Nissan Almera facelift captured undisguised in China

nissan-almera-facelift-china-1

Nissan’s B-segment contender, the Nissan Almera, was globally unveiled in December 2010 at the Guangzhou Motor Show, and following a typical five year lifecycle for a car in this class, it’s about time for a mid-life facelift soon.

Well, no need for spyshots of half disguised prototypes, as completely undisguised albeit low resolution photos have surfaced from China, on automotive site Auto Sohu.

The Nissna Almera facelift (it’s called the Nissan Sunny in China) gets reshaped headlamps, front grille, bumpers and extra chrome around the fog lamp and boot lid. Those alloy wheels look like they have a new design as well. There could be interior changes or not, we’ll have to wait and see to find out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Front reminds me of a current volvoz, looks better than the current one, but still Not Pretty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
  • john mat on Jul 28, 2013 at 12:55 am

Hahaha.. in malaysia just launched recently now already facelifted at China.. malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 17
  • As too much effort as it may for such a small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
  • MBX Boy on Jul 28, 2013 at 1:16 am

Erm.. Sorry to say, this car does not need a facelift, it needs a full plastic surgery. But… that’s just my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 57
  • Most likely as I type this, there are already comments on the moderators waiting list, expressing the very obvious fact that it is still Pig-Ugly. But there is not much Nissan could selvage with the original Almera/Sunny looks to begin with, so for this I’d say the looks did improve gving a more premium feel with all that chrome. One thing I do note is the fact that from the 3/4 view, It looks very pre-facelift(and still rather sexy)Volvo S60-ish in appearence with its grill being far lower than the lights and the bumper air inlets arrangement.

but enough of all that, Nissan, yes not TCM but Nissan, we need better spec down here considering that Vios is rumored to already get VSC!! lets start with getting dual airbags across the range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • Guilt on Jul 28, 2013 at 1:43 am

The front grill, looks weird…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • kingston on Jul 28, 2013 at 2:17 am

They haven’t done anything to the back yet :l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Ugly. I prefer the pre facelift. Plis dont come here facelift xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • This thing need a bit skirting, a bit weird with its road clearance.

• lotustuned on Jul 28, 2013 at 7:45 am

rear bumper seems to have bk-like design, finally.

• Pororo on Jul 28, 2013 at 7:47 am

The front grill makes this ugly Almera looks like Altima.. but Of coz, still ugly….

• _xXx_ on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:26 am

as ugly as b4…dun let the Korean see this, sure they LMAO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
  • vw-vw on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:31 am

they suppose to follow proton, from blm to flx. change the front lamp and the bumper too. so it doesn’t look too ‘hanging’ at the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Still ugly. Nissan must really redesign the whole front design. Toyota also redesign Vios become nice. Nissan also must do so.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 13
    • WIner on Jul 29, 2013 at 1:20 am

Yes, almera still looks ugly from every angle especially the front, looks like a noob smiling all the way. But it does makes those purchaser happy when look at it i guessed. LOL

• frenzyaustin on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:58 am

It looks much much better after facelift. Doesn’t like pre facelift that I think I want to drive a truck and ram it’s front, now looks just ugly, not want to kill it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Hahaha on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:38 am

So basically they should kill it kill it with fireeeeee….Kill it before it lay eyes. :p

• although it ugly…..but u can c it getting more n more on the road…..coz it tag on a worthy price….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
  • bad luck almera
    facelifted, but still fugly~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • Brayokmok on Jul 28, 2013 at 12:31 pm

like kuih bungkus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • gnaee on Jul 28, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Vios> City=Almera >> preve >> Saga.

Myvi>Saga
    Alza>Preve.

Proton @ 4 years.Major problem @ drivetrain especially the engine all readily available for you to headache.. I regret suggesting my father buying Saga for my sister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • the grill is the problem.
    a so-so car just got uglier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • joanna on Jul 28, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Ugly but still sell like pisang goreng panas. We Malaysian dont have choice. Everything here is mahal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Still looks ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
  • PeterM on Jul 28, 2013 at 3:05 pm

I don’t mind its front grill, still okay IMO.
    But the back, the proportion and size/height is just wrong. The height of the back should not be lower than the front.

• yesser on Jul 28, 2013 at 4:50 pm

saga much better with proportionate body

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • John Tan on Jul 28, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Imho, the facelift version just looks better. They made the front more like Teana and the rear is much Sentra alike. Well, no matter how many bashers out there, this car is still sell like a hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Handsome on Jul 28, 2013 at 8:35 pm

No one gives a damn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Robot boy on Jul 28, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Ugly gets uglier. Seriously this car is one of the ugliest cars on the road and whatever Nissan does to it, it is still damn ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • amigos on Jul 29, 2013 at 12:11 am

already have dugong,now come flowerhorn.

• it needs the facelift. strong competition on the way.

• miskin on Jul 29, 2013 at 1:33 am

buruk betul…
    (budak poton mesti cakap, “preve lg lawa”) kehkeh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Hahahahahahahaha…..nissan…nissan….

• Hahaha on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:41 am

WTF is wrong with nissan?? They got their designer from china? Such a fugly car. No matter what they try to do to it, it’s just uglier than the toyota dugong(vios).

• steve on Jul 29, 2013 at 12:17 pm

So fast facelift? Sales going down already?

• Ada Jie on Jul 29, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Its not fast facelift, Nissan Almera has been in China for quite some time.
      It is launched late in Malaysia, as usual.
      By the time Preve hatchback is introduced, GE14 election might be over already.

• I support Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • nice..i like current almera n this face lift..what..u said vios better and new vios will be better?LOL..too bad vios is just for southeast asian,taiwan n china only..even origin country japan dun want vios…almera u can see it worldwide..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • wondering y all the Japanese car and euro car in malaysia dont have sun roof

• elbertow on Oct 17, 2013 at 4:33 pm

mother of goat.. what the….

• motorhead on Oct 30, 2013 at 11:48 am

Very feminine.. More masculine please.. You Nissan only want to sell cars to ladies ka? To sissy..