SPYSHOTS: Lexus GS-F to take on the BMW M5

Lexus-GS-F-Mule-001

We recently saw Lexus test its upcoming IS-F Coupe (could be called the RC-F) that is set to challenge the BMW M4, now here are some spyshots of the F that will take on the BMW M5, the Lexus GS-F. That’s what these engineers and test drivers are trying to cover.

Our European spy pixmen say that this GS-F prototype has yet to leave the garage for track testing, but although there are no badges, we can see the trademark stacked quad exhaust layout used in Lexus’ F cars.

Those sandwich a diffuser, and other sporty cues include a lip spoiler on the bood edge plus a nice set of multi-spoke alloys. Seen those wheels before? You saw them here.

Currently, the fastest and most powerful Lexus GS is actually a hybrid, the GS 450h, while the most overtly sporty variant is the GS 350 F Sport, which is not a full F car. The GS starred in our four-way luxury sedan shootout, which you can read here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Painter on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:28 am

The Japanese guy looks pissed.

• Dru-Zod on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:41 am

Pity the guy, when the pics get published, he will kena from his boss.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:46 am

Jappy still a jappy.
    Lexus still a toyota.
    Toyota still a toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 39
    • Barrack on Jul 30, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Ya.. Just like you.. Idiot still an idiot

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • car from proton = car
      car from china = car
      car from bmw = car

why bother buy bimmer then?

• this is cheap marketing,
    nothing to hide because it’s failed before launch, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 23
  • Hmm…how abt mercedes E63 AMG ??? :)

• cosmo on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:36 pm

ya, wait till u can afford a lexus then only comment.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • teamsleepnine on Jul 30, 2013 at 1:41 pm

lol…i’m the title suppose to be “try” to take on the m5…to be honest more like…lexus try to do m5 tribute….will never come close…still old man retiree car ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • hehe, first thing i noticed was camry rear lamp.

speaking of spyshots, wonder why PT is zipping up their lips when there were few preve hatchback shots, totally uncovered, circulating around? any legal restrictions?

cmon, give us our weekly proton news dosage. its not the same without proton news. no “spirited” comments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • teamsleepnine on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:36 pm

btw the car look cheap…macam kia!
    doesnt look superior like mercedes,bmw and audi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
    • Long Live LF-A on Jul 30, 2013 at 5:12 pm

How dare you put KIA and Lexus at the same phrase? You totally disgraced mighty Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • teamsleepine on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:05 am

“mighty?” lol!!!!…it’s a lexus dude!not mercedes or jaguar or audi or even bmw….lexus ain’t mighty….it’s japanese impersonating the “mighty” german….terrible…toyota is a toyota…it will never levelled or even rival the “spirited” ///m cars or amg or //rs…tbh it can’t even rivalled the lowest spec mercedes e class or lowest spec 5 “sili” …let alone rivalling or even called themself “mighty” lexus is just a follower …still 10 years behind the krauts.

by the time they able to catch up with the germans….the germans have launch the newer gen car aeons ahead of the jap’s…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • viostebo on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:36 am

my vios can tarpau 5 series like a peanut. that’s what you call mighty?

• toyodes on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm

This one I dun know but new corolla US version is too ah beng, turbo car wannabe but engine only N/A 1.8, very funny.

Later eats preve hatch smoke

• datuk on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:46 pm

M5 always win, this Lexus its just a camry with more tech, more cylinder engine, plus no glorious history like M5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • cosmo on Jul 31, 2013 at 8:50 pm

why you need glorious history when buying car??? so u gonna tell ppl… ‘my car was once very capable, but not so good now??’ u are utterly rubbish, man… go get yourselves a bicycle, it was invented before car, such a glorious history… and maybe u dont know, GS has nothing to do with camry, but ES yes… u dont know anything, but talking rubbish here.. shame on u

• polimer on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:37 am

This lexus is rubbish, even proton has much better handling.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 30, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Looks like there’s more F-Sport coming out in near future! Lexus is really serious about performance vehicle this time.