Perodua Jaguh leak – full brochure emerges online

Perodua_Jaguh_2

Since we wrote about it this morning, the leak has become bigger, and we now have the complete set of the alleged Perodua Jaguh brochure for our scrutiny. New photos, more speculation on whether they may be real or not. Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

The front shot that was leaked earlier showed a lightly modified Toyota Etios sedan with a Perodua face. The bits that appeared different compared to the Toyota original were the front grille (slimmer, with a Perodua badge), Myvi-style pull-type door handles and of course, the Alza-sourced alloy wheels.

Now a rear shot has emerged, and here again the sedan looks almost identical to the Etios, right down to the full-width chrome strip and the exact same light graphics. The only thing changed is the badge, which now features Perodua’s P rather than Toyota’s T. Oh, and the fuel filler cap is on the right side, whereas Peroduas and Toyotas usually have them on the left. Perhaps we’re looking at a selfie.

Quite a lot of other details don’t quite add up, adding to the MyVAP and sliding second-row seats (suggesting that there are more than two rows here; otherwise they’d be referred to as the back or rear seats) irregularities we mentioned earlier. The new pictures add more holes to the brochure’s already fragile claim of authenticity.

Perodua_Jaguh_3

In the washed-out pictures, you can just about see that the red interior (rather bold for a Perodua, don’t you think?) has a manual shifter. The Toyota Etios is only available with a five-speed manual gearbox, yet it seems unlikely that Perodua would launch a manual-only new model, especially in what will is to be the flagship vehicle in its lineup. It’s also worth noting that Perodua only utilises studio shots in all its brochures.

The blurry-to-the-point-of-being-illegible spec sheet doesn’t show much either, other than the model variation names – J, G, V and VX – which is similar to the grade structure used by Toyota. Needless to say, Perodua has its own unique set of variant grades.

Another obvious anomaly is the fact that the Jaguh looks like a simple rebadge job both inside and out, unlike the more thorough re-engineering work we’ve come to expect from Perodua of late. And let’s not forget the fact that the Jaguh name has been previously ‘assigned’, in this case to Modenas for its 175 cc cruiser.

Seen as a whole, all the clues cast serious doubts over this ‘leak’. Real or not, looks like someone put in a lot of effort into these materials, which at the very least should stand as a good preview (if not an official leak it’s said to be) of the real Perodua sedan, should the car really be based on the Toyota Etios.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• perodua brochures wont use real photos of the car with backdrop on the main page anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Perodua Jaguh Kampung!! wahaha.. i dont think this is the real thing, if it is, seems like they run out of ideas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawa on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:47 am

if below RM50K price it’ll sell like hot cake 4000 units per month

• Petrolhand on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:15 pm

This better not be real, the front looks alright but the rear is depressing, and with the name “Jaguh” it sounds more like a malaysian homegrown Jaguar. Worst ever name in all Perodua’s cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 4
      • policeman on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:51 pm

This car is suitable for Perodua. Just as ugly as all of their cars.

here’s your first thumbs down!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 67
      • Sounds like a troll name..aimed at PT reviewers who called them jaguh kampung. Must be a frequent visitor here.

• Hahaha…

It’s another perfect job from theophiluschin. Well done! I’m sure theophiluschin work hard to make this brochure^^

Below are the real pictures of this brochure:

http://goo.gl/ltmc5S

(see picture no. 19 & 20 – both pictures are 180 horizontal rotations)

^^

• azrai on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:32 am

Perodua Jaguh Is An Elaborated Hoax
      http://www.theophiluschin.com/?p=5335

• wah very fast i just saw this online

• Gajen on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:03 pm

the rear looks exactly like renault logan

• Hell yeah! its ugly…rear view especially..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Green on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Nice Front and Cataraman roof Top.

Manual Specs
    0-100 = 10.6 S
    City driving = 16.5km/L.
    Max Torque performance @ 3100rpm allowing this output.

Auto:: no info.
    Expecting at 14.5km/L.
    1500cc, this is better then Myvi 1300cc @ 14km/L
    and Saga 1300cc @ 11km/L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • cannot be better than other yet due to the model doesnt exist..

• the ass is…….is so sorry…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • the name is even sorrier…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Expatriate VN on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Leak or not leak! Its live up to the name “Jaguh”! next special edition with “Kampung-series”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • later you bash somebody who use cayenne even if he produced cars that called jaguh kampung, lol

better you work hard to get rich rather than bashing anyone that is much much more successful than you. it’s just wasting your time.

get a life dude!

• spyshotX on Jul 30, 2013 at 5:06 pm

bashing something that’s actually a hoax and not bothered to verify its authenticity..

this fella is truly a pure blood ignorant basher full of hatred in his black heart..

• A rubbish packaging, can send to land reclamation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • gtmaniac on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Theophilus, stop teasing the public…hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Mozilla Chrome on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Eventhough I’m NOT a fan of Perodua cars but I admit that they do a good job in rebadging and redesign Toyota/Daihatsu cars..but I doubt this Jaguh will be in production..it’s too ugly for Perodua already lineups..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Joseph on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:40 pm

who cares, still a perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • Aidan on Jul 29, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Whoa man, I’m guessing you’re driving a Rolls-Royce as your everyday car? Now, even if you do, don’t bore yourself on posts that don’t interest you and bother on writing cocky selfless comments when no one asked you to, ok? Cheers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
      • So true however, i think people can say whatever they want n keep dreaming bcoz in the end nothing is perfect. If there were this perfect car in your eyes well, can u afford it?

• sudonano on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:44 pm

What is really interesting is the grade marks. Normally Perodua starts at EZ and SX, then up to EZi and SXi, the the Premium. This uses J, G, V and VX (i think, the last one is not clear) which is new. And there seems to be keyless entry? The brochure seems VERY convincing now.

But wait. Zoom in to the pic with the aerial view of the gold car. There is a pic of the steering. It looks 100% same as the existing Vios one. Very sure P2 is not using the exact same steering as the Vios, even on existing models.

• alldisc on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Needless to say, Perodua has its own unique set of variant grades.

and until after 8 years no one bothered to tell Perodua that small letter ‘i’ is generally known for EFI.

where else in Perodua case, ‘i’ means safety luxury as in the difference between SX and SXi, or EZ and EZi.

Proton was a little clever though with the Saga Special or ‘I’ for Istimewa in capital letter.

• nabill on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:46 pm

looks like the old vauxhall astra rear end….or some Dacia budget model….anyway who cares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Why don’t rebadge Terios for 4wd for the next generation of Kembara, this one ,oh no! Especially the back side, people will change to evolution type

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:33 pm

You forgot about the “Naughty car”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • jeemyv on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:15 pm

not sold like hot cakes

• for real on Jul 30, 2013 at 7:42 am

1st, it is fake.
        2nd, as for nautica issue,perodua bring that car just for 1.5l engine,that car just a reason to take the engine for alza n new myvi.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Rear looks like a mini Chrysler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • alfredweinberg on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:51 pm

the rear logo is not in shape !!
    i think it is a product from PS instead of P2

• for those said it was ugly, its from toyota etios..now go bash toyota please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:51 pm

yep, people shouldn’t bash it because Toyota has a track record in coming out with beautiful cars.

No wait….thats not it, is it?

I think I have difficulty actually naming 5 good looking toyota cars since 1980.

I can only make up 3, the MR2 SW20, the Celica T230, the last Caldina, and while the Supra IV was a marvel of engineering, it looked like a melted jelly bean in stock unmodified form. They have even managed to make the GT86 somewhat bland for a bespoke sporting model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • atoyot on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Nmae 5 ugly toyota cars:

vios dugong, etios, previous altis/corolla, passo (myvi) and townbox (alza)

wow it’s so easy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 2
        • TrickTroll on Jul 30, 2013 at 6:42 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 131
          • pak mat tempe on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:23 am

eh? i think preve should be on the top of the list…very problematic less than 1 year usage…sorry not to bash, coz i’m one of the unLUCKY owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
          • beemt on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:41 am

I can name problematic beemer cars:
            all because BMW is banyak masyuk worksyop, haha!

Is that sound familiar?

• Joe Radzif on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:42 am

Thanks god, my V6 not in the list

• unker on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:47 am

Cerita sudah basi la slowpoke.

• raoul on Jul 29, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Perodua…pls change the name so that it doesn’t sounds so “kampong-ish”. Jagoh, Pagoh, Jagong !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • The name reminds me of Proton’s failed product: Proton Juara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • swee swee on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Perodua Jaguh or Jagung?Perodua, Please create a naming contest for this car

• alldisc on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:38 pm

perodua should revert back to using animal name beginning with letter K..

i suggest Perodua Kambing.

• unknown on Jul 29, 2013 at 6:33 pm

i think its fake..judging by the brochure..its the exact same one as the toyota etios except the front cover has change..

• It is not true at all. Every weekend i was in their plant & did not c this model!!! Big lie!!

• alldisc on Jul 29, 2013 at 11:52 pm

but there was a myvi sedan, rite? for previous model but the plan was axed by the management.

• for all we know,it could just be just an assignment by a design / advertising student.. or is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • TrickTroll on Jul 30, 2013 at 6:44 am

Most likely. Actually this is the best explanation for this brochure.

• Sharu on Jul 29, 2013 at 7:08 pm

The red seats reminds me of Proton Wira SE.
    P2 go for a better name…much more bold la…
    Rather than rebadging the Toyota Etios…. bring in Daihatsu Mebius

• The rear design and interior design is worst than Almera ==

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 156
    • hamchoi on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:15 pm

This car will go into graveyard in less than 3 seconds.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • Melayu Bukan Islam on Jul 29, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Looking for a car that is fuel economical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 46
  • retard on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 147
  • retard on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:43 pm

P1 have blm so p2 has vlm for value lain model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Norman on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Just make a Myvi sedan can?No need copycat toyota la.Make alza 1.6 using Corolla Altis engine and 1.8 using Wish engine.Revive the Nautica with more affordable price.Think this one fake,Perodua dun use Malay names already.

• Have you givit a try? on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Bashers!
    Wait and see, when Saga came out people said the same thing. Ugly and such! You will see how many on the roads in a year. A good option other than Saga FLX S.E.

However?

You remember Modenas JAGUH? Why use the same name? Proton might come out with Proton Kriss next?

• viosno1 on Jul 30, 2013 at 5:24 am

no, better example of ugly car but sold like hot cakes is VIOS dugong.

• kelvin on Jul 29, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Yea! perodua jagung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Roger Tan on Jul 29, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Could it be that this is the initial layout done internally (not a professional graphic designer) as a rough sketch of the future brochure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • New Kid on Jul 29, 2013 at 9:22 pm

I purposely register to say – “That’s an ugly car!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • marksmann on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:10 pm

This very much is fake, one good reason, if marketing of Perodua approves such hideously done photography of the car, the marketing department head should be fired immediately !

• if it is real, I think it is likely to sell well bcos people might see it is a rebadged Toyota. It is most probably runnig with 1300cc initially as not to conflict with Vios 1.5.
    It would certainly outplay Myvi if the price is right due to the extra boot. However, the brake lamp is truly awful but perodua would definitely change the lamp into a LED type or something to make it more stunning.
    Anyway, I am not going to buy it as Toyota is not my cup of tea….

• Guilt on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:56 pm

And I thought last time Nissan Latio Sedan version is the ugliest..

• the picture of the car like someone took the picture with a smartphone and paste on the brochure.. i thing, perodua only use this model just to know are there any market for sedan segment..same as the perodua nautica..

• Alson P on Jul 29, 2013 at 10:59 pm

The good thing from Perodua is Fuel Consumption…
    Well I prefer mini wagon OR mini sport cars from perodua….

• remind me of p2 rusa. lol!

• God forbid…hope this is mere photoshop works.

Too ugly and Etios is too low taste for our market.

I rather have Vios Mk 1 rebadged as P2 instead of ugly Etios

• another floaty car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • this might not real. the original etios fuel cap is at the left side and this jaguh is at the right side

• Red interiors ARE NOT odd for Perodua. In early 2000 they had black Kenari fitted out with red seats. They were cool!

• TrickTroll on Jul 30, 2013 at 6:23 am

This is 2013. Aren’t we all using like (at least) a 5MP camera now?

• Like some companies in Malaysia related to BN/UMNO Gomen, what a kiss asser should think for name better then Jaguh?….Perodua “1Malaysia” or 1M4U or Pemandu or GTP or i don’t wanna think again..puke..

• Mamat on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:27 am

ade name lain yang lagi senonoh tak?
    what a fugly name there.. eaww

• azrai on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:27 am

When it is in theophilus chin hand, it is fake. he is an automotive manipulator isn’t he? He take a lot of effort on this. By the way, the third photo seem ridiculed. What’s on earth those dimension only applicable for 1.5 Premium variant? Car dimension always the same across the same model.

• hassan anak rimau on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:31 am

for people who can’t afford toyota based sedan like vios this is your choice…myvi ok but very litte boot space

• stop it theo!!! stop it!!!
    april fool has long gone!!!

• iluvproton on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:55 am

Please stop giving Tun nightmare

• Perodua Jaguh Is An Elaborate Hoax
    http://www.theophiluschin.com/?p=5335

• who want some jagung :P

• bokbond on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:15 am

‘jaguh’ or ‘jagung’ mostly suitable to the word ‘kampung’…so u like ‘jaguh kampung’ and ‘jagung kampung’?

• HB Ngui on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm

PERODUA 1st worst design on sedan car & the car name sound like cone”jagung” not jaguh…

• Aboon on Jan 03, 2014 at 8:22 am

What the worst car produce by perodua..JAGUH…worst R&D..spoilt Perodua name..