Tan Chong wins Nissan distributor rights to Myanmar

tcie vietnam 02

Nissan has given Tan Chong sole and exclusive rights to distribute Nissan completely built-up (CBU) vehicles in Myanmar, Bernama reports. Under the distribution agreement, ETCM (MM) Pte Ltd, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Tan Chong Motor Holdings Bhd, will also have the rights to appoint any party as its dealers for sales and after-sales services there.

Distribution of Nissan cars in the emerging market is expected to commence in the third quarter of this year with projected sales volume of about 300 units per year. The previously secluded nation is often described as Asia’s last frontier, as multinationals rush in to market their products to a large untapped population.

Myanmar isn’t Tan Chong’s first foray into Indochina. The Malaysian group opened its first international assembly plant in Da Nang, Vietnam, in June this year. The TCIE Vietnam plant assembles the Nissan Sunny (Almera in Malaysia) for domestic consumption. Built at a cost of US$40 million, the plant has the capacity to assemble up to 6,500 cars annually.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sorry Myanmar, you’ll be getting outdated Nissan stocks.

-On behalf of all Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Myanmar: Sorry Malaysia, we will be getting Nissan. You can stick to your Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
      • puhfg on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:22 pm

only noobs will buy cars with archaic 4 auto gears. even saga got CVT, no need to buy higher pricier segment cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Just because that P1 uses CVT doesn’t mean that you are trendsetter.

• kalau bodoh memang bodoh on Jul 31, 2013 at 7:17 pm

hello.. Teana Almera Slyphy already using CVT.

Please update your outdated brain thank you

• Hemp Share on Aug 03, 2013 at 2:19 am

So a seasoned “expert” like you would buy a car with 100-year old gas combustion technology…or get excited about incremental changes in the interior each model year? So much so to attend an “auto show”. What a charade. Humans programmed to accept 100-year old technology, then debate the merits of the transmission.

• BLUR SOTONG on Jul 30, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Tan Chong : Thank you Malaysia and Myanmar, we are earning your money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Poor Myanmar, they will be exploited by Tan Chong. When will karma get Tan Chong for maximizing profit at the expense of their buyer’s safety?

• “piin cha meh”
    who is Tan Chong ?

• KeretaKuda on Jul 30, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Guys, a general question. What are the pros and cons buying a new vehicle from the Branch and a Dealer? Dealer seem to be more generous with special offers. Appreciate some input.

• I want to know, Yangon show room contact telephone number.