Ford Fiesta 1.5 Ti-VCT facelift to be joined by 1.0 Ecoboost model in Malaysia only in 2014?

ford fiesta mc 04

We’ve already had hints that the new Ford Fiesta is due to be facelifted in Malaysia in August this year, and that along with the facelift will come a complete revamp in engine options.

The 1.6 litre Ti-VCT Ford Fiesta will be phased out and ASEAN region is going to get a unique 1.5 litre Ti-VCT engine instead. This change in engine capacity is driven by certain rules in Thailand that favour engines with displacements of 1.5 litre and below, so Ford deemed the Thai market important enough to change the engine size.

ford fiesta mc 03

As a result, every country that gets cars from the Thai plant such as Malaysia will have their 1.6 litre replaced by the 1.5 litre. Power is actually down, as expected with the smaller engine size – it’s gone from 120 PS and 152 Nm to 109 PS and 140 Nm.

But for those who want more power, there’s a new engine. The Fiesta can be had with a 1.0 litre turbocharged Ecoboost engine, which does 125 PS and 170 Nm of torque. That’s 5 PS and 18 Nm of torque more than the outgoing 1.6, but most importantly, the 170 Nm kicks in at 1,400 rpm and is sustained all the way to 4,000 rpm, which means better pickup. The 1.6 litre model only made its 152 Nm at 4,200 rpm.

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 9.09.48 PM

Unfortunately from what the Ford Fiesta in Malaysia Facebook page has to say, the 1.0 litre Ecoboost won’t be launched together with the 1.5 litre facelifted car in August. Their reply to a Facebook fan today indicated a 2014 launch date instead, so those interested in the Ecoboost model will have to wait.

This is most probably because the engine is only available with a manual transmission right now, and a 6 speed Powershift automatic gearbox for the engine in a Fiesta is only scheduled to be ready near the end of 2013.

See more pics of the facelifted Fiesta hatchback and Fiesta sedan. There’s also a hot 182 PS/240 Nm Fiesta ST variant.

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• suster_edua on Jul 26, 2013 at 9:54 pm

Awful news.

• Siam Babi on Jul 27, 2013 at 1:37 am

I actually heard this news from one of the private Ford dealers recently…

As usual, by the time the product reaches Malaysia it will be obsolete… Hence its no point having such good products but with timeline that doesn’t suit the demand.

I believe the local principal Sime Darby has something to do with this lack of urgency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • eunich on Jul 26, 2013 at 10:09 pm

are we going to get the 6 speed powershift aswell? Cuz i didnt seen any auto tranny for 1.0 ecoboost yet

• Anonymous on Jul 26, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Yes, Ford also confirmed that the 1.5 coming with the PowerShift box. Though didn’t confirm on the EcoBoost. Everywhere else gets a MT with that.

• Wait, Ecoboost gets good ol’ Disco Stick in Malaysia? guess i better start saving.

• Anonymous on Jul 27, 2013 at 1:29 am

Already saving the moment they announced it in Thailand.

Goodness I can’t wait for this.

• division93 on Jul 27, 2013 at 1:00 am

i guess it would come with an automatic for this 1.0 ecoboost. the 6 speed dualclutcher i guess. dont think any top spec malaysian car comes with a manual so i doubt ford malaysia being an exception. awesome thought tho haha.

check this link out. it said ford is working on the auto to be fitted to this engine.

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/ford/focus/18601/ford-focus-10-litre-ecoboost

• Anonymous on Jul 27, 2013 at 1:28 am

Working on it and release in UK/US doesn’t mean we’ll get it first ma as we all know. Probably mid 2014 refresh/facelift get the slushbox lor.

Even EU/US gets MT box.

• sepul on Jul 26, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I remember Ford people said the 1.0 ecobooost is exclusively paired to a manual box, so every market for this engine will have manual.

Let’s hope this stays true to us come 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Sadly, they are developing a Powershift for the 1.0 EcoBoost, it was already mentioned in an Australian site since they will also be getting the Thai made Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • The Ford Powershift dual clutch is a problematic gearbox, with so many complaints, including stalling! I hope we get a manual tranny, instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 23
        • autodriver on Jul 27, 2013 at 6:03 pm

manual tranny for bad traffic jam in malaysia is a big no no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
          • dsfsfsdf on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:35 am

Then you should go to the gym and squat more to build up your puny chopstick legs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • fiesta owner on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:03 pm

i own a fiesta for close to 3 years and still no problem…its all down to luck

• dsfsfsdf on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:37 am

Wow, how nice, you got lucky. You mean one needs to gamble with 80K ringgit whenever they buy a Fiesta?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • terry on Jul 27, 2013 at 12:01 am

pricing?

• Kuinosan on Jul 27, 2013 at 12:20 am

If Ford Malaysia gets the pricing right, it will definitely sell like hot cakes!

• The base 1.4 will be phased out as well, in the Philippine where we also get the Thai Fiesta, the base Manual Transmission Fiesta gets a 112PS 1.5 Ti-VCT engine. http://www.ford.com.ph/cars/new-fiesta/models

• lonelyobserve on Jul 27, 2013 at 6:02 pm

That news was on Feb 2012 whereas the Ford Fiesta with 1.0L Ecoboost yet to have Powershift equipped option. The brochure on Ford UK is dated on March 2013 and can be downloaded from ford.co.uk

• Disregard the UK version, here’s info on the 1.0 EcoBoost Fiesta that mentions the Powershift version. http://www.nextcar.com.au/n.ford.fiesta.130702.html
          Engine specs for the New Fiesta 1.5 can be seen in the Ford Philippines site: http://www.ford.com.ph/cars/new-fiesta/specifications/data

• Anonymous on Jul 27, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Its already phased out… so many places I asked for it they don’t have it :(

• The ecoboost model is positioned to challenge the Polo. From the way I see it, the price is going to range around 100-110k. I’m hoping they do it at just 100k, beat the Polo by a margin of 10k and sell like hot cakes. Great way to give VW pressure.

• How to beat Polo? This car is much smaller inside even compared to the MyVi! They need to increase the inner room first before even thinking of beating any other B segment vehicle. Currently its just bigger than an A segment, thats all.

• gerald on Aug 06, 2013 at 11:50 pm

beat VW
        hope sime Darby listening

• ong chin aun on Jul 27, 2013 at 12:59 am

Y ??? Sad news. personally I prfer 1.6 Litre. manual. Y backward. loss power in pick up. No a wise move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • You obviously don’t read, do you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • theanswer on Jul 27, 2013 at 9:16 am

emission control..better fc i guess. recently we saw cars like rio..swift using small 1.4L engine. now fiesta downgrade to 1.5L.

• BeenerFrrak on Jul 27, 2013 at 11:23 am

You have your government to blame for this. Thanks to Proton and P2 protection policy, auto makers deemed Malaysia a market with less potential and no freedom for investment hence the fled to the policy friendly north and the rest is what we say, history.

Chances are the car you drive now is either made in Thailand or assembled using packages that come from Thailand.

Hence whatever policy Thailand makes will be king. Only Indonesia has the power to ask for change. Us? We are sitting ducks unless the NAP is scrapped and all APs disappear to form an even and fair playing field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
    • lonelyobserve on Jul 27, 2013 at 6:13 pm

I also felt pity about the manual transmission and it is like an equipment under status of critically endangered or extinct in Boleh Land.

However, engine wise, having smaller engine with turbo chargers is the main purpose of reducing emission and improve fuel economy. I have test-drove Ford Kuga with 6-speed automatic by pulling the gear lever to S for complete control on manual gear shifting. Due to the flat maximum torque bandwidth, the feeling is like driving a turbo diesel vehicle with maximum torque comes out from low revs (below 2000rpm).

• Zulkarnain on Jul 27, 2013 at 3:26 am

So sad. It’s a long way to 2014.

• need to buy a car to replace my 12 year old car by this year. was waiting for the ecoboost fiesta. looks like I need to look at other cars now. good job!

• dual clutch auto means clunky sound at low gear just like ford focus right?

• Specs for the 1.5 liter model are already out in the Philippines, 1.0 EcoBoost to follow later this year.
    1.5 makes 112PS and 140Nm of torque: http://www.ford.com.ph/cars/new-fiesta/models

• kadajawa on Jul 27, 2013 at 7:39 am

Super efficient 1.0L Ecoboost pun tarak guna if price RM80K with 75% excise duty.

NAP sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • richricherrichest on Jul 27, 2013 at 5:58 pm

this is not for poorfag youngsters. always rich uncles and aunties buy this car for sending their children to school. work hard if you want to buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • policeman on Jul 27, 2013 at 8:47 pm

What you talking bout?

80K car you consider expensive?
        you must be am I right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • tygun on Jul 28, 2013 at 7:18 am

then buy it if you consider it’s cheap. nothing stops you. but i’d rather spend money for cheaper car or house

• IwantmyEcoBoost on Jul 27, 2013 at 1:35 pm

boooo…..

• zamer on Jul 27, 2013 at 1:44 pm

the 1.5 engine is somewhat an underpowered engine.
    our cps engine makes better output than this.

i mean comparing a decade engine to a newer engine

• I think 112PS and 140Nm are decent numbers for a 1.5 litre engine. The Top of the line 1.0 EcoBoost that will arrive later will make 125PS and 170Nm!

• sonyman on Jul 27, 2013 at 8:44 pm

i prefer to buy the sanitary towel version, if they plan to bring in that model.

That one comes with a stick would be nice.

• JeremyNg on Jul 27, 2013 at 9:58 pm

The 1.0 Ecoboost engine also has a overboost feature that will pump out 200NM of torque ! If not mistaken that Focus with 1.0 Ecoboost available with DCT right ?

• Manual only for now, Powershift Focus models in Europe use a naturally aspirated 1.6L engine. I think ASEAN/Asia-Pacific markets will be one of the first markets to pair the 1.0 EcoBoost with a Powershift transmissiom (in the New Fiesta).

• Toroto on Jul 27, 2013 at 10:32 pm

High pressure turbocharged or direct injection engine or both together require at least RON97 here, else if with RON95 u will hv lots of headache… Unless if fuel grade here has upgraded to Euro5. Even new generation of Jap engines r already Euro4 compliant.

• JeremyNg on Jul 28, 2013 at 2:58 am

But this engine is design to run ROn92 above (forget where i read it)

• The performance data of the 1.0 EcoBoost from Ford was done using RON95 fuel.
      http://www.ford.com.au/cars/new-fiesta/features/sustainability?sitetype=web&site=FOA#f=1

• Toroto on Jul 28, 2013 at 3:01 pm

It’s not Euro 2M of RON95 they used to test but usually Euro 4 or above. Even Euro 2 n Euro 2M has a lot of difference. Dun b fooled by our RON95 with other countries RON95. Be prepared to fork out more in maintenance if use RON95 in long run for modern high pressure turbocharged GDI engines. Korean makes hv direct injection in Australia not in our country.

• wegio on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Exactly! The fate of my uncles crdi Santa fe

• How can the Ford page admin put smiling smiley at the end of that status ? Lol . It should’ve been :-S

Oh and something to enlighten us is the 1.0 Ecoboost is coming “early next year” according to a Ford salesperson. At least we can assume “early” is the first quarter, rather than unknowingly 2014

BUT , still I’m disappointed for the 1.6 being replaced by 1.5

• Being replaced for the sake of Thai ppl #whatthe . We were fine with 1.6

• Most people won’t be able to tell the difference of the extra 9PS and 11Nm the 1.6 engine has over the 1.5 engine. On the brighter side, the 1.5 Fiesta is slightly more fuel efficient and based on the initial specs is more than 20kg lighter than the old 1.6 model.

• MotherzChoisz on Jul 28, 2013 at 4:07 pm

It’s simple la,because Thailand got nice girls can massage all over body and got nude beaches also. That is why people at Ford Motors give in to Thai people demands,WTF if they want 1.5L enough for them is their business. We Malaysian motorist want something bigger and better than the previous model,its only logical what. Right?

• The only thing i would change is the wheels, use projector headlamps, and maybe 1.6L option along 1.0 Ecoboost

• foxtrot on Jul 28, 2013 at 6:19 pm

ford thailand haven’t even get their 1.0 ecoboost on their market yet… malaysia will be subjected to any changes in ford TH

• Ford Thailand will start producing the 1.0 EcoBoost Fiesta later this year.

• RyanS on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:21 pm

RM125K, 1.0L 3 cylinder turbocharge ?
    RM110K, 1.6L 1.5 Ti-VCT NA ?

just guess haha~