SPIED: Proton Preve P3-22A Hatchback, undisguised

proton preve hatch video shoot 01

It looks like it’s getting ever closer to the official launch of the Proton Preve Hatchback – photos of the P3-22A undisguised have started making their way around on the Net, and to add to that, we have a couple of snaps of the car taken by reader Sheikh Zaid, who caught this metallic blue example at Sentral.

All the cladding – save tape to mask the logos (front visible in pix, rear too presumably) – is gone, and there’s a reason for the undisguised car being in such a high traffic area; Sheikh says that a video crew was filming the car. Presumably, it’s a TVC shoot.

We’ve seen the metallic blue example before, earlier in the month, but it was still clad, so the main pic here offers the cleanest view so far of the car, though there’s still no dead-on view of the rear. UPDATE: Rear pic courtesy of reader Larry Yeong added to gallery.

Earlier, back in June, a trailer load of the five-door hatch was caught on camera, and besides the previous set with the blue car, there was also a video of the hatchback undergoing night evaluation trials a couple of weeks ago. Still, if they’re shooting a video of the car, then it’s all pointing to an introduction soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gary Yap on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2002 Thumb down 2886
    • tongL on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:07 pm

if no interest why bother to post? lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 812 Thumb down 239
      • nabill on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:05 am

idiots are plenty

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 575 Thumb down 111
        • BMW Fanboi on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:26 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 547 Thumb down 847
          • bentley on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:21 am

F10 5 series is crap. My Rolls Royce Ghost is much better

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 393 Thumb down 55
          • Ya piece of crap yurself!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 18
          • That is if you really have F10 5 series…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 14
          • vandal on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:27 am

then why bother comment?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 13
          • you are taking your F10 to compare with this car~ REALLY?… lets wait for the E-class facelift and compare~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 12
          • trollerz on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:02 am

compare 5 series to a common car? u must be an idiot. why not compare your car with kancil 1st edition? stupid ass

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 9
          • staticx on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:09 am

Do you even have brains to compare your “F10” to this piece of crap metal? judging by ur comment, i don’t think u own a BMW lol..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 24
          • muammarhafiz on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:29 am

ni mesti apek yg ckp mcm ada bmw tp yg ada cuma otak cetek.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 302 Thumb down 12
          • Preve hb mou dak deng on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:55 am

Was your f10 endorsed by a former f1 driver?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 13
          • This guy owns a BM…………BMX that is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
          • Veneno on Aug 03, 2013 at 10:38 am

only the idiots that compares the proton with bmw..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • _xXx_ on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 356
          • hello on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:52 pm

that’s not classic… that’s a mitsuoka. Known for its shitness around the world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 10
          • _xXx_ on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 393
          • volker on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Proton basher butthurt already when any proton cars get compliments. Dunno why. Lack of nationalism?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 36
          • _xXx_ on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 281
          • volker on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:46 pm

you just showed that you have childish mind, grow up pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
          • Shane on Aug 18, 2013 at 11:52 pm

That’s a Mitsuoka Le-Seyde.

• Petrolhand on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:00 am

Dayum that ass! It actually looks great, better than I have expected. Also the rims add more class to it. This hatchback has better ass and rims than the current sedan. Probably Malaysia’s first hot hatch? Anyways thumbs up from me though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 851 Thumb down 37
      • You kinda forgotten about the great Satria GTi and of course the Satria Neo R3. not much power, but fun factor is there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 262 Thumb down 13
        • Leena on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:40 am

AVh : let them be for Proton basher. Anyway they try to move like doing Lancer hatchback and its kinda cool though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
        • holofanboi on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Hey AVH, frankly speaking even the current ‘fake’ neo r3 is the most fun manual car in the 30-70k price segment. Of course, at 98k you get something with a fun factor that won’t be beaten all the way to 175k at least :3…

• hindo on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:43 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 197
      • nanashisan on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:26 pm

yeah… that ass is better than theophilus chin rendering. hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 331
        • sunghe on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Yah yah. Vios tin milo is better sold than 5 star ancap preve. RV is more important than soul, what happens to Malaysians?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 5
        • Anonymous on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:15 am

Seriously ??? i’ve rent a TOYOTA VIOS for 2 days but i’ve changed my mind after 10mins being inside that car and straight turn back to the dealer and change to PERODUA MYVI ,much better than the piece of shit ,btw im currently using PROTON PERSONA and way 100% more comfort and better than toyota vios ,seriously ,TOYOTA VIOS is just crap frog(kodok) piece of shit for people dont have enough money to buy a REAL TOYOTA ,got me ?damnit !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 11
      • kns-lah on Aug 02, 2013 at 4:02 pm

is it just me or does that ass resemble a fiesta or a focus? hopefully it performs well or better than the preve sedan

• Petrolhead on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:04 am

Dayum that ass! It looks better than I expected. Also the rims add more class to it. The rear and wheels look better than the current sedan version. Probably Malaysia’s first hot hatch? Anyways thumbs up from me though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 462 Thumb down 269
    • Brayokmok on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:04 am

You go first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Clearly you cared enough to read the article.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 3
    • Clearly you cared enough to read the article and then commented.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
    • flat_tire on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:54 am

hmm.. i’m actually more interested at that classic looking car in the background.. i could be wrong.. but is that a bufori..?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 256 Thumb down 51
    • trollerz on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:03 am

yes, please YOU go AWAY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Walau eh that butt is super ugly and the front looks sleepy! EWW FUGLY!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 58
    • Joe Radzif on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:55 am

WOW!!!
      1000 thumbs up
      Proton basher had grown bigger…
      and have their own cybertrooper for thumb up and down on desired post…

LoL…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 7
    • susan on Oct 09, 2013 at 11:20 am

hi, is it gary yap yean gay? i am looking this lost contact person. pls revert thanks.

• cursefinger on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Proton Tiara?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 462 Thumb down 289
  • Subr1m on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Nice colour. I want to wish goodbye to DLI as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • ryuki on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Say goodbye to DLI? Datuk Lokman Ibrahim?
      I say good riddance! One person with bad character who destroyed DRB best people. Finally the board of management made the right decision. Never bring this type of high performance bad attitude people to DRB Proton

• neiko on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Ok Iam just going to say this: UREKA!!!!!!! finally a clear image of the Preve Hatchback

well I must say this, the car is starting to look really Edgy & Hot …..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 205 Thumb down 16
  • takin on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:13 pm

all set to launch after raya..
    proton assigns Aliza Kim as their model of this car..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 4
  • niceone on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 302
    • niceone on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 219
      • nicetwo on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:55 pm

ok paul knows you love to give some comments but can you wait for several minutes to let all pics uploaded?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
      • you already made fun of yourself.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Santa Claus on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 156
  • neiko on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:18 pm

Hum what this car really needs is some kind of high performance variant ie larger rims(18″) and some hot bodykitt .Then it well look just right

Cheers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 95
  • mamamia on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:19 pm

nice!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
  • Malcolm Lim on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Why bother hiding the logo when its obvious its a preve hatchback from Proton? Odd..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 13
  • awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 69
  • Littlebear on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Let the bashing begins.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 63
    • lozer on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:05 pm

I want to bash…uh…uh…

got it, it’s beautiful, haha!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 5
  • dat subaru blue, nice !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 12
  • wahhh the rear look is not bad…

use the petronas 2.0 engine la add turbo and modify the emission using convertor platinum group metals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 23
  • shawal on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:26 pm

A few weeks back Tun M made a visit to a factory in china that makes turbochargers for Audis and apparently proton as well… are these the turbochargers on the CFE engine ? or something else is brewing in the proton camp…?

can’t wait to see this car up close though…. to see whether they have thoroughly rectify interior quality niggles..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
    • mizzuddin on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:38 am

current sedan are using the low inertia turbine from Borg Warner…

for your info, the torsional stiffness of the sedan is high, 17kNm/deg…
      which is pretty close to VW Golf TSi

me too are looking forward the extent of the niggles rectification

it is always better and rationale to have the exact fact and figures rather than being a batch blind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • LowerExpectation on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:38 pm

sorry don’t even mention gti,is not even close
        look @ the engine build, quality, design. their engine designed to support hundreds over HP. one does not instantly become better by using a better turbine on a poor design engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • LowerExpectation on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:39 pm

tsi, typo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • beanY on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:59 am

CFE is certainly not poorly designed. It can achieve higher output, the bottleneck is the CVT gearbox that limits the torque output to 210Nm if not mistaken. If it is paired with manual gearbox, the output could be much higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Evo Anytime on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:56 am

yup..plus ‘the great’ design of the DSG..LOL!!!!!!

• mizzuddin on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:38 pm

from your comment, I believe you don’t have the slightest idea of kNm/deg

• logical on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:32 pm

that is actually….not a bad looking car. The back looks so much better than the current preve. PLEASE proton do have the 6 speed manual in the car. ill be the 1st one to buy it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 5
    • Roy Mustang on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:33 am

There will be 6MT. But not immediately. They only do 6MT for overseas sedan market..

Request more and they’ll release 6MT domestically :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • sepucps on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:23 am

And mod it kaw2 without limitation of stupid CVT..

• Eyesore on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:05 am

Shhh… dun tell anyone… it’s there…

• Hi Paultan,

I believe you guys need to fix the image gallery. It not working as it should. Image missing or being skips after a few click. Even thought there are few more images in the gallery. Anyway great work to the team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • 1ST!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 116
  • koochai on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:37 pm

not bad eh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
  • Finally, not bad looking wheels eh?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 10
  • preve on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:39 pm

FUHH!!this car is gonna own the streets..=)..
    love the rims..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 78
  • ayyam on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:43 pm

i like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
  • jolly_idiot on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Cheh… after long waited. Proton show us this butt?

I’ll save my money for the new Mazda3 hatch instead.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 406 Thumb down 437
    • I think we have the winner of the most thumb downed commenter here, lol lol lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:20 am

yea save your money from now on ,what car you using now ? LMAO !

• Spotted a mitsuoka le seyde there..hihihi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 20
  • frenzyaustin on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:52 pm

The rear is way too much better than sedan that might kill the sedan sales. Wonder if there is a R3 Preve to challenge VW Golf GTi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 3
    • spyshotX on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:56 am

i beg to differ.. most oems sold their hatchback version at higher price compared to sedan and i believed proton will adopt the same strategy by placing this model price a bit higher than its sedan sibling.. hence minimizing any cannibalism effect..

• Kuinosan on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 242
    • kimpsan on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:49 pm

You should look at almera and current vios dugong first, lol. That’s reaaaallllyyyyyy dated looking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 4
      • Kuinosan on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:15 am

Please be reminded that this is a Preve Hatchback discussion. What’s with your obsession of condemning the Vios and Almera??? Stick to the topic please!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
        • No wonder japs has blind supporters. They don’t even know to make comparison. Purely estupido.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Anonymous on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:22 am

he said preve hatchback has a nicer look than the dugong and almera…read carefully dugong lover…

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Of all Protons, this has the best looking rims I have ever seen in a Proton. And also, what’s that white car on the first pic?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 2
  • kevier on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:00 pm

turbocharged engine
    design nicely done, leave fugly japs
    nice rims
    nice colour
    good enough rear

so how its interior?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 3
  • Not bad as my first car… hope that proton keeps this momentum

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 21
  • Testing testing testing 1 2 3… Testing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 59
  • sudonano on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Thank goodness, they made the rear fit the whole design, unlike the peeve which has a bit slipshot rear.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
    • Surprisingly so many ppl gives compliment & praise comments…. Maybe most of them are proton staff & salesman….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Whoah….not bad actually, it finally gets a well deserve arse to go with that front end, not a looker, but better suited to compliment that front. The C-pillar is very Subaru Imprezza GRB in appearence. Pretty impressive, and if not for thet rather large rear overhangs, rather good looking. Now I would really like a CFE with 6-speed manual gearbox please

PS: Thats a mitsuoka le seyde in the background too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • normal user on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:14 pm

Looks nice. But I expect at least they put bodykits (skirtings) as standard. And I hope they redesign the dull looking front bumper to differentiate it from the Sedan. It should make the car look sportier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • proton cars are already sporty, no need those bodykits. you only need them on almera and coming vios, lol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 3
      • bawakereta on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:09 am

definitely! i saw preve sedan with additional body kits and guess what? the body kits make the car look distorted! preve design with standard body already cun laa. no need nonsense and weighty body kits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • budlee on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Ah. a real blue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Why don’t launch it before raya, more ppl might get it for balik kampung. the design could be better by just widen it so that it will looks sportier. Just like the new upcoming mazda 3 for example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • I think a lot car launch have been set back to watch how the new NCP goes after the GE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • alvee on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:06 am

actually the initial plan was before raya. but due to some circustnaces, proton decided to launch after raya. =)

• 4g18p on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Well, Perodua Jaguh can go home now…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 5
  • terryble on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:28 pm

The tail does look surprisingly good~~
    time to facelift Preve~~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
  • looking for 3rd car.
    if price is right, will go for it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • abahko on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:38 pm

at least the tail lights much better than the sedan model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • Err.. Same colour with the airport taxi behind.. But nice looking rear though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
  • The tapering roofline and short rear overhang looks good. Hope that the rear headroom doesn’t decrease too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • sepul on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:09 am

Nope, in fact rear headroom is improved than the sedan. See the roof line? They are a bit higher to the back.

• teamsleepine on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:18 am

not asking much.

but i’m prying for 6 speeds manual dog leg shifter.
    and 180hp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 51
  • Antibioticz87 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:24 am

Dat ass…….. Hello preve…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Very nice from P1. I own a sedan version and now im edging to buy this for my wife. One thing to note though, judging by the picture, did they turn on the position lights or are they new DRLs which the sedan version doesn’t have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • puterakupang84 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:06 pm

it’s real drl..unlike sedan version

• Thanks a bunch man. Hope they give us sedan owners the option to replace our dim leds with these ones

• spyshotX on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:07 am

dude.. u should’ve bought the sedan for your wife and wait to buy this one for yourself in the 1st place lol

• Datuk on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:25 am

Waiting for Sam Loo and Maserati to bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 45
  • hopefully there will be the R3 version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • sy2112 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:26 am

is that real DRL with daytime visible brightness? or just similar with current preve’s LED sidelights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Wow finally an appealing Proton car! Now let’s hope they make it more powerful with it’s turbocharged engine to match its sporty looks (150hp perhaps?), and priced it under 80k and you have a winner!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 74
  • addisonK on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:39 am

The rear is actually better than i thought.. when this car is driving infront of of me, i’m sure wont know its a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • good job Proton, however I would prefer some tweak for front bumper/ grill to make it more appealing & to distinguish between sedan & hatch. at least existing Preve owner have more option to dress up their current ride.

But if a serious job done to the engine/ tranny I dont care about the look.

Fellow Malaysian, let this be THE ANSWER for Japs & Korean invasion… and China perhaps. Muhahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 49
  • Most anticipated launching along with Ford Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost for the price range (for me atleast). BTW the Prevè HB have looks like the Ford Focus from sideview. Both are beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • csegmenter on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:30 am

It somehow looks wider and longer like Golf with latest MQB platform. Oh and mazda3 too so C segment cars should be enough to give comfort space and room for drivers and passengers.

• drMpower on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:48 am

great job

two things are left behind

1) that E01 petronas engine. now its proton’s dont forget. 200hp 200Nm torque.

2) six speed manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • ali kafe on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:58 am

honeycomb grill spotted…soon can change with my CFE stripe grille

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • confused on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:07 am

Hmm.. definitely gonna get lots of dislike for this..

While the back shot looks good, I find the car doesn’t look as flattering in the shot with the Mitsuoka.. looks fat somehow.. Something about the small wheels and the front headlights..

Other than that, it’s a good start on Proton’s end. Hope they can keep up this momentum and then finally they won’t need to be protected and we can have a free automobile market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 551 Thumb down 6
  • jeremy on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:15 am

Am i the only one who thinks they need to put a chrome bar directly on top of the plate number holder at the back? Besides that, it looks good….

• cantiknya..saya suka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
  • amator on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:27 am

Radio with android OS..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • One question. Why did they use the old registered number? Does it mean something? I’m just wondering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • izack04 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:28 pm

I’m also thinking the same question, izit legal to put test car other than trade plate?

• Government will implement max 7 years loan after raya so more people ‘akan dipaksa’ buying this car rather than new vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 261 Thumb down 21
    • most countries do that. household dept is quite serious in malaysia. if people cannot manage their money let the bank negara do that. some people use 2/3 of their income just to look good with H and T you know. pity them never measure cloth on their own body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Yaa..buyers ‘dipaksa’ to buy this..and seller also ‘dipaksa’ to drop the price when more people cannot afford to buy car due to the shorter instalment period. It is known fact one factor of the price increase for property and vehicle is due to loan scheme.

• imran on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:58 am

7 years loan thats good news.. :)

There will be less people that berlagak with their expensive cars but behind that is actually tension with the debt and problems. its good for Malaysian health & wealth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
    • MoFaz on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:37 am

so, what’s the problem? in SG max loan is 50% only and max tenure is 5 years… see what car can you buy?
      it’s to ‘force’ you to spend more prudently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Mofart on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Lol, again comparing with Spore where the idea of high COE prices (controlled yearly quota) and stringent HP requirements are to serve an entirely different purpose… Lame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • green on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:50 am

for 7 years loan.
      I would rather take Vios J Auto RM77k with FC = 15km/L. 100% city mode.

Not a Preve CFE HB RM75k 9.5km/L. 100% city mode.

If I am not rich, I would be pracitical. Take a B-Segment. Reliable, High Efficiency Engine. 5 Star Crash Test Ancap Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 24
      • Honda JAzz RM75k is great deal @ 5 star Ancap, VSC. 15km/L..

no need vios also can..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 4
      • veloo on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:36 pm

With that price, Vios got VSC , ABS, EBD, BA and TC? How many airbags? The badge alone can save your life when crash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
        • Loerl on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:01 pm

At Crash. It’s either die, or jadi OKU. VSC would not able to help u.

Accident occur just in split seconds. Your car already crashed, VSC become pointless. VSC is usefull only at loose control before crash. but most accident is a sudden crash.

Toyota Honda Nissan Perodua already having some airbags to give some protection too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 9
          • cheer on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:38 pm

2 airbags are not enough. Preve max 4, fiesta even has more. Camry highest variant only 2. Pity

• yea indeed VSC will not reduce the chance for get injure during accident..
            but it help by reduce the chance for accident to happen..
            don’t you get it?? if no accident occur so how will you get injure?? think twice pls

• farghmee on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:49 pm

yo yo yo

vios 2013 5star ANCAP? link pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • spyshotX on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:19 am

5 star crash test ANCAP for vios? seriously??

minimum of 6 airbags and esc/vsc as standard spec are required in order to gain ANCAP 5 star rating..

now tell me which variant of vios provide such spec?

• Ha Gnih on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:31 am

FINALLY!!!!! Proton is doing something right. This looks very continental from most angles. Makes me wanna check it out when its launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 77
    • alldisc on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:52 pm

one main reason for proton creating preve hatch is to conquer european market, which is just crazy with hatchbacks – unlike the asians.

but the perfect formula for proton to success is
      1. practical hatchback
      2. reliable and build quality
      3. turbodiesel
      4. 6 speed manual GB.

until all above is achieved, it would be hard for proton and they will always remain as jaguh kampung.

• dato lukman step down….

• loner on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:01 am

Er hemmm .. Test drive take No.7 …. still hav another 5 take to go … stupid ppl stupid brain stupid thinking … But not bad the look …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • The rim has a similar design with the current inspira 17″ rim. Take a closer look

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Mamat on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:36 am

just recycle habit.. that’s proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • Ninja Siam on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:08 pm

yup…after a few years still using 1NZ-FE.. 4-cylinder DOHC VVT-i 16V in 1.5L vios engine …but this not habit..just try and error..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Alson P on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Similar design use for trade mark… same as some other car maker…

• zeroshift on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:43 am

It is the same as the 2.0p rim. Just that they polish it. Well, it look nice though.

• cant wait to smoke vios in this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Hadi75 on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:41 am

Not bad and looks good in that shade of blue….now all is left is the interior and qc….

• Can’t wait for the launching, hopefully will impress people. There’s so much complaining about Preve’s rear design, but i think it’s over now as the white and blue model looks sporty enough. The Prevé is claimed to be Proton’s first global car, evident in the name Prevé itself, which means to prove or proof.

• bawakereta on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:47 am

preve hatchback is coming soon! woot! gonna love this! can’t wait to get one, if its under 60k sure it will be a real bargain!

• Jenin on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:47 am

Now send it to Top Gear for review. Let’s see if Jeremy Clarkson got any new jokes LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 14
  • Hadi75 on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:52 am

Not a bad looking proton….like the blue…really suit the car….only thing left now is the interior and qc….

• Max Kemosabe on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:00 am

I’m glad that the rear quarters looks amazing. Even better than Theophilius’s guess.

• Pedestrian on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:11 am

With this look, a pedestrian will consider to stop being one and start being a driver.

It’s like the look that stun the heart of a single guy and make him decide to get marry.

Maybe, IF the price is right.

• saiful msm on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:12 am

i like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Put the sign TEKSI at the roof and voila! u now have a preve hb limo taxi to klia just like the van at the back.

p/s : notbadatall.hopefully have testdrive unit when launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • gabanride on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:32 am

with the number plat already on it, look like this model and specification already approved by JPJ.

the front grill with the honeycomb design look nice, i hope this design to be in the preve sedan previously. but since the grill is plug and play, current preve sedan owner can ‘facelift’ the ride.

the rim seems to be 17″ compared to the sedan with 16″. i bet the size would be 215/50r17.

• Proton should produce a lifestyle wagon instead of a hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Alson P on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:52 pm

agree… wagon will be great like Caldina… Or Odyssey..

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/4848/caldinawallpaperste1.jpg
      http://automobiles.honda.com/odyssey/
      http://www.mbusa.com/mercedes/legacy/vehicles/class?class=E&bodystyle=WGN

• gOOsh on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:41 am

proton bashers…. sssyyyyhhhhhhhh…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • chikaro on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:42 am

Good, better, best..name it Proton Superlative hatchback..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Syihab on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:51 am

look sexy… better design than preve sedan

• if priced around 70k++, u have a winner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • Ada Jie on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:39 am

70k+++ is too expensive for a locally made car by a local company with government grants, tax exemptions, privilege, tax rebate, subsidies, unfair advantage over other brands

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 8
      • walaweh on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:43 pm

aiyo,ada lagi yang duduk dlm gua. prtn only receive a small chunk of rnd grant,which isnt enough to build a car from scratch,and even rebadging mitsu townbox to epic fail juara is much expensive than the rnd grant per product.

n they dont receive grant for production cost,only rnd. no rebate or what so ever receive since 2005, tax is the same except for cbu which differ around 30%. no need to look futher on prices until usa n uk,just look around you,we r livin in asean countries.

look at vios price at thailand,indonesia just enough. preve sedan is nearly as vios n city PRices,even in singapore,n they r not the same segment at all.

so,its mean that,even our tax structure is higher than them,but preve price is as b segment price.

tax is equal rite now. the correct statement is why others r selling at hefty price but prtn can sell cheaper at the same tax treatment?

than u know many japs car in malaysia are overprice,why others can offer better car such pug,ford,kia n hyundai,at the same price. better interm of equipments n tech. while japs,u know how they treat 3rd world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • DoomDDD on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:18 am

Just a proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 22
  • Abg Long on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:33 am

guten morgen. really not bad looking! can’t wait to know the price :)

• thebosssedangbercakap on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:41 am

no wonder proton still survives, too many foton supporters, be it the design is ugly and even kia is much better than this they will still stay foton still looks good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 336 Thumb down 50
    • paul tonne on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:18 am

so popular because it is only a new car that average msian people afford to buy…other than p1 and p2 very expensive…if chicken exspensive don’t eat chicken, if car expensive don’t buy car according to our minister smart concept

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 10
    • Antilge on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Foton, ranked No.4 in auto industry and No. 43 in the “Top 500 China’s Most Valuable Brands”.

• plotong no idea edi? just chop the preve butt… better buy vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 100
    • tell that to BMW, same in all series!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • gOOsh on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:58 pm

elo brader WONG… chill aarr..
      if u like vios so much, be it larr… no need to shout about…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Salesman Sniffer on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:32 am

LoL out of all the cars available in our road and this fella prefer vios.. i wonder why he’s not promoting almera instead..

• jilbaber on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:44 am

Wah it look really nice meh…is it gonna come with full size spare tyre of just temporary tyre ? Those tyre looks too big to be fitted inside the trunk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
    • RFeght on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:17 am

since when proton gives small boot? preve got multi-link suspension that supposed to consume boot space but at the end it still has tad bigger boot than torsion beamed city.

• proton always do well for their boot size..

• jilbaber on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:32 am

Since when did i say proton has small boot ? Did I ever ask about the car suspension ? If don’t no the answer please shut up lets somebody else answer it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
        • memangbodohjilbaber on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:30 pm

better cancel your internet subscription la if you cannot relate things

• SentiasaPanas on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:54 am

The rear is actually better than we thought..

• Malaysian on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:54 am

To be honest, who still care about Proton cars? Isn’t this Preve hatch back (disguised or undisguised) creating too much publicity recently? Attention seeker sucker

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 615 Thumb down 89
  • eeeee…. moving toward korea car. look like last gen kia rio and chevrolet optra 5.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 26
  • Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:11 am

joke : is that the BMW 4 series’ Estoril Blue ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • wonder on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:57 am

so what, the whole world shares similar colours

• redneck on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:47 am

aiyoo dont say same color like bmw lorr.. else ppl will say bmw also same color with taxi lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • KillBox1Alpha on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:23 am

Dont tell me Malaysians cant tell its a Proton, whats the point covering the logo with paper and tape….pathetic!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 341 Thumb down 31
  • the white bufori at the back is nicer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 20
  • imran on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:32 am

Indeed Sporty Enough..

There will be manual version.. more sporty

And the Campro CFE engine have good low RPM torque. A turbocharged engine car that engage boost @ low RPM not like old turbcharge cars that engage turbo at least at 2500RPM. they might have more HP due to bigger turbine but for normal driving, u want the power at low RPM.

BorgWarner turbine is knkows for its nice whistling sound. For preve, exora bold, and incoming preve HB owner can just change the drop in air filter to unleash the sound. example is here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VigDzFHS_c

Kaki turbo wont need to play with old cars and old turbocharged engine anymore.

Just get a preve HB manual and change the air fiter.. you’ll get all the sportyness u need…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • zainal abidin on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Actually there will be a manual model with 6 forward speed manual gearbox,but,alas,for the moment it’s reserved for the export market.

Really don’t know why Proton’s marketing strategy’s like that. All the best stuff are reserved for foreigners.

• MTlover on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:40 am

I am waiting for CFE+MT news everyday ;p
    If not, all proton not in my consideration…

• macam Proton Wira facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • okbplis on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:59 am

nice!!!

• All Is Well on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:17 am

Preve is really a superb car after i test drove it..Even my dad ‘s car is a Accord 2.0 2010.Recently he travel his friends preve from ipoh to kl…he was impressed with the car’s handling and technology with 72k price…he told me he drove 180km/h, the car is still steady…he felt fun to drive preve than his accord..sumore the technology far more better than his accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 159
    • puterakupang84 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:11 pm

ask your father to drive 200km/h..i’m sure the car still staedy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • wiizau on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:19 am

like the alterations made under the front grill cover and fog light box and the sport rim also just nice.. i ges this is the premium spec

• Polo Saga on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:26 am

Yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Maserati on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:34 am

This car is comparatively more pleasant to the eyes than other local made car, and hopefully quality is better.

I’m still doubtful of the pricing. If priced at 70-80k range, one could get a much better imported car like MAZDA 3 by topping up a minimal amount. There’s simply no justification for a sane person to go for this car if MAZDA 3 is around. Would you like a MAZDA 3 with DNA combination of BMW handling, Audi’s finesse and Mercedes quality OR a local made car with very low quality all around?

How would you compare the potential World Car of the year MAZDA 3 2014 with this junk?

Please stay away from Proton, this is the wisest advice I could offer to my fellow readers here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 853 Thumb down 67
    • kiddo on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:31 pm

“MAZDA 3 with DNA combination of BMW handling, Audi’s finesse and Mercedes quality.”

This is joke of the year in PT. I cannot stop laughing LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • Maserati on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:23 am

What is so funny about the statement? You are probably one of those that never sat in a Mazda and yet criticizes Mazda for no apparent reason.

Go ask any proud Mazda owners and they can attest to my unbiased statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
        • kiddo on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:03 am

of course mazda owners said like that, they never test conti/proton before. only syok sendiri with their ride, haiz. let alone other jap makes, the long journey ride in those cars can make vomiting easier, lol

• powershot on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:34 pm

you won’t get a mazda 3 2014 by “topping a minimal amount” from RM80k. the indicative pricing is about rm130k for CBU. even if the price is lower; the selling price would definitely be at least RM100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • ayamxxx on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:24 am

lets together boycott the Proton until they improve the after sales service.

after service from proton is suck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Anti.lgE on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:35 pm

HAHAHAAHA! MAZDA 3 with DNA combination of BMW handling, Audi’s finesse bla bla bla.. HAHAHAHAHA! SO FUNNY LA OI! HAHAHA!

• nice rear shape but tail light design dissapointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
  • sylinder on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:52 am

c’mon proton, full spec, CFE Turbo with Manual transmision, he3, ah beng request to smoked other ah beng…:P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • ayamxxx on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:04 pm

not sure if it available for CFE Manual. because they need to retest back for 100k km.

• pirlo on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:36 am

not really. they performed the test for 6MT variant parallel with this Auto variant. But for sure, it will launch 6MT variant first in UK due to European market demand.

• Jason on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:02 pm

what market this car going to position? 75k to 90k there are so many choices? why buyer want suffer with national car QC standard? Matter of fact Proton is not viable for the industrial.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 417 Thumb down 18
    • ayamxxx on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:02 pm

lets together boycott this car.. after 1 year, the sales drop, then Proton will give discount around 6.5k, like current Preve Sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • Ahmadfaris93 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:16 pm

The rear design is not bad but I’m still quite disappointed by the rear lights’ design. It’s kind of ‘unfinished’. It is okay but lacks refinement and flair. Nevertheless, it looks better than the sedan and with this blue colour, it is very nice. Good job Proton. Just keep improving for the future !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
  • kadajawi on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:01 pm

The rear is too rounded, the rest of the car is quite sharp, and then that round rear… look at the Skoda Rapid Spaceback to see how it is done. The Preve is a much better looking car to me…

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:06 pm

Hmmm…nice…hope P1 don’t compromise about the quality of their products and also the vendors.

• Don’t compromise? Do they have anything left to compromise? Everything are low bottom for this ailing company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 4
      • many old proton cars are sill moving. i don’t think you know about DU lol

• Suneo on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:23 pm

aik… why its colour & design almost the same with Mitsubishi Lancer Sport back.. Proton buy design ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
  • Overall looks good..!

back looks bit like the old Ford Focus(alittle)

The body looks abit long..maybe is the picture.

• sonyman on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:26 pm

last time i used to be excited about Preve Launch, but now i feel, nothing special anymore, no more desire, Probably DSZ no more there so the feeling is lost.

Sad Sad….

• Calvin on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Anyone knows the price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • BuRaIaN on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Let’s be honest, the Preve sedan wasn’t a good looking car. The front was alright but the back was plain boring and ugly. For the hatch, back view looks much better better, but the shape is just weird. Cutting the butt didn’t help make the car look more fluid and proportionate in design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 27
  • I dont know if any of you see it, but other than the grill, the foglights housing and the lower air intake has also been modified. It looks better then the sedan version

• Aussiebloke on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Sexy back,bring them down under asap!

• How come the car already got registration number? It even had the road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • amirad on Jul 31, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Slap on the preve sapphire bodykit, upgrade the interior materials, boost the power to 180 bhp with 250 Nm torque, 6 MT, 18 in forged rims and this car can be a contender. It will be the most powerful and fastest (stock) Proton ever. Nak panggil Preve VRS pun OK. Warna dah sama. Muka pun ala2.

• Symphony on Jul 31, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Any proton above RM70K not worth it lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 9
  • they ayre trying so hard….guys at least appreciate the work! good job Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • skyfall on Jul 31, 2013 at 4:50 pm

macam lori simen

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 47
  • Much much better looking than ugly siput almera and vios dugrong .At least thumbs up to the designer !!good job !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Better than Vios dugong ->? the beautiful new Vios is coming…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 74
      • crfGF on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:08 am

the ‘beautiful’ new vios is only make up thingy. under the hood there is nothing special. why not give it turbo engine to suit the exterior design? Exterior is like performance car but in reality only a slowpoke with archaic 4 gears, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Boring car….. Same front somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 102
  • Hang Tuah on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:20 pm

if selling below RM60k than maybe it can be selling like hot cake lol…… otherwise, difficult to attract ppl to grab 1……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
    • Alson P on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:50 pm

more likely “Pisang Panas”…. I dont eat cake much :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • You people really don’t give face. Proton is expecting you all to say “Wah, lucky I didn’t book the other car”, instead you all bash.
    Give face a bit la.. after all it’s Asia’s answer to BMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 254 Thumb down 6
    • singha on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Your comment suggests that you don’t know how to counts. Compliments here are much more than bashing.

• Salesman Sniffer on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:04 pm

allo p2 salesman.. that bmw thing is in the past laa.. now committed to be better.. dont be so black hearted if ppl want to keep improving.. no worries this wont eat your s-series sales laa..

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:27 pm

we all think that this design is good, not ‘superb!’ or ‘wow!’ but good. well done proton, although you still hv to work triple harder & smarter. all the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Alson P on Jul 31, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Not bad… Maybe they can install the MIVEC 1.8 engine or upgraded version Petronas E01 for future variant of Preve HB…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • look at front still ok, but look at side abit weird, hope they will change in next facelift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • peyno on Jul 31, 2013 at 6:57 pm

proven… proton basher= perodua salesman like amoi
    but perodua basher=sam loo legend of original toyota salesman not like fake toyota perodua salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • saiful nizam on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:42 pm

can’t wait to see the lanuch of that car… that car must have some interesting feature than ever…

• design wise, its quite nice..serious. hope highest spec will be below rm65k.

• bilis on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Wowo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Price is around 80k for highest spec. Comes with 17 inch alloy rims, 6 airbags, android headunit, esc, abs, ebd, tcs. Another new colour available is green like lotus cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Preve has failed Proton in terms of sales figure.

The designers from Proton are basically gathered all upmarket car design, copied and try to make good this time!!

But under the hood,is still unimpressive to me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 40
    • zainal abidin on Aug 02, 2013 at 7:47 am

If I was PROTON, the CFE engine should have at least 150bhp and the standard IAFM+, manual and cvt should have the CPS engine (125bhp).

Pricing? The same. Buyers will talk less of their whims and fancies because the performance is there. I bet sales will double up. Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • retard on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:45 pm

proton should retard all their car prices not more than 48k then it will sells extremely well and make life easier for their salesman. here are the examples : saga blm <25k, preve & hback<35k, exora <45k, inspira <48k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • looks ok. maybe i’ll buy one to see how far we have gone in the car business.

cmon proton, speed it up. more development and more models please. learn and move on.

kia/hyundai has development centre at the nurburgring. that’s your yardstick !

heading to the door now. cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
  • nieko on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Hum if this car came with The Lotus Racing Green seen on the Satria Neo R3 I bet this whole PT web would generate about 1000entries/comments in just one day, what do you guys think???????

Also what kind of Entertainment/Sat-Nev system do you guys think would be available? because Last I heard its going get Android tech by Samsung/Microsoft or just maybe Apple’s Mcintosh iOS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • nieko on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:09 pm

The reason why I said Apple’S MC is because remember the Proton P3-30a(Global Small Car)is supposed to come with a new Entertainment System

• Anon Chan on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:51 pm

I wish for Preve 6 air bags version that actually got the ANCAP 5 stars to be sold in Malaysia instead of this one. Maybe with the rim, front sensor and bumper from this hatchback version.

Why the hell Malaysians get less air bags from Malaysian car maker?!

• Absolute Rider on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:46 am

For your information, starting 2014 to get five star rating, the cars have to equip Autonomous Braking System (AEB).

• Norman on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:28 pm

My wife used to own Vios and yes the fc is greater than proton but impact wise my wife land in hospital for weeks with fracture bone and even ironic its Proton gen2 that hit her car and I couldn’t imagine if its a lorry or bus.There will be always advantages and disadvantages and no suchs things as 99.5% perfect.Im not a proton lover either but I feel that their chassis and body are above average than those Thai Toyotas.If you really keen on Toyota or Honda then go for the JDM series..It’s a huge difference.By the way I heard this Preve Hatch got new ecu and different gear set up.Dunno rumours say it got 145hp/220nm and 0-100 timing is better than sedan version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • viosno1 on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:02 am

Shut up! Vios is the ultimate car ever. Even T-boned by lorry it is still intact. Not even scratch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 64
    • The best thing is can it stop safely for the car occupant while driving at 190 kmh. Has it got enough airbag , viva also can speed like hell but once emergency brake god see u. Pls lah ploton

• seilo on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:54 pm

very good design but still kampong enjine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
  • C’mon P1. Not all Malaysian wants this awesome car with automatic tranny. Bring the 6MT and I will be very happy lol :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
    • Scooby on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:04 am

Dont worry, after launching in UK with 6MT version you can pressure Proton to launch in Malaysia as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 47
      • I hope we pressure them for giving the 6MT. Baru la hot hatch.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • jeremy on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:10 am

Wow, looks like Proton bashers have attacked with their refresh button…suddenly all positive comments have turned to negative…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 25
    • hearthurt on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:07 am

they are so butthurt with all the praises and compliments for preve hatch

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • lololo on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:24 am

maybe they should start making it 4WD and start design some new engine. just change the exterior look won’t help much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 57
    • they will also start naming it differently, longer version of gen 2 is persona, shorter version of preve is called something else

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
  • Roy Mustang on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:32 am

6MT 6MT 6MT!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 11
  • woa… design wise actually big improvement. like the rear. front juz add a diffuser.. muahaha.. U come with manual i’ll break the bank!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 8
  • silent-reader on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Somehow, the car looks like a Merc A200… No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 85
  • The only thing I wanted to say is, he should be wearing his seat belt

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 2
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 157
  • hambek ko on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:26 pm

not interested

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 36
  • Tan Lai Chu on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:39 pm

–>> test drive preve. ok la not bad. the price also ok la not bad. worth buying la i say. good job proton. good good good. <<–

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 0
  • I don’t think the exterior of this car or preve is bad. It’s quite a looker actually. The weak point for Proton design is the interior, for me. So please, do something about it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • And the quality issues. The test car which I was supposed to drive were falling apart literally, all these rubbers along the window, the side mirror, etc. I said I was ‘supposed’ to drive because the car’s engine did not even start…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 43
  • Twitterholic on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:27 am

Why no Twitter share button?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 11
  • clutc_plate on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:32 am

put a chrome door handle as standart spec.. mesti nampak lagi eksklusif..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • OsemTV on Aug 02, 2013 at 9:40 am

Awesome!!. good job proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • afagfg on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 210
  • dewaSemut on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:50 pm

It seems that LED is brighter in this one.. full DRLs as opposed to LED position lamp currently with its sedan siblings?

• Master yoda on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Stop comparing.The price is not officially announced yet lah.ape lahh.if it happens to be substanttially cheaper than you guys can eat your own words sampai kenyang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • silvia13 on Aug 03, 2013 at 1:20 am

Preve hatchback is more better than current preve bcoz all improvement already done to this model.engine leaking,engine die off ,underpower,Nvh,brake judder and another major issue. Interm of performance hatchback more powerfull.my preve sedan still in good condition after 1 year and will plan to buy hatchback soon.preve max speed can achieved 210kmh with standard setting and hopefully with hatchback i get more…current always say bye2 to polo sedan or almera even civic 2.0….but not yet for golf in the straight road
    Hill road like genting no issue good pick up,easy to handle while sharp cornering and can go fatest than camry 2.4.
    Good job Proton..my comment was base on my experience dont care about others negative comment bcoz they mostly look into design but not performance…and small thing but still not happen to my car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • disliker on Aug 03, 2013 at 4:21 am

SUPRIMA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • what ever comments…proton/perodua still the best selling in malaysia coz we have no choice..yeeee haa
    ini kali laa…oooops…lain kali laa..waaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Feeda on Aug 04, 2013 at 9:14 pm

The car WUG1885 is using a fake car plate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • powerpondei on Aug 05, 2013 at 11:40 am

ok laaaa.
    but this expected would be a lineup choice for these category of guy like myvian, vios, and saga – always want to cucuk driver lain and feel that they are the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
  • Matt.W on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Why the rear design looks just like the old Ford Lynx?

• midnight on Aug 07, 2013 at 8:23 am

the things is the proton limitation is the gear box.
    example:- the gear box can handled 220nm so they have to knockdown the power to 210nm. the max engine can produce is 173bhp and nm???. that is the truth.

example 2:- why there is cvt1,cvt2, and cvt3????

• Alson P on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:24 pm

They try to improve…. But bit slow….
      cvt 6 speed/7speed/8speed/with or without pro-tronic(paddle shifting)…. We hope the gearbox can handle 300nm+ ASAP since they have E01 engine today….

• Alson P on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:28 pm

BTW as you mention 210nw with 173bhp not bad for 1.6l and 1.8l engine…

• kadajawi on Aug 08, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Do a Google Image search for Suprima.

Not a good name.

• The body line was clearly inspired by Subaru Impreza Hatchback. The rear from the ford focus. The rear lights from the C-class Estate and ford focus. Well done.

• Great now we can have a rempit version on a car.. Hope it’s beats the he’ll out of VW golf.. Juz to annoy the shirt out of them..

• Not too bad.

Design a LHD version, make a good price like Dacia and bring it to continental europe.

• shiftSpank on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:24 am

Doesn’t look half-bad. Hope they’ve improved on the driving position.

• if the rims come standard then its a good looking package. side looks like new subaru imprezza, rear looks like Ford, overall like lexus cth,kia rio etc. easier to digest, unlike the sedan preve which the rear light section need some times to get used to, my POV. hope the build quality on par. and sedan preve $$$ to go down so i can grab one hehehe

• My dad’s future car. Nice looking car.

• wak mat on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:29 pm

very skeptical la ! Preve oh preve

• Kia rio lame