house. Granted the Korean does have a good collection of great design but there are some I question about the hype, usually Hyundais . The Japanese seems to have nothing but fuglys, but I don’t see how the Camry looks terrible, the CRZ still has edgy looks and this Vios and City(esp the FL) is not ugly by any stretch of my imagination.

I write this because I really want people to show moderation and be unbiased. To Maserati, I know Japanese cars are good, hack my life is filed with memories of them, but they have their weak points as some have obviously pointed out. And to all the countless K-cars fanatics, Korean cars don’t descend from the gods, that Kia Optima K5 ad was done in a studio, they still have their weak point.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1811 Thumb down 181
      • frenzyaustin on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Actually, what I know the K-Fans here are not really K-Fans but J-Haters. To be honest, I, myself are a J-Fans. Not any T/H/N blind supporter but support the good one, criticize the bad one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Haha, seems like someone performed some furious refreshing to poorly rate my comment. Anyways that’s what I’am afraid of actually. That all this T/H bashing actually touches something much more sensitive.

• notvioshater on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:28 pm

I feel sorry for you. Previously Aero was their victim. What did they want I don’t know. Is that a sin to talk the truth even it hurts much? Proton is not that bad, cerato is not that bad too and vios is Not that good. Sigh.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Definitely la, you pissed off Vios fanatic and J-Hater at the same time.

• To notvioshater:
            There was a saying at Jalopnik, being a hater is a stressful full time job. This is the Internet where people take pleasure enjoying every little possible humiliation to a comment the they’d dislike after a stressful day, in this case is watching my comment being blocked. The comment section is a place where people express not only opinions but also emotion, if I say a J/K cars suck, surely an individual will be pissed. Not just here but everywhere else on the net. Facts and stats can’t beat raw page-refreshing-dislike for satisfaction. I’ll just have to suck it up and move on.
            To frenzyaustin:
            Yeah it occurred to me that before I hit the submit button. But than again this is a comment section and I felt a need to comment to express my opinion(after all this is the Internet), partly due to the fact I was than waiting for the traffic to subside before proceeding home and have nothing better to do.

• notvioshater on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:23 pm

i don’t hate vios but overrating it to C or D segment car quality is totally ABSURD and NUT

• -off topic-
        Honestly, to whoever that kept re-liking my comments back up, thanks but it isn’t really necessary. I just hope that Paultan team can do something about this rather flawed like/dislike system.

• sp33d3mon on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Jeez guys, can’t you all see he’s being sarcastic there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • yangh on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Oh come on. Who, maserati? He’s blind follower of japs. Give him any japs he will support it no matter it has archaic dinasour age engine or decades 4 gears he will still praise it like no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • dugong on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:15 pm

this maserati has always been a toyota worshiper aka salesman. no way he was sarcastic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
      • ram ram pisang on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:32 am

better use nick vios rather than maserati

• Cybermaster98 on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Well its clear that you havent test driven the Cerato then. Better luck with better stories next time bro. YAWN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Jonathan Lee on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Well, let’s look at the facts.

The Cerato is 200 kg heavier, but has twenty more horsepower and has a six-speed auto. Sorry, but the Vios doesn’t stand a chance.

Quoted 0-100 km/h
      Vios: 12 seconds
      Forte 1.6: 11.6 seconds

Quoted top speed
      Vios: 170 km/h
      Forte 1.6: 195 km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
      • meng meng on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Than fuel comsumtion?
        Fuel used / power, who win?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Jonathan Lee on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Difference in fuel consumption between the two is almost negligible.

Fuel consumption (combined)
          Forte 6.8 l/100km
          Vios 6.3 l/100km

As for which one wins, well, that’s up to you to decide. Are you willing to sacrifice slightly better acceleration and a quieter, more refined highway experience (more ratios = lower revs) for slightly better fuel economy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
          • frenzyaustin on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:18 pm

But got one thing Cerato can’t beat Vios is reliability, parts toughness.
            Nearly all Toyota driver I know drive their car like a maniac. Their right foot heavy as iron and engine rev to max everytime. And only Thai Toyota can stand abuse like that. If they managed to use new D-4S engine and 6 speed/CVT gearbox, I wonder if it will stand those beating like Thai car did? And when those heavy foot broke down their GB or engine, they sure complain like hell “Toyota don’t has the quality used to be….etc” and therefore affect their sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
          • Jonathan Lee on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Well, that’s a slightly ridiculous assumption to make, considering the Cerato has only just been launched.

This isn’t the ’90s or the early 2000s when Toyotas were vastly more reliable than their competitors. Now it’s much more closely matched, to the point where the sheer refinement and performance of the other cars far outweigh the little advantage in reliability the Vios has.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:05 am

But the major component of this car haven’t change since the 2000. So I think it will live up the name too.

• Master on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:34 pm

the same also…still dugong

• Drust on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:31 pm

OMG…dont make me laugh la. See picture already know the car is awesome lagi say TRD version is lagi power! Everyboy know TRD is just addition of body kit and leather seat, what the big difference bro? Is not like Golf TSI vs. Golf GTI. Not to say this new Vios is bad. I do like the front design and is totally not like their previous design concept. So if want to goreng pun kena goreng betul betul mah…

Please talk facts and dont just label Korean car aa a piece of junk or bullshit. They already improved alot in this few years. Bagi la chance sikit…dont make Kia brand bad la…later my Forte 2nd hand value jatuh lo…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • Oh wow that TRD is freaking cool! oh well forget about the Korean Cerato…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • Aaron on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Seriously? I doubt where the you get your 568 likes? Performance definitely better than Cerato? That’s very doubtful too…

• Maserati's boss on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:28 pm

This is the awesomenest car that the world has been waiting for this whole century. Especially the TRD version. Its gonna teach the BMW M5 and LS460 a lesson in life. Performance will definitely be better than Bugatti Veyron and Mclaren P1 as usual since Jap engines are the best in the universe.

Besides, the interior quality of this new Vios looks and feels better than Rolls Royce Phantom. I test drove the Bentley Mulsanne recently and boy its a total rip off. Its interior is totally bullshit.

Good riddance to all these junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
      • JeremyNg on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:20 am

TopGear will agreed with you about the Bentley Mulsanne how bad is that car is !! If you noe what I mean :p

• Yohan on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Dude … get it right , not TRD, TRD SPORTIVO … for those who cant afford TRD stuff

• THE MOST DISLIKES IN PAULTAN’S HISTORY! BRAVO!

• Just imagine how free is all these korean junk salesman, they are paid to click dislike button. No wonder korean junk sales in low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Kuinosan on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:35 am

Why are you always so sore about Korean cars??? You sound like you know sh*t about cars, coz all you have implanted in that tiny brain of yours is Japanese cars are the best in the world… even when they continue to use their Jurassic era engines and 4speed gearboxes??? Worst of all is the decision to still use the 4speed gearboxes which is a thing of the past… But you choose to continue to rave about it..jeez! You should go see a shrink about your anti Korean cars syndrome, maybe then you will realize how dumb you have been all this while criticizing what is now a new major player (Hyundai and Kia) ain the world auto industry. The Koreans are now on par if not ahead of the Japs in terms of design and engine/gearbox technologies. For all you know, the shrink that you are about to visit might be driving a Korean car too! Haa..haa..ha! Good luck with your anti Korean car syndrome though!!

• Hello, the engine of new vios is the same that they use in old vios u idiot, so faster? no way…

• 2000 over thumbs down? haha.. this got to be real.
      Look, Proton, this is how people do it. Even in blog you all also lose out.

Anyway, comparing a Vios with a C-segment car is not fair. Korean cars are getting a lot better. You think you are comparing with Preve meh?

• youbodok on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:31 pm

preve is c segment, and i remember you want to tell the metal proton use. it got 5 star ancap safety rating. so what’s the answer?

• All us know proton uses lousy metal. Who cares if you name it All Spark ka.. Jaeger ka… kryptonic ka..
          The interesting part is that crap cannot sell. Kakaka

• youbodok on Jul 26, 2013 at 2:18 am

yes, that’s it. then tell to everybody world that all the results in ncap safety rating are INVALID that is by one genius amoi here, lol. you make yourself seen [urely stupid, sorry to say.

at the end of the day, you are living in denial. pity.

• derail on Jul 26, 2013 at 4:24 am

@Amoi
            I suggest you to go to psychiatrist ASAP. You are getting a retard and twisted mind. You suggested lousy metal but safe one, WTH. I believe you have tin milo car in your stable hahahahaha.

• If you can have flx+ to cover that 1 star saga, what other crap you won’t do? After all proton is well known for giving crappy quality cars to Malaysians compared to export models.

• is this a new record set up for highest number of dislike? 2k plus?

• underskinned on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:40 am

The most thumb downs I’ve ever seen. You’ve just reached new heights!

• Akira on Jul 25, 2013 at 11:47 am

Fuh… 2558 dislikes

• OMG…no more Dugong face….now look like Arowana face… look garang…i like the design. Good job TOYOTA.

• _xXx_ on Jul 25, 2013 at 4:39 pm

some Korean car salesman really got not sale. He can sit there and click dislike button for whole day! incredible…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • guysR on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:32 pm

keep the comments to yourself, nobody will believe you in here. pity.

• Xefron on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:17 pm

cool!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
  • Toe To Toe on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:23 pm

How’s the resale value of this car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 13
  • From a very honest and personal opinion, I like the look of the TRD Vios, it looks kinda awesome and I dare say, almost Cerato good. RM96k is typical Toyota(read UMW stingy pricing)pricing for the TRD but the thing that caught my eye is this, ignoring keyless start, ignoring GPS, is that Electronic Stability Program I see on the spec list? On a Vios? Is that a Typo?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 347 Thumb down 3
    • sudonano on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Exactly! I was a bit shocked to see ESP there too.

But the thing is, the Medium Silver Metallic (it’s not grey) one with the tapes on the lid of the boot has an 8 spoke alloy wheel. Look at the picture of the white one, next to it there is a brown one too, which has a different design alloy wheel. I’d reckon that is G spec as it even has chrome door handles (usually denoting the higher spec in Toyota), while on the medium silver it has body coloured handles,so i’d reckon that is the E spec. Unless they have G and G Limited like now?

• It’s certainly great news if the Vios comes in with ESP but I doubt the J spec will get it. Than again with the Rio and recently launch Jazz CKD already have ESP and are right around the vios pricing ballpark you’ll never know. If the J does, by a miracle from the heavens, come with VSC you can certainly dismiss the Fugly Almera as a choice.

I’am kinda worried as I bet with someone that the Vios won’t come to Malaysia any different than the one sold in Thailand(no VSC). And I remembered someone in the comment section said he’ll change his gravatar to a pic of justina bieber if the Vios does come with ESP.

• tokmoh on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:01 am

Fufufufu, interesting!! Is umw really going to do the unthinkable and fit it with a pretty expensive safety feature? What a surprising twist we have here!!

Will everybody get to see me with justin bieber gravatar, or i shall remain corrected this vios won’t come with ESP/VSC? Gotta wait n see.

Meanwhile proton said they won’t reduce preve’s price, well i think they should, or have to, pretty soon

• bug-killer on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:43 am

I don’t care if you don’t change it. I believe it’s only fitted in highest variant aka TRD. It won’t be in any way being standard-fitted to all variants. Trust me.

• sudonano on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:51 am

Well, if it really has VSC, then UMW for once has actually “moved forward”. And the Almari will become an invalid argument in this segment. Remember the famous ETCM line in reply to single airbag?

“According to Nissan, the reason why this grade has only one airbag is due the chassis’ rigidity, which is enough to withstand front and side collision. The E is also meant to be the lowest grade, hence the omission of the front passenger airbag also means saving a few more Ringgit.”

• damn that tail light! It’s burning my eyes

• kimchi on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:38 pm

bla bla bla…rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Already launched in next-door singapore few months ago alongside the pretty cool Auris (which we msian will not get i dunno why). I wonder why it takes till october for it to launch here. But then again, Im not that excited about it.

• Singapore import from Thailand. That is why can launch earlier. Msian Vios is locally assembled is Shah Alam.

• Auris is not only available available in 1st world country? Why Singapore can…..oops, Singapore is a 1st world country already.

• kadajawi on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Actually the regular version seems to be better looking.

Benchmarking the car against the old City that should be replaced sooner or later doesn’t sound like the best idea. There are better cars out there these days.

As for RV… just look at the Jazz and how that tanked. Spent 115k a few years ago, now you’ll be glad to get 60k. Anything can happen. This car can have good RV, it can have horrible RV. It can’t be predicted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Jonathan Lee on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:04 pm

The Vios already has less performance for the same fuel economy as the current City. I can’t even begin to imagine how it’s going to fare against the next one. Honda isn’t one to skimp on performance and fuel economy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 235 Thumb down 1
    • Kelvin on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:35 pm

I just bought a City, like it not it will be replaced next year for sure. Sure Toyota will benchmarking with City, it is one of VIOS bigger rival with better power.

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:52 pm

New vios look fierce & fast, definitely sell fast.
    Main point -does it travel and go fast (Sarcasm)

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 24, 2013 at 5:53 pm

I’m sorry, but that TRD nonsense just looks absolutely awful. They’ve managed to make a bodykit that’s worse than the one on the current TRD Vios. This isn’t how you should be “moving forwards”, even though the car itself looks miles better than the current one.

Seriously, guys, tell me, why do people here lap this stuff up? Why are people paying close to RM100k for a skirted B-segment saloon sitting on casters?

The car itself is also a little worrying to me. It’s still going to be saddled with the same 1.5-litre engine and four speed auto they’ve been using since the middle ages. It’s not a bad engine, but it’s just getting outpaced by pretty much every competitor left, right and centre, neither excelling at performance nor fuel economy. If the next Honda City is going to wade into battle with an Earth Dreams engine and that seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox introduced in the new Fit, they’ve had it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • kitolo on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:52 pm

design is subjective, i personally think that it looks freaking awesome. i think toyota really did a good job in the design department this time. Oh well everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Same gearbox and engine so what? the engine is proven durability strong, guess what i have a vios 2003 till now, hardly service the bugger, daily abuse revving up to 6k and it still starts without problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Jonathan Lee on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:12 am

To be fair, I do think that the base car (the grey one) looks alright (front is quite pretty, back is meh). It’s the bodykit I take issue with. Yes, design is subjective, but the line has to be drawn somewhere.

The kit makes the Vios look heavy and ungainly, and it commits the cardinal sin of making the wheels look comically small (even though they’re the same size as the other models). The “must-have” strip of LEDs sit forlornly in the corner, looking like an afterthought. And they’re charging nearly RM100k for this? That’s a lot of money for something this small.

I know there are people here who like this sort of thing (judging by the number of TRD Sportivo models I see on the road these days), but is it seriously worth the RM5-6k Toyota are inevitably going to charge over the G model (which has exactly the same specs minus the bodykit)?

As for reliability, well, it’s not like its competitors are Alfa Romeos, are they? It’s hard to justify what little advantage Toyota has in terms of reliability when the others are just so much nicer to drive. Especially when its competitors are due for refreshments or replacement soon (the Fiesta may be getting the 1.0 EcoBoost engine in August, while the City is due in a year with tech shared with the new Jazz).

• Again will be a hot cake seller in Malaysia !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Design : Passed, quite good actually
    Performance: Fail
    Spec: Fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Design improve cum with T badge in Malaysia already sell like hot cake. No need improve on safety nor performance. Toyota salesman just seat over there business will come itself automatically.

• revery on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:58 pm

People look at badge. Toyota is known as reliable brand. Look is second thng, even fugly dugong sold like hot cakes. Specs are third, ex safety, handling, nvh etc. So just wait for its result. Sorry i’m not one of those supporters. Price wise i would choose preve hatch anytime as i don”t look much at badge. Better go for real world performance, not those overrated that dont give any added performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • The Honda City actually managed to overtake Vios on the sales chart for a couple of months a few years ago before Toyota resorted to pricing war by introducing the basic J spec.

An increase of ‘only’ at least RM5k for what is essentially a reskin, no wonder Toyota fanboys are getting so excited. Sorry, I am just not one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Supra 1.5jz on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:16 pm

TOYOTA – “Moving Awkward”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • This is the first time i actually like Vios.. The previous versions are all craps!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Felix on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Yep after all Vios is still better in my opinion, except the handling is a bit dull… Suspension and durability are the best. My City is like a Disco room especially for bad road conditions and bumpers… I’ll go for Vios as my next car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • frenzyaustin on Jul 24, 2013 at 6:41 pm

If new City follow the spec of new Jazz/Fit? This not so new Vios stand no chance against it. But some major problem of this car is actually sorted out. No more WTF design and now just not good design. Useless middle speedometer is finally placed where it should belong. But sure it will sell like it never ends in Malaysia.

• Look likes Nissan Almera sales will going to ‘tapau’ by vios very soon!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
  • John Tan on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:01 pm

ESP??? Finally… A great news to Toyota Vios lover. Esp Maserati? He have to be thankful to Korean car. They are the one who make UMW bringing ESP into this B segment car.

• chikaro on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 250
  • Arise on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Surely the new Vios will do very well. It is a seller by the looks and specs alone. Well done once again Toyota for your achievement. Reliability, cheaper maintenance in the long run, sits five, good resale value, easy ownership. What else do you want in M’sian market from a car ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 240 Thumb down 13
  • Ada Jie on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:14 pm

more cosmetic changes,still using same old engine. Just before new model comes out, old model will have Great Malaysia Sale, just get old Vios.
    Same engine, same 4 gears with new Vios.

• Plus+ on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:15 pm

i think having EPS(electronic power steering) more possible then having a ESP/(VSC)…

• Fuel Cell Phone on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:12 am

Yup, can’t seem to find ESP from the specsheet on Thai and Singaland Twebsites.

• Julian on Jul 24, 2013 at 7:47 pm

I know why maseratti is so pissed at cerato because he just bought one last week. lol

• truman6 on Jul 24, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Not saying this new vios is bad, but the design looks nicer than current instead..

But i’m not sure why some ppl here seems like assuming this new vios is a god-like of cars..win the design & power of Cerato a thousand miles? by just looking at papers & internet photo?

Test drive or get to look at the real car 1st lar before judging..DON’T BE A SINGELINGAM HERE…

i don’t mean cerato sure win this new vios, but still, we not 100% know if this vios is as good as the pic shown..

These few years lately, i admit that korean cars are quite updated & improved in terms of design, etc..well, at least they’re not stingy of installing a reverse camera for forte, which almost more or less the same price tag with vios…but toyota? well…100 years never change.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 0
  • i drive a vios and most probably will buy cerato or honda city next year. But if vios trd comes with 1.8 dual vvti sure i will book it end of this year heheh

• Kelvin on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:42 pm

You rich lo, upgrade VIOS to VIOS.

• kitolo on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:52 pm

if 1.8 then it will be corolla altis la. different segment.

• dugong on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:58 pm

vios buyers are not only rich but they all failed badly in maths. Paying close to 100k for ancient 4 speed auto n junkyard engine. A saga SV is better car than vios dugong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Jonathan Lee on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:11 am

“But if vios trd comes with 1.8 dual vvti sure i will book it end of this year heheh”

Well, tough luck.

• junker on Jul 26, 2013 at 2:23 am

1.8l is territory for c segment car like altis, civic, sentra/sylphy. b segment car mostly get engine till 1.5/1.6l only.

• viosIsTheBest on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:00 pm

who cares is ancient stuff, I know Vios is using old engine, old gearbox, bad handling, lousy interior, pretty sub par safety feature, arguably bad exterior etc… but look at the bright side, it has good resale value, good fuel efficiency, reliable engine and gearbox which most of the car manufacturer cant beats….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • i am the owner of Cerato 1.6, drove a week… i love this car more and more…. really dont look down korean car! b4 that… i am japan cars surporter but now a days, i totaly awake! Cerato nice design,engine smooth and really an advance tech car! please la…vios wont beat Cerato ok….new altis maybe! hello ( Maserati )… dont judge things like u pang sai laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • VIOS TRD ,ah beng car…

• Libralcl on Jul 24, 2013 at 9:44 pm

C-segment and B-segment has huge differences besides from the brochure that we can read. So please if you guys wanted to compare a different together just because of the price tag please do more research before comment. The automotive industries has the cars separated to segments has their reason and standard to meet. Ok back to this new vios. The looks and features are not bad for me but the pricing and tech offers is a turn down for me.

• polo Saga on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Freaking Ugly!!!

• exVios owner on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:22 pm

OMG! the whole article did not mention anything about Korean cars. There is no need to bash others because of inferiority complex.

• Looks like Toyota is going all out for this 1. Lets see how much market share they can get compared to the CKD Honda Jazz….. 72k for 2 previous generation engine, gearbox and manual? Rm74k for Jazz auto sounds better….

But then, it’s a Toyota, so wouldn’t worry resale value

• light 1.5 car compared to bigger 1.6 car, which one has a good feel of driving?

• smokey on Jul 24, 2013 at 10:50 pm

96k just for a normal b segment car with body kit…u all must have failed maths

• ram ram pisang on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:35 am

plus 3k get c segment with style, specs and also new launched…korea also from asia what?

• Johnny on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:16 pm

My Preve can smoke this like nothing….!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • nabill on Jul 24, 2013 at 11:44 pm

at the end of the day don’t forget….1.5cc and a 4 speed auto

• after experiencing 1.6 turbo at wider track and longer wheelbase with disc all round, at lesser amount of money. show me how good the plastic quality, how how rattle-less it is, simply a light car with 1.5 engine cant fulfill the excitement of driving. moreover it feels less assuring at high.
    BIG SORRY for vios.

• gawky styling.
    look at the rear lamp.
    and overdosed body-kits,

• phahmeen on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:08 am

Been driving this in thailand for the past few months… it still VIOS..nothing to shout about.

• Vince on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:26 am

yay, I can get the old vios with cheap price very soon, anyway it is the same car but just look different..

may be a ckd jazz or full spec almera instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • tycoon88 on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:27 am

I really would like to see if Vios can regain itz lead as Malaysia’s best selling non-national now claimed by Nissan Almera. It used to be Vios for as long as I cud remember but after Almera was launched, it grabbed the crown from Vios.

It gonna be a test of esthetics (2013 Vios) vs. value for $ (Almera). Almera top of the line IMPUL specs is slightly above RM 80K and I bet the Vios TRD Sportivo specs will be topping RM 96K like the OTO advert shows.

Letz wait n c, shall we…it’ll b interesting 2 watch!

• Crasher on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:31 am

The new Vios looks great, but it needs be a lot more competitive spec…

• yoto-cus on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:31 am

Those accessories only tarnish the good image of TRD. Only for make-up/grooming purpose, it’s not functional like those tunnel-tested ones from R3.

• nobby on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:39 am

hi, noob here. anybody here can confirm whether it comes with EBD, BA, TC and hill-assist thingy?

• Kuinosan on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:55 am

The standard version look way better than the so called reTaRD Sportivo model… What I fail to comprehend is the decision by Toyota to continue to use the Jurassic era 1.5 litre engine and 4speed gearbox??? Looks like Toyota is still short changing it’s loyal customers and I foresee them to continue this unethical practice as long as their cars continue to sell. Dear loyal Toyota fans, please wake up and stop buying these inferior cars. Maybe then, will they(Toyota) start offering better value vehicles that come with the latest technologies that are in sync with the times.

• flying car on Jul 25, 2013 at 5:26 am

Another flying car!!!!
    Buy this car if u want to feel how is it like to ‘fly’ in a car. This is the future man!!
    *cough. .cough.. fiest
    a sedan is cheaper and has more safety equipment. ..cough. .cough..but can’t fly..cough*

Korean cars have been accepted and well recognised overseas. For example, the Hyundai i20 in europe…and Kio Optima in the US. Both are well accepted.

I wouldn’t spend my money on an old tech cars even if it has new skin.

• Kanina on Jul 25, 2013 at 6:21 am

this car is ugly and the engine spec is a decade old. But it s gonna be a hot cake. Selling 2500 unit per month can any Koreans sedan beat this dugong? I cut my lanchow if any Kia can sell more than 400 unit per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • deftones on Jul 25, 2013 at 6:50 am

Looks like preve. Expensive too, i would still consider if the price tag between 50-70k. :P

• Dru-Zod on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:48 pm

I think Preve is a better looking car. However, we won’t get cheaper foreign cars because we need to PROTECT our so called national car Proton.

• so what, even china and japs also have their kind of protection

• Dru-Zod on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:19 pm

China & Japs don’t have extreme protection like ours until the foreign makers refuse to set up their regional manufacturing hub here costing us thousands of jobs and billions in investment. They’d rather go to a flooding place up north and build some more manufacturing plants rather than come to our country. Wonder why??? PROTON

• crane on Jul 26, 2013 at 2:12 am

foreign manufacturers want maximse their profit by the difference of the cost of labour, currency value, etc. they give you money for short term, transfer of knowledge is not under their shoulders. if something happens to that country, say war they will fly away to another one. it’s just beneficial for short time, i long term, nation won’t get as much as to produce own products. it’s capitalism anyway.

• Mamat on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:42 am

eaw! look at the rims ~ so tiny & awful

• kadajawa on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:51 am

Design wise, the Vios J looks much better than Preve CFE (although both similar price range RM72-74K)

• neemfa on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:02 am

Them salesperson just tick every option for the advertisement.. I doubt the car comes with ESP and GPS as default.. Toyota will only offer the DVD-AVN as optional item.

• xflow on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:14 am

looking at the side profile, the wheelbase and the track looks very similar with current Dugong..so Toyota just chop front, chop rear and wallah..The New Vios!!

A good money spinner for them. Be a good consumer and support safer car and new tech.

• Alex Chan on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:40 am

the best have been reveal!,,the BEST design of all cars..with the BEST TRD handling, can anytime smoke a cerato..not even an europe car can match its realibility and performance..simply the best maa..

u kenot afford TOYOTA meh?..work harder and remember to vote DAP for cheap cheap car..

RESALE VALUE oso very good one!..u guys better go buy fast fast,,even current vios is very hot selling one..don believe?..u can uses google and mudah to search..hot selling one..confirm!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • gOOsh on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:53 am

in malaysia, this car is overpriced… period…

• izack04 on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:08 am

For me, this vios is better designed than its predesessor. In term of current vios, the car is good to drive because of its has slightly low revs to save fuel even thou have 4 speed auto. So you wont bother to see fuel gauge like my car, 110kmh at 3700rpm…..
    Can someone give me the info on 110kmh revs on current city and vios.

• sad they r using a 5 years old city as benchmark.i thought benchmarking should use a superior car. just like mazda6 using bmw as benchmark rather than an accord.that way u can stay ahead of the competition.
    sigh…this is just the same as saying our petrol price still low compared to Singapore, Thailand, etc but conveniently left out Brunei and other oil producing countries

• Being played on Jul 25, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Did you notice that the city they are benchmarking is 2011 city? With no VSA. At least have the decency to put a 2013 city there

• dugong on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:07 pm

the benchmark of this vios is saga SV la. who told u its city?

• Darenz on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:23 am

Viomera….!!

• trd looks so ah beng

• Calvin on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:32 am

Just a simple bread and butter car. I’m surprised anyone would spend close to a $100k of their hard earned money for this or for that matter, any car.

No wonder the rich keeps getting richer.

• Sparcov on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:35 am

Preve @ 110 km/h rev at slight;y 2100 rpm. is a iafm+ engine by the way.

• farghmee on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:37 am

1. i love the look of this dugong, the base’s look, not the trd’s.
    those skirts & spoilers aren’t “fluent” enuff.

2. the current selling of auto J-spec is +-rm77k, with dual-airbag & ABS,EBD. with the increase of +-rm4k, expected price of the basic variant will be around +-rm80k.
    & i find it ridiculous. why?
    i observed the current trend of lowering the price (honda jazz, mitsu asx, subaru suv), then this vios2013 get a jack-up price?

3. other than self-proclaim GOA body, may i know how many stars this car will get? JNCAP/ASEAN NCAP?

• Fahmi yahya on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:44 am

Why u all always compare vios with cerato? In term of price, the answer is YES.. Cerato need to topup another 5-10k.. YES cerato is bigger than vios, YES cerato handling is better than vios..
    But, dont u forget, vios is 1.5cc.. Fuel is much cheaper than Cerato, service is more cheaper, spare part is more cheaper..
    So, its your choice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • lol brother, its not about the price. It is about Toyota has been really rude with Malaysian. RM96k car without ESP? only 2 airbags? 15″ rims? God please.

They have pijak our kepala and you still haven’t realize.

Cerato is a segment C car (one segment higher than vios) selling at 4k more than vios with all the goodies. 6 airbags, ESP, auto light/wiper, DRL, LED rear light, 6 way memory seat, gorgeos DRL, and many more.

Because of the people like u lar Toyota still pijak our kepala until now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Fahmi yahya on Jul 25, 2013 at 11:10 am

Why dont u count about service cost? Fc? Spare part?
        I’m sure that cerato part is gonna cost a BOOM to your pocket.. Resale value? For u, if u have 50k, which one i choose? Forte or vios 2nd hand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • Kia,Hyundai spare parts high,no resale value,highly petrol consumption…ello,this is grandma story liao la…my toyota camry,spare parts cost high too! bought camry 2.4 year 2009 Rm175k,now used car quote me Rm90k only….so dont talk about 2nd value laaa…. Myvi 2nd value good la…

• Kuinosan on Jul 26, 2013 at 1:09 am

Nowadays, 2nd hand value of cars of all makes are not that big of a difference given that if seller were to sell their car directly to a buyer and not to those unscrupulous 2nd hand car dealers out there. Their unethical practices of buying cheap and then selling expensive are a thing of the past.
            With new online infrastructures to advertise and sell ones vehicle directly to buyers, prices for their cars will eventually be higher and more reasonable. In the end, many of these deals will depend on the condition of the cars and not just based on their brands. Example, would you rather buy an abused Japanese model or a well taken care of Korean make vehicle? Most of us will buy based on common sense and unlike those withou good judgement and knowledge of cars, they buy based on impulse and what others say!!!

• Oblong on Jul 25, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Bro, Forte/Cerato got 5yr warranty so unless for wear&tear item other sparepart not gonna be a problem. Furthermore Forte/Cerato service interval @ 10K whereas Vios @ 5K (not sure for new Vios), heard that toyota EO pricier than other EO so you can count urself ownership cost.

• ya la… KIA with 5 years warranty with unlimited milleage…jadi takut apa neh?! hehehe…

• KarthikM on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:20 am

Haizz, to all Vios bashers,if u dun like the car dun talk abt it nor buy it. If Cerato is ur choice go buy it la. Yes toyota still offer a 4 speedo box, which has proven reliability. Bash all you want, this car will continue to be toyota’s best seller. period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • I would like to confirm that all models does not have ESP/ESC. All models only got 2 airbags. All models got 15″ Sport rim.

BTW, the 15″ rims in the so called TRD Sportivo is a fu**ing joke.

• Nitrous_02 on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:31 am

How come no one notice that Korean car maker grow so much?They leap from stone age to golden age. I mean their design breakthru to euro market. Our national car design stuck in bronze age and for the price we pay so much for badly designed and built quality? Are we noticing the real deal?

• Arulnathan G on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:39 am

If a Kancil was priced like a Ferrari.. wouldnt you compare the two? At the end of the day, even if they are in different segments, you cant help but compare the cerato with the vios as they are nearly equal in pricing.. at the least, this just proves that the vios is highly overpriced if we can admit that its only a segment B car whilst a segment C car is almost at the same price…

• AGAIN toyota/honda etc only decides to release safe grey tone colors with brown…the red is what lures the design to me.

• Korean Junk Boss on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Hoi !! Go and sell the damn car, not refresh and click the dislike button!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • PETER LEE on Jul 25, 2013 at 1:18 pm

ALL THIS WHILE IN MALAYSIA TOYOTA HAS BEEN RIPPING US OFF…………. SELLING LOW SPCS CARS WITH HIGHER PRICING COMPARED TO OTHER COUNTRIES………..

BUT THOSE WHO LOVE TOYOTA………. NO CHOICE LEH..BUT NOW WE HAVE CHOICES……KIA, PEUGEOT….

• Being played on Jul 25, 2013 at 5:17 pm

In this day and age, toyota is still giving us 4speed, old tech, even the basics of stability control also dont have. This is happening becoz malaysians are blindly buying this vios just because it has a toyota badge.

They are too comfortable in the market with their huge market share even without improving their cars. We are doing this, just wake up and stop buying vios. Toyota might realize that msians can think afterall and improve their vios!

• Maserati on Jul 25, 2013 at 5:52 pm

LOL, some foolish Korean fanboys don’t understand that KOREAN brands have been ripping them off in the first place.

HELLO! Jap cars all have fantastic engines .What do Korean cars have? Nothing but a lousy crappy supposedly NEW engine but still performs worst than a 10 year old CIVIC.

Yea Yea,someone gonna bring up the spec list and compare it here.HELLO my fren,pls don’t compare paper specs lah. I can tell you,only idiots use paper specs to determine how good a car is.

Go test drive a CIVIC 2.0 and climb back into ur KOREAN higher spec CErato and you would feel like ur in a piece of junkcrap.

Wake up dudes! Japanese sell their cars more expensive and less specs is because all their R&D is done on their engines .

This kind of SPECS,nobody notice because its not written on paper.But step into a JAP car and drive one u can immediately notice the refinement and the way it drives. Korean cars never drive well.NEVER Ever!

Yes Korean cars are improving ,but when u say improving,DO YOU ALSO KNOW THAT THE JAPS ARE IMPROVING EVERYDAY TOO?

So what the Koreans come up today has already been done by the Japs 10-20 years ago!

So start waking up and stop pretending to support KOREAN cars just because U don’t want to be seen supporting a very popular JAP car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
    • dugong on Jul 25, 2013 at 8:59 pm

ooohh…jap improving? they are using the same junk engine n gearbox for 20 yrs.

Vios sell at 30k only worth to buy. The japs are milking you dry with old shit.

i think your puny brain is full of filth and can’t fathom the article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Being played on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:18 pm

HELLO, people are bashing vious, not japanese cars. Nobody is saying that all jap cars are bad, they are good and anybody that says otherwise dont know shit. What people are actually complaining is that toyota could at least improve the vios, because as of now, vios comparing with other newly launched cars is inferior. For 96K vios could at least put in some new tech and safety features.

• dugong on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:31 pm

why you keep on comparing with korean?

any brand of car in the market offers better value for money than this old junk in new skin called vios be it conti, korean, american, proton or even china and india cars.

• Kuinosan on Jul 26, 2013 at 12:51 am

Stop living in denial moron, you just contradicted yourself by admitting that Korean cars have improved their products over the past few years! As for the Japs, Yes, they are improving too. But they are improving on their marketing and advertising strategies to con stupid consumers like you to continue to support them even though they are using technology of the past.
      Take this so called new Vios for example, it is still using the same old 1.5litre engine and the museum piece 4 speed gearbox!!! The Jap car makers should be spending their money on improving their products and not on marketing gimmicks. But then again, with loyal Jap car fans like you around. Looks like their cheap strategy are still working, but for how long? Well, most of us don’t like the fact that the Jap car makers are insulting our intelligence with their cheap strategies and products. So carry on with your die hard mentality for Jap cars, nothing wrong if you like being played for a fool. But as for us smart consumers, we rather choose to buy what we think is of great value for our hard earned cash and currently, the Koreans are doing a rather good job with their current line of modern vehicles. Cheers.

• Maserati on Jul 25, 2013 at 5:56 pm

ONLY idiots buy cars based on price .

Smart people buy cars based on what value the car gives to them especially in terms of driving pleasure.

Sorry,currently NONE of the KOREAN cars give me good driving pleasure. I dare to say even my first PROTON WAJA with a Mitsu engine drives nicer and revs gloriously compared to the crappy Cerato 1.6 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
    • Japs are too late now. If car hunters know that the vios is only kosong spec cars they won’t waste their money. Now you want to compare between civic and cerato? if your civic doesn’t have aircond, you want to put mobile aircond in your car? or it has bloody SOHC engine, so you want to plonk in some turbo engine? you seem too desperate if do like that. better you go for another car, that is ceerrrraaattttoooo LOL. even chaplang preve turbo can smoke this lame vios anytime anywhere.

and this is vios thread, not about civic or altis. please understand the topic here or you will be thumbed down again miserably LOL

• Only idiots buy RM96k car with 2 airbags and no ESP :D

jokes aside, at least korean car does not compromise on safety. well not everyone like u, buy car to drive like mad people. cucuk sana, cucuk sini. we just want a comfortable and safe car.

cerato 1.6 is not bad. even if its not better than japs car, it still comfortable and suitable for normal people who wants a bit more comfort, safety and gadgets for their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • FYI Preve can give you similar safety spec which RM30k cheaper than Cerato, why dont go for Preve? Since you focus on [worthy]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • yaya..only mad dog like idiot Maserati like to cucuk sini and cucuk sana…we love toyota too! just wanna voice out to Toyota is better awake now,Korean car improving a lot… bring us many surprise! after so many years,vios still bring us old tech engine…and never give us a good spec in Malaysia…

• dugong on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:26 pm

ONLY IDIOTS buy car based on BRAND!

Honestly, I get as much pleasure driving a dugong as I drive a saga…i.e no pleasure.

dude increase your standard a bit la. no one gets pleasure driving a bread and butter entry level b-segment car.

• albag on Jul 25, 2013 at 7:47 pm

it’s funny to see how you people mocking on this car… in the end the Vios still stands out to be the best selling sedan in the country… no matter how the fact is still the fact…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • dugong on Jul 25, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Thats bcos of 1 simple fact. Dumb ppl outnumber smart ppl.

• well it is always sad to see people willing to get fooled by toyota. they give you lousy spec and yet people still worship this vios like no tomorrow.

Good luck for your new vios mate :)

• This car is overpriced but Malaysian will always support UMW. Kesian

• tmber on Jul 26, 2013 at 2:37 am

the front is too sporty like lancer. it is not suitablle for 15000cc car. people will laugh when they know that this is mere ’empty’ specced car. the back lamps are trying too hard to give sharp shapes but fail when they are too big. it’s like D segment car lamps such as camry’s pasted onto much smaller car. in other words, ugly.

conclusion : phailed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • italia on Jul 26, 2013 at 4:33 am

I’d rather go for common look but turbo sedan rather than this sporty look but nothing to shout about 1.5l engine.

• noobie on Jul 26, 2013 at 5:41 am

What is TRD means? Is it Turbo Rear-wheel Drive? Noob here.

• TOYOTA THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 49
  • webboy on Jul 26, 2013 at 1:38 pm

nice exterior…!

• Wasted.. Look nice but lousy engine and specs. Not worth the money that car in this country is overpriced already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • In the end of the day…. tepuk dada tanya selera… if u like it, then buy it… if u don’t like it, get another car.

• Kuinosan on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:26 pm

People should give the latest generation of Korean cars a chance and go for a test drive before making any assumptions. Don’t believe everything you read or hear from others as many of these so called ‘EXPERTS’ and ‘AUTOMOBILE CRITICS’ are just as clueless about these modern Korean cars. Many are just out to seek attention they so badly need, so they will just post rubbish and act as if they know what’s best! In the end, you should know what car suits you best and common sense shall prevail after test driving these cars. You’ll realize that the Koreans are actually hitting all the right notes at the moment with their new generation of cars. Cheers!

• confuse? you confuse! i confuse! everybody confuse!!! on Aug 26, 2013 at 4:48 pm

kia cerato or toyota vios? PPL tell honestly :) tq

• Jill Jill JiGa JiGa on Sep 05, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Korean and Japanese cars have their pros and cons and the outside countries KIA Hyundai does fetch good market for quite some time.Just get the car which interests you the most and enjoy with it of course after some test drives and researchs. The resale value of the korean has really boomed up too. Some people may have and idea that 3310 is the best but some says galaxy note 3 is the best. Its depends on the point of interest and the discussion between vios and cerato does not make sense as it is in two different leagues. Old techonology may be confortable with some people and new technologies may be the point of some people. 1mil 6 series is going for 200+ k , 800k S class going for 150k nnow so it all depends on the individuals. Like rey said In the end of the day…. tepuk dada tanya selera… if u like it, then buy it… if u don’t like it, get another car- many choices available. Kindly feedback some usefull technical , cosmetics , technology , rims informations with some interesting link on cars regardles korean japanese on the topic so that we can have some knowledge negative or positive knowledge instead of branding comments.

• thinking of buying this new vios on feb 2014.Any comments.currently using iswara :(

• sam loo's niece on Sep 25, 2013 at 11:24 am

much prefer the look of Almera Impul (bronze gold/white) with Impul emblem.

• Guys guys… this is actually a RM45k car with such specs.. haters gonna hate.. BUT Toyota NEVER disappoint consumers in quality and reliability. If you like five gears, key-less entry, TC.. just go for the Civic bah.. Before you drop any bashing comment, still, this is actually a good car what..? Unless you’re expert or engineer, else your own opinion would be always a self-perspective opinion.. Even a BMW 5 series will have its haters..

• The New camry & vios TRD Sportivo aerokits totally damage the image of the car, it’s look great without aerokits.

• well, i do agree with most ppl complaint about 4AT gear, should really change, not like toyota dont have the technology. i did own a vios, wat really crazy about this car is not spped or design.. but the freakin durability, 200k+ without replace any shit, (except brake pad or cylinder oil & etc which compusalry to change for any car). wat most unbelievable is maintenance cost cheaper than my friend persona. (the fact new vios expensive in malaysia due to sales tax)
    conclusion, if you wanted a car use for many years without problem, go for vios
    Performance, go for others, Definitely not vios. go for city also better
    well i do really hope toyota change the gear box. they are rich, jus put a CVT 7 speed to shut most ppl mouth(including mine). 4AT really boring. rpm always hit very high when uphill

• segun whyte on Nov 14, 2013 at 3:16 pm

whyte, Nov14,2013, 2pm toyota is the best car all over the world,is very durable have 2hand value,and fuel comsunption, i so much love toyota

• David on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:48 pm

90% comments are love/hate comments. Yet I am sure most of you doesn’t buy your car by yourself *yawning*

Those who use “idiot” or similar words for this kind of article, you know you are what you said.